DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/106642 and further in view of Zinger et al. (US 2008/0262465).
With reference to claims 1 and 3, WO 2019/106642 (hereinafter “Fabrikant”) discloses a liquid transfer device (abstract), comprising:
an IV spike (102) configured to connect to an infusion liquid container (page 1, lines 5-6);
a compactable vial adaptor configured to mount onto a vial (page 10, lines 28-32);
an IV port (106) configured to connect to an infusion set (figure 4); and
a valve (118) movable between a first state and a second state upon compaction of the vial adaptor as discussed on page 10, lines 25-35.
Fabrikant describes a three rotation position stopcock arrangement that prevents all fluid communication in a first state and provides selective fluid communication in second and third states (page 11, lines 4-17) and anticipates 3 way flow communication as set forth on page 18, lines 33-35.
Zinger et al. (hereinafter “Zinger”) teaches an analogous valve that is configured to prevent fluid communication between the IV spike, the vial adaptor and the IV port in a first state, and is configured to provide fluid communication between the IV spike and the vial adaptor, and fluid communication between the IV spike and the IV port in the second state as set forth in the abstract.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the connector of Fabrikant with the connector as taught by Zinger in order to enable the transfer device to include a 3 way direct and continuous fluid communication for the benefits provided thereof as discussed by Zinger in the abstract.
As to claim 2, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device wherein the IV spike comprises a first IV spike lumen and a second IV spike lumen configured to provide fluid communication with the infusion liquid container as set forth on page 1, lines 8-18 through the incorporation of WO 2015/019343 where Fabrikant discloses in [0003] that WO 2015/019343 includes three lumens.
Regarding claim 4, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device wherein the valve comprises a first lumen configured to provide fluid communication between the first IV spike lumen and the vial adaptor, and a second lumen configured to provide fluid communication between the second IV spike lumen and the IV port as set forth on page 1, line 8 to page 2, line 4 through the incorporation of WO 2015/019343 and the recited steps.
With reference to claims 5 and 7, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device wherein the vial adaptor comprises a vial spike to puncture a vial stopper of the vial to provide fluid communication with the vial as set forth on page 9, lines 29-30.
Regarding claim 6, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device wherein the vial adaptor comprises an outer vial adaptor body (111) and an inner vial adaptor body (109) configured to mount onto a vial, wherein the inner vial adaptor body is configured to slide within the outer vial adaptor body when the vial adaptor undergoes compaction from a non-compacted state to a compacted state as set forth on page 10, lines 27-35.
As to claim 8, Fabrikant, through the incorporation of WO 2015/019343 in [0002], discloses a liquid transfer device further comprising a valve actuator movable between a first position and a second position, wherein the valve actuator is configured to move from the first position to the second position upon compaction of the vial adaptor as disclosed by WO 2015/019343.
With respect to claim 9, see the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device wherein the valve actuator is configured to drive the valve from the first state when the valve actuator is in the first position to the second state when the valve actuator is in a second position upon compaction of the vial adaptor as set forth on page 11, lines 1-17.
As to claim 10, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device wherein the valve comprises an angled face configured to engage with the valve actuator as shown in figures 6A-8A.
As to claim 11, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device further comprising a safety catch which is configured to prevent compaction of the vial adaptor in the non-compacted state as set forth on page 11, lines 18-20.
Regarding claims 12-13, Fabrikant discloses a liquid transfer device further comprising a connector body having the IV spike, the vial adaptor and the IV port coupled thereto, wherein the valve is movable within the connector body between the first state and the second state and including a bore, a locking protrusion configured to function as claimed as set forth on pages 12-16.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781