DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 in line 3 recites “for each time-domain indication of the time-domain pattern”. There is no antecedent basis for the limitation “the time-domain pattern” in claim 27, or claims 26, 25, or 20.
Claim 34 in lines 4-5 recites “the UCI transmission based on the time-domain pattern”. There is no antecedent basis for the limitation “the UCI transmission”, or “the time-domain pattern” in claim 33, or claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 28, 33, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US2021/0105761A1), in view of Ko et al. (US2022/0272650A1).
Regarding claim 20, Cheng teaches a client device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the client device to at least perform: (Paragraph [0372]: FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating a node for wireless communication, according to various aspects of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a node 600 may include a transceiver 620, a processor 628, a memory 634, one or more presentation components 638, and at least one antenna 636. Paragraph [0376]: Computer storage media may include both volatile and non-volatile media, and removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer-readable instructions, data structures, program modules or data.)
receiving from a network node device physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration information for configuring more than one serving cell for a PUCCH transmission within a PUCCH cell group for the client device, the PUCCH configuration information comprising at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission (Paragraph [0007]: According to a first aspect of the present disclosure, a user equipment (UE) is provided. The at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to receive DCI on a DL channel of an NTN, the DL channel reception ending in a first slot, and transmit a UL transmission on a UL channel of the NTN in a second slot, where the second slot is separate from the first slot by a timing offset, and a duration of the timing offset is dependent on a type of the UL transmission and a numerology of the UL transmission. …. K1 being an offset value indicated in the DCI, and Koffset being an additional offset value. Paragraph [0008]: In an implementation of the first aspect, the DL channel is a PDCCH, the UL channel is a PUCCH. Paragraph [0080]: In accordance with an implementation to define numerology and slot format of Koffset, the slot offset Koffset is based on the numerology of the scheduled UL resource(s) (e.g., PUSCH or PUCCH). Paragraph [0081]: In the present implementation, a UE may receive a scheduling DCI in a DL slot n, and the corresponding UL slot n′ is derived by using a mapping function of n′=└n·2μ UL −μ DL ┘, where └⋅┘ denotes the floor operation, μUL denotes subcarrier spacing (SCS) on a UL channel, e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH, and μDL refers to SCS on a DL channel, e.g., PDCCH or PDSCH. Paragraph [0082]: After the proper slot mapping, the slot offsets K, K1, K2, and Koffset are all based on the UL numerology such that adding or subtracting can be done with the same SCS definition.)
and utilizing the received PUCCH configuration information in selecting a PUCCH transmission slot for a target serving cell of the at least one target serving cell (Paragraph [0214]: In flowchart 200, action 202 may include receiving DCI on a DL channel of an NTN, the DL channel reception ending in a first slot. Action 204 may include transmitting a UL transmission on a UL channel of the NTN in a second slot, where the second slot is separate from the first slot by a timing offset, and a duration of the timing offset is dependent on a type of the UL transmission and a numerology of the UL transmission.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission having a larger sub-carrier spacing (SCS) than an SCS of a reference cell.
However, Ko teaches at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one target serving cell having a larger sub-carrier spacing (SCS) than an SCS of a reference cell (Paragraph [0254]: Referring to FIG. 10 and FIG. 11, in operations 1001, 1101(a), 1101(b) according to various embodiments, a network (e.g., a base station) may transmit information related to a time offset and a UE may receive it. Paragraph [0255]: In operations 1003 and 1103(a) according to various embodiments, the UE may determine a time offset between the reference cell/carrier (e.g., The time offset between SCells, etc.) and the target cell/carrier (e.g., SCell, etc.). Paragraph [0263]: According to various embodiments, a reference time duration (reference time duration) may be an SCS used for a specific cell (e.g., PCell/PSCell/SCell) and/or a specific signal/channel. Paragraph [0265]: According to various embodiments, information on a time offset (e.g., information on a slot offset) may be transmitted and received based on the value of reference SCS in carrier aggregation, and information on the time offset (e.g., information on a slot offset) may indicate a time offset (e.g., a slot offset) between PCell/PSCell and SCell, and the UE may determine a time offset of SCell based on information on a time offset (e.g., information on the slot offset). Paragraph [0266]: For example, when PCell (and/or reference cell) is configured to 15 kHz SCS, and SCell (and/or target cell) is configured to 30 kHz SCS, as the reference SCS is determined as the 30 kHz, a time offset (e.g., a slot offset) may be indicated (e.g., indicated as 2) in a unit corresponding to the reference SCS. Examiner’s note: This indicates target serving cell having larger sub-carrier spacing (SCS) than reference cell SCS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission having a larger sub-carrier spacing (SCS) than an SCS of a reference cell, as taught by Ko in the system of Cheng, so that the UE can determine the time boundary of the SCell by shifting by 2 slots length at 30 kHz SCS with respect to the slot boundary of PCell configured to 15 kHz SCS, the indicated time offset (e.g., a slot offset) based on the 30 kHz SCS, based on the time boundary of the PCell configured as the 15 kHz SCS (e.g., a slot boundary) (Ko: Paragraphs [0254], [0255], [0263], [0265], [0266]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the client device according to claim 20 (see rejection for claim 20);
Cheng further teaches wherein the PUCCH configuration information includes a separate PUCCH configuration per each uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) of the at least one target serving cell (Paragraph [0102]: The slot offset Koffset may be configured per Bandwidth part (BWP) per serving cell. Paragraph [0103]: For a case of a single beam per cell, each beam may be associated with a cell. This leads to an association between Koffset and a beam. Paragraph [0104]: For a case of multiple beams per cell, if each beam is associated with a DL BWP, this leads to an association between Koffset and a beam.)
