30!!
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the first sentence recites “The present disclosure relates to…”. As stated in 608.01(b).I.C. the language of the abstract should be clear and concise and should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “this disclosure concerns,” “this disclosure describes,” etc. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 15-17 are objected to because of the following antecedent basis informalities:
Claim 15, consider amending to, --The cleaner station of claim 14, wherein [[an]]the outlet end of the suction flow path is disposed above [[an]]the inlet end of the suction flow path.—
Claim 16, line 3, consider amending to, --the dust collecting part, and an outlet end communicating with [[the]]an outside at one side of the--
Claim 17, consider amending to, --The cleaner station of claim 16, wherein [[an]]the outlet end of the discharge flow path is disposed below [[an]]the inlet end of the discharge flow path.—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites, “wherein the prefilter is mounted or detached in a direction inconsistent with a direction in which the dust collecting part is mounted or detached” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear to the Examiner what the dust collecting part is mounted or detached to in order to define a direction in which the prefilter is inconsistent with during the mounting or detaching of the prefilter. As best understood from the disclosure, the dust collecting part is mounted or detached to one side of a housing (--wherein the prefilter is mounted or detached in a direction inconsistent with a direction in which the dust collecting part is mounted or detached to one side of the housing.--).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill (US 2020/0022544) in view of Kim (KR 101306738), as provided by applicant in IDS filed on 01/11/2024 and translation provided by Examiner.
Regarding claim 1, Gill (US 2020/0022544) discloses a cleaner station (item 200; figs. 2 and 11) comprising:
a housing (outer structure of item 206; figs. 2 and 7-8) configured to define an external appearance (defined as external shape of item 206) and define a space in which components are accommodated (defined as internal space of item 206 in which components, such as items 802, 1116, 1122, 1124 etc. are accommodated within; fig. 11);
a coupling part (item 600; pp. [0108]; figs. 2 and 6) disposed in the housing (coupling part 600 is partially defined within housing and extends beyond housing in order to couple to cleaner; figs. 2 and 6) and including a coupling surface (item 602; fig. 6) to which at least a part of a cleaner is coupled (pp. [0108-0109]; coupling surface 62 is capable of engaging the cleaner 202 to create a sealed suction air path); and
a dust collecting part (includes items 1102, 1104, 1108, 1110, 1127, 1132, 1136; fig. 11) accommodated in the housing (dust collecting part is inserted into upper surface of housing 206 in order to secure and mate into place, figs. 7-8, i.e. via items 702, 704) and configured to capture dust in a dust bin of the cleaner (pp. [0134-0135] and [0139]; when cleaner 202 is mounted to coupling part, dust collecting part is capable of capturing dust from dust bin in cleaner 202 when suction motor is turned on),
wherein the dust collecting part comprises:
a dust collecting body (defined as outer structure of item 1102; fig. 11) configured to define an external shape (defined as external wall shape of body 1102; fig. 11) and having an internal space (item 1102; fig. 11) in which dust is collected (pp. [0143]; internal space 1102 defined as first debris collection container which collects larger debris and dust);
an air inlet port (defined as opening through item 1134; fig. 11) configured to allow air to be introduced into the internal space (pp. [0140]; airflow enters internal space 1102 via port; fig. 11);
an air discharge port (defined as opening in upper surface of dust collecting body, i.e. opening in which item 1108 is mounted on; fig. 11) formed in an upper surface of the dust collecting body (upper surface defined as upper edges of vertical sidewalls defining dust collecting body in view of fig. 11) and configured to allow the air in the internal space to be discharged (air discharge port allows airflow to exit internal space 1102, pass through mesh 1108, and into air discharge duct, i.e. defined by arrowed pathway in view of fig. 11); and
a mesh (item 1108; fig. 11) configured to cover the air discharge port (pp. [0134]; fig. 11).
Gill does not explicitly disclose a compression plate movably disposed in the internal space of the dust collecting body and configured to clean the mesh while moving.
