DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of FR 2107567 filed July 12, 2021 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is acknowledged of WO 2023/285747, the WIPO publication of PCT/FR2022/051325 filed July 4, 2022.
Response to Restriction Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention (Group) I in the reply filed on June 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3 and 4 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventive group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Restriction Election filed June 11, 2026 and Claim Amendments filed January 11, 2024.
Claims Filing Date
January 11, 2024
Amended
1-4
Pending
1-4
Withdrawn
3, 4
Under Examination
1, 2
Abstract Objection
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because
Lines 2, 4, and 8 use legal phraseology “comprising”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims should be avoided.
Drawings Objections
The drawings are objected to because
Fig. 3 includes reference numeral 37 not mentioned in the specification.
Fig. 4 includes reference numerals 25, 27, 31, and 35 not mentioned in the specification.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 9-10 “upper end (34)” is the only reference numeral in Claim 1. The other reference numerals in amended Claim 1 are removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “an acute angle A less than 80°” (line 5), and the claim also recites “preferably less than 60°” (line 5) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “an acute angle B less than 90°” (line 11), and the claim also recites “preferably less than 60°” (line 12) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “an acute angle C less than 90°” (lines 14-15), and the claim also recites “preferably less than 60°” (line 15) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
For the purpose of examination claim 1 is interpreted as requiring the above cited broader angle.
Claim 1 line 5 “the nozzle” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how “the nozzle” relates to “at least one nozzle” (line 4). It could further limit “at least one nozzle” to only one (the) nozzle. Alternatively it could further limit only one nozzle of “at least one nozzle”.
Claim 1 lines 7-8 “the ingress of liquid into the enclosure” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 1 lines 9-10 “the upper end” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 1 line 10 “the vicinity” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 1 lines 10-11 “the extension towards the strip of the first inclined surface” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 1 line 13 “the lower end” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 1 line 14 “the extension toward the strip of the second inclined surface” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 2 line 4 “the upper end” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 2 lines 4-5 “the profiled strip” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 2 line 6 “the space” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 2 line 6 “the interior” renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohara (JP S59-67323 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Oohara discloses a liquid cooling chamber for cooling a metal strip running vertically in a continuous treatment line (p. 1, Fig. 1),
said chamber comprising an upper cooling zone wherein a cooling liquid is sprayed onto the strip (second cooling chamber 5, water injection cooling device 7, spray nozzles 14) (p. 3, Fig. 1), and
an intermediate zone for drying the strip (cooling chamber), comprising at least one nozzle intended to form a blade of gas impacting the strip at an acute angle A less than 80°, and preferably less than 60° (water-removing spray device 8’) (p. 3, Fig. 1),
the nozzle (water-removing spray device 8’) being situated in an enclosure defined by the strip (1) and profiled sheet metalwork arranged facing the strip (pp. 2-3, Fig. 1), said profiled sheet metalwork forming a barrier to the ingress of liquid into the enclosure (Fig. 1),
characterized in that the profiled sheet metalwork forms a first inclined surface starting at the upper end (34) of the profiled sheet metalwork arranged in the vicinity of the strip, the extension towards the strip of the first inclined surface forming therewith an acute angle B less than 90°, and preferably less than 60° (Fig. 1), and the profiled sheet metalwork forms a second inclined surface originating at the lower end of the profiled sheet metalwork arranged in the vicinity of the strip, the extension toward the strip of the second inclined surface forming therewith an acute angle C less than 90°, and preferably less than 60° (Fig. 1).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohara (JP S59-67323 machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujioka (JP 2008-190000 machine translation) and Uenishi (JP H09-141322 machine translation).
Regarding claim 2, Oohara discloses the liquid cooling chamber according to claim 1.
Oohara is silent to a lower zone with a tray configured to receive the cooling liquid sprayed onto the strip being arranged.
Fujioka discloses a liquid cooling chamber ([0001]-[0002], [0008]-[0010], Fig. 1) comprising
a lower zone wherein a tray configured to receive the cooling liquid sprayed onto the strip is arranged (drainage device (12)), said tray comprising a vertical surface arranged opposite the strip and in the vicinity thereof ([0018]-[0020], [0027]-[0028], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention in the liquid cooling chamber of Oohara to include the water draining device (12) of Fujioka to collect the cooling water that flows downward along the drainage device so that it can be drained outside of the cooling zone (Fujioka [0027]-[0028]), blocking the flow of cooling water downwards from the draining device (Fujioka [0038]).
Oohara in view of Fujioka is silent to the upper end of the vertical surface of the tray being located in the enclosure formed by the profiled strip and the profiled sheet metalwork, said vertical surface being configured to encourage dry gas to rise into the space defined by the strip and the vertical plane towards the interior of the enclosure and from a returning and drying zone arranged under the tray.
