DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 6 shows two bidirectional arrows near the rolls denoted by reference characters 10 and 11. 37 CFR 1.84(r) states that “Arrows may be used at the end of lines, provided that their meaning is clear …”. The meaning of the two bidirectional arrows as used in Fig. 6 is not clear. These arrows are not described in the specification nor labelled in the drawings.
Fig. 6 shows a hollow circle near reference character 7 that is not attached to the metal strip. It is not clear what this circle represents. The part should be labelled by a reference character.
37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) requires partial views to be identified by a number followed by a capital letter. The present application identifies partial views by a number and a lowercase letter
It is unclear what the line beneath the reference character 0 in Fig. 1, 17, and 18 signifies. If it is a lead line, it should extend to the threading center, not through the threading center, per 37 CFR 1.84(q). If it is a centerline, it must be removed per 37 CFR 1.84(h).
37 CFR 1.84(h)(3) requires that “… Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object …”. The plane upon which Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 were taken cuts through the axial cylinder connecting the roller main body to the roller frame. These section portions must be indicated by hatchings.
Fig. 4(b) shows a dotted line. It is unclear what this dotted line represents.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 2, 3, and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 claims “… a sliding member that is provided so as to be movable …”. The limitation “that is provided” should be deleted and changed to“… a sliding member that is configured to be movable …” due to the limitation being redundant.
Claim 2 includes the term “longitudinal direction”. In light of the specification, “longitudinal direction” appears to be the same as the “axial direction” as used in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, “longitudinal direction” will be interpreted as though it read “axial direction”.
Claim 3 includes the term “entire circumference of the roll main body”. In light of the specification, “entire circumference of the roll main body” appears to be the same as “outer surface of the roll main body” as used in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, “entire circumference of the roll main body” will be interpreted as “outer surface of the roll main body”
Claim 6 includes the phrase “and that are hit” in the fourth line which should be written as “and that are configured to be hit”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, it is unclear what word is the transitional phrase between the body and preamble. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be interpreted as though it read “A deflector roll that changes a travelling direction of a metal strip being threaded, comprising wherein the sliding member is configured to have the metal strip wrapped thereon and to be movable along an axial direction of the roll main body while maintaining that wrapped state.”
The term “farthest away” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “farthest away” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what the free end is farther away than.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a fixed end" in the last line. It is unclear what the fixed end is of. For the purposes of examination, “a fixed end” will be interpreted as “the end of the guide plate that is supported at the base”.
Claims consist of a body, transitional phrase, and preamble. In claim 10, it is unclear what the transitional phrase is. “Wherein” and “by” are not accepted transitional phrase. For the purposes of examination, claim 10 will be interpreted as though it read “A method of producing a steel sheet using a deflector roll that produces a steel sheet characterized by …”
Likewise rejected, this issue repeats in claim 11-18.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a steel sheet” in the second line of the claim. It is unclear if this steel sheet is the same as the steel sheet in the first line of the claim.
Likewise rejected, this issue repeats in claim 11-18.
All claims dependent on rejected claims are likewise rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iifushi (JPS61176417A).
Re Claim 1, Iifushi discloses a deflector roll that changes a travelling direction of a metal strip being threaded, wherein the deflector roll comprises a roll main body (roller shaft 8) that is rotatably supported by a roll frame (“The transfer roller 4 is rotatably supported”, Pg. 1, Lines 4-5), and a sliding member (arc pieces 10) that is provided so as to be movable relative to an outer surface of the roll main body (“and the arc-shaped pieces 10 are held on the end plates 9, 11 independently of each other in the longitudinal direction so as to be freely expandable and contractible” Pg. 1, Lines 37-38); and the sliding member is configured to have the metal strip wrapped thereon and to be movable along an axial direction of the roll main body while maintaining that wrapped state (“After being rolled and rolled, it is further carried on the transfer roller 4 and transported” Pg. 1, Line 4).
Re Claim 2, Iifushi discloses the deflector roll according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the sliding member includes a plurality of plate-shaped bodies (arc pieces 10), and the plate- shaped bodies are arrayed over an entire circumference of the roll main body, with end surfaces in a longitudinal direction located on roll end surface sides of the roll main body and end surfaces in a width direction facing one another (Fig. 1).