and wherein a set of the at least one set of relative slot offset values n for the PUCCH transmission is indicated with a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (Paragraph [0127]: Koffset is derived from broadcast information, e.g., broadcast system information, or dedicatedly signaled by higher layers, e.g., RRC message.)
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the client device according to claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
Cheng further teaches wherein the RRC parameter comprises a DataToUL-ACK (Paragraph [0127]: If the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 or a DCI format 1_1 scheduling a PDSCH reception ending in slot n or if the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 indicating an SPS PDSCH release through a PDCCH reception ending in slot n, the UE provides corresponding HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission within slot n′+k+Koffset, where k is a number of slots and is indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field in the DCI format, if present, or provided by d1-DataToUL-ACK. Koffset is derived from broadcast information, e.g., broadcast system information, or dedicatedly signaled by higher layers, e.g., RRC message.)
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the client device according to claim 20 (see rejection for claim 20);
Cheng further teaches wherein the PUCCH configuration information includes a single PUCCH configuration for all the at least one target serving cell (Paragraph [0008]: In an implementation of the first aspect, the DL channel is a PDCCH, the UL channel is a PUCCH. Paragraph [0080]: In accordance with an implementation to define numerology and slot format of Koffset, the slot offset Koffset is based on the numerology of the scheduled UL resource(s) (e.g., PUSCH or PUCCH). Paragraph [0081]: In the present implementation, a UE may receive a scheduling DCI in a DL slot n, and the corresponding UL slot n′ is derived by using a mapping function of n′=└n·2μ UL −μ DL ┘, where └⋅┘ denotes the floor operation, μUL denotes subcarrier spacing (SCS) on a UL channel, e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH, and μDL refers to SCS on a DL channel, e.g., PDCCH or PDSCH. Paragraph [0082]: After the proper slot mapping, the slot offsets K, K1, K2, and Koffset are all based on the UL numerology such that adding or subtracting can be done with the same SCS definition.)
and wherein the at least one set of the relative slot offset values n for the at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission is one of: uplink bandwidth part specific, and is indicated with a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (Paragraph [0102]: The slot offset Koffset may be configured per Bandwidth part (BWP) per serving cell. Paragraph [0103]: For a case of a single beam per cell, each beam may be associated with a cell. This leads to an association between Koffset and a beam. Paragraph [0104]: For a case of multiple beams per cell, if each beam is associated with a DL BWP, this leads to an association between Koffset and a beam. Paragraph [0127]: Koffset is derived from broadcast information, e.g., broadcast system information, or dedicatedly signaled by higher layers, e.g., RRC message.)
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the client device according to claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
Cheng further teaches wherein the RRC parameter comprises a DataToUL-ACK (Paragraph [0127]: If the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 or a DCI format 1_1 scheduling a PDSCH reception ending in slot n or if the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 indicating an SPS PDSCH release through a PDCCH reception ending in slot n, the UE provides corresponding HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission within slot n′+k+Koffset, where k is a number of slots and is indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field in the DCI format, if present, or provided by d1-DataToUL-ACK. Koffset is derived from broadcast information, e.g., broadcast system information, or dedicatedly signaled by higher layers, e.g., RRC message.)
