DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, 16, 18-22, 24-26, and 28 are pending and are subject to this Office Action.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, 16, and 18-20) in the reply filed on 06/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 21-22, 24-26 and 28 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite for reciting the aerosol-generating material according to claim 1, comprising the same components already recited in claim 1, specifically the weight percents of the aerosol-generating agent and the flavor. It is unclear if the aerosol-generating material further comprises additional aerosol generating agents and flavor or if the claim is redundant as the weight percents of the aerosol-generating agent and flavor are already disclosed in claim 1. For purposes of examination the aerosol-generating material is being treated as only comprising the weight percents disclosed in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11, 14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghanouni et al. (WO-2020025718-A1, hereinafter referring to the English copy provided by the Examiner).
In regards to claim 1, Ghanouni, directed to an aerosol generating substrate formed from an amorphous material ([0034]), discloses the amorphous material comprising 5-80 wt.% of an aerosol-generating agent ([0044]), a gelling agent (i.e., binder), a flavorant from 0.5 to 60 wt.% ([0022]) and filler ([0060]-[0063]). The range disclosed by the prior art overlaps the claimed ranges of an aerosol-generating agent from about 7 to 13 wt.% and a flavorant from about 35 to about 50wt.%, and are therefore considered prima facie obvious.
In regards to claim 2, Ghanouni discloses the aerosol-generating material according to claim 1, comprising:
5-80 wt.% of an aerosol-generating agent ([0044]), the range disclosed by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of an aerosol-generating agent from about 7 to 13 wt.% and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
1-60 wt.% of a gelling agent (i.e., binder) ([0011]), the range disclosed by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of from about 1 to about 57wt% binder, and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
a flavorant from 0.5 to 60 wt.% ([0022]), the range disclosed by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of from about 35 to 50 wt.% flavor, and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Filler in an amount of up to 60wt%, anywhere from 1 to 60wt% ([0060];[0158]), the range disclosed by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of from about 1 to about 50wt% filler, and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Wherein the weights are calculated on a dry weight basis ([0021]).
In regards to claim 3, Ghanouni discloses the flavorant comprises menthol ([0051]).
In regards to claim 4, Ghanouni discloses the aerosol-generating agent is preferably glycerol ([0156]).
In regards to claim 6, Ghanouni discloses the amorphous material comprising 5-80 wt.% of an aerosol-generating agent ([0012]). The range disclosed by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of an aerosol-generating agent from about 8 to 13 wt.%, and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
In regards to claim 7, Ghanouni discloses a flavorant from 0.5 to 60 wt.% ([0022]). The range disclosed by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of a flavorant from about 35 to about 45wt.%, and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
In regards to claims 8-9, Ghanouni discloses the binder can comprise alginates and/or pectins ([0053]-[0054];[0156]), which are non-cellulosic binders (i.e., substantially free of cellulosic binder).
In regards to claim 11, Ghanouni discloses the binder can comprise one or more compounds selected from both cellulosic and non-cellulosic binders ([0053]), therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the binder can include both cellulosic and non-cellulosic binders.
In regards to claim 14, Ghanouni discloses the filler can comprise wood pulp ([0062]-[0063]).
In regards to claim 16, Ghanouni discloses the use of calcium cations to cause crosslinking in the gel material (i.e., crosslinking agents) ([0151]).
In regards to claim 18, Ghanouni discloses embodiments wherein the aerosol-generating material is nicotine instead of tobacco (i.e., substantially free from tobacco) ([0037];[0090];[0170]-[0171]).
In regards to claim 19, Ghanouni discloses the aerosol-generating material of claim 1 is an aerosol-generating composition ([0049]).
In regards to claim 20, Ghanouni discloses the composition can be efficiently heated to generate an inhalable aerosol ([0049]) and that the aerosol-generating article (i.e., consumable) comprising the composition may be inserted into the aerosol-generating device ([0090];[0094]).
Conclusion
/MADELEINE P DELACRUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755