DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20240195669 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20230319886 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. teaches a wireless communication method, performed by a station (STA) that supports multiple links (Paragraph 35, 81–82, These passages disclose a station (STA) performing wireless frame transmission operations in a WLAN), and comprising: determining a data frame under a first link (Paragraph 68, 75–76, 79, These passages disclose that a STA determines channel conditions and proceeds to transmit a data frame, which teaches determining a data frame for transmission under a communication link), updating a network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) under the links according to sensing results under the first link and the second link (Paragraph 75, 77–78, These passages disclose setting and updating a NAV timer based on received frames and channel occupation, thereby teaching updating the NAV timer according to sensed link activity before accessing the medium), and transmitting the data frame according to the NAV timer (Paragraph 78–80, These passages disclose that a STA defers transmission until the NAV timer expires and then transmits a data frame).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach performing channel sensing under the first link and a second link.
However, Wang et al. teaches performing channel sensing under the first link and a second link (Paragraph 196, 232, 253, 269, These passages collectively teach (1) acquiring the medium through channel sensing, (2) maintaining per-link medium access state (NAV and EDCA timers), and (3) determining channel availability per channel/subchannel (i.e., per link), which together disclose performing channel sensing independently under multiple links before transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing channel sensing under the first link and a second link as taught by Wang et al. in the system of Lee et al., so that it would enable accurate per-link channel availability determination and corresponding NAV timer updates to support coordinated and efficient multi-link medium access before transmitting a data frame.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. teaches updating, in response to determining that reception under the first link is an inter- protocol data unit (PPDU), a first link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) under a present link according to a Spatial Reuse (SR) parameter information broadcasted by an Access Point (AP) (Paragraph 75, 78, 81, 85, These passages collectively teach that upon reception of a PPDU (HE frame), a station determines the PPDU duration from broadcast control information and correspondingly updates its NAV timer to defer channel access based on that duration information conveyed by the transmitting AP).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. teaches updating, in response to determining that a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) received by the inter-PPDU received under the first link is greater than an RSSI threshold contained in the SR parameter information, the first link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) and not transmitting the data frame (Paragraph 75, 77, 78, These passages collectively teach determining channel occupancy based on received signal energy (corresponding to RSSI comparison to a threshold), updating a NAV timer upon reception of a frame, and refraining from transmitting (i.e., not attempting to access the channel) until the NAV timer expires).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. teaches not updating, in response to determining that a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) received by the inter-PPDU received under the first link is less than an RSSI threshold contained in the SR parameter information, the first link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) (Paragraph 75, 77, 78, These passages collectively teach that a station determines channel conditions based on a received signal energy level (corresponding to RSSI), and only updates the NAV timer upon receipt of qualifying frames containing duration information).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. teaches updating, in response to determining to be sensed as a intra-PPDU of the second link under the second link, a second link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) and not transmitting the data frame (Paragraph 75, 77–78, These passages collectively teach that when a station senses an ongoing PPDU transmission (e.g., via RTS or other received frame), it updates its NAV timer based on duration information and refrains from transmitting (i.e., does not attempt channel access or transmit a data frame) until the NAV expires).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. teaches not updating, in response to determining to be sensed as an inter-PPDU of the second link under the second link, a second link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) and transmitting the data frame (Paragraph 75, 77–80, These passages collectively teach that NAV timer updating is performed only when specific frames are received and sensed, and that when such updating is not maintained (e.g., upon expiration or absence of a qualifying frame), the STA proceeds with channel access and transmits the data frame).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. teaches updating, in response to determining that reception under the first link is an intra-PPDU, a first link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) and not transmitting the data frame (Paragraph 75–78, These passages collectively teach that upon reception of a frame within an ongoing PPDU exchange, a station updates its NAV timer based on duration information and refrains from transmitting (including not transmitting a data frame) until the NAV expires).
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. teaches receiving, by the STA, a Spatial reuse (SR) parameter information transmitted by an Access Point (AP) before sensing the first link and the second link, the parameter information being non spatial reuse group (non-SRG) information, wherein the parameter information is used by the station to determine whether to update the network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) (Paragraph 75, 77, 78, 85, These passages collectively teach that a STA receives AP-transmitted control parameter information (e.g., duration and length information in RTS and HE frames) prior to channel access, and uses that received information to set or update the NAV timer to determine channel occupation).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. teaches further receiving, by the STA, Spatial reuse (SR) parameters from other APs and reporting the same to an associated AP, wherein, the other APs are non- associated APs (Paragraph 35-36, 38, 142-143, These passages collectively teach a STA that receives signaling information from APs within a network environment comprising multiple APs and STAs, distinguishes associated relationships within a BSS, and transmits uplink frames containing signaling information back to its associated AP).
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. teaches an electronic device, comprising a memory, one or more processors that are communicatively coupled to the memory, and a non-transitory computer program stored on the memory, the non-transitory computer program when executed by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to collectively execute a method (Paragraph 39, 44–45, 47, 49, 51–53, 138–139, 148, These passages collectively disclose an electronic device including memory storing non-transitory instructions, one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, and execution of the stored instructions by the processors to perform a method) comprising: determining a data frame under a first link (Paragraph 68, 75–76, 79, These passages disclose that a STA determines channel conditions and proceeds to transmit a data frame, which teaches determining a data frame for transmission under a communication link), updating a network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) under the first link and the second links according to sensing results under the first link and the second link (Paragraph 75, 77–78, These passages disclose setting and updating a NAV timer based on received frames and channel occupation, thereby teaching updating the NAV timer according to sensed link activity before accessing the medium), and transmitting the data frame according to the NAV timer (Paragraph 78–80, These passages disclose that a STA defers transmission until the NAV timer expires and then transmits a data frame).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach performing channel sensing under the first link and a second link.