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the client device according to claim 20, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the client device to perform (see rejection for claim 20);
Cheng further teaches determining an effective PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback offset value on the target serving cell based on a PDSCH allocation, a PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback offset value of a reference cell and the relative slot offset value n of the target serving cell, wherein determining of a slot on the target serving cell for a PUCCH transmission is performed using the determined effective PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback offset value (Paragraph [0127]: If the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 or a DCI format 1_1 scheduling a PDSCH reception ending in slot n or if the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 indicating an SPS PDSCH release through a PDCCH reception ending in slot n, the UE provides corresponding HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission within slot n′+k+Koffset, where k is a number of slots and is indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field in the DCI format. Paragraph [0128]: For an SPS PDSCH reception ending in slot n, the UE transmits the PUCCH in slot n′ K +k+offset where k is provided by the PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field in DCI format 1_0 or, if present, in DCI format 1_1 activating the SPS PDSCH reception. Paragraph [0165]: With reference to slots for PUCCH transmissions, when a UE receives in a PDSCH an activation command for a secondary cell ending in slot n, the UE applies the corresponding actions no later than the minimum requirement and no earlier than slot n+k′. Paragraph [0169]: The k′ value is k′=K1+3·Nslot subframe,μ+1+Koffset where K1 is a number of slots for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH reception and is indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field in the DCI format scheduling the PDSCH reception, and Nslot subframe,μ a number of slots per subframe for the SCS configuration μ of the PUCCH transmission. Also see paragraphs [0134] – [0137]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the client device according to claim 20, wherein the utilizing of the received PUCCH configuration information in selecting the PUCCH transmission slot comprises (see rejection for claim 20);
Cheng further teaches determining the PUCCH transmission slot (Paragraph [0007]: According to a first aspect of the present disclosure, a user equipment (UE) is provided. The at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to receive DCI on a DL channel of an NTN, the DL channel reception ending in a first slot, and transmit a UL transmission on a UL channel of the NTN in a second slot, where the second slot is separate from the first slot by a timing offset, and a duration of the timing offset is dependent on a type of the UL transmission and a numerology of the UL transmission. …. K1 being an offset value indicated in the DCI, and Koffset being an additional offset value. Paragraph [0008]: In an implementation of the first aspect, the DL channel is a PDCCH, the UL channel is a PUCCH. Paragraph [0080]: In accordance with an implementation to define numerology and slot format of Koffset, the slot offset Koffset is based on the numerology of the scheduled UL resource(s) (e.g., PUSCH or PUCCH). Paragraph [0081]: In the present implementation, a UE may receive a scheduling DCI in a DL slot n, and the corresponding UL slot n′ is derived by using a mapping function of n′=└n·2μ UL −μ DL ┘, where └⋅┘ denotes the floor operation, μUL denotes subcarrier spacing (SCS) on a UL channel, e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH, and μDL refers to SCS on a DL channel, e.g., PDCCH or PDSCH. Paragraph [0082]: After the proper slot mapping, the slot offsets K, K1, K2, and Koffset are all based on the UL numerology such that adding or subtracting can be done with the same SCS definition. Paragraph [0214]: In flowchart 200, action 202 may include receiving DCI on a DL channel of an NTN, the DL channel reception ending in a first slot. Action 204 may include transmitting a UL transmission on a UL channel of the NTN in a second slot, where the second slot is separate from the first slot by a timing offset, and a duration of the timing offset is dependent on a type of the UL transmission and a numerology of the UL transmission.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach determining the slot on the reference cell.
However, Ko teaches determining the slot on the reference cell (Paragraph [0263]: According to various embodiments, a reference time duration (reference time duration) may be an SCS used for a specific cell (e.g., PCell/PSCell/SCell) and/or a specific signal/channel. For example, the reference SCS (and/or offset SCS) may be the SCS of the SS/PBCH of the SpCell and/or the SCS indicated from the network and/or the SCS of any signal/channel used in the corresponding SCell. Paragraph [0264]: According to various embodiments, a time offset may be indicated based on a reference time duration. For example, when the reference SCS is used as the reference time duration, the reference SCS may be one of predetermined values (e.g., 15 kHz/30 kHz/60 kHz/120 kHz/240 kHz), and a time offset (a slot offset, a SFN offset, an OFDM symbol offset and combination, etc.) for configuring the time boundary of each cell based on the reference SCS may be indicated. According to various embodiments, considering that numerology varies according to the SCS, the length of time corresponding to the time offset may vary according to the value of the reference SCS. According to various embodiments, the granularity of information related to the time offset may vary according to the reference SCS. Paragraph [0265]: According to various embodiments, information on a time offset (e.g., information on a slot offset) may be transmitted and received based on the value of reference SCS in carrier aggregation, and information on the time offset (e.g., information on a slot offset) may indicate a time offset (e.g., a slot offset) between PCell/PSCell and SCell, and the UE may determine a time offset of SCell based on information on a time offset (e.g., information on the slot offset). Paragraph [0266]: For example, when PCell (and/or reference cell) is configured to 15 kHz SCS, and SCell (and/or target cell) is configured to 30 kHz SCS, as the reference SCS is determined as the 30 kHz, a time offset (e.g., a slot offset) may be indicated (e.g., indicated as 2) in a unit corresponding to the reference SCS.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining the slot on the reference cell, as taught by Ko in the system of Cheng, so that the UE can determine information on the slot offset based on the value of the reference SCS (Ko: Paragraphs [0254], [0255], [0263] - [0266]).
