DETAILED ACTION
Reply from Applicant
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Reply filed April 15, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2013/0221889 A1) in view of Satoshi (Foreign Patent Document No.: GB 2553242 A).
For claim 1, Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising a stator assembly (reference numerals 100a, 100b, 100c, figures 1A, 1B), and a frame (reference numeral 140) within which the stator assembly is housed (see figures 1A, 1B), wherein the stator assembly comprises a plurality of stator core sub-assemblies (reference numerals 100a, 100b, 100c) each comprising a stator core (reference numerals 100a, 100b, 100c, see figures 1A, 1B), and a winding (reference numeral 130, figures 1A, 1B), each stator core comprising a back (reference numerals 110a, 110b, 110c) and first and second arms (reference numerals 120a, 120b, 120c) extending from the back (see figures 1A, 1B), wherein the frame (reference numeral 140) is overmoulded to the stator assembly such that at least a portion of the back (reference numerals 110a, 110b, 110c) and the first and second arms (reference numerals 120a, 120b, 120c) of each stator core is exposed through the frame (i.e. outer periphery of back 110a, 110b, 110c and inner periphery of first and second arms 120a, 120b, 120c being exposed through the frame 140, see figures 1A, 1B). Kim et al. however do not specifically disclose a bobbin attached to the stator core, with the winding wound about the bobbin.
Satoshi discloses a bobbin (reference numeral 5) attached to the stator core (reference numeral 32, figure 1), with the winding (reference numerals 41b, 41c, 42b, 42c) wound about the bobbin (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bobbin with the winding wound on the bobbin as disclosed by Satoshi for the stator core of Kim et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the stator assembly of the device.
For claim 2, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi disclose the claimed invention except for at least 10% of each stator core being exposed through the frame. Having a certain amount of the stator core being exposed through the frame would merely involve adjusting the molding over the stator which is a known skill as exhibited by Satoshi (see paragraph [0047]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the molding as disclosed by Satoshi so that a particular amount of the stator core would be exposed through the frame of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the stator assembly of the device.
For claim 3, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi disclose the claimed invention except for no more than 30% of each stator core being exposed through the frame. Having a certain amount of the stator core being exposed through the frame would merely involve adjusting the molding over the stator which is a known skill as exhibited by Satoshi (see paragraph [0047]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the molding as disclosed by Satoshi so that a particular amount of the stator core would be exposed through the frame of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the stator assembly of the device.
For claim 20, the invention of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi disclose the structure of the claimed invention as explained above for claim 1, and applying this invention to an apparatus such as a vacuum cleaner only recites the intended use of the claimed invention, which does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art.
For claim 21, Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: obtaining a plurality of stator core sub-assemblies (reference numerals 100a, 100b, 100c) each comprising a stator core (reference numerals 100a, 100b, 100c, see figures 1A, 1B), and a winding (reference numeral 130, figures 1A, 1B), each stator core comprising a back (reference numerals 110a, 110b, 110c) and first and second arms (reference numerals 120a, 120b, 120c) extending from the back (see figures 1A, 1B); and over-moulding the plurality of stator core sub-assemblies to define a frame (reference numeral 140) within which the plurality of stator core sub-assemblies (reference numerals 100a, 100b, 100c) are housed such that at least a portion of the back (reference numerals 110a, 110b, 110c) and the first and second arms (reference numerals 120a, 120b, 120c) of each stator core is exposed through the frame (i.e. outer periphery of back 110a, 110b, 110c and inner periphery of first and second arms 120a, 120b, 120c being exposed through the frame 140, see figures 1A, 1B). Kim et al. however do not specifically disclose a bobbin attached to the stator core, with the winding wound about the bobbin.
Satoshi discloses a bobbin (reference numeral 5) attached to the stator core (reference numeral 32, figure 1), with the winding (reference numerals 41b, 41c, 42b, 42c) wound about the bobbin (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bobbin with the winding wound on the bobbin as disclosed by Satoshi for the stator core of Kim et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the stator assembly of the device.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Satoshi as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Lau et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2013/0229071 A1).
For claim 4, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi disclose the claimed invention except for the frame comprising a plurality of turbulators. Having a plurality of turbulators for the frame is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Lau et al. (reference numeral 42, see figures 1-5), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the turbulators as disclosed by Lau et al. for the frame of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi for dissipating heat from the device (see Lau et al.'s Abstract).