Re Claim 3, Iifushi discloses the deflector roll according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein each of the plate-shaped bodies has an arc surface (outer surface of arc pieces 10, Fig. 2) that forms a part of a wrapping circumferential surface of a circular shape in a state where the plate-shaped bodies are arrayed over the entire circumference of the roll main body (Fig. 1).
Re Claim 4, Iifushi discloses the deflector roll according to claim 2, wherein the plate-shaped bodies are each separately movable along the axial direction of the roll main body (“the arc-shaped pieces 10 are held on the end plates 9, 11 independently of each other in the longitudinal direction so as to be freely expandable and contractible” Pg. 1, Lines 37-38).
Re Claim 5, Iifushi discloses the deflector roll according to claim 2, wherein each of the plate-shaped bodies has a cross-sectional profile in which a central part in the longitudinal direction protrudes outward relative to both end portions of the plate-shaped body (Fig. 2).
Re Claim 9, Iifushi discloses the deflector roll according to claim 1, wherein the sliding member has an elastic member (spring 12) that elastically supports the sliding member (“A spring 12 is press-fitted in a longitudinal direction in a gap between the plate 11 and the arc piece 10” Pg. 1, Lines 40-41) so as to be movable along the axial direction of the roll main body, and that returns the sliding member to an original position by an urging force (“if the arc piece 10 expands due to thermal expansion, the spring 12 contracts, and if the arc piece 10 cools and contracts, the spring 12 expands.” Pg. 1, Lines 45-46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iifushi (JPS61176417) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Clerx et. al. (WO2015130171), hereinafter referred to as “Clerx”
Re Claim 6, Iifushi discloses the deflector roll according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), and further discloses that the roll frame has centering guides (end plates 9 and 11) that are provided facing the end surfaces of the plate-shaped bodies in the longitudinal direction and that are hit by the end surfaces in the longitudinal direction of the plate-shaped bodies in a moving state such that the plate-shaped bodies are returned to original positions and centered to a threading center of the metal strip (end plates 9 and 11, in combination with spring 12, constrain movement in an axial direction).
Iifushi fails to disclose that the centering guides are provided in a region of the roll main body except for a wrapping region of the metal strip.
Clerx teaches that that the roll frame has centering guides (reset element 2) that are provided facing the end surfaces of the plate-shaped bodies in the longitudinal direction, except for a wrapping region of the metal strip (Fig. 2), and that are hit by the end surfaces in the longitudinal direction of the plate-shaped bodies in a moving state such that the plate-shaped bodies are returned to original positions and centered to a threading center of the metal strip (“The segment 1 concerned will than be set back in its starting position by means of the reset elements 2.” Pg. 10, Lines 17-18).
Iifushi differs from the claimed invention by not having centering guides facing the end surfaces of the plate-shaped bodies in the longitudinal direction, in a region of the roll main body except for a wrapping region of the metal strip. Clerx teaches centering guides facing the end surfaces of the plate-shaped bodies in the longitudinal direction, in a region of the roll main body except for a wrapping region of the metal strip so that the plate-shaped bodies can be returned to their original position once they are no longer in contact with the belt (Clerx, Pg. 3, Lines 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the centering guide of Iifushi for the centering guides of Clerx and the results of the substitution would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as the function of the centering guide of Clerx was known.
Re Claim 7, Iifushi, in view of Clerx, disclose the deflector roll according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above), and further discloses that the centering guide includes a base that is held on the roll frame and a guide plate that is supported at one end on the base; and the guide plate has a guide surface of which a free end is farthest away from a roll end surface of the roll main body and to which a distance from the roll end surface of the roll main body decreases gradually toward a fixed end (Clerx, Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iifushi (JPS61176417) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Clerx et. al. (WO2015130171), hereinafter referred to as “Clerx” and further in view of Tober (FR402482).
