DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 45-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dao et al.(hereinafter Dao)(US 2019/0261260).
Regarding claim 1, Dao teaches a method for processing a policy, performed by a first network element, comprising: determining a policy for a user equipment (UE) in a UE group (P[0126], UE initiates the PDU session modification by the transmission of a PDU session modification request as an NAS message) and an execution condition of the policy(P[0126], initiating the modification of policies procedure upon requests; this procedure may be triggered based ion locally configured policy), wherein the policy comprises: a policy control and charging (PCC) policy, a packet data unit (PDU) session policy, or both the PCC policy and the PDU session policy(P[0126], modify PCC rules; multiple PDU sessions).
Regarding claim 3, Dao teaches the method according to claim 1 or claim 2, further comprising: switching the policy for execution, wherein a trigger event corresponding to the execution condition occurs(P[0126], procedure may be triggered based on locally configured policy).
Regarding claim 4, Dao teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the execution condition comprises a quality of service (QoS) threshold; and wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of: a QoS of at least one UE in the UE group exceeding the QoS threshold; and/or a QoS of at least one UE in the UE group being less than the QoS threshold(P[0126], user location information and a notification indicating that the QoS targets cannot be fulfilled).
Regarding claim 8, Dao teaches the 8 method according to claim 1,claim 7, further comprising: receiving group member information, and policy information and condition information of the UE group from an application server (AS); or receiving group member information, and policy information and condition information of the UE group from a user data repository (UDR); wherein the method further comprises: determining the UE group that needs the policy coordination according to the group member information provided by an application server (AS)(item 821d in Fig. 8; also P[0126], UDM updates subscription data; UDM may use group ID to update subscription data).
Claims 45-46 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al.(hereinafter Dao)(US 2019/0261260) in view of Xing et al. (hereinafter Xing)(US 2022/0279389).
Regarding claim 5, Dao teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the execution condition comprises priority information; and wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of: resource allocation for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being unsuccessful; QoS guarantee for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being unsuccessful; resource allocation for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being successful; or QoS guarantee for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being successful. However, Xing teaches in an analogous art the method, wherein the execution condition comprises priority information; and wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of: resource allocation for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being unsuccessful; QoS guarantee for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being unsuccessful; resource allocation for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being successful; or QoS guarantee for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being successful(P[0262], QoS requirement is satisfied; high priority is satisfied). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method the method, wherein the execution condition comprises priority information; and wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of: resource allocation for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being unsuccessful; QoS guarantee for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being unsuccessful; resource allocation for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being successful; or QoS guarantee for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being successful in order to have improved efficiency.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al.(hereinafter Dao)(US 2019/0261260) in view of Peng et al. (hereinafter Peng)(US 2023/0084686).
Regarding claim 11, Dao did not teach specifically method of sending the PCC policy or the PDU session policy for the UE to a second network element based on receiving an event notification, wherein the event notification is configured to indicate a notification of an occurrence of a trigger event corresponding to the execution condition of the UE policy, and wherein the PCC policy or the PDU session policy for the UE is configured for the second network element to generate or update a QoS profile and a packet detective rule (PDR) for a single UE. However, Peng teaches in an analogous art method of sending the PCC policy or thea PDU session policy for the UE to a second network element based on receiving an event notification, wherein the event notification is configured to indicate a notification of an occurrence of a trigger event corresponding to the execution condition of the UE policy, and wherein the PCC policy or the PDU session policy for the UE is configured for the second network element to generate or update a QoS profile and a packet detective rule (PDR) for a single UE(P[0122], trigger enabling high speed mode; detecting the terminal device is in high speed mode; modification request message; Fig. 8; items S801-S803; P[0097], PDU sessions; QoS flows). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of method of sending the PCC policy or the PDU session policy for the UE to a second network element based on receiving an event notification, wherein the event notification is configured to indicate a notification of an occurrence of a trigger event corresponding to the execution condition of the UE policy, and wherein the PCC policy or the PDU session policy for the UE is configured for the second network element to generate or update a QoS profile and a packet detective rule (PDR) for a single UE in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, Dao did not teach specifically method of sending the a group policy and the an execution condition of the group policy to a second network element, wherein the group policy and the execution condition of the group policy are configured for the second network element to generate or update a group QoS profile and a group PDR for the UE group. . However, Peng teaches in an analogous art method of sending the group policy and the an execution condition of the group policy to a second network element, wherein the group policy and the execution condition of the group policy are configured for the second network element to generate or update a group QoS profile and a group PDR for the UE group(Fig. 3; 5a-5b; send groups of QoS profiles; S303 select one group of QoS profiles for the first QoS flow(group PDR); P[0122], trigger enabling of the high speed moving state; Fig. 3, second network element; select group QoS profile for the QoS flow; P[0099], selection based on assistance information, group of QoS profiles that has the highest QoS requirement that can be satisfied by the second network element). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of method of sending the group policy and the execution condition of the group policy to a second network element, wherein the group policy and the execution condition of the group policy are configured for the second network element to generate or update a group QoS profile and a group PDR for the UE group in order to have improved efficiency.
Claim(s) 13-15, 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (hereinafter Wei)(US 2024/0064557) in view of Pan et al. (hereinafter Pan)(WO 2022/001761 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Wei teaches a method for processing a policy, performed by a communication system comprising a second network element, the method comprising:
receiving, by a second network element, a group policy for a UE group and an execution condition of the group policy(P[0225; 0230], SMF triggers UPF resource adjustment according to the policy from PCF); and
generating a group QoS profile, and/or a group PDR, or both the group QoS profile and the group PDR for the UE group according to the group policy and the execution condition of the group policy(P[0226], QoS profile; P[0230], SMF may trigger resource adjustment according to policy from PCF);
wherein the group QoS profile, and/or the group PDR or both the group QoS profile and the group PDR are configured to allow the group policy to be executed, wherein in response to determining that the execution condition of the group policy is satisfied(abstract; group QoS treatment policy; P[0165], execution of group QoS treatment).
Wei did not teach specifically generating by the second network element, a group QoS profile. However, Pan teaches in an analogous art generating, by the second network element, a group QoS profile(P[0153], SMF generates QoS rules; P[0162], SMF generates PDR). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of generating, by the second network element, a group QoS profile in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, Wei teaches the method according to claim 13, further comprising at least one of: sending, by the second network element, the group PDR to a user plane function (UPF), wherein the group PDR is configured for the UPF to execute the group policy according to the execution condition of the group policy; and/or sending, by the second network element, the group QoS profile to a base station via an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the group QoS profile is configured for the base station to execute the group policy according to the execution condition of the group policy(P[0231], SMF provides the group QoS group information together with QoS profiles to AMF, AMF provides the information further to RAN; also P[0226]).
Regarding claim 15, Wei teaches the method according to claim 14, for processing a policy, wherein the communication system further comprises a third network element, and the method further comprises: receiving, by the third network element, a group QoS profile for a UE group, wherein the group QoS profile is generated according to a group policy for the UE group and an execution condition of the group policy; and executing, by the third network element, the group QoS profile(P[0225]; P[0230]], SMF triggers UPF resource adjustment according to policy including QoS group information).
Claims 48-49 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (hereinafter Wei)(US 2024/0064557) in view of Pan et al. (hereinafter Pan)(WO 2022/001761 A1) and Xing et al. (hereinafter Xing)(US 2022/0279389).
