DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated October 8, 2025, claims 1, 12, and 18 were amended, and claims 24-26 were cancelled. Claims 1-23 are pending.
The amendments to the claims overcome the claim objections.
The amendments to the claims overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 24-26.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 8 (Remarks at p. 9) has been considered but it is not persuasive for these reasons:
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that “not all cylinders are right circular cylinders, so that a cylinder by may have a non-circular cross section as recited in these claims,” citing the Wikipedia definition of “Cylinder” (Remarks at p. 9), the examiner disagrees. Although the Wikipedia page (see attached) notes that “cylinder” could refer to an oblique cylinder, for example, such specialized definitions would not be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the claimed invention. Further, claim 9, which depends from claim 8, further recites that “the non-circular cross-sectional shape is polygonal, elliptical, or truncated-circular cross-sectional shape.” One of ordinary skill in the art would not interpret “a cylindrical surface portion” as having a “polygonal” shape.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of the claims over Katano (Remarks at pp. 10-11) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In particular, Kovalevsky and Mahieu are relied upon to teach the axial abutment surface to prevent axial movement in two directions as claimed.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 23, line 2: “the pair dome reinforcement parts” should read “the pair of dome reinforcement parts”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “a cylindrical surface portion of non-circular cross-sectional shape” in line 2. It is unclear how a cylindrical surface could have a non-circular cross-sectional shape. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “a surface portion of non-circular cross-sectional shape.”
Claim 10 recites “A pressure vessel, comprising…the boss assembly of claim 1.” Claim 1 recites “the boss assembly is a stand-alone boss assembly” in line 14. It is unclear how the boss assembly can be “a stand-alone boss assembly” and simultaneously be incorporated into a pressure vessel.
Claims 9 and 11 are also rejected as indefinite through their dependence on a rejected parent claim (details above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-15, 17-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2022/0032531 to Katano (hereinafter, “Katano”) in view of U.S. Pub. 2022/0373085 to Kovalevsky et al. (hereinafter, “Kovalevsky”).
Regarding claim 1, Katano discloses a boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10, Figs. 1, 4) configured for a pressure vessel (tank 100, Fig. 1) having a liner (liner 20, Fig. 1) defining a fluid storage chamber (see Fig. 1) and a composite shell (layer 50, Fig. 1) enclosing or encasing the liner (see Fig. 1), the boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10, Figs. 1, 4) comprising: a dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42, Figs. 1, 4) comprising fiber-reinforced composite material (para. [0029]) coupled to a boss part (mouth piece 10, Figs. 1, 4) defining a longitudinal axis (central axis AX, Fig. 1), wherein the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) is configured to be covered by the composite shell (layer 50, see Fig. 1) and configured to cover a dome portion of the liner (liner 20, see Fig. 1), wherein the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) is mechanically coupled to the boss part (see e.g., para. [0029]; Fig. 4) during the dome reinforcement part fabrication (para. [0029]), and wherein the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) is fixedly coupled to the boss part (mouth piece 10) by a securing element (outer surface of mouthpiece 10, see Fig. 1) comprising an axial abutment portion (annotated portion of Fig. 1 below), arranged on the boss part (mouthpiece 10), configured for blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part (see Figs. 1, 4) along the longitudinal axis (axis AX), and wherein the boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10) is a stand-alone boss assembly (see Fig. 4).
Katano Annotated Figure 1
Katano does not expressly disclose the axial abutment portion is configured for blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part along the longitudinal axis in two directions.
Kovalevsky teaches a similar pressure vessel (see e.g., Fig. 7) having a liner (liner 14, Fig. 7) and dome reinforcement part (dome part 30 of shell 18, Fig. 7) comprising fiber-reinforced composite material (para. [0054]) coupled to a boss part (boss 16A, Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches the boss part has a flange part (portion 182A, Fig. 7) and a securing element (spikes 186, Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches the securing element (spikes 186, Fig. 7) comprises an axial abutment portion (annotated Fig. 7 below) arranged on the boss part (see Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches that the axial abutment portion blocks axial movement (Fig. 7; paras. [0061], [0066], [0093]) of the dome reinforcement part (dome part 30 of shell 18) relative to the boss part (boss 16A). Kovalevsky teaches the securing element (spikes 186, Fig. 7) includes a pin fixed to an outer surface of the flange part (see Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches that the pin is configured to penetrate the dome reinforcement part (see Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches that the axial abutment portion and the pin blocks radial, axial, and rotational movements of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part (paras. [0061], [0066], [0093]).
