DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“actuating means” in claims 1 and 5;
“securing element” in claim 3; and
“indicating device” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geary (US 20210178608 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Geary teaches a changer 30 for changing tools to be used consecutively on a robotic arm 10, having a base part 32 and a changer part 34,
wherein the base part 32 provides an assembly section for mounting the robotic arm 10 on the head side of the changer ([0034], Fig 1) and the changer part 34 provides an assembly section for mounting a tool 16 on the base side of the changer ([0040], Fig 1),
wherein the base part 32 and the changer part 34 are connected to one another in a connecting position (Fig 10) in such a way that the base part can be adjusted from the connecting position in an extracting direction (opposite the direction of the arrow in Fig 8) directed from the assembly section of the changer part 34 to the assembly section of the base part 32 relative to the changer part into a separating position (Fig 8) separated from the changer part and back into the connecting position in an opposite insertion direction (following direction of the arrow in Fig 8) (Figs 8-10 show the connection and separation by rotating the base part in the clockwise direction (when viewed from above) to move from the connecting position to the separation position and counterclockwise (when viewed from above) to move from the separation position to the connecting position),
wherein the base part 32 has a locking mechanism interacting with the changer part 34 and adjustable from a locking position (Figs 6A-B, 10), blocking a separation of the base part 32 from the changer part from the connecting position in the extracting direction ([0047]), into an unlocking direction, releasing a separation of the base part 32 from the changer part 34 form the connecting position in the extracting direction ([0049]), and back,
wherein the locking mechanism has an actuating means 106 for inserting into a receptacle 140 in the insertion direction in the connecting position (Figs 8-10), in that the locking mechanism is designed for positively receiving the actuating means 106 in a locking direction (opposite the direction of the arrow in Figs 9-10) perpendicular to the extracting direction and/or in an unlocking direction (following the direction of the arrow in Figs 9-10) opposite the locking direction in the receptacle 140,
in that the locking mechanism is designed to be adjustable from the unlocking position (Figs 5A-B, 8) to the locking position (Figs 6A-B, 10) by adjusting the actuating means in the locking direction relative to the base part (Figs 8-10, [0047-0048]), and
wherein the actuating means 106 is provided on a flap element 54 of the locking mechanism and in that the flap element 54 allows the locking mechanism to be adjusted from the unlocking position to the locking position and back (Figs 8-10, 106 moves up and over 54 via 112 to adjust between the unlocking and locking positions).
Regarding claim 2, Geary teaches the changer according to claim 1, wherein the changer part 34 has at least one holding surface 144 in the extracting direction opposite to the insertion direction, for holding the changer part 34 in the direction of gravity of the holder 30 (holding 34 in legs 152,154 via channels 158).
Regarding claim 3, Geary teaches the changer according to claim 1, wherein the base part 32 has a securing element 74 for positive engagement in the unlocking direction into the receptacle 140 of the locking mechanism (Fig 8), and the securing element 74 can be inserted in the insertion direction in the receptacle 140 and can be removed in the extracting direction from the receptacle (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 4, Geary teaches the changer according to claim 1, wherein an indicating device 112 is provided to be adjustable from a position indicating the positive locking of the locking mechanism in the locking position (Fig 10 shows 112 moved to the right side of 52 in the cutout 58, indicating the locked position) to a position indicating the release of the locking mechanism in the locking position (Fig 8 shows 112 moved to the left side of 52 in the cutout 56, indicating the release of the locking position).
Regarding claim 18, Geary teaches the changer according to claim 1, wherein the changer part 34 has at least two holding surfaces 144 in the extracting direction opposite to the insertion direction, for holding the changer part 34 in the direction of gravity of the holder 30 (holding 34 in legs 152,154 via channels 158).
Regarding claim 19, Geary teaches the changer according to claim 1, wherein the changer part 34 has at least four holding surfaces 144 in the extracting direction opposite to the insertion direction, for holding the changer part 34 in the direction of gravity of the holder 30 (holding 34 in legs 152,154 via channels 158).
Regarding claim 20, Geary teaches the changer according to claim 3, wherein the receptacle 140 is designed as a passage opening (Figs 3-4, 7-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the wall of Geary does not constitute a flap element, the actuating means is not provided on the flap element, and the flap element does not allow the pin to be adjusted between an unlocking position and a locking position. These arguments are respectfully traversed.
First, applicant argues on page 8 of the remarks that the wall of Geary does not constitute a flap element. However, by the definition provided by the applicant in said argument, the wall does attach on only one side to the body of the assembly and covers a part of the opening through which the actuating means moves.
Next, applicant argues on page 8 of the remarks that the actuating means is not provided on the flap element. However, Figure 9 of Geary shows the detent 112 as a part of the actuating means (Geary, [0039]) on top of the wall 54 as the pin 106 is moving between the locking position and unlocking position.
Finally, applicant argues on page 8 of the remarks that the flap element does not allow the pin to be adjusted from the unlocking position to the locking position and back. However, Figures 7-10 show the movement of the pin 106 between the unlocking position and the locking position (Geary, [0044]-[0049]).
Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC DANIEL WHITMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3722
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722