Uenishi discloses a liquid cooling chamber ([0001]) comprising a tray (side guide (11)) ([0022], Fig. 3) comprising a vertical surface, the upper end of which is located in the enclosure formed by the profiled strip and the profiled sheet metalwork ([0022]-[0023], Fig. 3) said vertical surface being configured to encourage dry gas to rise into the space defined by the strip and the vertical plane towards the interior of the enclosure and from a returning and drying zone arranged under the tray (prevents stagnant water blown away from flowing along the inclined slit (12) and splashing back onto the steel strip (1)) ([0022]-[0023], Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention for the vertical surface of the tray of Oohara in view of Fujioka to be located in the enclosure of the profiled strip to prevent stagnant water blown away from flowing along the (second) inclined slit (of Oohara Fig. 1) and splashing back onto the steel strip (Uenishi [0022]-[0023], Fig. 3).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujioka (JP 2008-190000 machine translation) in view of Uenishi (JP H09-141322 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Fujioka discloses a liquid cooling chamber for cooling a metal strip running vertically in a continuous treatment line ([0001]-[0002], [0008]-[0010], Fig. 1),
said chamber comprising an upper cooling zone (cooling device (11)) wherein a cooling liquid is sprayed onto the strip (steam and water nozzles (22)) ([0018]-[0019], Fig. 1), and
an intermediate zone for drying the strip (dewatering device (12)) ([0018]-[0019], [0027]-[0028], Figs. 1-2), comprising at least one nozzle intended to form a blade of gas impacting the strip at an acute angle A less than 80°, and preferably less than 60° (lower nozzle (36)) ([0029]-[0036], Fig. 2), the nozzle being situated in an enclosure defined by the strip and profiled sheet metalwork arranged facing the strip (drainage device (12)) ([0018]-[0020], [0027]-[0028], Fig. 2), said profiled sheet metalwork forming a barrier to the ingress of liquid into the enclosure ([0027]-[0028], Fig. 2),
characterized in that the profiled sheet metalwork forms a first inclined surface starting at the upper end (34) of the profiled sheet metalwork arranged in the vicinity of the strip (guide plate (33)), the extension towards the strip of the first inclined surface forming therewith an acute angle B less than 90°, and preferably less than 60° (inclined downwards) ([0021]-[0022], [0027]-[0028], [0036], Figs. 1-2).
Fujioka is silent to a second inclined surface originating at the lower end of the profiled sheet metalwork arranged in the vicinity of the strip.
Uenishi discloses a liquid cooling chamber ([0001]) comprising profiled sheet metalwork that forms a second inclined surface originating at the lower end of the profiled sheet metalwork arranged in the vicinity of the strip (inclined slit (12)), the extension toward the strip of the second inclined surface forming therewith an acute angle C less than 90°, and preferably less than 60° ([0022]-[0023], Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention for the profiled sheet metalwork of Fujioka to include an inclined surface at the lower end so that fluid that collides with the slit bounces upward and falls downward, preventing the removed stagnant water from bouncing off the side guide and landing on the steel strip, to effectively remove upward splash (Uenishi [0022]-[0024], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Fujioka in view of Uenishi discloses the liquid cooling chamber according to claim 1 as cited above, further comprising
a lower zone wherein a tray configured to receive the cooling liquid sprayed onto the strip is arranged (drainage device (12)), said tray comprising a vertical surface arranged opposite the strip and in the vicinity thereof (Fujioka [0018]-[0020], [0027]-[0028], Fig. 1).
Fujioka is silent to the upper end of the vertical surface of the tray being located in the enclosure formed by the profiled strip and the profiled sheet metalwork, said vertical surface being configured to encourage dry gas to rise into the space defined by the strip and the vertical plane towards the interior of the enclosure and from a returning and drying zone arranged under the tray.
Uenishi discloses a liquid cooling chamber ([0001]) comprising a tray (side guide (11)) ([0022], Fig. 3) comprising a vertical surface, the upper end of which is located in the enclosure formed by the profiled strip and the profiled sheet metalwork ([0022]-[0023], Fig. 3) said vertical surface being configured to encourage dry gas to rise into the space defined by the strip and the vertical plane towards the interior of the enclosure and from a returning and drying zone arranged under the tray (prevents stagnant water blown away from flowing along the inclined slit (12) and splashing back onto the steel strip (1)) ([0022]-[0023], Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention for the vertical surface of the tray of Fujioka to be located in the enclosure of the profiled strip to prevent stagnant water blown away from flowing along the (second) inclined slit (of Oohara Fig. 1) and splashing back onto the steel strip (Uenishi [0022]-[0023], Fig. 3).
Related Art
Fujibayashi (EP 1210993)
Fujibayashi discloses a water breaking method to discharge cooling water ([0011], [0061]) and rapidly removing cooling water from the steel strip surface ([0024]), where the water breaking means is a baffle installed at a proper angle ([0035]) with a parallel section to the steel strip and folded at an angle at upstream and downstream sides of the steel strip ([0047], [0140], Fig. 9(a)).
Iwatani (JP H11-246916 machine translation)
Iwatani discloses a vertical continuous water cooling system that prevents water leakage ([0001]) with a sealing device at the strip inlet ([0008]) including an air supply device (10) that blows air between the strip and a sealing plate (12) to prevent water leakage ([0011]-[0013], Fig. 2) and with a water receiving plate (11) ([0014], Fig. 1) and a drain pipe (8) to drain the water inside the casing ([0003], Fig. 2).
Iida (US 4,367,597)
Iida discloses a continuous strip cooling process (1:4-12) with a steel strip conveyed in the vertical direction (6:44-46) including removing water from the surface of cooling material (2:22-27) using a liquid guide plate with an inclined surface in the form of a trough to receive the separated liquid and carry is away quickly (3:29-52, 67-68, Fig. 13). Iida discloses the lower portion of the housing includes liquid drain pots (7:8-12).
Ookouchi (JP S58-61235 machine translation)
Ookouchi discloses a cooling device for continuous heat treatment having an effective water draining device for efficient water drainage (p. 1) using a drainage gas ejection device (8) and one or more water receiving plates (9) that exit through the drain pipe (10) so that splashed water falls diagonally downward (pp. 2-3, Figs. 1-2).
Dormal (US 5,843,367)
Dormal discloses a device for accelerated cooling of a continuous substrate moving in a vertical plane (1:6-9) including an inlet with compressed-air dams (141) that prevent coolant from descending down the substrate (1) to be cooled (3:27-40, Fig. 2).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735