Kovalevsky Annotated Figure 7
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the boss assembly of Katano to add the securing element of Kovalevsky to the boss including an axial abutment portion and a pin on an outer surface of the flange part configured to penetrate the dome reinforcement part as taught by Kovalevsky for the purpose of blocking radial, axial, and rotational movements of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part, as recognized by Kovalevsky (see e.g., paras. [0061], [0066], [0092]). The boss assembly of Katano as modified by Kovalevsky would have the axial abutment portion capable of blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part along the longitudinal axis in two directions.
Regarding claim 2, Katano further discloses the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) is fabricated using winding, wrapping, braiding, and/or tape placement techniques (para. [0029]; see also para. [0060]), and wherein the boss part (mouth piece 10) is suitable for use as a part of a mandrel for fabricating the dome reinforcement part (para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Katano further discloses the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) is fabricated using a winding technique (para. [0029]) and the boss part (mouth piece 10) is suitable for use as a winding part of a mandrel for fabricating the dome reinforcement part (para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Katano further discloses the boss part (mouth piece 10) is a polar part (see Fig. 1) comprising a neck part (annotated Fig. 1) comprising an axial cylindrical hollow portion (annotated Fig. 1) providing a fluid communication port (annotated Fig. 1), one axial end of the neck part (annotated Fig. 1) being configured to provide a first coupling surface (annotated Fig. 1) suitable for coupling the boss part (mouth piece 10) to the liner (liner 20, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Katano further discloses the polar boss (mouth piece 10) further comprises a flange part (annotated Fig. 1) extending radially outwardly from the neck part (annotated Fig. 1), wherein the flange part (annotated Fig. 1) has an inner surface (annotated Fig. 1) and an outer surface (annotated Fig. 1), wherein the inner surface (annotated Fig. 1) of the flange part (annotated Fig. 1) is configured to provide a second coupling surface (annotated Fig. 1) suitable for coupling the boss part (mouth piece 10) to the liner (liner 20), and wherein the outer surface (annotated Fig. 1) of the flange part (annotated Fig. 1) provides a third coupling surface (annotated Fig. 1) for coupling the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) to the boss part (mouth piece 10) during the dome reinforcement part fabrication (see para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 6, Katano further discloses the boss part (mouth piece 10) is a blind boss comprising a neck part (para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Katano as modified by Kovalevsky already includes the securing element (Kovalevsky, spikes 186) comprises a screw or pin (Kovalevsky, pin 186, see Fig. 7) fixed to the outer surface of the flange part (Katano, annotated Fig. 1; Kovalevsky, portion 182A), and wherein the screw or pin (Kovalevsky, spikes 186) is configured to penetrate the dome reinforcement part (Kovalevsky, see Fig. 7) so as to block radial, axial, and rotational movements of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part (Kovalevsky, paras. [0061], [0066], [0093]).
Regarding claim 10, Katano discloses a pressure vessel (tank 100, Fig. 1), comprising: a liner (liner 20, Fig. 1) defining a fluid storage chamber (see Fig. 1); a composite shell (layer 50, Fig. 1) enclosing or encasing the liner (liner 20, see Fig. 1); and a boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10, Figs. 1, 4), wherein the dome reinforcement part (dome portion 42) is covered by the composite shell (layer 50, see Fig. 1) and covers a dome portion of the liner (liner 20, see Fig. 1).
Katano as modified by Kovalevsky already includes the boss assembly of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Katano discloses a vehicle (para. [0018]) comprising a pressure vessel (tank 100, Fig. 1). Katano as modified by Kovalevsky already includes the pressure vessel of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above).
