DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2022/0083127) in view of Bamji et al. (US 2011/0291988), further in view of Ono et al. (US 2016/0041632).
As to Claim 1, Matsumoto et al. discloses A display control system comprising: a display device that displays an image on a display surface three-dimensionally formed with respect to a floor surface (fig.1-2,4,9,10; para.0024-The projector or LED module projects (displays) an image generated based on the video signal supplied from the control device 20 onto the wall surface 12 with respect to floor surface 11);
a two-dimensional scanning type optical distance measuring sensor that detects a contact position of an object on the display surface of the display device, wherein the optical distance measuring sensor emits inspection light along the display surface;
an imaging device disposed to acquire an image within a range that includes the display surface of the display device and the floor surface on a side of a front face of the display surface (fig.2, para.0023-camera 15 captures entire space 10 or at least the floor surface 11 and wall surface 12), wherein a length of the floor surface included in the range of imaging by the imaging device is 0.5 m or longer (fig.2,10; para.0023-camera 15 captures entire space 10; para.0029-control device 20 utilizes positions of users obtained from camera 15 to determine a user has come within a predetermined distance from the wall surface; para.0041- an arbitrary distance in a range of about several tens of centimeters to about 1 meter can be set); and
a controller that analyzes the image acquired by the imaging device to discriminate a type of the object captured in the image acquired by the imaging device,
determines a position at which the object of the discriminated type has come into contact with the display surface of the display device by integrating (i) information relating to the contact position of the object detected by the optical distance measuring sensor and (ii) analysis information relating to the type of the object derived from the image acquired by the imaging device (fig.9, para.0033- 0035, 0041-0045, 0061-0063, 0067-0071; the control device 20 analyzes the image capturing screen of the camera 15 and recognizes the position of the user with respect to the floor, and the control device determines whether the detected position of the user is near the wall surface or not; the control device 20 determines whether the user has touched the wall surface based on information received from the camera 15, and processes an application program according to the touch operation) and
controls the display device based on information relating to the type of the object and the information of the determination to change a type or a color of an image displayed at the contact position of the object in accordance with the type of the object (para.0069-0071-the control device 20 determines whether the user has touched the wall surface based on information received from the camera 15, and processes an application program according to the touch operation).
Matsumoto et al. discloses a motion sensor 27 may be used to detect a movement and position of the user, where the motion sensor 27 emits light with a predetermined wavelength such as infrared rays or laser light, and receives emitted reflected light to detect a movement of the object and any of a position at which the user 50 is located, how closely the user approaches the wall surface when the user 50 is not in contact with the wall surface, and a place of the wall surface that the user 50 is touching when the user is in contact with the wall surface can be acquired. The output of the motion is provided to the control device 20 to recognize the position of the user (fig.1-2,4,9; para.0022, 0034-0035).
Matsumoto et al. does not expressly disclose a two-dimensional scanning type optical distance measuring sensor that detects a contact position of an object on the display surface of the display device, wherein the optical distance measuring sensor emits inspection light along the display surface; a controller that analyzes the image acquired by the imaging device to discriminate a type of the object captured in the image acquired by the imaging device; and determines a position at which the object of the discriminated type has come into contact with the display surface of the display device by integrating (i) information relating to the contact position of the object detected by the optical distance measuring sensor and (ii) analysis information relating to the type of the object derived from the image acquired by the imaging device; controls the display device based on information relating to the type of the object and the information of the determination to change a type or a color of an image displayed at the contact position of the object in accordance with the type of the object
Bamji et al. discloses a two-dimensional scanning type optical distance measuring sensor that detects a contact position of an object on the display surface of the display device (fig.7A,8C,8E; para.0033,0057,0059,0062-0063,0068-0069,0071,0076), wherein the optical distance measuring sensor emits inspection light along the display surface (para.0057,0061-0062,0068-0069).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Matsumoto et al. with the teachings of Bamji et al., such that the control device (of Matsumoto) also acquires data from the two-dimensional camera and TOF systems (as disclosed by Bamji), the motivation being to provide a more robust detection of display surface touching and allow the system to more rapidly and reliably discern and identify user-object interaction with the display surface.
Matsumoto et al. in view of Bamji et al. do not expressly disclose a controller that analyzes the image acquired by the imaging device to discriminate a type of the object captured in the image acquired by the imaging device; and determines a position at which the object of the discriminated type has come into contact with the display surface of the display device by integrating… analysis information relating to the type of the object derived from the image acquired by the imaging device; controls the display device based on information relating to the type of the object and the information of the determination to change a type or a color of an image displayed at the contact position of the object in accordance with the type of the object
Ono et al. discloses a controller that analyzes the image acquired by the imaging device to discriminate a type of the object captured in the image acquired by the imaging device (para.0077, 0084-0087, 0096, 0110, 0114-0115, 0118; determines whether the pointing tool is a finger or a light pen from obtained image); and determines a position at which the object of the discriminated type has come into contact with the display surface of the display device by integrating analysis information relating to the type of the object derived from the image acquired by the imaging device (para.0077,0110, 0114-0115, 0118,0120- type determination unit 713 determines whether the pointing tool is a finger or a light pen, and calculates a feature of the pointing tool, which may be coordinates of the pointing tool); controls the display device based on information relating to the type of the object and the information of the determination to change a type or a color of an image displayed at the contact position of the object in accordance with the type of the object (para.0056, 0075, 0080-0081, 0089,0098,0103,0122-0123- when it is determined is light pen, in which an image of the light pen is detected in the captured image, the coordinates of the determined pointing tool is a pen is sent to the drawing unit, which starts drawing from the coordinate position of the light pen, and if it is determined it is a finger, which include image area irradiated by the lighting unit 15 and image caused by the light emitting pen is not detected in the captured image, the operation mode is switched to finger detection mode, in which hand writing may be performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Matsumoto et al. in view of Bamji et al., with the teachings of Ono et al., the motivation being to provide different modes of operation according to the type of pointing tool used by the user.
As to Claim 4, Matsumoto et al. in view of Bamji et al., as modified by Ono et al. disclose wherein the object includes a light emission unit that emits light in a pattern or a color that differs depending on the type (Ono-para.0059,0091- light pen has a light emission unit that emits light, and when a luminance increased area exists in the captured image due to the light emitted from the light pen, detects a contact of the light pen; para.0075), and the controller analyzes the light emission pattern or the color of the light emission unit captured in the image to discriminate the type of the object captured in the image (Ono-para.0059,0091- light pen has a light emission unit that emits light and when a luminance increased area exists in the captured image due to the light emitted from the light pen, detects a contact of the light pen; para.0075).
As to Claim 5, Matsumoto et al. in view of Bamji et al., as modified by Ono et al. disclose wherein the controller captures the object before the object comes into contact with the display surface based on the image acquired by the imaging device (Matsumoto-para.0034,0063; Ono-para.0052), and estimates that the object has come into contact with the display surface or estimates the contact position of the object on the display surface (Matsumoto-fig.9; para.0034,0067-0068; Ono-0052), and detects that the object captured by the imaging device has come into contact with the display surface and detects the contact position of the object based on the information detected by the optical distance measuring sensor (Matsumoto- para.0034, 0044, 0067-0068; Bamji-para.0063,0068-0069,0071,0076; Ono-para.0052,0097).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection are applied as necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DISMERY MERCEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627