Regarding claim 16, Wei in view of Han teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, wherein executing the group QoS profile comprises: monitoring a trigger event according to the group QoS profile; and executing the group QoS profile associated with the group policy corresponding to the execution condition that is satisfied after the trigger event occurs. However, Xing teaches in an analogous art the method, wherein executing the group QoS profile comprises: monitoring a trigger event according to the group QoS profile; and executing the group QoS profile associated with the group policy corresponding to the execution condition that is satisfied after the trigger event occurs(P[0089], group of QoS requirement; QoS requirement with range threshold greater than the communication range threshold). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method the method, wherein executing the group QoS profile comprises: monitoring a trigger event according to the group QoS profile; and executing the group QoS profile associated with the group policy corresponding to the execution condition that is satisfied after the trigger event occurs in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 17, Xing teaches the method, wherein the execution condition comprises a QoS threshold; and wherein the trigger event comprises: a QoS of at least one UE in the UE group exceeding the QoS threshold; and/or a QoS of at least one UE in the UE group being less than the QoS threshold(P[0089], QoS threshold).
Regarding claim 18, Xing teaches the method, wherein the execution condition comprises priority information; and wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of: resource allocation for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being unsuccessful; QoS guarantee for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being unsuccessful; resource allocation for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being successful; or QoS guarantee for a UE with a priority indicated by the priority information being successful(P[0262], QoS requirement is satisfied; high priority is satisfied).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (hereinafter Wei)(US 2024/0064557) in view of Pan et al. (hereinafter Pan)(WO 2022/001761 A1) and Fard et al. (hereinafter Fard)(US 2020/0351984).
Regarding claim 19, Wei in view of Han teaches all the particulars of the claim except processing a policy, wherein the communication system further comprises a fourth network element, and the method further comprising: receiving, by the fourth network element, a group PDR for a UE group, wherein the group PDR is generated according to a group policy for the UE group and an execution condition of the group policy; and executing, by the fourth network element, the group PDR. However, Fard teaches in an analogous art processing a policy, wherein the communication system further comprises a fourth network element, and the method further comprising: receiving, by the fourth network element, a group PDR for a UE group, wherein the group PDR is generated according to a group policy for the UE group and an execution condition of the group policy; and executing, by the fourth network element, the group PDR(P[0270], triggering condition for updated policy; Claim 20; executed by UPF; configuration message comprising group PDR; PDR for the group communication). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method processing a policy, wherein the communication system further comprises a fourth network element, and the method further comprising: receiving, by the fourth network element, a group PDR for a UE group, wherein the group PDR is generated according to a group policy for the UE group and an execution condition of the group policy; and executing, by the fourth network element, the group PDR in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 20, Fard teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein executing the group PDR comprises: monitoring a trigger event according to the group PDR; executing the group PDR associated with the group policy corresponding to the execution condition that is satisfied after the trigger event occurs(P[0270], triggering condition for updated policy; Claim 20; executed by UPF; configuration message comprising group PDR; PDR for the group communication).
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (hereinafter Wei)(US 2024/0064557) in view of Pan et al. (hereinafter Pan)(WO 2022/001761 A1) and Dao et al.(hereinafter Dao)(US 2019/0261260).
Regarding claim 47, Wei in view of Han teaches all the particulars of the claim except determining a policy for a user equipment (UE) in a UE group and an execution condition of the policy, wherein the policy comprises: a policy control and charging (PCC) policy, a packet data unit (PDU) session policy, or both the PCC policy and the PDU session policy. However, Dao teaches in an analogous art determining a policy for a user equipment (UE) in a UE group (P[0126], UE initiates the PDU session modification by the transmission of a PDU session modification request as an NAS message) and an execution condition of the policy(P[0126], initiating the modification of policies procedure upon requests; this procedure may be triggered based ion locally configured policy), wherein the policy comprises: a policy control and charging (PCC) policy, a packet data unit (PDU) session policy, or both the PCC policy and the PDU session policy(P[0126], modify PCC rules; multiple PDU sessions). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method of determining a policy for a user equipment (UE) in a UE group and an execution condition of the policy, wherein the policy comprises: a policy control and charging (PCC) policy, a packet data unit (PDU) session policy, or both the PCC policy and the PDU session policy in order to have improved efficiency.
Conclusion
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647