DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 01/11/2024, wherein:
Claim 1-17 are pending.
Claim 3, 6-7, and 11-17 are amended.
Claim 18-27 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20200128506 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an apparatus configured to act as a terminal device to be positioned (Fig. 2 – first wireless device 120), the apparatus comprising at least one processor (Fig. 8 – processing circuit 804); and at least one memory (Fig. 8 – memory 802) including computer program code (Fig. 8 – computer program 803 and ¶0208), the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform (Fig. 2 and ¶0068-0113):
detecting, in downlink transmissions from a network (Fig. 2 – network 100), a group location service related message, which indicates the apparatus as one of recipients of the group location service related message and contains information for positioning or requests information for positioning (Fig. 2 step 203 and ¶0081-0082);
sending, in response to the group location service related message requesting information for positioning, requested information to the network (Fig. 2 step 208 and ¶0112-0113); and
applying, in response to the group location service related message containing information for positioning, the information to perform positioning measurements (Fig. 2 step 204-207, ¶0083-0086, and ¶0107-0113 disclose determining position of the group member indicated in ¶0082 – i.e. applying, in response to the group location service related message containing information for positioning).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further at least to perform: receiving from the network information indicating estimated locations of apparatuses included in the indicated recipients of the group location service related message (Fig. 2 step 207 and ¶0108 disclose receiving estimated position information from devices indicated message received in Fig. 2 step 203 and ¶0082).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further at least to perform: sending to the network a request for positioning a group of apparatuses belonging at least to one predefined group, the request indicating group members or the at least one group (Fig. 2 step 204-205 and ¶0083-0086).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses an apparatus configured to act as a transmission-reception point (Fig. 2 – first wireless device 120), the apparatus comprising at least one processor (Fig. 8 – processing circuit 804); and at least one memory (Fig. 8 – memory 802) including computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code (Fig. 8 – computer program 803 and ¶0208) configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform (Fig. 2 and ¶0068-0113):
receiving from a location management point (Fig. 1 and ¶0059 – LMF node in network 100) a group location service related message (Fig. 2 step 203 and ¶0081-0082) which indicates at least terminal devices served by the apparatus as recipients of the group location service related message and contains information for positioning or requests information for positioning (¶0082); and
sending the group location service related message as a single message to the terminal devices served by the apparatus (Fig. 2 step 204-205 and ¶0083-0086).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further at least to perform:
sending, in response to the group location service related message requesting information for positioning being a message requesting positioning, one or more downlink reference signals towards the terminal devices (Fig. 2 step 204-205 and ¶0083-0087);
receiving positioning measurement results from the terminal devices; aggregating the positioning measurements results to be a group positioning measurement results (Fig. 2 step 207 and ¶0107-0111); and
forwarding the group positioning measurement result to the location management point (Fig. 2 step 208 and ¶0112-0115).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further at least to perform: receiving, during a group positioning session, information relating to the group positioning session from the terminal devices (Fig. 2 step 207 and ¶0107-0111); aggregating the information received to aggregated information; and forwarding the aggregated information to the location management point (Fig. 2 step 208 and ¶0112-0115).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berggren et al. (WO-2021064239-A1).
Regarding claim 8, Berggren discloses an apparatus configured to act as a location management point, the apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor (Fig. 1 and Fig. 9 disclose network node 120 comprising location server LS, page 16 ln 36 – page 17 ln 12, Fig. 10, and page 22 ln 3-5), cause the apparatus at least to perform:
receiving, from a requesting entity, a request to position at least one group of terminal devices (page 24 ln 16-22, and page 15 ln 22-26);
determining at least transmission-reception points serving the terminal devices (page 16 ln 21-27, page 21 ln 26-28 wherein the gNB is corresponding to the TRP); and
sending a group location service related message, which indicates the terminal devices as recipients of the group location service related message and contains information for positioning or requests information for positioning, to the transmission-reception points to be forwarded to the terminal devices (Fig. 9 step 1007 and page 20 ln 5-37: positioning measurement for the group of terminals using shared positioning reference signal resources).
Regarding claim 11, Berggren discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the group location service related message is sent to terminal devices using broadcast or groupcast (Page 16 ln 12-14 – “The availability of one or more positioning reference signal resource allocations may be communicated, for example broadcasted, to the wireless communication device and optionally further wireless communication devices”).