For claim 5, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the turbulators being formed during a process of over-moulding the frame to the stator assembly. Lau et al. further disclose the turbulators (reference numeral 42) being formed on the molding (reference numeral 40, see figures 1-5, and paragraph [0027]), which when applied to the frame of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. would disclose the turbulators being formed during a process of over-moulding the frame to the stator assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the turbulators on the molding as disclosed by Lau et al. so that the turbulators are formed during a process of over-moulding the frame to the stator assembly of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. for dissipating heat from the device (see Lau et al.'s Abstract).
For claim 6, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of turbulators overlying the backs of the stator cores. Lau et al. further disclose the plurality of turbulators (reference numeral 42) overlying the backs of the stator cores (reference numeral 12, see figure 5), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the turbulators overlying the backs of the stator cores as disclosed by Lau et al. for the turbulators of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. for dissipating heat from the device (see Lau et al.'s Abstract).
For claim 22, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi disclose the claimed invention except for the method comprising forming turbulators of the frame during the process of over-moulding the stator assembly to define the frame. Having a plurality of turbulators for the frame is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Lau et al. (reference numeral 42, see figures 1-5), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the turbulators as disclosed by Lau et al. during the process of over-moulding the stator assembly to define the frame of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi for dissipating heat from the device (see Lau et al.'s Abstract).
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Boughtwood (WIPO Document No.: WO 97/40569 A1).
For claim 7, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of turbulators being obliquely angled relative to an axis substantially parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the brushless motor. Having the turbulators be obliquely angled to an axis is a known skill as exhibited by Boughtwood (reference numeral 10, see figures 6A, 7A), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the obliquely angled configuration as disclosed by Boughtwood for the turbulators of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing heat dissipation for the device.
For claim 14, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of turbulators comprising a plurality of pairs of turbulators, each pair of turbulators arranged in a generally V-shaped formation. Having pairs of turbulators be arranged in a V-shaped formation is a known skill as exhibited by Boughtwood (reference numeral 10, see figures 6A, 7A), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the V-shaped formation for the pair of turbulators as disclosed by Boughtwood for the turbulators of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing heat dissipation for the device.
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., and Boughtwood as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Liou (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0088123 A1).
For claim 8, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., and Boughtwood disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of turbulators being angled between 45-75 degrees relative to the axis. Having a particular angle would merely involve adjusting the orientation as disclosed by Liou (reference numerals 100b, 200, see figure 11), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the orientation as disclosed by Liou for the turbulators of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., and Boughtwood for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing heat dissipation for the device.
For claim 9, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., Boughtwood, and Liou disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of turbulators being angled at around 60 degrees relative to the axis. Having a particular angle would merely involve adjusting the orientation as disclosed by Liou (reference numerals 100b, 200, see figure 11), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the orientation as disclosed by Liou for the turbulators of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., Boughtwood, and Liou for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing heat dissipation for the device.
For claim 10, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., and Boughtwood disclose the claimed invention except for the trailing end of each turbulator being closer to the axis than a leading end of the turbulator. Having ends of the turbulator be closer to an axis would merely involve changing the orientation or size of the turbulator which is a known skill as disclosed by Liou (reference numerals 100b, 200, see figure 11), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the size/orientation as disclosed by Liou for the turbulators of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., and Boughtwood for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing heat dissipation for the device.
For claim 11, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., and Boughtwood disclose the claimed invention except for a pitch to height ratio of each turbulator being in the region of 8:1 to 12:1. Having a particular pitch and height for the turbulator would merely involve changing the orientation or size of the turbulator which is a known skill as disclosed by Liou (reference numerals 100b, 200, see figure 11), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the size/orientation as disclosed by Liou for the turbulators of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., and Boughtwood for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing heat dissipation for the device.
For claim 12, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., Boughtwood, and Liou disclose the claimed invention except for the pitch to height ratio of each turbulator being around 10:1. Having a particular pitch and height for the turbulator would merely involve changing the orientation or size of the turbulator which is a known skill as disclosed by Liou (reference numerals 100b, 200, see figure 11), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the size/orientation as disclosed by Liou for the turbulators of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi, Lau et al., Boughtwood, and Liou for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing heat dissipation for the device.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Liou (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0088123 A1).
For claim 13, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a height of each turbulator being in the region of 0.3-0.9 mm. Having a particular height for the turbulator would merely involve changing the size of the turbulator which is a known skill as disclosed by Liou (reference numerals 100b, 200, see figure 11), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the size as disclosed by Liou for the turbulators of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Lau et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing heat dissipation for the device.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Satoshi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rabbi et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0107664 A1).