However, Kim (KR 101306738), as provided by applicant in IDS and translation provided by Examiner, teaches a dust collecting body (outer walls of item 100; figs. 1-5) configured to capture dust, wherein the dust collecting body comprises an internal space (item 120; pp. [0018] and [0027]; figs. 4-5) in which dust is collected (pp. [0017] and [0027]), an air inlet port (defined as opening into body which item 101 extends into; not explicitly shown) formed in at one side of the dust collecting body (defined as outer right side of body in view of figs. 4-5), an air discharge port (defined as opening in upper end of dust collecting body in which airflow discharges from body), a mesh (item 130; figs. 4-5) configured to cover an air discharge port (mesh 130 covers opening, i.e. port, in upper surface of body; analogous to air discharge port in Kim), and a compression plate (includes items 300, 400; figs. 4-5) movably disposed in the internal space (via rotation about item 450; figs. 4-5) of the dust collecting body and configured to clean the mesh while moving (pp. [0034-0035]; as compression pate 300, 400 rotates about shaft 450, a portion of compression plate cleans filter 150, i.e. item 302; figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection space (i.e. internal shape) of the dust collecting body, as disclosed in Gill, to include a cyclonic filter, compression plate, and mesh cleaner, as taught in Kim, in order to reduce the need to remove the filter unit from the station in order to clean the filter (pp. [0013] in Kim) and compress collected dirt in order for fine dust to be removed and compressed quickly thereby, improving user convenience overall (pp. [0013] in Kim).
Regarding claim 2, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 1, wherein the air inlet port is formed in one of a plurality of surfaces that constitutes the dust collecting body (Kim; air inlet port is formed in sidewall surface, corresponding to sidewall port along wall 1132 in Gill, fig. 11) and excludes a surface in which the air discharge port is formed (air discharge port is formed in upper surface of dust collecting body and thereby, excluded from same surface in which air inlet port is formed).
Regarding claim 3, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 1, wherein the compression plate wipes a lower surface of the mesh (Kim; designated in annotated fig. 4 below) while reciprocating (Kim; pp. [0033-0035]; the fine dust on lower surface of mesh 130 is cleaned via item 302 of compression plate structure).
Kim Annotated Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 4, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dust collecting body comprises a shaft (Kim; item 450; figs. 4-5) disposed in the internal space (figs. 4-5 of Kim) and extending in a longitudinal direction (Kim, pp. [0042]; designated in annotated fig. 4 above),
wherein an outer wall surface (Kim; defined as outer wall of item 100) of the dust collecting body is formed in a cylindrical shape based on the shaft (Kim; pp. [0019]; outer wall of body 100 is cylindrical-shaped, corresponding to cylindrical shape of shaft 450, figs. 4-5), and
wherein the compression plate comprises:
a stationary plate (Kim; item 410; fig. 4) extending toward the shaft from the outer wall surface of the dust collecting body (designated in annotated fig. 4 above); and
a rotary plate (Kim; item 401; figs. 4-5) rotatably coupled to the shaft (Kim; via item 403, pp. [0043]; fig. 4) and extending radially outward (designated in annotated fig. 4 above, rotary plate 401 extends radially outward from shaft 450).
Regarding claim 5, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 4, wherein the compression plate comprises a mesh cleaner (Kim; item 300; figs. 4-5) disposed at an upper end of the rotary plate (Kim; mesh cleaner 300 is disposed at upper end of rotation shaft 450 and thereby, at an upper end of rotary plate 400; fig. 4) and configured to wipe away dust attached to the mesh (Kim; pp. [0031-0034]; mesh cleaner 300 contacts lower surface of mesh 130 to remove fine dust collected on the mesh) .
Regarding claim 6, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 4, comprising:
a compression motor (Kim; item 520; fig. 4) provided at one side of the dust collecting part (designated in annotated fig. 4 above), disposed opposite to the air discharge port (Kim; compression motor 520 is disposed on opposite end of air discharge along longitudinal direction), and configured to transmit power to the rotary plate (Kim; pp. [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dust collecting part is disposed to be mounted or detached in a direction of one side of the housing (designated in annotated figs. 7-8 below).
