Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that:
“But Applicant contends that Chen does not disclose or render obvious that the "first and second arms define a winding channel for locating a winding relative to the stator core, and the winding channel comprises a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape." As illustrated below, Chen teaches a stator core that is most accurately described as rectangular in shape (see left hand side annotated example). Or if the perimeter of the stator core is interpreted more specifically, the shape is some form of hexagonal shape. Applicant contends, that in either interpretation, the stator core of Chen is not generally trapezoidal in shape as the claims recite.”
The examiner, however, disagrees.
Chen discloses the back and the first and second arms define a winding channel for locating a winding relative to the stator core (125; Fig. 2 of Chen), and the winding channel comprises a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape (Fig. 2 of Chen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN
211630057), and in view of Yu (GB 2577546).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a stator core, the stator core comprising a back, and first and
second arms extending from the back, each of the first and second arms comprising a first portion
extending substantially orthogonally relative to the back, and a second portion obliquely angled relative
to the first portion, wherein the back and the first and second arms define a winding channel for locating a winding relative to the stator core (125; Fig. 2), and the winding channel comprises a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape (Fig. 2).
Chen fails to disclose a brushless permanent magnet motor.
Yu, however, discloses a brushless permanent magnet motor (“The permanent magnet motor
100 is a single-phase brushless permanent magnet motor”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the stator core of Chen with a brushless permanent
magnet motor, as disclosed by Yu, to achieve higher levels of efficiency and to reduce the size of the
motor.
As to claim 2, the combination of Chen and Yu discloses the stator core as claimed in Claim 1,
wherein the second portions of the first and second arms are angled toward one another (Fig. 6 of
Chen).
As to claim 4, the combination of Chen and Yu discloses the stator core as claimed in Claim 1,
wherein the second portions of the first and second arms are angled (Fig. 2 of Chen).
Chen fails to disclose around 20 to 40 degrees relative to the respective first portions of the first
and second arms.
However, those skilled in the art would recognize that the above limitations do not involve any
inventive concept. They would merely depend on how one decides to design the angle of the first and
second arms. Furthermore, the instant specification fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained
from the fact that the second portions of the first and second arms are angled around 20 to 40 degrees
relative to the respective first portions of the first and second arms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the stator core of Chen, such that the
second portions of the first and second arms are angled around 20 to 40 degrees relative to the
respective first portions of the first and second arms, in order to reduce the volume and make the
structure compact.
As to claim 20, the combination of Chen and Yu discloses a brushless permanent magnet motor
comprising the stator core as claimed in Claim 1 (Yu states, “The permanent magnet motor 100 is a
single-phase brushless permanent magnet motor”).
As to claim 21, the combination of Chen and Yu discloses a vacuum cleaner (Fig. 13 of Yu)
comprising the brushless permanent magnet motor as claimed in Claim 20.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Yu, and in view of
Weng (CN 110556997)
As to claim 5, the combination of Chen and Yu discloses the stator core as claimed in Claim 1.
Chen fails to disclose a length of each second portion is in the region of 1.5 to 2.5 times a length
of the respective first portion.
Weng, however, discloses a length of each second portion is larger than the length of the first
portion (Fig. 7b).
Weng fails to disclose in the region of 1.5 to 2.5 times a length of the respective first portion.
However, those skilled in the art would recognize that the above limitations do not involve any
inventive concept. They would merely depend on how one decides how much longer the second portion
is than the first portion. Furthermore, the instant specification fails to disclose any unexpected results
obtained from the fact a length of each second portion is in the region of 1.5 to 2.5 times a length of the
respective first portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the stator core of Chen, such that a length
of each second portion is in the region of 1.5 to 2.5 times a length of the respective first portion, in
order to optimize space for the windings.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Yu, and in view
of Horiuchi (US 2020/0204015).
As to claim 6, the combination of Chen and Yu discloses the stator core as claimed in Claim 1,
wherein each second portion comprises a respective pole face (Fig. 2 of Chen).
Chen fails to disclose the pole faces of the first and second arms are asymmetric.
Horiuchi, however, discloses the pole faces of the first and second arms are asymmetric (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the stator core of Chen with the pole faces of the first and
second arms are asymmetric, as disclosed by Horiuchi, to achieve higher levels of torque (Para 0057).
As to claim 7, the combination of Chen, Yu, and Horiuchi discloses the stator core as claimed in
Claim 6, wherein the pole faces are curved (Fig. 2 of Chen), and a center of curvature of the pole face of
the first arm is different to a center of curvature of the pole face of the second arm (Fig. 2 of Chen).
As to claim 8, the combination of Chen, Yu, and Horiuchi discloses the stator core as claimed in
Claim 6, wherein the pole face of the first arm is a different shape to the pole face of the second arm
(Fig. 2 of Horiuchi), the pole face of the first arm is asymmetric about a center line of the pole face of the
first arm (Fig. 2 of Chen), and the pole face of the second arm is asymmetric about a center line of the
pole face of the second arm (Fig. 2 of Chen).
As to claim 9, the combination of Chen, Yu, and Horiuchi discloses the stator core as claimed in
Claim 6, wherein the pole faces of the first and second arms are spaced apart to define a slot gap (Fig. 2
of Chen).
