DETAILED ACTION
The claims 1-15 are pending and presented for the examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/01/2024, 07/30/2025, and 04/07/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-9, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ritter et al (US 8268065 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Ritter et al teaches x-ray opaque glass and teaches exemplary embodiments comprising 52.09-57.77 wt% SiO2, 10.30-11.16 wt% B2O3, 5.00-5.42 wt% Al2O3, 11.82-14.02 wt% K2O, and 0-8.41 wt% Cs2O (see Table 1, examples 1-3 and 5-11) and being free of Pb components. The Ritter et al glasses have aluminum equivalent thicknesses of 255% - 472%, and Ritter et al teaches that these equivalent thicknesses are given in terms of percentage as compared to a 2 mm glass thickness. As such, the aluminum equivalent thicknesses of the Ritter glasses are 5.1-9.44 mm. The aforementioned Ritter et al exemplary embodiment glasses have refractive indices, nd, of 1.522-1.531, and the relationship (aluminum equivalent thickness)/(refractive index) is thus 3.35-6.17. Each limitation of claim 1 is therefore met by the Ritter et al teachings, and the claim is anticipated by the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 2, Ritter et al teaches embodiments wherein the content of Cs2O+BaO+SnO2+La2O3 is 12.17-13.90 wt% (see Table 1, examples 6 and 9-11). As discussed above, the Ritter et al glasses meet each further compositional limitation of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, Ritter et al teaches exemplary embodiment glasses that have refractive indices, nd, of 1.522-1.531.
Regarding claim 4, Ritter et al teaches glasses having aluminum equivalent thicknesses of 255-472%, which converts to 5.1-9.44 mm based on a 2 mm thickness as described in the Ritter et al document (see column 2, lines 25-35).
Regarding claim 5, the aforementioned Ritter et al glasses do not contain an F component.
Regarding claim 6, Ritter et al teaches embodiments wherein the content of Cs2O+BaO+SnO2+La2O3 is 12.17-13.90 wt% (see Table 1, examples 6 and 9-11).
Regarding claim 7, the aforementioned Ritter et al glasses do not contain TiO2.
Regarding claim 8, the aforementioned Ritter et al glasses do not contain WO3.
Regarding claim 9, Ritter et al teaches that the inventive glass is used as a filler (see claim 14).
Regarding claim 11, Ritter et al teaches embodiments wherein the glass is a powder (filler) with a size of 0.4-4 µm (see column 7, lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 12, Ritter et al teaches embodiments wherein the surface of the glass powder (filler) is subject to silanization (see column 8, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 13, Ritter et al teaches that the inventive glass is used in a composition in combination with a curable resin (see column 8, lines 25-30).
Regarding claim 15, Ritter et al teaches that the inventive composition of resin and glass filler is a dental composition (see claim 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter et al (US 8268065 B2) in view of Legere et al (WO 2020/237399 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the claim differs from Ritter et al as applied above because Ritter et al does not specify that the inventive glass filler is substantially spherical. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ritter et al in view of Legere et al in order to use a substantially spherical shape as taught therein. Legere et al teaches a glass material for use as a radiopaque particulate in medical applications, and specifies that the glass particulate should be spherical in shape (see paragraph 0020). As there is no teaching in Ritter et al as to the shape of the filler particulate, one of ordinary skill would have had motivation to look to other, similar teachings in the art for guidance as to this property. Legere et al provides such guidance in teaching that spherical particulate was known to be used as the glass shape in radiopaque applications such as those taught by Ritter et al, and thus one would have been motivated to use this shape with the Ritter et al filler. Each further limitation of claim 10 is met by the teachings of the prior art of record, and the claim is obvious and not patentably distinct.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter et al (US 8268065 B2) in view of Kunert et al (EP 0997132 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the claim differs from Ritter et al as applied above because Ritter et al does not specify the amount of glass filler used in combination with the resin component of the inventive composition. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ritter et al in view of Kunert et al in order to use the filler content amount taught therein with the Ritter et al composition. Kunert et al teaches a radiopaque dental glass and composite comprising the same along with a resin matrix component. Kunert et al teaches that the glass filler component can be present in the composite in amounts of up to 80 wt%. As such, this content range significantly overlaps and renders obvious the corresponding range of the instant claim. As there is no teaching in Ritter et al as to the specific content of the glass filler component in combination with the resin component, one of ordinary skill would have had motivation to look to other, similar teachings in the art for guidance as to this property. Kunert et al provides such guidance in teaching a specific amount range for the filler component, and thus one would have been motivated to use this amount for the Ritter et al filler. Each further limitation of claim 14 is met by the teachings of the prior art of record, and the claim is obvious and not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
12. No claim is allowed.
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Most particularly, Dahlmann et al (US 2019/0233325 A1) and Ritter et al (US 2014/0106168 A1) each teach X-ray opaque glasses used in dental applications that appear substantially similar to those of the instant claims in terms of composition and properties.
/NOAH S WIESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
NSW29 May 2026