Re Claim 15, Iifushi, in view of Clerx, discloses a method of producing a steel sheet using a deflector roll that produces a steel sheet by transferring a metal strip having undergone an upstream-side production process to a downstream-side production process so as to pass through a looper device in which at least one deflector roll according to claim 6 is installed (see rejection of claim 6 above), wherein while the metal strip is passing through the looper device, the sliding member of the deflector roll, along with the metal strip wrapped on the deflector roll, is moved along the axial direction of the roll main body using a frictional force attributable to meandering of the metal strip (when the metal strip meanders, the contact between the metal strip and the roll inherently causes a friction force which inherently causes axial movement).
Iifushi, in view of Clerx, discloses that the metal strip is supported by the deflector roll (Fig. 5) and fails to disclose that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll.
Tober teaches that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll which changes the direction of travel of the metal strip (Fig. 17)
Iifushi, in view of Clerx, contained a method which differed from the claimed method by the substitution of wrapping the metal strip on the deflector roll as claimed for merely supporting the metal strip with the deflector roll as in Iifushi, in view of Clerx. However, wrapping the metal strip along a deflector roll to change the direction of travel of the strip was known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted supporting the metal strip with the roll as in Iifushi, in view of Clerx, with wrapping the metal strip around the deflector roll as in Tober and the results of this substitution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as wrapping the metal strip around a deflector roll was known to change the direction of travel of the metal strip.
Re Claim 16, Iifushi, in view of Clerx discloses a method of producing a steel sheet using a deflector roll that produces a steel sheet by transferring a metal strip having undergone an upstream-side production process to a downstream-side production process so as to pass through a looper device in which at least one deflector roll according to claim 7 is installed (see rejection of claim 7 above), wherein while the metal strip is passing through the looper device, the sliding member of the deflector roll, along with the metal strip wrapped on the deflector roll, is moved along the axial direction of the roll main body using a frictional force attributable to meandering of the metal strip (when the metal strip meanders, the contact between the metal strip and the roll inherently causes a friction force which inherently causes axial movement).
Iifushi, in view of Clerx, discloses that the metal strip is supported by the deflector roll (Fig. 5) and fails to disclose that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll.
Tober teaches that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll which changes the direction of travel of the metal strip (Fig. 17)
Iifushi, in view of Clerx, contained a method which differed from the claimed method by the substitution of wrapping the metal strip on the deflector roll as claimed for merely supporting the metal strip with the deflector roll as in Iifushi, in view of Clerx. However, wrapping the metal strip along a deflector roll to change the direction of travel of the strip was known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to have substituted supporting the metal strip with the roll as in Iifushi, in view of Clerx, with wrapping the metal strip around the deflector roll as in Tober and the results of this substitution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as wrapping the metal strip around a deflector roll was known to change the direction of travel of the metal strip.
Claim(s) 8, 10-14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iifushi (JPS61176417) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tober (FR402482).
Re Claim 8, Iifushi discloses the deflector roll according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and Iiushi fails to disclose that the roll frame has guide rollers that are respectively located on both end sides of the metal strip in a width direction to prevent the metal strip from rolling out while being threaded.
Tober teaches that the roll frame has guide rollers (pair of rollers e and pair of rollers f) that are respectively located on both end sides of the metal strip in a width direction (see Fig. 20) to prevent the metal strip from rolling out while being threaded.
Tober and Iifushi include each element of claim 8 with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of references in a single prior art reference. It would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the elements as claimed by attaching the one set of the guide rollers of Tober to the roll frame downstream of the deflector roll of Iifushi and one set of the guide rollers of Tober to the roll frame upstream of the deflector roll of Iifushi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized this combination as predictable.
Re Claim 10, Iifushi discloses a method of producing a steel sheet using a deflector roll that produces a steel sheet by transferring a metal strip having undergone an upstream-side production process to a downstream-side production process so as to pass through a looper device in which at least one deflector roll according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) is installed, wherein while the metal strip is passing through the looper device, the sliding member of the deflector roll is moved along the axial direction of the roll main body using a frictional force attributable to meandering of the metal strip (when the metal strip meanders, the contact between the metal strip and the roll inherently causes a friction force which inherently causes axial movement).