Chen fails to disclose a ratio of a combined width of the pole faces to the width of the slot gap is
in the region of 3:1 to 7:1.
However, those skilled in the art would recognize that the above limitations do not involve any
inventive concept. They would merely depend on how large one decides to design the slot gap.
Furthermore, the instant specification fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact
that a ratio of a combined width of the pole faces to the width of the slot gap is in the region of 3:1 to
7:1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the stator core of Chen, such that a ratio of
a combined width of the pole faces to the width of the slot gap is in the region of 3:1 to 7:1, in order to
optimize space for the windings.
As to claim 10, the combination of Chen, Yu, and Horiuchi discloses the stator core as claimed in
Claim 9, a distance from the pole face of the first arm to a centre line of the slot gap and a distance from
the pole face of the second arm to the centre line of the slot gap (Fig. 2 of Chen).
Chen fails to disclose a distance from the pole face of the first arm to a centre line of the slot gap
is different to a distance from the pole face of the second arm to the centre line of the slot gap.
However, those skilled in the art would recognize that the above limitations do not involve any
inventive concept. They would merely depend on how one decides to design the pole faces of the arms
and their distances from the centre line of the slot gap. Furthermore, the instant specification fails to
disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that a distance from the pole face of the first
arm to a centre line of the slot gap is different to a distance from the pole face of the second arm to the
centre line of the slot gap.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the stator core of Chen, such that a distance
from the pole face of the first arm to a centre line of the slot gap is different to a distance from the pole
face of the second arm to the centre line of the slot gap, in optimize space for the windings.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Yu, and in view
of Gary (GB 2500580).
As to claim 11, the combination of Chen and Yu discloses the stator core as claimed in Claim 1.
Chen fails to disclose the stator core comprises a plurality of laminations connected together,
and the second portions of the first and second arms comprise protrusions for facilitating connection of
the plurality of laminations.
Gary, however, discloses the stator core comprises a plurality of laminations connected
together, and the second portions of the first and second arms comprise protrusions for facilitating
connection of the plurality of laminations (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the stator core of Chen with the stator core comprises a
plurality of laminations connected together, and the second portions of the first and second arms
comprise protrusions for facilitating connection of the plurality of laminations, as disclosed by Gary, to
properly secure the lamination together.
As to claim 12, the combination of Chen, Yu, and Gary discloses the stator core as claimed in
Claim 11, wherein the protrusions are located on outwardly facing surfaces of the second portions (Fig.
1).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Yu, and in view of
Dymond (WO 2017098202).
As to claim 13, the combination of Chen and Yu discloses the stator core as claimed in Claim 1.
Chen fails to disclose wherein the back is asymmetric about a centre line of the stator core.
Dymond, however, discloses the back is asymmetric about a centre line of the stator core (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the stator core of Chen with the back is asymmetric about
a centre line of the stator core, as disclosed by Dymond, in order to reduce core losses leading to better
efficiency.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Yu, and in view
of Thomas (GB 2571553).
As to claim 14, the combination of Chen and Yu discloses a stator core as claimed in Claim 1.
Chen fails to disclose the stator core sub-assembly, and a bobbin overmoulded to the stator
core.
Thomas, however, discloses the stator core sub-assembly (Fig. 5), and a bobbin (54, 56; Fig. 3)
overmoulded to the stator core.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the stator core of Chen with the stator core sub-assembly,
and a bobbin overmoulded to the stator core, as disclosed by Thomas, to properly insulate the stator
core.
As to claim 15, the combination of Chen, Yu, and Thomas discloses the stator core sub-assembly
as claimed in Claim 14, wherein the bobbin comprises a winding guide for guiding a winding relative to
the bobbin (44; Fig. 9 of Yu), the winding guide located within a channel on a portion of the bobbin that
overlies the back of the stator core (Fig. 9 of Yu).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Yu, Thomas,
and in view of Kim (US 20140009022).
As to claim 16, the combination of Chen, Yu, and Thomas discloses the stator core sub-assembly
as claimed in Claim 14.
Chen fails to disclose wherein the bobbin comprises a connection portion for connecting to a
further bobbin of a further stator core sub-assembly.
Kim, however, discloses the bobbin comprises a connection portion (45; Fig. 6) for connecting to
a further bobbin of a further stator core sub-assembly (Para 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the subassembly of Chen with the bobbin comprises a
connection portion for connecting to a further bobbin of a further stator core sub-assembly, as disclosed
by Kim, in order to properly secure the bobbins together.
As to claim 17, the combination of Chen, Yu, and Thomas discloses the stator core sub-assembly
as claimed in claim 14, wherein the stator core sub-assembly comprises a winding wound about the
bobbin such that the winding is wound about the back of the stator core (Fig. 5 of Thomas), and the
winding defines a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape on an inner surface of the back (Fig. 2 of
Chen).
As to claim 18, the combination of Chen, Yu, and Thomas discloses the stator core sub-assembly
as claimed in claim 17, wherein the winding defines a different cross-sectional shape on an outer surface
of the back (Fig. 9 of Yu).
As to claim 19, the combination of Chen, Yu, and Thomas discloses a stator assembly (Fig. 5 of
Thomas) comprising a plurality of the stator core sub-assemblies as claimed in Claim 14.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner
can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834