Gill Annotated Figs. 7-8.
Regarding claim 10, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 1, comprising: a prefilter (item 1110 which is a filter prior to suction motor, i.e. pre filter, configured to filter out dust from the air; fig. 11) disposed above the dust collecting part (prefilter 1110 is disposed above lower end of dust collecting part; fig. 11) and configured to communicate with the air discharge port of the dust collecting part (pp. [0136]; airflow exits through air discharge port and into prefilter 1110 in order for finer dust to be separated prior to passing through suction motor).
Regarding claim 11, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 10, wherein the prefilter is configured such that the air is introduced in a direction parallel to a direction in which air is discharged from the air discharge port of the dust collecting body (designated in annotated fig. 11 below), and the air is discharged in a direction intersecting the direction in which the air is discharged from the air discharge port of the dust collecting body (designated in annotated fig. 11 below).
Gill Annotated Fig. 11.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the prefilter is mounted or detached in a direction inconsistent with a direction in which the dust collecting part is mounted or detached. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prefilter, as disclosed in Gill, to be removable from the dust collecting part in a direction parallel and downward relative to sidewalls of outer walls of dust collecting part 204 (i.e. inconsistent with the direction in which dust collecting part is detached from housing 206 which is defined as direction designated in annotated figs. 7-8 above) since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements for replacement, maintenance, and/or repair involves only routine skill in the art (refer to MPEP 2144.04.V-C).
Regarding claim 13, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 10, wherein a front end of the prefilter (defined as end of prefilter 1110 in which air enters, i.e. nearest end of pathway 1106) is disposed above a rear end of the prefilter (rear end defined as end of prefilter 1110 in which air exits, i.e. item 1114; front end is disposed above rear end along vertical direction in view of fig. 11).
Regarding claim 14, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 1, comprising:
a suction flow path (defined as flow path from item 1130 through item 1132, and item 1134; pp. [0139-0140]; fig. 11) having an inlet end (defined as end at item 1130; fig. 11) communicating with the dust bin of the cleaner (inlet end 1130 directly extends from item 216 which mounts to cleaner; figs. 2, 6, and 11), and an outlet end (defined as end at item 1134; fig. 11) communicating with the air inlet port formed in the dust collecting body (outlet end directly leads into port, i.e. opening, on inner sidewall of dust collecting body).
Regarding claim 15, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 14, wherein the outlet end of the suction flow path is disposed above the inlet end of the suction flow path (along vertical direction in view of fig. 11, the outlet end is disposed above the inlet end).
Regarding claim 16, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 1, comprising;
a discharge flow path (defined as flow path through items 1106, 1110, 1127, 1122, 1124; fig. 11) having an inlet end (defined as end at front end of item 1106, i.e. nearest item 1108; fig. 11) communicating with the air discharge port (airflow passes through mesh disposed at air discharge port in order to enter inlet end of discharge flow path; fig. 11), and an outlet end (defined as end near item 1124; fig. 11) communicating with an outside at one side of the housing (pp. [0138]; air exits housing via outlet end to enter outside, i.e. environment);
Regarding claim 17, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 16, wherein the outlet end of the discharge flow path is disposed below the inlet end of the discharge flow path (along vertical direction in view of fig. 11, outlet end of discharge flow path is below the inlet end of discharge flow path).
Regarding claim 18, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dust collecting part comprises a cyclone part (item 1110; fig. 11) disposed on an outer peripheral surface of the dust collecting body (designated in annotated fig. 11 above) and configured to communicate with the air discharge port and separate from the dust from the air by using a centrifugal force (pp. [0136]; airflow exits through air discharge port and into cyclone part 1110 in order for finer dust to be separated via cyclonic airflow).
