This is in response to the application filed on December 3, 2024. Claims 1-18 stand rejected as set forth below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The examiner notes that the rejection is based on the claims filed on October 7, 2024. The claims filed on December 3, 2024 are missing the proper amendments to comply with US formatting requirements.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "22" and "42" have both been used to designate the “staple” in Fig 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “22” has been used to designate both the “staple” (Fig 3) and the “central portion” (Fig 1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The current abstract exceeds the 150 word limit.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 12-13, 16, and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Yaguchi (WO 2017061533).
In regard to Claim 1, Yaguchi discloses a composite deck plate (reinforced structural body 14A) (Fig 1, 2) [English Trans, page 36-37] having a predetermined area and having both side edge portions extending in a length direction and both end edge portions extending in a width direction intersecting the length direction, the composite deck plate (reinforced structural body 14A) (Fig 1, 2) [English Trans, page 36-37] comprising : a reinforced deck plate (upper bar 31) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 40]; and at least one wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 46-47] disposed under the reinforced deck plate (upper bar 31) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 40] and having a predetermined area, wherein the reinforced deck plate (upper bar 31) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 40] includes a metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 47-48] having a predetermined area and having a first end edge portion (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2), a second end edge portion (left side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2), and a central portion (second portion 26) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38], the first end edge portion (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) and the second end edge portion (left side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) facing each other while being spaced apart from each other in the length direction and extending in the width direction, and the central portion (second portion 26) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38] being positioned between the first end edge portion (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) and the second end edge portion (left side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2), and at least one reinforcing structure (upper rebar 31) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 40] disposed and fixed on and to an upper surface of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 47-48] and extending in the length direction between the first end edge portion (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) and the second end edge portion (left side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 47-48], and the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 46-47] is fixed to a lower surface of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 47-48] by predetermined fixing means (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38, 48].
In regard to Claim 2, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 1, wherein the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2, 25) is any one of first to n-th wood-based plates (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2, 25) extending in the length direction (‘front-rear direction’ indicated by ‘arrow X’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83] parallel to the reinforcing structure (upper rebar 31) (Fig 25, 26) and arranged in the width direction (‘width direction’ indicated by ‘arrow Y’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83] intersecting the reinforcing structure (upper rebar 31) (Fig 25, 26), and first to n-th wood-based plates (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2, 25) extending in the width direction (‘width direction’ indicated by ‘arrow Y’) (Fig 26) intersecting the reinforcing structure (upper rebar 31) and arranged in the length direction parallel to the reinforcing structure (upper rebar 31), and the wood-based plates (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 46-47] are fixed to the lower surface of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 47-48] by the predetermined fixing means (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38, 48].
In regard to Claim 3, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 1, wherein the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) of the reinforced deck plate (upper bar 31) (Fig 2) has a first side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the right edge) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38] extending in the length direction (‘front-rear direction’ indicated by ‘arrow X’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83] and a second side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the left edge) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38] positioned opposite to the first side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the right edge) (Fig 2) and extending in the length direction (‘front-rear direction’ indicated by ‘arrow X’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83], and the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2) has a first side area (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) extending outward in the width direction (‘width direction’ indicated by ‘arrow Y’) (Fig 1, 26) from the first side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the right edge) (Fig 2) of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) and exposed outward in the width direction (‘width direction’ indicated by ‘arrow Y’) (Fig 1, 26) from the first side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the right edge) (Fig 2), a second side area (left side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) positioned opposite to the first side area (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2), extending outward in the width direction (‘width direction’ indicated by ‘arrow Y’) (Fig 1, 26) from the second side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the left edge) (Fig 2) of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2), and exposed outward in the width direction (‘width direction’ indicated by ‘arrow Y’) (Fig 1, 26) from the second side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the left edge) (Fig 2), and a center area (middle of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) positioned between the first (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) and second (left side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) side areas and fixed to the lower surface of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2).
In regard to Claim 4, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 1, wherein the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) of the reinforced deck plate (upper bar 31) (Fig 2) has a first side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the right edge) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38] extending in the length direction (‘front-rear direction’ indicated by ‘arrow X’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83] and a second side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the left edge) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38] positioned opposite to the first side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the right edge) (Fig 2) and extending in the length direction (‘front-rear direction’ indicated by ‘arrow X’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83], and the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2) has a first side area (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) positioned on a lower surface of the first side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the right edge) (Fig 2) of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) and fixed to the first side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the right edge) (Fig 2), a second side area (left side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) positioned opposite to the first side area (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2), positioned on a lower surface of the second side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the left edge) (Fig 2) the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2), and fixed to the second side edge portion (‘side edge 22’ on the left edge) (Fig 2), and a center area (middle of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) positioned between the first (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) and second (left side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) side areas and fixed to the lower surface of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2).
In regard to Claim 5, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 1, wherein the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2) is fixed to the lower surface of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) by a plurality of the fixing means (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38, 48] intermittently arranged in the length direction (‘front-rear direction’ indicated by ‘arrow X’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83] of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2).