Iifushi discloses that the metal strip is supported by the deflector roll (Fig. 5) and fails to disclose that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll.
Tober teaches that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll which changes the direction of travel of the metal strip (Fig. 17)
Iifushi contained a method which differed from the claimed method by the substitution of wrapping the metal strip on the deflector roll as claimed for merely supporting the metal strip with the deflector roll as in Iifushi. However, wrapping the metal strip along a deflector roll to change the direction of travel of the strip was known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to have substituted supporting the metal strip with the roll as in Iifushi with wrapping the metal strip around the deflector roll as in Tober and the results of this substitution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as wrapping the metal strip around a deflector roll was known to change the direction of travel of the metal strip.
Re Claim 11, Iifushi discloses a method of producing a steel sheet using a deflector roll that produces a steel sheet by transferring a metal strip having undergone an upstream-side production process to a downstream-side production process so as to pass through a looper device in which at least one deflector roll according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above) is installed, wherein while the metal strip is passing through the looper device, the sliding member of the deflector roll is moved along the axial direction of the roll main body using a frictional force attributable to meandering of the metal strip (when the metal strip meanders, the contact between the metal strip and the roll inherently causes a friction force which inherently causes axial movement).
Iifushi discloses that the metal strip is supported by the deflector roll (Fig. 5) and fails to disclose that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll.
Tober teaches that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll which changes the direction of travel of the metal strip (Fig. 17)
Iifushi contained a method which differed from the claimed method by the substitution of wrapping the metal strip on the deflector roll as claimed for merely supporting the metal strip with the deflector roll as in Iifushi. However, wrapping the metal strip along a deflector roll to change the direction of travel of the strip was known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to have substituted supporting the metal strip with the roll as in Iifushi with wrapping the metal strip around the deflector roll as in Tober and the results of this substitution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as wrapping the metal strip around a deflector roll was known to change the direction of travel of the metal strip.
Re Claim 12, Iifushi discloses a method of producing a steel sheet using a deflector roll that produces a steel sheet by transferring a metal strip having undergone an upstream-side production process to a downstream-side production process so as to pass through a looper device in which at least one deflector roll according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above) is installed, wherein while the metal strip is passing through the looper device, the sliding member of the deflector roll is moved along the axial direction of the roll main body using a frictional force attributable to meandering of the metal strip (when the metal strip meanders, the contact between the metal strip and the roll inherently causes a friction force which inherently causes axial movement).
Iifushi discloses that the metal strip is supported by the deflector roll (Fig. 5) and fails to disclose that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll.
Tober teaches that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll which changes the direction of travel of the metal strip (Fig. 17)
Iifushi contained a method which differed from the claimed method by the substitution of wrapping the metal strip on the deflector roll as claimed for merely supporting the metal strip with the deflector roll as in Iifushi. However, wrapping the metal strip along a deflector roll to change the direction of travel of the strip was known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to have substituted supporting the metal strip with the roll as in Iifushi with wrapping the metal strip around the deflector roll as in Tober and the results of this substitution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as wrapping the metal strip around a deflector roll was known to change the direction of travel of the metal strip.
Re Claim 13, Iifushi discloses a method of producing a steel sheet using a deflector roll that produces a steel sheet by transferring a metal strip having undergone an upstream-side production process to a downstream-side production process so as to pass through a looper device in which at least one deflector roll according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above) is installed, wherein while the metal strip is passing through the looper device, the sliding member of the deflector roll is moved along the axial direction of the roll main body using a frictional force attributable to meandering of the metal strip (when the metal strip meanders, the contact between the metal strip and the roll inherently causes a friction force which inherently causes axial movement).
Iifushi discloses that the metal strip is supported by the deflector roll (Fig. 5) and fails to disclose that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll.