Regarding claim 19, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
a dust collecting motor (item 1116; pp. [0137]; fig. 11) configured to generate a flow of air (pp. [0139]; in operation, motor 1116 causes air to be drawn into cleaner station) and disposed between the cleaner and the dust collecting part when the cleaner is coupled (when cleaner is coupled to housing, suction motor 1116 is disposed between bottommost end of cleaner, i.e. defined as portion disposed on coupling surface, and uppermost portion of dust coupling part; fig. 11) .
Regarding claim 20, Gill (US 2020/0022544) discloses a cleaner station (item 200; figs. 2 and 11) comprising:
a housing (outer structure of item 206; figs. 2 and 7-8) configured to define an external appearance (defined as external shape of item 206) and define a space in which components are accommodated (defined as internal space of item 206 in which components, such as items 802, 1116, 1122, 1124 etc. are accommodated within; fig. 11);
a coupling part (item 600; pp. [0108]; figs. 2 and 6) disposed in the housing (coupling part 600 is partially defined within housing and extends beyond housing in order to couple to cleaner; figs. 2 and 6) and including a coupling surface (item 602; fig. 6) to which at least a part of a cleaner is coupled (pp. [0108-0109]; coupling surface 62 is capable of engaging the cleaner 202 to create a sealed suction air path); and
a dust collecting part (includes items 1102, 1104, 1108, 1110, 1127, 1132, 1136; fig. 11) accommodated in the housing (dust collecting part is inserted into upper surface of housing 206 in order to secure and mate into place, figs. 7-8, i.e. via items 702, 704) and configured to capture dust in a dust bin of the cleaner (pp. [0134-0135] and [0139]; when cleaner 202 is mounted to coupling part, dust collecting part is capable of capturing dust from dust bin in cleaner 202 when suction motor is turned on),
wherein the dust collecting part comprises:
a dust collecting body (defined as outer structure of item 1102; fig. 11) configured to define an external shape (defined as external wall shape of body 1102; fig. 11) and having an internal space (item 1102; fig. 11) in which dust is collected (pp. [0143]; internal space 1102 defined as first debris collection container which collects larger debris and dust);
a suction flow path (defined as flow path from item 1130 through item 1132, and item 1134; pp. [0139-0140]; fig. 11) having an inlet end (defined as end at item 1130; fig. 11) communicating with the dust bin of the cleaner (inlet end 1130 directly extends from item 216 which mounts to cleaner; figs. 2, 6, and 11), and an outlet end (defined as end at item 1134; fig. 11) communicating with an air inlet port (defined as opening through item 1134; fig. 11) formed in the dust collecting body;
a discharge flow path (defined as flow path through items 1106, 1110, 1127, 1122, 1124; fig. 11) having an inlet end (defined as end at front end of item 1106, i.e. nearest item 1108; fig. 11) communicating with an air discharge port (defined as opening in upper end of item 1102; fig. 11) formed in an upper surface of the dust collecting body (defined as upper sidewalls of dust collecting body in view of fig. 11), and an outlet end (defined as end near item 1124; fig. 11) communicating with the outside at one side of the housing (pp. [0138]; air exits housing via outlet end to enter outside, i.e. environment);
a mesh (item 1108; fig. 11) configured to cover the air discharge port (pp. [0134]; fig. 11).
Gill does not explicitly disclose a compression plate movably disposed in the internal space of the dust collecting body and configured to clean the mesh while moving.