Regarding claim 12, Katano further discloses a method of manufacturing (Fig. 2) a boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10, Figs. 1, 4) suitable for a pressure vessel (tank 100, Fig. 1), the boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10) having a dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) and a boss part (mouth piece 10) defining a longitudinal axis (axis AX, Fig. 1), the method comprising: positioning the boss part (mouth piece 10; para. [0029]) on a dome-shaped portion of a mandrel having the dome-shaped portion (para. [0029]); placing the mandrel comprising the boss part in a filament-winding machine (para. [0029]); and fabricating the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42; para. [0029]) by winding layers of reinforcing fibers (para. [0029]) on the dome-shaped portion of the mandrel and the boss part (para. [0029]) and fixedly coupling the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) to the boss part (mouth piece 10) with a securing element (outer surface of mouth piece 10; see para. [0029], Fig. 4) comprising an axial abutment portion (annotated Fig. 1) arranged on the boss part (mouth piece 10), configured for blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part (axial abutment part prevents axial movement, see Figs. 1, 4) along the longitudinal axis (axis AX) so as to mechanically couple the dome reinforcement part to the boss part (Fig. 4; para. [0029]); wherein the boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10) is a stand-alone boss assembly (see Fig. 4).
Katano does not expressly disclose the axial abutment portion is configured for blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part along the longitudinal axis in two directions.
Kovalevsky teaches a similar pressure vessel (see e.g., Fig. 7) having a liner (liner 14, Fig. 7) and dome reinforcement part (dome part 30 of shell 18, Fig. 7) comprising fiber-reinforced composite material (para. [0054]) coupled to a boss part (boss 16A, Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches the boss part has a flange part (portion 182A, Fig. 7) and a securing element (spikes 186, Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches the securing element (spikes 186, Fig. 7) comprises an axial abutment portion (annotated Fig. 7 above) arranged on the boss part (see Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches that the axial abutment portion blocks axial movement (Fig. 7; paras. [0061], [0066], [0093]) of the dome reinforcement part (dome part 30 of shell 18) relative to the boss part (boss 16A). Kovalevsky teaches that the axial abutment portion blocks radial, axial, and rotational movements of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part (paras. [0061], [0066], [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method of Katano to add the securing element with an axial abutment portion to the boss as taught by Kovalevsky for the purpose of blocking radial, axial, and rotational movements of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part, as recognized by Kovalevsky (see e.g., paras. [0061], [0066], [0092]). The method of Katano as modified by Kovalevsky would have the axial abutment portion capable of blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part along the longitudinal axis in two directions.
Regarding claim 13, Katano further discloses the fabricating of the dome reinforcement (first dome portion 42; para. [0029]) comprises winding reinforcing fibers (para. [0029]) on a fixedly coupling portion of the boss part (see third coupling surface of mouth piece 10 in annotated Fig. 1) so as to fixedly couple the dome reinforcement part to the boss part (Figs. 1, 4; para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Katano further discloses the reinforcing fibers (para. [0029]) are impregnated with a liquid matrix (para. [0029]), and wherein the method further comprises: curing or polymerizing the liquid matrix (para. [0029]); and removing the boss assembly from the mandrel (Fig. 4; para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Katano further discloses the step of curing or polymerizing the liquid matrix (para. [0029]) is a step of fully curing or fully polymerizing the liquid matrix (para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 17, Katano further discloses the removing the boss assembly (mouth piece 10) from the mandrel (para. [0029]) comprises circumferentially cutting the dome reinforcement part (para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 18, Katano discloses a method of manufacturing (Fig. 2) a pair of boss assemblies (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10, Figs. 1, 4; Note – although the figures show one mouth piece 10 attached to first dome portion 42, para. [0056] discloses the method and tank may have a second mouth piece attached to dome portion 43. In this rejection, references to mouth piece 10 and first dome portion 42 apply to both boss assemblies) suitable for a pressure vessel (tank 100, Fig. 1), each boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10) of the pair (see para. [0056]) having a dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) and a boss part (mouth piece 10) defining a longitudinal axis (axis AX, Fig. 1), the method comprising: positioning each boss part (mouth piece 10; para. [0029]) of the pair of boss assemblies on each dome-shaped portion of a mandrel having two symmetrical dome-shaped portions (paras. [0029], [0056]); placing the mandrel comprising the pair of boss parts in a filament-winding machine (para. [0029]); fabricating each dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42; paras. [0029]) of the pair of boss assemblies (para. [0056]) by winding layers of reinforcing fibers (para. [0029]) on each symmetrical dome-shaped portion of the mandrel and each boss part of the pair of boss assemblies (paras. [0029], [0056]) and fixedly coupling each dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) to each boss part (mouth piece 10) with a securing element (outer surface of mouth piece 10; see para. [0029], Fig. 4) comprising an axial abutment portion (annotated Fig. 1) arranged on each boss part (mouth piece 10), configured for blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement parts relative to the boss parts (axial abutment part prevents axial movement, see Figs. 1, 4) along the longitudinal (axis AX) so as to mechanically couple the pair of dome reinforcement parts to the pair of boss parts (Fig. 4; para. [0029]), wherein the pair of boss assemblies (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10) are a pair of stand-alone boss assemblies (see Fig. 4).