In regard to Claim 12, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 5, wherein the fixing means is a plurality of fixing bolts (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38, 48] or fixing screws each having a head portion (head portion 40) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 48] and a screw portion (screw portion 41) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 48] having a predetermined length, the fixing bolts (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) or fixing screws are intermittently arranged at predetermined intervals in the length direction (‘front-rear direction’ indicated by ‘arrow X’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83] of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2), and the screw portion (screw portion 41) (Fig 2), is screwed into the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2) while penetrating through the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 48].
In regard to Claim 13, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of fixing bolts (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38, 48] or fixing screws are intermittently arranged at predetermined intervals in the width direction (‘width direction’ indicated by ‘arrow Y’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83] of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2), and the screw portion (screw portion 41) (Fig 2), is screwed into the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2) while penetrating through the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 48].
In regard to Claim 16, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 1, wherein the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 1, 2) has a first end (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) positioned at one end edge portion (first engagement portion 28) (Fig 1, 2) of the composite deck plate and a second end (left side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) positioned at the other end edge portion (second engagement portion 29) (Fig 1, 2) of the composite deck plate (reinforced structural body 14A) (Fig 1, 2), the first end edge portion (first engagement portion 28) (Fig 1, 2) of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 1, 2) extends outward in the length direction (‘front-rear direction’ indicated by ‘arrow X’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83] from the first end (right side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) of the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 1, 2) by a predetermined dimension, and the second end edge portion (second engagement portion 29) (Fig 1, 2) of the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 1, 2) extends outward in the length direction (‘front-rear direction’ indicated by ‘arrow X’) (Fig 1, 26) [English Trans, page 37, 83] from the second end (left side of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2) of the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 1, 2) by a predetermined dimension.
In regard to Claim 18, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 1, wherein the metal base is an iron plate (iron plate base 16) [English Trans, page 38-39], and the wood-based plate is formed using any one of wood having a predetermined area, plywood having a predetermined area, a wood-based siding material having a predetermined area, a cross laminated timber (CLT) having a predetermined area, an oriented strand board (OSB plywood) having a predetermined area, a wood cement board having a predetermined area, a particle board having a predetermined area, and a medium density fiber (MDF) board having a predetermined area [English Trans, page 47].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaguchi (WO 2017061533) and further in view of Ebisawa (KR 2020013530).
In regard to Claim 6, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 5, wherein the fixing means (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38, 48] penetrates through the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 1, 2) while penetrating through the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 1, 2), but Yaguchi does not disclose wherein the fixing means is a staple. Ebisawa discloses wherein the fixing means is a staple (fixed metal members 13a, 13b) (Fig 3-5, 11a) [English Trans, 0094] including a shoulder portion (top portion of ‘fixed metal members 13a, 13b’ seen in Fig 5) having a predetermined shoulder width and a pair of leg portions (side portion of ‘fixed metal members 13a, 13b’ seen in Fig 3) having a predetermined leg length, the staples are intermittently arranged at predetermined intervals (Fig 3) in the length direction (Y-direction) (Fig 1, 3) in a state where the shoulder portions extend in the width direction (X-direction) (Fig 1, 3, 11a), and the leg portions are applied into the wood-based plate (wood panel 11) (Fig 11a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composite deck plate made of a wood-based plate and a metal base of Yaguchi with the staple fixing means of Ebisawa in order to reduce the risk of splitting the wood-based plate.
In regard to Claim 7, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 5, wherein the fixing means (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38, 48] penetrates through the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 1, 2) while penetrating through the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 1, 2), but Yaguchi does not disclose wherein the fixing means is a staple. Ebisawa discloses wherein the fixing means is a staple (fixed metal members 13a, 13b) (Fig 3-5, 11a) [English Trans, 0094] including a shoulder portion (top portion of ‘fixed metal members 13a, 13b’ seen in Fig 5) having a predetermined shoulder width and a pair of leg portions (side portion of ‘fixed metal members 13a, 13b’ seen in Fig 3) having a predetermined leg length, the staples are intermittently arranged at predetermined intervals in the length direction (X-direction) (Fig 1, 3) in a state where the shoulder portions extend in the length direction (X-direction) (Fig 1, 3, 11a), and the leg portions are applied into the wood-based plate (wood panel 11) (Fig 11a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composite deck plate made of a wood-based plate and a metal base of Yaguchi with the staple fixing means of Ebisawa in order to reduce the risk of splitting the wood-based plate.
In regard to Claim 8, Yaguchi and Ebisawa disclose the composite deck plate according to claim 6. Yaguchi discloses wherein the fixing means (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38, 48] are applied into the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 1, 2) while penetrating through the metal base (steel-sheet base 16) (Fig 1, 2). Ebisawa discloses wherein the plurality of staples (fixed metal members 13a, 13b) (Fig 3-5, 11a) [English Trans, 0094] are intermittently arranged at predetermined intervals in the width direction (X-direction) (Fig 1, 3) of the base.
