DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/106642 and further in view of Hung et al. (US 2002/0002343).
With reference to claim 1, WO 2019/106642 (hereinafter “Fabrikant”) discloses a liquid transfer device (abstract), comprising:
an IV spike (102) configured to connect to an infusion liquid container (page 1, lines 5-6);
a vial adaptor configured to mount onto a vial (page 10, lines 28-32);
an IV port (106) configured to connect to an infusion set (figure 4); and
a valve (118) movable between a first state and a second state as discussed on page 10, lines 25-35.
Fabrikant describes a three rotation position stopcock arrangement that prevents all fluid communication in a first state and provides selective fluid communication in second and third states (page 11, lines 4-17) and anticipates 3 way flow communication as set forth on page 18, lines 33-35.
The difference between Fabrikant and claim 1 is the explicit recitation that the valve is configured to provide fluid communication between a first IV spike lumen of the IV spike and the vial adaptor and fluid communication between a second IV spike lumen of the IV spike and the IV port in the second state.
Hung et al. (hereinafter “Hung”) teaches an analogous dual lumen system that is configured to control fluid communication together and/or separately between multiple lumens as set forth in [0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the connector of Fabrikant with the connector as taught by Hung in order to ensure precise fluid control between desired components as taught by Hung in [0092]..
Regarding claim 4, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device wherein the valve comprises a first lumen configured to provide fluid communication between the first IV spike lumen and the vial adaptor, and a second lumen configured to provide fluid communication between the second IV spike lumen and the IV port as set forth on page 1, line 8 to page 2, line 4 through the incorporation of WO 2015/019343 and the recited steps.
With reference to claims 5 and 7, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device wherein the vial adaptor comprises a vial spike to puncture a vial stopper of the vial to provide fluid communication with the vial as set forth on page 9, lines 29-30.
Regarding claim 6, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device with a compactable vial adaptor wherein the vial adaptor comprises an outer vial adaptor body (111) and an inner vial adaptor body (109) configured to mount onto a vial, wherein the inner vial adaptor body is configured to slide within the outer vial adaptor body when the vial adaptor undergoes compaction from a non-compacted state to a compacted state as set forth on page 10, lines 27-35.
As to claim 8, Fabrikant, through the incorporation of WO 2015/019343 in [0002], discloses a liquid transfer device further comprising a valve actuator movable between a first position and a second position, wherein the valve actuator is configured to move from the first position to the second position upon compaction of the vial adaptor as disclosed by WO 2015/019343.
With respect to claims 9 and 15, see the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device wherein the valve actuator is configured to drive the valve from the first state when the valve actuator is in the first position to the second state when the valve actuator is in a second position upon compaction of the vial adaptor as set forth on page 11, lines 1-17.
As to claims 10 and 16, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device wherein the valve comprises an angled face configured to engage with the valve actuator as shown in figures 6A-8A.
As to claim 11, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device further comprising a safety catch which is configured to prevent compaction of the vial adaptor in the non-compacted state as set forth on page 11, lines 18-20.
Regarding claims 12-13, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device further comprising a connector body having the IV spike, the vial adaptor and the IV port coupled thereto, wherein the valve is movable within the connector body between the first state and the second state and including a bore, a locking protrusion configured to function as claimed as set forth on pages 12-16.
As to claim 14, see the rejection of claims 6 and 8.
With reference to claim 17, see the rejection of claim 1. The valve is fully capable of performing the recited function.
As to claim 18, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device further comprising a valve cavity, wherein one of the valve or the valve cavity has a rail and another of the valve or the valve cavity has a groove receiving the rail as shown in figure 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781