Katano does not expressly disclose the axial abutment portion is configured for blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement parts relative to the boss parts along the longitudinal axis in two directions.
Kovalevsky teaches a similar pressure vessel (see e.g., Fig. 7) having a liner (liner 14, Fig. 7) and dome reinforcement part (dome part 30 of shell 18, Fig. 7) comprising fiber-reinforced composite material (para. [0054]) coupled to a boss part (boss 16A, Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches the boss part has a flange part (portion 182A, Fig. 7) and a securing element (spikes 186, Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches the securing element (spikes 186, Fig. 7) comprises an axial abutment portion (annotated Fig. 7 above) arranged on the boss part (see Fig. 7). Kovalevsky teaches that the axial abutment portion blocks axial movement (Fig. 7; paras. [0061], [0066], [0093]) of the dome reinforcement part (dome part 30 of shell 18) relative to the boss part (boss 16A). Kovalevsky teaches that the axial abutment portion blocks radial, axial, and rotational movements of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part (paras. [0061], [0066], [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method of Katano to add the securing element with an axial abutment portion to each boss as taught by Kovalevsky for the purpose of blocking radial, axial, and rotational movements of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part, as recognized by Kovalevsky (see e.g., paras. [0061], [0066], [0092]). The method of Katano as modified by Kovalevsky would have the axial abutment portion capable of blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part along the longitudinal axis in two directions.
Regarding claim 19, Katano further discloses the fabricating of each dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42; para. [0029]) of the pair of boss assemblies (para. [0056]) comprises winding reinforcing fibers (para. [0029]) on a fixedly coupling portion of each boss part (see third coupling surface of mouth piece 10 in annotated Fig. 1) so as to fixedly couple the pair of dome reinforcement parts to the pair of boss parts (Figs. 1, 4; para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 20, Katano further discloses the reinforcing fibers (para. [0029]) are impregnated with a liquid matrix (para. [0029]), and wherein the method further comprises: curing or polymerizing the liquid matrix (para. [0029]); and removing the pair of boss assemblies from the mandrel (para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 21, Katano further discloses the curing or polymerizing of the liquid matrix (para. [0029]) comprises fully curing or fully polymerizing the liquid matrix (para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 23, Katano further discloses the removing of the pair of boss assemblies (mouth piece 10) from the mandrel (para. [0029]) comprises circumferentially cutting the pair dome reinforcement parts into two separate parts (para. [0029]).
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katano in view of WO 2020/002467 to Mahieu et al. (hereinafter, “Mahieu”).
Regarding claim 1, Katano discloses a boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10, Figs. 1, 4) configured for a pressure vessel (tank 100, Fig. 1) having a liner (liner 20, Fig. 1) defining a fluid storage chamber (see Fig. 1) and a composite shell (layer 50, Fig. 1) enclosing or encasing the liner (see Fig. 1), the boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10, Figs. 1, 4) comprising: a dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42, Figs. 1, 4) comprising fiber-reinforced composite material (para. [0029]) coupled to a boss part (mouth piece 10, Figs. 1, 4) defining a longitudinal axis (central axis AX, Fig. 1), wherein the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) is configured to be covered by the composite shell (layer 50, see Fig. 1) and configured to cover a dome portion of the liner (liner 20, see Fig. 1), wherein the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) is mechanically coupled to the boss part (see e.g., para. [0029]; Fig. 4) during the dome reinforcement part fabrication (para. [0029]), and wherein the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) is fixedly coupled to the boss part (mouth piece 10) by a securing element (outer surface of mouthpiece 10, see Fig. 1) comprising an axial abutment portion (annotated portion of Fig. 1 below), arranged on the boss part (mouthpiece 10), configured for blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part (see Figs. 1, 4) along the longitudinal axis (axis AX), and wherein the boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10) is a stand-alone boss assembly (see Fig. 4).