In regard to Claim 9, Yaguchi and Ebisawa disclose the composite deck plate according to claim 6, but do not specifically disclose wherein the number of staples in a center portion is larger than the number of staples in the remaining portions. Ebisawa discloses wherein the staples (fixed metal members 13a, 13b) (Fig 3-5, 11a) [English Trans, 0094] are applied into the wood-based plate (wood panel 11) (Fig 1, 3) in a state of being densely arranged, but does not specifically disclose wherein the number of staples in a center portion is larger than the number of staples in the remaining portions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composite deck plate of Yaguchi and Ebisawa to add additional staples to the central portion and to configure the staples such that the number of applied staples in a periphery of a center of the central portion of the metal base is larger than the number of applied staples in a remaining portion of the central portion excluding the periphery of the center of the metal base and a separation dimension between the staples in the length direction in the periphery of the center of the central portion of the metal base is smaller than a separation dimension between the staples in the length direction in the remaining portion of the central portion in order to better distribute structural loads and minimize weak points.
In regard to Claim 10, Yaguchi and Ebisawa disclose the composite deck plate according to claim 6, but does not specifically disclose wherein the number of staples in the end edges is larger than the number of staples in the remaining portions. Ebisawa discloses wherein the staples (fixed metal members 13a, 13b) (Fig 3-5, 11a) [English Trans, 0094] are applied into the wood-based plate (wood panel 11) (Fig 1, 3) in a state of being densely arranged. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composite deck plate of Yaguchi and Ebisawa to add additional staples to the end edges and to configure the staples such that the number of applied staples in peripheries of end edges of the first and second end edge portions of the metal base is larger than the number of applied staples in remaining portions of the first and second end edge portions excluding the peripheries of the end edges of the metal base and a separation dimension between the staples in the length direction in the peripheries of the end edges of the first and second end edge portions of the metal base is smaller than a separation dimension between the staples in the length direction in the remaining portions of the first and second end edge portions in order to better distribute structural loads and minimize weak points.
In regard to Claim 11, Yaguchi and Ebisawa disclose the composite deck plate according to claim 6. Yaguchi discloses wherein an adhesive is applied to the fixing means (fixing bolts 19) [English Trans, page 48]. Ebisawa discloses wherein an adhesive is applied to the staples (fixed metal members 13a, 13b) (Fig 3-5, 11a) [English Trans, 0094]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composite deck plate of Yaguchi with the staple fixing means of Ebisawa in order to reduce the risk of splitting the wood-based plate.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaguchi (WO 2017061533).
In regard to Claim 14, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 12, wherein there are fixing means (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38, 48] screwed in a periphery of a center of a central portion (middle of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2), and the fixing bolts (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) or fixing screws are screwed into the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2) in a state of being densely arranged. Yaguchi does not disclose wherein the number of fixing means in the center portion is larger than the number of staples in the remaining portions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composite deck plate of Yaguchi to add additional bolts to the central portion and to configure the fixing means such that number of fixing bolts or fixing screws screwed in a periphery of a center of a central portion of the metal base is larger than the number of fixing bolts or fixing screws screwed in a remaining portion of the central portion excluding the periphery of the center of the metal base and a separation dimension between the fixing bolts or fixing screws in the length direction in the periphery of the center of the central portion of the metal base is smaller than a separation dimension between the fixing bolts or fixing screws in the length direction in the remaining portion of the central portion in order to better distribute structural loads and minimize weak points.
In regard to Claim 15, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 12, wherein there are fixing means (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) [English Trans, page 38, 48] screwed in a periphery of an end edge portions (end edge portions of ‘ceiling finish board 18’) (Fig 2), and the fixing bolts (fixing bolts 19) (Fig 2) or fixing screws are screwed into the wood-based plate (ceiling finish board 18) (Fig 2) in a state of being densely arranged. Yaguchi does not disclose wherein the number of fixing means in the end edge portions is larger than the number of staples in the remaining portions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composite deck plate of Yaguchi to add additional bolts to the end edge portions and to configure the fixing means such that the number of fixing bolts or fixing screws screwed in peripheries of end edges of the first and second end edge portions of the metal base is larger than the number of fixing bolts or fixing screws screwed in remaining portions of the first and second end edge portions excluding the peripheries of the end edges of the metal base and a separation dimension between the fixing bolts or fixing screws in the length direction in the peripheries of the end edges of the first and second end edge portions of the metal base is smaller than a separation dimension between the fixing bolts or fixing screws in the length direction in the remaining portions of the first and second end edge portions in order to better distribute structural loads and minimize weak points.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaguchi (WO 2017061533) and further in view of Levinton (US 20120200004).
In regard to Claim 17, Yaguchi discloses the composite deck plate according to claim 16, but does not disclose wherein points of the deck plate are waterproofed. Levinton discloses wherein the deck plate (slab) (Fig 1) [0080] is waterproofed with a waterproofing material. Yaguchi and Levinton, in combination, disclose wherein a first point where the first end of the wood-based plate and a lower surface of the first end edge portion of the metal base are in contact with each other is waterproofed with a waterproofing material, and a second point where the second end of the wood-based plate and a lower surface of the second end edge portion of the metal base are in contact with each other is waterproofed with the waterproofing material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composite deck plate of Yaguchi with the waterproofing of Ebisawa in order to prevent the passage of water through the deck plate.
Conclusion
/Audrey Fisher/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635