DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (PGPUB 2022/0293955) and further in view of Otsuka et al (USPAT 11667609).
Claim 1: Jang teaches an electrode for a rechargeable lithium battery where the electrode active material is mixed with solid-state electrolyte such the layer includes a crosslinking product of a solvent, curing agent or initiator, lithium salt, and optional liquid solvent [Abstract; Fig 1a-1c]. The slurry to form the all-solid-state battery is taught to have 0% liquid solvent in the resulting electrolyte of the solid-state electrolyte [0090]. The electrolyte is taught to comprise inorganic solid electrolyte particles [0044-048, 0118-0119]. A polymer, applicant’s polymer A, is added in the electrolyte in the form of a mixture, copolymer, semi-interpenetrating network, or simultaneous interpenetrating network with a second polymer [0117] whereby these polymers are made of monomers. Example of a polymer used in combination with other polymers is polyhydroxyethylmethacrylate.
Jang teaches a polymer to be added to the slurry that is an acrylic group [0109-0118] but is silent to teach a polymer with the claimed polysulfide bond-containing monomer and (meth)acrylic acid ester monomer.
Otsuka teaches a novel compound having a specific structure that makes it a great adhesive [Col 1 Ln 9-13] for the use in batteries [Col 2 Ln 58-59, Col 21 Ln 10-20]. The compound of Otsuka is:
[Col 4 Ln 35-45]. Otsuka teaches compounds with monomer satisfies the instant claimed 0.5mass%-9.5mass% polysufide bond-containing monomer unit and 10.0mass%-95.0mass% methacrylic acid ester monomer [Col 4 Ln 14 – Col 7 Ln 60].
One having ordinary skill at the time of invention would have found it obvious to modify the solid electrolyte battery slurry of Jang to include the compound of Otsuka in a polymer mixture to meet applicant’s polymer A in order to provide a self-healing material that is capable of acting as a dynamic barrier that automatically repairs physical damage through integrated dynamic bonds that can fix micro-cracks, reduce interfacial resistance, and suppress harmful lithium dendrites.
The instant claim is drawn to the slurry composition and therefore intermediate products of the polymer A to be specific to how the monomers are utilized to create the polymer are not limiting to the slurry.
Claim 2: Jang teaches the solvent [0056-0062] to comprise material selected from the group of ketones and esters [0095].
Claim 3-4: Jang is silent to teach the polymer A to include the list of materials of the instant claim.
Otsuka teaches a battery self-healing material that comprises groups from the instant claim to be nitrile group[Col 4 Ln 14 – Col 7 Ln 60]. One having ordinary skill at the time of invention would have found it obvious to modify the solid electrolyte battery slurry of Jang to include the compound of Otsuka in a polymer mixture to meet applicant’s polymer A in order to provide a self-healing material that is capable of acting as a dynamic barrier that automatically repairs physical damage through integrated dynamic bonds that can fix micro-cracks, reduce interfacial resistance, and suppress harmful lithium dendrites.
Claim 5: Jang is silent to teach a polysulfide bond monomer partial structure of formula I.
Otsuka teaches a partial structure of formula I of the instant claim where the n is not less than 1 and not more than 10 [Col 3 Ln19-38]. One having ordinary skill at the time of invention would have found it obvious to modify the solid electrolyte battery slurry of Jang to include the compound of Otsuka in a polymer mixture to meet applicant’s polymer A in order to provide a self-healing material that is capable of acting as a dynamic barrier that automatically repairs physical damage through integrated dynamic bonds that can fix micro-cracks, reduce interfacial resistance, and suppress harmful lithium dendrites.
Claim 6: Jang teaches the inorganic solid electrolyte to include at least a sulfide inorganic solid electrolyte [0119, 0122].
Claim 7: Jang teaches the crosslinking agent and/or initiator to occupy 0.1-50% by weight the reactive additive [0020]. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have found it routine and obvious to discover workable ranges and optimize the electrolyte to incorporate the self-healing features of Otsuka while maintaining electrochemical function like ion transport, weight, and stability.
Claim 8: Jang teaches the slurry to further comprise an electrode active material [Fig 1b, 0048, 0061].
Claim 9: Jang teaches a conductive additive added to the slurry [Fig 1B].
Claim 10: Jang teaches forming a solid electrolyte containing layer formed by a slurry composition [Fig 1A-1C].
Claim 11: Jang teaches a battery formed by the material of a slurry and electrolyte containing layer [0070-0090].
Conclusion
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752