However, Wang et al. teaches performing channel sensing under the first link and a second link (Paragraph 196, 232, 253, 269, These passages collectively teach (1) acquiring the medium through channel sensing, (2) maintaining per-link medium access state (NAV and EDCA timers), and (3) determining channel availability per channel/subchannel (i.e., per link), which together disclose performing channel sensing independently under multiple links before transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing channel sensing under the first link and a second link as taught by Wang et al. in the system of Lee et al., so that it would enable accurate per-link channel availability determination and corresponding NAV timer updates to support coordinated and efficient multi-link medium access before transmitting a data frame.
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al. teaches updating, in response to determining that reception under the first link is an inter- protocol data unit (PPDU), a first link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) under a present link according to a Spatial Reuse (SR) parameter information broadcasted by an Access Point (AP) (Paragraph 75, 78, 81, 85, These passages collectively teach that upon reception of a PPDU (HE frame), a station determines the PPDU duration from broadcast control information and correspondingly updates its NAV timer to defer channel access based on that duration information conveyed by the transmitting AP).
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al. teaches updating, in response to determining that a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) received by the inter-PPDU received under the first link is greater than an RSSI threshold contained in the SR parameter information, the first link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) and not transmitting the data frame (Paragraph 75, 77, 78, These passages collectively teach determining channel occupancy based on received signal energy (corresponding to RSSI comparison to a threshold), updating a NAV timer upon reception of a frame, and refraining from transmitting (i.e., not attempting to access the channel) until the NAV timer expires).
Regarding claim 17, Lee et al. teaches not updating, in response to determining that a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) received by the inter-PPDU received under the first link is less than an RSSI threshold contained in the SR parameter information, the first link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) (Paragraph 75, 77, 78, These passages collectively teach that a station determines channel conditions based on a received signal energy level (corresponding to RSSI), and only updates the NAV timer upon receipt of qualifying frames containing duration information).
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al. teaches updating, in response to determining to be sensed as an intra-PPDU of the second link under the second link, a second link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) and not transmitting the data frame (Paragraph 75, 77–78, These passages collectively teach that when a station senses an ongoing PPDU transmission (e.g., via RTS or other received frame), it updates its NAV timer based on duration information and refrains from transmitting (i.e., does not attempt channel access or transmit a data frame) until the NAV expires).
Regarding claim 19, Lee et al. teaches not updating, in response to determining to be sensed as an inter-PPDU of the second link under the second link, a second link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) and transmitting the data frame (Paragraph 75, 77–80, These passages collectively teach that NAV timer updating is performed only when specific frames are received and sensed, and that when such updating is not maintained (e.g., upon expiration or absence of a qualifying frame), the STA proceeds with channel access and transmits the data frame).
Regarding claim 20, Lee et al. teaches updating, in response to determining that reception under the first link is an intra-PPDU, a first link network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) and not transmitting the data frame (Paragraph 75–78, These passages collectively teach that upon reception of a frame within an ongoing PPDU exchange, a station updates its NAV timer based on duration information and refrains from transmitting (including not transmitting a data frame) until the NAV expires).
Regarding claim 21, Lee et al. teaches receiving, by a station (STA), a Spatial Reuse (SR) parameter information transmitted by an Access Point (AP) before sensing the first link and the second link, the parameter information being non SRG information, wherein the parameter information is used by the station to determine whether to update the network allocation vector timer (NAV timer) (Paragraph 75, 77, 78, 85, These passages collectively teach that a STA receives AP-transmitted control parameter information (e.g., duration and length information in RTS and HE frames) prior to channel access, and uses that received information to set or update the NAV timer to determine channel occupation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Based on the specification, the applicant could consider adding concepts that more explicitly tie the method to non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pairs, such as specifying that the first link and the second link belong to an NSTR link pair and that sensing is performed under a “present link” while evaluating reception status on both links. The claim could further incorporate that the received PPDU is classified as inter-PPDU or intra-PPDU, and that the NAV timer update decision is made based on this PPDU type distinction. The applicant could also add that the NAV update and transmission decision are performed based on a judgment result from the link, explicitly reciting a conditional determination of whether to update the NAV timer and whether transmission is permitted, rather than merely updating according to sensing results. Additionally, the specification emphasizes adaptation to 802.11be multi-link devices (MLDs) and operation under an existing spatial reuse (SR) mechanism, particularly in dense environments and under NSTR mode; therefore, the claim could incorporate concepts such as operation within a multi-link device supporting aggregation of multiple frequency bands (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6-7 GHz), coordination with an SR mechanism (e.g., PD-based SR or PSR-based SR), and improving regional throughput or spectrum utilization through coordinated NAV management across links. The applicant might also clarify that the sensing and NAV update mechanism enables low-latency multi-band transmission or coordinated multi-AP operation in 802.11be, thereby more directly capturing the technical improvements described in the summary rather than reciting only generic multi-link sensing and NAV updating steps.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahn et al. (US 20250193933 A1)
Zhang et al. (US 20240244665 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464