DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse Group I, claims 16 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 8/21/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one brings about surprising olfactory properties in a composition. This is not found persuasive for the reasons of record that compositions comprising 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one are well known in art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. It is hard to understand how the various aroma impressions, as set forth in dependent claim 19, are further limiting of 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one containing compositions since 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one itself has these various aroma impressions. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Young U.S. Patent Number 3,859,365.
Young discloses alkyl-substituted phenols, particularly 3,4,5- and 2,3,6-trimethylphenols, are prepared by heating a suitable alkyl-substituted 2-cyclohexen-1-one in the presence of oxygen, a catalytic amount of cupric chloride, from 0.01 to 2.0 moles of hydrochloric acid and a water compatible organic solvent at a temperature of from 20 to 200.degree.C. The phenols are especially useful as germicidal materials, for conversion into soil insecticidal materials and as intermediates for the synthesis of trimethylhydroquinone, see abstract, examples and claims, such as claim 4.
Applicant’s claims are deemed to be anticipate over Example 2 which uses the same process as in Example 1. In Example 2, 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one is slowly added over a period of 1 hour to a composition comprising a solution of cupric chloride dihydrate, hydrochloric acid, acetic acid and water. The reaction occurs while air is admixed with said composition comprising 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one over a period of over 2.5 hours to make 2,3,6-trimethyl phenol (the dehydrogenation product of 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one). Please note that during the 1 hour of the addition of 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one to the solution/composition, 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one inherently imparts aroma impressions to the solution/composition.
Claim(s) 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Thoemel et al. U.S. Patent Number 4,491,545.
Thoemel et al. discloses a process of making 2,3,5-trimethyl-p-benzoquinone using either 2,3,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one (same compound as Applicant’s 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one) or 2,5,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one.
Applicant’s claims are deemed to be anticipated over Examples 1-3 when
2,3,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one is used as the starting material instead of 2,5,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one.
Please note that Example 1 teaches a process of making 2,3,5-trimethyl-p-benzoquinone where a mixture of hydrogen chloride in isopropanol at room temperature is first produced, followed by the addition of 2,5,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one and copper(I) oxide. The reaction occurs when said mixture is heated to 70oC and air is admixed with said mixtures over a period of 3 hours. Please note that the substitution of 2,3,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one for 2,5,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one in said process, would have been at once envisaged since Thoemel et al. directly discloses that either 2,3,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one or 2,5,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one are used as a starting reactant. Also note that the addition of 2,5,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one or 2,3,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-one, would inherently impart aroma impressions to the starting composition, which subsequently undergoes the reaction to make 2,3,5-trimethyl-p-benzoquinone.
Claim(s) 18 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over GB 1,300,431.
GB discloses a process for the production of 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one from starting reactants, see Example 1. Applicant’s claims are deemed to be anticipated over this Example when after the reaction has taken place, an extraction process is performed wherein diethyl ether is added to extract 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one from the organic layer phase. In the alternative, to perform the extraction step wherein the product composition comprising 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one, is itself added to a diethyl ether extractant composition, would have been at once envisaged by one having ordinary skill in the art since such would be equally effective and safe to extract the 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one product. Finally, it is noted that 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one would inherently impart aroma impressions to extractant composition containing diethyl ether. It is also noted that a composition comprising 2,3,6-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-one in diethyl ether, reads directly on at least a perfume composition as set forth in Applicant’s dependent claim 18.
/JOSEPH D ANTHONY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764