DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8 July 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 15 recites “computer-readable storage medium.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01.
The USPTO recognizes that applicants may have claims directed to computer readable media that cover signals per se, which the USPTO must reject under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter. In an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming a rejection or potential rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 in this situation, the USPTO suggests the following approach. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § I01 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim. Cf. Animals -Patentability, 1 077 0ff. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (suggesting that applicants add the limitation "non-human" to a claim covering a multi-cellular organism to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101). Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. The limited situations in which such an amendment could raise issues of new matter occur, for example, when the specification does not support a non-transitory embodiment because a signal per se is the only viable embodiment such that the amended claim is impermissibly broadened beyond the supporting disclosure. See, e.g., Gentry Gallery, Inc. v. Berkline Corp., 134 F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eom et al. (US 2016/0171932).
Regarding claim 1, Eom et al. disclose a driving method for a display panel (Figures 5-7B), comprising:
obtaining a grayscale value of each pixel point in an image to be displayed (Figures 7A-7B, the luminance (brightness) step is the grayscale value, see paragraphs [0032]-[0033] for example. Figure 4 shows a full image and Figure 5 shows that driving for a full image [each pixel point].);
determining a pixel point as a target pixel point in response to the grayscale value of the pixel point being less than a preset grayscale threshold (Figure 7A shows that each pixel point is determined as a target pixel point [reference luminance] in the AID dimming section that is below the threshold of “110” in the luminance (brightness) step as shown.);
obtaining, based on a preset correspondence (Table in Figure 7A), a target grayscale value and a target display frequency that correspond to the target pixel point (Figure 7A shows that for each pixel point of 20-100 that the target grayscale value [reference luminance] is obtained in the table as 110, and a target display frequency [duty ratio] is also obtained for each pixel point of 20-100.), wherein the target grayscale value is greater than the grayscale value of the target pixel point (Figure 7A shows that the target grayscale value [reference luminance] is 110 which is greater than 100, for example, [grayscale value of the target pixel point].), and the target display frequency is less than or equal to a first design display frequency of the target pixel point (Figure 7A shows that the 11.1% is the off duty for the luminance step 100, which means that the on duty is 89%, which is less than 100% which is a “first design display frequency” [for normal driving].); and
displaying, based on the target grayscale value and the target display frequency, the target pixel point in the image (Figure 4 shows that an image is displayed using the AID driving principle with respect to using the table of Figure 7A.).
Regarding claim 2, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, based on the preset correspondence, the target grayscale value and the target display frequency that correspond to the target pixel point comprises:
determining, based on the preset correspondence, the target grayscale value and the target display frequency that correspond to the grayscale value of the target pixel point (Figure 7A shows that the preset correspondence, i.e. table, is used to determine the target grayscale value and the target display frequency that correspond to the grayscale value of the target pixel point.).
Regarding claim 3, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining a low grayscale range (Figure 7A shows the “AID dimming section” which is a low grayscale range.);
assigning a target grayscale value to each grayscale value within the low grayscale range (Figures 7A shows a target grayscale value of 110 to each of the values for 20-100.);
determining, based on a first design display frequency of a pixel point with a grayscale value within the low grayscale range, a target display frequency corresponding to the target grayscale value assigned to the grayscale value (Figures 7A shows that based on 100% duty ratio, i.e. a first design display frequency, that a duty ratio is determined for the corresponding target grayscale value so as to create a target display frequency.); and
establishing the correspondence by associating the each grayscale value within the low grayscale range with the target grayscale value and the target display frequency that correspond to the grayscale value (Figure 7A shows that the correspondence is established in the chart.).
Regarding claim 4, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein target grayscale values corresponding to respective ones of grayscale values within the low grayscale range are at least partially the same (Figure 7 shows that all of the values in the AID dimiming section are 110 and thus are at least “partially the same” as claimed.); or
target grayscale values corresponding to respective ones of grayscale values within the low grayscale range are mutually different.
Regarding claim 7, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first design display frequency of the target pixel point is 2 to 4 times the target display frequency (Figure 7A, since, for example, 100% on duty ratio is the first design display frequency, and at 50 the duty ratio is 58% off, meaning 42% on, where 100 is 2-4 times greater than 42.).
Regarding claim 8, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein a display frequency of a pixel point, in the image to be displayed, with a grayscale value greater than the grayscale threshold is a second design display frequency (Figure 7A, the values for the smart dimming section are grayscale value greater than the grayscale threshold of 110, and have second design display frequency.);
the first design display frequency of the target pixel point is the same as the second design display frequency (Figure 7A shows that the duty ratio is 100% on for the smart dimming section and thus the first and second are the same.); or
the first design display frequency of the target pixel point is greater than the second design display frequency.