For claim 15, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi disclose the claimed invention except for the frame comprising a main body having protrusions, each protrusion overlying a respective stator core, and each protrusion comprising a region of increased radius relative to regions of the main body between adjacent stator cores of the stator assembly. Having protrusions for the frame where the protrusions overlay the stator core is a known skill as exhibited by Rabbi et al. which disclose a frame (reference numeral 230, see figures 17-19) having protruding portions (reference numeral 600) that align with a stator core (reference numeral 200, see figures 17-19), which when applied to the frame of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi would disclose each protrusion comprising a region of increased radius relative to regions of the main body between adjacent stator cores of the stator assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protrusions as disclosed by Rabbi et al. for the stator core of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing heat dissipation for the device.
Claim(s) 16, 17, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Satoshi as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Stafford et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: GB 2571553 A).
For claim 16, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi disclose the claimed invention except for the frame comprising a plurality of struts, each strut extending from a respective region of the frame overlying a core back to a shroud of the frame. Stafford et al. disclose the frame (reference numeral 14) comprising a plurality of struts (reference numerals 94, 96, 98, 100, see figure 6), each strut (reference numerals 94, 96, 98, 100) extending from a respective region of the frame overlying a core back (i.e. stator cores 16, 18, 20, 22, see figures 5, 7) to a shroud (reference numeral 90) of the frame (see figure 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the struts as disclosed by Stafford et al. for the frame of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi for predictably providing further structural support for the device.
For claim 17, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Stafford et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the plurality of struts overlying a winding, and a leading end of each strut being substantially aligned with a leading edge of the winding which the strut overlies. Stafford et al. disclose the struts (reference numerals 94, 96, 98, 100) overlying the stator assemblies (reference numerals 94, 96, 98, 100, see figures 5, 7) with each stator assembly having a winding (reference numeral 72, figure 5) which are aligned with the strut (see figures 5, 7), therefore teaching a leading end of each strut being substantially aligned with a leading edge of the winding which the strut overlies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the struts overlying the winding as disclosed by Stafford et al. for the struts of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Stafford et al. for predictably providing further structural support for the device.
For claim 23, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi disclose the claimed invention except for the method comprising forming struts of the frame during the process of over-moulding the plurality of stator core sub-assemblies to define the frame, each strut extending from a respective region of the frame overlying a core back to a shroud of the frame. Stafford et al. disclose the frame (reference numeral 14) comprising a plurality of struts (reference numerals 94, 96, 98, 100, see figure 6), each strut (reference numerals 94, 96, 98, 100) extending from a respective region of the frame overlying a core back (i.e. stator cores 16, 18, 20, 22, see figures 5, 7) to a shroud (reference numeral 90) of the frame (see figure 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the struts as disclosed by Stafford et al. for defining the frame of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi for predictably providing further structural support for the device.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Satoshi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ha (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0067004 A1).
For claim 18, Kim et al. disclose the brushless motor comprising a rotor assembly (reference numeral 200, see figures 1A, 1B), but Kim et al. in view of Satoshi however do not specifically disclose the frame comprising a plurality of apertures for introducing airflow to the rotor assembly in use. Having apertures for the frame is a known skill as exhibited by Ha (reference numeral 112a, see figure 4), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apertures as disclosed by Ha for the frame of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi for predictably providing desirable cooling configurations for the device.
For claim 19, Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Ha disclose the claimed invention except for the frame comprising a plurality of grooves formed in an outer surface of the frame for guiding airflow into the plurality of apertures. Forming grooves for the apertures is a known skill as exhibited by Ha (reference numeral 112a, see figure 4), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the grooves as disclosed by Ha for the apertures of Kim et al. in view of Satoshi and Ha for predictably providing desirable cooling configurations for the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's assertion that “Kim fails to disclose a frame within which the stator assembly is housed, wherein the frame is overmoulded to the stator assembly such that at least a portion of the back and the first and second arms of each stator core is exposed through the frame”, this was not found to be persuasive since the insulating part 140 of Kim et al. is still used for assembling the stator cores together as shown in figures 1A and 1B, and the structure of insulating part 140 is made for supporting the stator cores (see figures 1A and 1B of Kim et al.) and therefore can still be considered “a frame within which the stator assembly is housed” as recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834