DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 1/11/2024 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a request" in line 7. It is unclear if this request is the same one of line 4 or not. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the core network node" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the second core network node" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "a request" in line 6. It is unclear if this request is the same one of line 3 or not. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (Lee), US 2022/0312305.
As per claim 1, Lee teaches the invention including a first core network node comprising:
A memory (pp. 0139-0140); and
At least one processor configured to access the memory (pp. 0139-0141) and configured to:
Request a second core network node to update a number of user equipments (UEs) registered to a network slice, wherein the second core network node is configured to manage the network slice (pp. 0100-0123, 0132-0137);
Request the second core network node to update a number of Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions for a specific network slices (pp. 0084-0086); and
Receive, from the second core network node, information indicating a failure related to an update of the number of the PDU sessions (pp. 0086).
As per claim 2, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to access the memory and further configured to invoke an updating of the information, which decreases a UE count, wherein the information is related to the number of the UE to decrease an UE count (pp. 0128-0129).
As per claim 3, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Lee further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to invoke updating of the information indicating the failure related to the update of the number of the PDU sessions (pp. 0084-0086, 0128-0129).
As per claim 4, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein the information indicating the failure is received after requesting the second core network node for a network slice management to update the number of the UEs and requesting the second core network node to update the number of PDU sessions (pp. 0084-0086).
As per claim 6, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein the first network node is a network slice admission control function (pp. 0011-0012, 0033, 0060).
As per claim 7, Lee teaches the invention including a second core network node for a network slice management comprising:
Memory (pp. 0139-0140); and
At least one processor configured to access the memory (pp. 0139-0140) and configured to:
Receive a request, from a first core network node, to update a number of user equipments (UEs) registered to a network slice (pp. 0100-0123, 0132-0137);
Receive a request, from the first core network node, to update a number of Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions for a specific network slices (pp. 0084-0086); and
Send, to the first core network node, information indicating a failure related to an update of the number of the PDU sessions (pp. 0086).
As per claim 8, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. Lee further teaches wherein the information indicating the failure is sent to the first core network node to invoke update information related to the number of the UE (pp. 0084-0086, 0128-0129, 0132-0137).
As per claim 9, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. Lee further teaches wherein the update information related to the number of the UEs to decreases the UE count is invoked based on the information indicating the failure (pp. 0084-0086, 0128-0129).
As per claim 10, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. Lee further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to access the memory and configured to send the information indicating the failure after receiving the request to update the number of the UEs and receiving the request to update the number of PDU sessions (pp. 0084-0086).
As per claim 12, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. Lee further teaches wherein the sconed core network node for network slice management is network slice admission control function (pp. 0011-0012, 0033, 0060).
As per claim 13, Lee teaches the invention including method for a first core network node, the method comprising:
Requesting the second core network node to update a number of user equipments (UEs) registered to a network slice, wherein the second core network node is configured to manage the network slice (pp. 0100-0123, 0132-0137);
Requesting the second core network node to update a number of Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions for a specific network slices (pp. 0084-0086); and
Receiving, from the second core network node, information indicating a failure related to an update of the number of the PDU sessions (pp. 0086).
As per claim 14, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 13. Lee further teaches to comprise invoking an updating of the information related to the number of the UEs, which decreases UE count (pp. 0128-0129).
As per claim 15, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. Lee further teaches wherein updating of the information related to the number of the UEs, which decrease the UE count, is invoked based on the information indicating the failure (pp. 0084-0086, 0128-0129).
As per claim 16, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 13. Lee further teaches wherein the information indicating the failure is received after requesting the second core network node to update the number of the UEs and requesting the second core network node to update the number of PDU sessions (pp. 0084-0086).
As per claim 18, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 13. Lee further teaches wherein the second network node is a network slice admission control function (pp. 0011-0012, 0033, 0060).
As per claim 19, Lee teaches the invention including a method for a second core network node for a network slice management, the method comprising:
Receiving a request, from a first core network node, to update a number of user equipments (UEs) registered to a network slice (pp. 0100-0123, 0132-0137);
Receiving a request, from the first core network node, to update a number of Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions for a specific network slices (pp. 0084-0086); and
Sending, to the first core network node, information indicating a failure related to an update of the number of the PDU sessions (pp. 0086).
As per claim 20, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Lee further teaches wherein the information indicating the failure is sent to the first core network node to invoke update information related to the number of UE to decrease UE count (pp. 0084-0086, 0128-0129).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (Lee), US 2022/0312305, in view of Sugawara, JP2022-173615A, filed on 5/10/2021 and published on 11/22/2022.
As per claim 5, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Lee further teaches the core network node is a session management function (SMF) node (pp. 0033, 0060). Lee does not teach wherein the core network node is a combination of session management function (SMF) node and a packet data network gateway control plane node (PGW-C). Sugawara teaches the core network node is a combination of session management function (SMF) node and a packet data network gateway control plane node (PGW-C) (figure 2: SMF + PGW-C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Lee and Sugawara and implement the device and functions in a single network node that utilize the same physical hardware and/or software and reduce system cost.
As per claim 11, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. Lee further teaches the core network node is a session management function (SMF) node (pp. 0033, 0060). Lee does not teach wherein the second core network node is a combination of session management function (SMF) node and packet data network plane node (PGW-C). Sugawara teaches the core network node is a combination of session management function (SMF) node and a packet data network gateway control plane node (PGW-C) (figure 2: SMF + PGW-C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Lee and Sugawara and implement the device and functions in a single network node that utilize the same physical hardware and/or software and reduce system cost.
As per claim 17, Lee teaches the invention as claimed in claim 13. Lee further teaches the core network node is a session management function (SMF) node (pp. 0033, 0060). Lee does not teach wherein the core network node is a combination of session management function (SMF) node and a packet data network gateway control plane node (PGW-C). Sugawara teaches the core network node is a combination of session management function (SMF) node and a packet data network gateway control plane node (PGW-C) (figure 2: SMF + PGW-C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Lee and Sugawara and implement the device and functions in a single network node that utilize the same physical hardware and/or software and reduce system cost.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Velev et al, US 2024/0236912
Sama et al, EP4068848A1
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
February 9, 2026