However, Kim (KR 101306738), as provided by applicant in IDS and translation provided by Examiner, teaches a dust collecting body (outer walls of item 100; figs. 1-5) configured to capture dust, wherein the dust collecting body comprises an internal space (item 120; pp. [0018] and [0027]; figs. 4-5) in which dust is collected (pp. [0017] and [0027]), an air inlet port (defined as opening into body which item 101 extends into; not explicitly shown) formed in at one side of the dust collecting body (defined as outer right side of body in view of figs. 4-5), an air discharge port (defined as opening in upper end of dust collecting body in which airflow discharges from body), a mesh (item 130; figs. 4-5) configured to cover an air discharge port (mesh 130 covers opening, i.e. port, in upper surface of body; analogous to air discharge port in Kim), and a compression plate (includes items 300, 400; figs. 4-5) movably disposed in the internal space (via rotation about item 450; figs. 4-5) of the dust collecting body and configured to clean the mesh while moving (pp. [0034-0035]; as compression pate 300, 400 rotates about shaft 450, a portion of compression plate cleans filter 150, i.e. item 302; figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection space (i.e. internal shape) of the dust collecting body, as disclosed in Gill, to include a cyclonic filter, compression plate, and mesh cleaner, as taught in Kim, in order to reduce the need to remove the filter unit from the station in order to clean the filter (pp. [0013] in Kim) and compress collected dirt in order for fine dust to be removed and compressed quickly thereby, improving user convenience overall (pp. [0013] in Kim).
Regarding claim 21, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 20, wherein a flow direction of air introduced into the dust collecting body from the suction flow path (defined as airflow entering sidewall of dust collecting body, i.e. tangentially to body; fig. 4 of Kim and fig. 11 of Gill) is disposed to be inconsistent with a flow direction of air discharged from the dust collecting body (defined as airflow discharging dust collecting body in vertical direction in view of fig. 4 in Kim and fig. 11 in Gill) from the discharge flow path (the flow directions are inconsistent, i.e. do not stay the same throughout, since the flow directions enter and exit the dust collecting body in different directions, i.e. tangentially and axially).
Regarding claim 22, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 20, wherein the dust collecting part comprises a cyclone part (item 1110; pp. [0136]; fig. 11) disposed in the discharge flow path (defined by dashed-arrowed pathway in view of fig. 11), having an inlet (defined as inlet in which airflow directly from item 1106 enter into cyclone 1110) disposed above the air discharge port (inlet of cyclone part 1110 is above air discharge port; designated in second annotated fig. 11 below), and configured to separate dust from air by using a centrifugal force (pp. [0136] and [0141-0142]; cyclonic motion of air causes remaining debris entrained in the air to fall out of air flowing along the air discharge path).
Second Annotated Fig. 11.
Regarding claim 23, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner as claimed in claim 20, further comprising a dust collecting motor (item 1116; pp. [0137]; fig. 11) disposed in the discharge flow path (pp. [0137]; air passes through motor 1116 prior to being exhausted to environment), disposed below the dust collecting part (motor 1116 is disposed below dust collecting part), and configured to generate a flow of air (pp. [0139]; in operation, motor 1116 causes air to be drawn into cleaner station).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill (US 2020/0022544) in view of Kim (KR 101306738), as provided by applicant in IDS filed on 01/11/2024 and translation provided by Examiner, and further in view of Lee (KR 100730956), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 8, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose comprising a handle rotatably coupled to the dust collecting body.
However, Lee (KR100730956) teaches an analogous dust collecting body structure (item 30; figs. 1-4) wherein the dust collecting body comprises a compression plate (item 54; figs. 4-7) movably disposed in an internal space of the dust collecting body (figs. 6-7), and wherein a handle (item 82; p. 9, ll. 14-17 of NPL; figs. 3 and 5) is rotatably coupled to the dust collecting body (handle 82 is rotatably coupled on outer, lower side of dust collecting body; p. 11, pp. 1-5).
Both Gill as modified by Kim and Lee disclose means for rotatably moving the compression plate in the internal space of the dust collecting body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the compression motor coupled to the dust collecting part, as disclosed in Gill as modified by Kim, with the rotatable handle coupled to the dust collecting body, as taught in Lee, to achieve the predictable result of rotating the compression plate about a rotatable axis in order to compress the dirt and debris collected within the internal space.
Regarding claim 9, Gill as modified discloses the cleaner station as claimed in claim 8, wherein a rotation center axis of the handle (Lee; defined as vertical axis in view of fig 4) is disposed in parallel with a rotation center axis of the compression plate (defined as axis in vertical axis in view of fig. 4, i.e. rotatable about shaft 52, corresponding to shaft 450 in Kim).
Conclusion
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723