Tober teaches that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll which changes the direction of travel of the metal strip (Fig. 17)
Iifushi contained a method which differed from the claimed method by the substitution of wrapping the metal strip on the deflector roll as claimed for merely supporting the metal strip with the deflector roll as in Iifushi. However, wrapping the metal strip along a deflector roll to change the direction of travel of the strip was known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to have substituted supporting the metal strip with the roll as in Iifushi with wrapping the metal strip around the deflector roll as in Tober and the results of this substitution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as wrapping the metal strip around a deflector roll was known to change the direction of travel of the metal strip.
Re Claim 14, Iifushi discloses a method of producing a steel sheet using a deflector roll that produces a steel sheet by transferring a metal strip having undergone an upstream-side production process to a downstream-side production process so as to pass through a looper device in which at least one deflector roll according to claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above) is installed, wherein while the metal strip is passing through the looper device, the sliding member of the deflector roll is moved along the axial direction of the roll main body using a frictional force attributable to meandering of the metal strip (when the metal strip meanders, the contact between the metal strip and the roll inherently causes a friction force which inherently causes axial movement).
Iifushi discloses that the metal strip is supported by the deflector roll (Fig. 5) and fails to disclose that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll.
Tober teaches that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll which changes the direction of travel of the metal strip (Fig. 17)
Iifushi contained a method which differed from the claimed method by the substitution of wrapping the metal strip on the deflector roll as claimed for merely supporting the metal strip with the deflector roll as in Iifushi. However, wrapping the metal strip along a deflector roll to change the direction of travel of the strip was known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to have substituted supporting the metal strip with the roll as in Iifushi with wrapping the metal strip around the deflector roll as in Tober and the results of this substitution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as wrapping the metal strip around a deflector roll was known to change the direction of travel of the metal strip.
Re Claim 17, Iifushi, in view of Tober, discloses a method of producing a steel sheet using a deflector roll that produces a steel sheet by transferring a metal strip having undergone an upstream-side production process to a downstream-side production process so as to pass through a looper device in which at least one deflector roll according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above) is installed, wherein while the metal strip is passing through the looper device, the sliding member of the deflector roll is moved along the axial direction of the roll main body using a frictional force attributable to meandering of the metal strip (when the metal strip meanders, the contact between the metal strip and the roll inherently causes a friction force which inherently causes axial movement).
Iifushi discloses that the metal strip is supported by the deflector roll (Fig. 5) and fails to disclose that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll.
Tober teaches that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll which changes the direction of travel of the metal strip (Fig. 17)
Iifushi contained a method which differed from the claimed method by the substitution of wrapping the metal strip on the deflector roll as claimed for merely supporting the metal strip with the deflector roll as in Iifushi. However, wrapping the metal strip along a deflector roll to change the direction of travel of the strip was known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to have substituted supporting the metal strip with the roll as in Iifushi with wrapping the metal strip around the deflector roll as in Tober and the results of this substitution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as wrapping the metal strip around a deflector roll was known to change the direction of travel of the metal strip.
Re Claim 18, Iifushi discloses a method of producing a steel sheet using a deflector roll that produces a steel sheet by transferring a metal strip having undergone an upstream-side production process to a downstream-side production process so as to pass through a looper device in which at least one deflector roll according to claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above) is installed, wherein while the metal strip is passing through the looper device, the sliding member of the deflector roll is moved along the axial direction of the roll main body using a frictional force attributable to meandering of the metal strip (when the metal strip meanders, the contact between the metal strip and the roll inherently causes a friction force which inherently causes axial movement).
Iifushi discloses that the metal strip is supported by the deflector roll (Fig. 5) and fails to disclose that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll.
Tober teaches that the metal strip is wrapped on the deflector roll which changes the direction of travel of the metal strip (Fig. 17)
Iifushi contained a method which differed from the claimed method by the substitution of wrapping the metal strip on the deflector roll as claimed for merely supporting the metal strip with the deflector roll as in Iifushi. However, wrapping the metal strip along a deflector roll to change the direction of travel of the strip was known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to have substituted supporting the metal strip with the roll as in Iifushi with wrapping the metal strip around the deflector roll as in Tober and the results of this substitution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as wrapping the metal strip around a deflector roll was known to change the direction of travel of the metal strip.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM DOUGLAS DICKSTEIN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725