Regarding claim 9, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein before the displaying, based on the target grayscale value and the target display frequency, the target pixel point in the image, the method further comprises:
determining, based on the target grayscale value, a grayscale voltage corresponding to the target grayscale value (Figure 7A, grayscale voltages are determined based on the reference luminance, see paragraph [0032].).
Regarding claim 10, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 9, wherein the displaying, based on the target grayscale value and the target display frequency, the target pixel point in the image comprises:
displaying, according to the target display frequency, the target pixel point in the image by using the grayscale voltage corresponding to the target grayscale value (Figure 4 shows that an image is displayed using the driving principles with respect to using the table of Figure 7A. See also paragraphs [0032] and [0037].).
Regarding claim 11, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 8, further comprising:
determining a grayscale voltage of each pixel point, in the image to be displayed, with a grayscale value greater than the grayscale threshold (Figure 7A shows the values for the smart dimming section are above the threshold of 110 as shown. See paragraphs [0032] and [0037], grayscale voltages will be determined for these values as well.); and
displaying, according to the second design display frequency, the pixel point, in the image, with the grayscale value greater than the grayscale threshold by using the grayscale voltage of the each pixel point (Figure 4 shows that an image is displayed using the driving principles with respect to using the table of Figure 7A and thus the “second design display frequency” will be used for the “smart” section. See also paragraphs [0032] and [0037].).
Regarding claim 13, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 9, wherein the grayscale voltage of the target grayscale value is greater than a grayscale voltage of a low grayscale value corresponding to the target grayscale value (Figure 7A the values for the smart section are larger than the low grayscale voltages.).
Regarding claim 15, please refer to the rejection of claim 1, and furthermore Eom et al. also disclose a computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the program, when executed by a processor, implements the driving method (Paragraph [0056].).
Regarding claim 16, please refer to the rejection of claim 1, and furthermore Eom et al. also disclose a display apparatus (Figure 1), comprising: a display panel (Figure 1, 10); one or more processors (Paragraph [0056]); and a storage device, configured to store one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, enables the one or more processors to implement the driving method (Paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 17, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2016/0171932) in view of Hanamoto (JP 2011-130133 A).
Regarding claim 5, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the display panel is provided with 256 grayscales (Paragraph [0033], “255 grayscale points” where 0 is the 256th.).
Eom et al. fail to teach wherein the grayscale threshold is less than or equal to 8.
Hanamoto discloses wherein a display panel is provided with 256 grayscales, and a grayscale threshold is less than or equal to 8 (See page 19 of the provided document, the 4th paragraph, which recites: “In step S404, if the luminance value of the pixel to be processed is less than the predetermined threshold value H, the process proceeds to step S405. If not, the process proceeds to step S408. For example, when the number of gradations of the processing target pixel is 8 bits (256 gradations) and the threshold value H is 8, the luminance value of the target pixel is less than the threshold value when the luminance value is 7 or less. In this case, it is determined that the threshold value is exceeded.”).
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of the actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In combination Eom et al. performs the same function as it does separately of providing a method for having divided dimming sections, and Hanamoto performs the same function as it does separately of providing a grayscale threshold of 8.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in the display panel being provided with 256 grayscales and the grayscale threshold being 8.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, Eom et al. and Hanamoto disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein an absolute value of a difference between the grayscale value of the target pixel point and the target grayscale value corresponding to the target pixel point is greater than or equal to 4, and is less than or equal to 10 (Eom et al.: Figure 7A, when the grayscale value is 110 and the target grayscale value is 100, the difference is 10, which is greater than or equal to 4, and is less than or equal to 10.).
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 21, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2016/0171932) in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0090523).
Regarding claim 12, Eom et al. disclose the method according to claim 8.
Eom et al. fail to teach wherein the first design display frequency of the target pixel point is greater than or equal to 120 Hz.
Huang et al. disclose wherein a first design display frequency of a target pixel point is greater than or equal to 120 Hz (Paragraph [0078]: “A VSYNC frequency may be any applicable frequency that enables operation of a display device and may be, for example, 60 Hz, 90 Hz, 120 Hz, 240 Hz, or the like.”).
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of the actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In combination Eom et al. performs the same function as it does separately of providing a method for having divided dimming sections, and Huang et al. performs the same function as it does separately of providing a first design display frequency greater than or equal to 120 Hz.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in the first design display frequency of the target pixel point is greater than or equal to 120 Hz.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
9 February 2026