Regarding claim 13, Berggren discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the group location service related message containing information for positioning is one of a reference signal configuration, or assistance data information, or a measurement gap configuration, or a message activating the positioning reference signal configuration, or a message deactivating the positioning reference signal configuration, or a message reconfiguring the positioning reference signal configuration (Fig. 9 step 1007 and page 19 ln 20-32 disclose location related message including reference signal resource allocation – i.e. message containing information for positioning is one of a reference signal configuration).
Regarding claim 15, Berggren discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the group location service related message contains information shared by the recipients (page 24 ln 16-24 – “The network node 120 may create a group by assigning those wireless communication devices to the group, for which the same positioning reference signal resource allocation is selected. This may increase efficient usage of the available resources for the transmission of positioning reference signals. Further, the network node 120 may also move a wireless communication device from one group to another group, may update group configurations, and may activate or deactivate groups”).
Regarding claim 16, Berggren discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the group location service related message contains information targeted to one of the recipients (page 24 ln 16-24 – “The network node 120 may create a group by assigning those wireless communication devices to the group, for which the same positioning reference signal resource allocation is selected. This may increase efficient usage of the available resources for the transmission of positioning reference signals. Further, the network node 120 may also move a wireless communication device from one group to another group, may update group configurations, and may activate or deactivate groups”, which indicated the reference signal resource allocation is also being targeted to one of the recipient in the group).
Regarding claim 17, Berggren discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the group location service related message is a message according to a new radio positioning protocol annex, or a message according to a long term evolution positioning protocol (page 16 ln 9-12 – “In an example implementation, a positioning protocol (e.g. LPP, LPPa/NRPPa) may be designed to accommodate these multiple positioning reference signal resources/configurations, e.g., accommodate scheduling messages associated therewith” wherein the LPP is acronym for LTE positioning protocol) or a message according to a radio resource control protocol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berggren et al. (WO-2021064239-A1) in view of Edge et al. (US 20190037338 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Berggren discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further at least to perform: receiving measurement reports relating to positioning of the at least one group of terminal devices (Fig. 10 step 1108 and page 26 ln 18-21); estimating locations of the terminal devices using the measurement reports (Fig. 10 step 1109 and page 26 ln 21-23). However, the reference is silent on details about sending the locations to the requesting entity or to one or more recipients indicated by the requesting entity in the request.
Edge discloses sending the locations to the requesting entity or to one or more recipients indicated by the requesting entity in the request (Fig. 2 step 218 and ¶0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Berggren to incorporate the step of responding location information to requesting entity from Edge because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to fulfill the location information request.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berggren et al. (WO-2021064239-A1) in view of Edge et al. (US 20190037338 A1) and Zhang et al. (US 20200128506 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teaching of Berggren and Edge discloses the apparatus of claim 9, however, silent on further details of claim 10.
Zhang discloses wherein the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further at least to perform: sending a group location service result message, which indicates the terminal devices as recipients of the group location service result message and comprises information indicating estimated locations of the terminal devices, to the transmission-reception points to be forwarded as a group location service related message (Fig. 2 step 208, ¶0077, and ¶0112-0115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Berggren and Edge to incorporate group positioning reporting from Zhang because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to reduce signaling traffic.
Claim 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berggren et al. (WO-2021064239-A1) in view of Shen et al. (WO-2020073161-A1).
Regarding claim 12, Berggren discloses the apparatus of claim 8, however, silent on further details of claim 12.
Shen discloses wherein the group location service related message requesting information for positioning is one of a capability request or a positioning information request (Fig. 13 step 1a/1b and ¶0145 disclose requesting for location with group ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Berggren to incorporate location request with group ID or from Shen because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to specifically indicate the identity of devices being requested location.
Regarding claim 14, Berggren discloses the apparatus of claim 8, however, silent on further details of claim 14.
Shen discloses wherein the recipients of the group location service related message are indicated using information indicating at least one group or information indicating apparatuses belonging to the at least one group (Fig. 13 step 1a/1b and ¶0145 disclose requesting for location with group ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Berggren to incorporate location request with group ID or from Shen because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to specifically indicate the identity of devices being requested location.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643