Katano does not expressly disclose the axial abutment portion is configured for blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part along the longitudinal axis in two directions.
Mahieu teaches a similar pressure vessel having a liner (liner 2, Fig. 2a) and a dome reinforcement part (dome portion of shell 3, Fig. 2a) coupled to a boss part (boss 6, Fig. 2a). Mahieu teaches that the dome reinforcement part is formed by winding (p. 8, ll. 4-6) and is fixedly coupled to the boss part (Fig. 2a; p. 9, ll. 14-20). Mahieu teaches that the boss part comprises a securing element with an axial abutment portion (ribs 9, Fig. 2a) arranged on a neck part (neck portion 6b, Fig. 2a) that blocks axial movement of the dome part relative to the boss part (p. 9, ll. 14-31). The axial abutment portion of Mahieu blocks axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part along the longitudinal axis in two directions (see Fig. 2a). Mahieu teaches the securing element comprises a surface portion of non-circular cross-sectional shape (p. 14, ll. 14-32) that is encased by the dome reinforcement part (see Fig. 2a). Mahieu teaches the securing element blocks radial and rotational movements of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part (p. 14, ll. 14-32; p. 15, ll. 1-9). Mahieu teaches the non-circular cross-sectional shape is polygon or elliptical (p. 14, ll. 14-32) and the axial abutment portion is a groove or winglet (rib 9 or groove between ribs 9, see Fig. 2a). Mahieu teaches that the axial abutment portion helps to optimize pressure distribution within the dome reinforcement part (p. 10, ll. 3-22) and the non-circular shape prevent rotational movement of the boss part with respect to the dome reinforcement part (p. 15, ll. 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the boss assembly of Katano to form the securing element to have a polygonal or elliptical cross-section portion and an axial abutment portion that is a groove or winglet on the neck part as taught by Mahieu for the purpose of preventing rotational movement and optimizing pressure distribution in the dome reinforcement part as recognized by Mahieu (p. 10, ll. 3-22; p. 15, ll. 4-9). The boss assembly of Katano as modified by Mahieu would have the axial abutment portion capable of blocking axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part along the longitudinal axis in two directions.
Regarding claim 2, Katano further discloses the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) is fabricated using winding, wrapping, braiding, and/or tape placement techniques (para. [0029]; see also para. [0060]), and wherein the boss part (mouth piece 10) is suitable for use as a part of a mandrel for fabricating the dome reinforcement part (para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Katano further discloses the dome reinforcement part (first dome portion 42) is fabricated using a winding technique (para. [0029]) and the boss part (mouth piece 10) is suitable for use as a winding part of a mandrel for fabricating the dome reinforcement part (para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Katano further discloses the boss part (mouth piece 10) is a polar part (see Fig. 1) comprising a neck part (annotated Fig. 1) comprising an axial cylindrical hollow portion (annotated Fig. 1) providing a fluid communication port (annotated Fig. 1), one axial end of the neck part (annotated Fig. 1) being configured to provide a first coupling surface (annotated Fig. 1) suitable for coupling the boss part (mouth piece 10) to the liner (liner 20, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Katano further discloses the boss part (mouth piece 10) is a blind boss comprising a neck part (para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 8, Katano as modified by Mahieu already includes the securing element (Mahieu, Fig. 2a) comprises a cylindrical surface portion of non-circular cross-sectional shape (Mahieu, p. 14, ll. 14-32) arranged on an outer surface of the neck part of the boss part (Mahieu, see Fig. 2a), wherein the cylindrical surface portion of non-circular cross-sectional shape is enclosed or encased by the dome reinforcement part (Mahieu, see Fig. 2a) so as to block radial and rotational movements of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part (Mahieu, p. 14, ll. 14-32; p. 15, ll. 1-9), and wherein the axial abutment portion of the securing element (Mahieu, ribs 9) is arranged on the neck part of the boss part (Mahieu, neck portion 6b, Fig. 2a) so as to block axial movement of the dome reinforcement part relative to the boss part (Mahieu, Fig. 2a; p. 9, ll. 14-20).
