Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “aperture being positioned between the groove and the second end” in Claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Figures 4 and 8 show the set screw aperture (132) is located between the groove (78) and the second end (98). However, Claim 1 requires a first end operable to be coupled to a power tool and the second end is opposite the first end. The specification, ¶0027 discloses that the second end (98) is configured to be coupled to a power tool, as shown in Figure 4. Therefore, there is no disclosure in the drawings of the claimed subject matter regarding the location of the aperture.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that “first end” and “second end” of the arbor assembly as claimed in Claims 1 and 4 is the opposite of what is detailed in the specification. In Claim 1, the “first end” is to be coupled to a power tool, yet Figure 2 and published ¶0027 show that the second end (98) is to be coupled to a power tool.
¶0034 discusses the dimensions presented in Claims 8-9. No criticality or motivation for choosing the claimed dimensions was found.
Claim Interpretation (112(f))
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 recites “locking member”. (A) the term member is a generic placeholder term; (B) “member” performs the function of engage a hole saw or an adapter; (C) there is no further structure to perform the claimed action. Therefore, the limitation will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) based on the specification as “ball detent” as recited in Claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Novak (US20090226270A1).
Claim 1
Novak teaches an arbor assembly (Figure 4) for a hole saw (12) and a pilot bit (66), the arbor assembly comprising: a shank (24) having a first end operable to be coupled to a power tool (¶0061 teaches the end (24) is a power drive shank.), a second end (22) opposite the first end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the first and second ends (Figure 4), the shank including a groove (62) and an aperture (Where item 48 is located), the aperture being positioned between the groove and the second end (Figure 4); a sleeve (30 and 50) moveable relative to the shank along the longitudinal axis (¶0080 and Figures 4 and 16-17 teach the collar (50) and drive pin plate (30), which make up the analogous sleeve assembly, move axially.); a locking member (41) supported by the shank (Figure 4), the locking member configured to engage a hole saw or an adapter (30) of the hole saw to selectively secure the hole saw to the arbor assembly (Figure 4 and ¶0084); a retaining ring (60) supported by the groove of the shank to limit the axial movement of the sleeve relative to the shank (Figure 4); and a fastener (48) at least partially received in the aperture (Figure 4), the fastener configured to secure the pilot bit to the arbor assembly (Figure 4 and ¶0086); and wherein the sleeve is moveable relative to the shank between a first position, where the locking member secures the hole saw to the arbor assembly, and a second position, where the locking member releases the hole saw from the arbor assembly. (¶0077 and 0078, alongside Figures 16-17 teach the sleeve assembly (30 and 50) moves axially between two positions to engage or release the bit (66).)
Examiner Interpretation of Novak, Figure 4
Claim 2
Novak teaches the arbor assembly of claim 1, wherein the shank further includes a bore (29) defined in the second end, the bore configured to receive a portion of the pilot bit. (Figure 4)
Claim 3
Novak teaches the arbor assembly of claim 2, wherein the bore (29) includes a first portion with a first diameter, and wherein the bore includes a second portion adjacent the first portion with a second diameter that is smaller than the first diameter. (See annotated Figure above for the interpreted first and second portions.)
Claim 4
Novak teaches the arbor assembly of claim 1, wherein the sleeve moves toward the first end of the shank when moving from the first position to the second position. (Figure 17 shows the second position, where the sleeve (30 and 50) is moved towards the first end.)
Claim 5
Novak teaches the arbor assembly of claim 1, further comprising a spring that biases the sleeve toward the first position. (¶0080 teaches the spring biases the collar (50) into the engaged position. The engaged position in Novak is the analogous first position.)
Claim 6
Novak teaches the arbor assembly of claim 1, wherein the locking member is a ball detent. (Figure 4 shows the locking member (41) is a rounded locking member.)
Claim 7
Novak teaches the arbor assembly of claim 1, wherein the sleeve includes a limiting groove that receives the locking member when in the second position. (Figure 17 shows the second position and that the locking member (41) is received in a groove (45) in a part of the sleeve assembly.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak (US20090226270A1).
Claim 8
Novak teaches the arbor assembly of Claim 1 where the aperture is positioned a distance from the first end of the shank.
Novak does not explicitly disclose dimensions, and as such does not disclose the distance being less than 0.8 inches.
However, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to size distance of Novak with the claimed dimension because applicant has not disclosed that having the claimed dimension provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. The claimed dimension is discussed in published ¶0034. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Novak’s aperture, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either the dimension by Novak or the claimed dimension because both dimensions would perform the same function of placing the aperture in a location where the fastener can engage the pilot bit.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Novak to obtain the invention as specified in Claim 8 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Novak.
See also MPEP 2144.04, subsection IV. A. – change in size or proportion.
Claim 9
Novak teaches the arbor assembly of Claim 1 where the groove is positioned a second distance from the first end of the shank.
Novak does not explicitly disclose dimensions, and as such does not disclose the second distance being greater than 1 inch.
However, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to size distance of Novak with the claimed dimension because applicant has not disclosed that having the claimed dimension provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. The claimed dimension is discussed in published ¶0034. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Novak’s groove, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either the dimension by Novak or the claimed dimension because both dimensions would perform the same function of placing the groove in a location where the retaining ring can secure the sleeve and spring in place.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Novak to obtain the invention as specified in Claim 9 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Novak.
See also MPEP 2144.04, subsection IV. A. – change in size or proportion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that:
Novak does not teach “a locking member supported by a shank and configured to engage a hole saw or an adapter of the hole saw to selectively secure the hole saw”. (Page 4-5 of the remarks)
Novak teaches a drive pin plate (30) that is part of the sleeve (30, 50) assembly that acts as adapter for the hole saw. Figure 3 shows pins (36) that extend from the drive plate and interact with the drive pin apertures (18) of the hole saw plate (14). This drive pin plate (30) interacts with the locking member (41) through the shear plate (44) and the ball (46) (See ¶0077). As shown in Figure 16, when in the analogous first position, the drive pin plate (30) is abutted to the plate (14) of the hole saw (12) and secures the hole saw. In this position, the locking member (41) engages the shear plate (44), and the ball (46) through a mechanical interaction. Therefore, the locking member (41) engages the adapter (30) for the hole saw through a mechanical interaction while the adapter selectively secures the hole saw.
Novak does not disclose “the bore includes a first portion with a first diameter and wherein the bore includes a second portion adjacent the first portion with a second diameter than is smaller than the first diameter”
Novak teaches the arbor body (20) and shank (24) are one continuous piece of material in Figure 4. The figure also shows that the interior of the body and shank are hollow through illustration of an open area in the cross sectional view and the fact that the pilot bit (66) is passed within the illustrated open area. The “bore” as claimed is interpreted as the interior open area as shown in Figure 4, which has two areas of different diameter as indicated in the annotated figure used in the rejection. Even though the annotation only points to the bore being located at one end of the body (20), the Figure shows that this bore extends all the way through the body. In regards to the bore “configured to receive a portion of the pilot bit”, there is no indication in Figure 4 of Novak that the pilot bit could not be pushed further into the bore and extend all the way to the shank portion of the bore and the claim is an apparatus claim requiring the intended use/functional limitation of “configured to”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited Form.
Document
Prior Art Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20190151959US
2018-06-27
Figure 2 shows an arbor assembly that includes a power tool attachment end (12), a set screw (125) and a positioning pin (1121) that is an analogous locking member.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726