Regarding claim 9, Katano as modified by Mahieu already includes the non-circular cross-sectional shape is polygonal, elliptical, or truncated-circular cross-sectional shape (Mahieu, p. 14, ll. 14-32), and wherein the axial abutment portion is a groove, winglet, and/or pin (Mahieu, rib 9 or groove between ribs 9, Fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 10, Katano discloses a pressure vessel (tank 100, Fig. 1), comprising: a liner (liner 20, Fig. 1) defining a fluid storage chamber (see Fig. 1); a composite shell (layer 50, Fig. 1) enclosing or encasing the liner (liner 20, see Fig. 1); and a boss assembly (first dome portion 42 with mouth piece 10, Figs. 1, 4), wherein the dome reinforcement part (dome portion 42) is covered by the composite shell (layer 50, see Fig. 1) and covers a dome portion of the liner (liner 20, see Fig. 1).
Katano as modified by Mahieu already includes the boss assembly of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Katano discloses a vehicle (para. [0018]) comprising a pressure vessel (tank 100, Fig. 1). Katano as modified by Mahieu already includes the pressure vessel of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above).
Claims 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katano in view of Kovalevsky as applied to claims 12 and 18 above and further in view of U.S. Pub. 2022/0034451 to Katano et al. (hereinafter, “Katano ‘451”).
Regarding claim 16, Katano does not expressly disclose the reinforcing fibers are dry reinforcing fibers, and wherein the method further comprises: placing the mandrel comprising the dome reinforcement part and the boss part in a mold; performing a resin infusion or resin transfer molding process; removing the mandrel comprising the dome reinforcement part and the boss part from the mold; and removing the boss assembly from the mandrel.
Katano ‘451 teaches a similar method of manufacturing (Fig. 3) a boss assembly for a pressure vessel (100, Fig. 1), the boss assembly having a dome reinforcement part (dome 50, Fig. 1) and a boss part (cap 81, Fig. 1). Katano ‘451 teaches that the dome reinforcement part is fabricating by winding layers of reinforcing fibers on the dome-shaped portion of the mandrel (para. [0075]). Katano ‘451 teaches that the reinforcing fibers are dry reinforcing fibers (para. [0075]). Katano ‘451 teaches that the method further comprises placing the mandrel with the dome reinforcement part in a mold (para. [0075]), performing a resin transfer molding process (para. [0075]), removing the mandrel with the dome reinforcement part from the mold (para. [0075]), and removing the boss assembly from the mandrel (para. [0075]). Katano ‘451 further teaches that resin transfer molding (RTM) is a known “typical” alternative to winding with impregnated fibers (paras. [0061]-[0067], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method of Katano/Kovalevsky to form the dome reinforcement part with dry fibers and use a mold and resin transfer molding process as taught by Katano ‘451 as it is no more than a simple substitution of one known fiber winding method for another that is known in the art for this intended use and would produce only predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 22, Katano does not expressly disclose the reinforcing fibers are dry reinforcing fibers, and wherein the method further comprises: placing the mandrel comprising the pair of dome reinforcement parts and the pair of boss parts in a mold; performing a resin infusion or resin transfer molding process; removing the mandrel comprising the pair of dome reinforcement parts and the pair of boss parts from the mold; and removing the pair of boss assemblies from the mandrel.
Katano ‘451 teaches a similar method of manufacturing (Fig. 3) a boss assembly for a pressure vessel (100, Fig. 1), the boss assembly having a dome reinforcement part (dome 50, Fig. 1) and a boss part (cap 81, Fig. 1). Katano ‘451 teaches that the dome reinforcement part is fabricating by winding layers of reinforcing fibers on the dome-shaped portion of the mandrel (para. [0075]). Katano ‘451 teaches that the reinforcing fibers are dry reinforcing fibers (para. [0075]). Katano ‘451 teaches that the method further comprises placing the mandrel with the dome reinforcement part in a mold (para. [0075]), performing a resin transfer molding process (para. [0075]), removing the mandrel with the dome reinforcement part from the mold (para. [0075]), and removing the boss assembly from the mandrel (para. [0075]). Katano ‘451 further teaches that resin transfer molding (RTM) is a known “typical” alternative to winding with impregnated fibers (paras. [0061]-[0067], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method of Katano/Kovalevsky to form the pair of dome reinforcement parts with dry fibers and use a mold and resin transfer molding process as taught by Katano ‘451 as it is no more than a simple substitution of one known fiber winding method for another that is known in the art for this intended use and would produce only predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3733