Regarding claim 35, Cheng teaches a method for a client device, comprising: receiving, at the client device from a network node device, physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration information for configuring more than one serving cell fora PUCCH transmission within a PUCCH cell group for the client device, the PUCCH configuration information comprising at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission; and utilizing, by the client device, the received PUCCH configuration information in selecting a PUCCH transmission slot for a target serving cell of the at least one target serving cell (see rejection for claim 20);
Cheng does not explicitly teach at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission having a larger sub-carrier spacing (SCS) than an SCS of a reference cell.
However, Ko teaches at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission having a larger sub-carrier spacing (SCS) than an SCS of a reference cell (see rejection for claim 20);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission having a larger sub-carrier spacing (SCS) than an SCS of a reference cell, as taught by Ko in the system of Cheng, so that the UE can determine the time boundary of the SCell by shifting by 2 slots length at 30 kHz SCS with respect to the slot boundary of PCell configured to 15 kHz SCS, the indicated time offset (e.g., a slot offset) based on the 30 kHz SCS, based on the time boundary of the PCell configured as the 15 kHz SCS (e.g., a slot boundary) (Ko: Paragraphs [0254], [0255], [0263], [0265], [0266]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the method according to claim 35 (see rejection for claim 35);
Cheng further teaches wherein the PUCCH configuration information includes a separate PUCCH configuration per each uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) of the at least one target serving cell, and wherein a set of the at least one set of relative slot offset values n for the PUCCH transmission is indicated with a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see rejection for claim 21).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the method according to claim 36 (see rejection for claim 36);
Cheng further teaches wherein the RRC parameter comprises a DataToUL-ACK (see rejection for claim 22).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the method according to claim 35 (see rejection for claim 35);
Cheng further teaches wherein the PUCCH configuration information includes a single PUCCH configuration for all the at least one target serving cell, and wherein the at least one set of the relative slot offset values n for the at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission is one of: uplink bandwidth part specific, and is indicated with a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see rejection for claim 23).
Regarding claim 39, Cheng teaches a network node device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node device to at least perform: generating physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration information for configuring more than one serving cell for a PUCCH transmission within a PUCCH cell group for a client device, the PUCCH configuration information comprising at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission; transmitting the generated PUCCH configuration information to the client device; and receiving uplink control information from the client device on the PUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on the PUCCH configuration information (see rejection for claim 20);
Cheng does not explicitly teach at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one
target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission having a larger a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) than an SCS of a reference cell.
However, Ko teaches at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one
target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission having a larger a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) than an SCS of a reference cell (see rejection for claim 20);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one set of relative slot offset values n for at least one target serving cell for the PUCCH transmission having a larger a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) than an SCS of a reference cell, as taught by Ko in the system of Cheng, so that the UE can determine the time boundary of the SCell by shifting by 2 slots length at 30 kHz SCS with respect to the slot boundary of PCell configured to 15 kHz SCS, the indicated time offset (e.g., a slot offset) based on the 30 kHz SCS, based on the time boundary of the PCell configured as the 15 kHz SCS (e.g., a slot boundary) (Ko: Paragraphs [0254], [0255], [0263], [0265], [0266]).
Claims 25, 26, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US2021/0105761A1), in view of Ko et al. (US2022/0272650A1), and further in view of Bae et al. (EP4322665A1).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the client device according to claim 20 (see rejection for claim 20);
Cheng further teaches wherein the utilizing of the received PUCCH configuration information in selecting the PUCCH transmission slot further comprises: based on a PUCCH transmission slot on the reference cell and a relative slot offset value n of the target serving cell for a PUCCH transmission of an uplink control information (UCI) transmission (Paragraph [0007]: According to a first aspect of the present disclosure, a user equipment (UE) is provided. The at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to receive DCI on a DL channel of an NTN, the DL channel reception ending in a first slot, and transmit a UL transmission on a UL channel of the NTN in a second slot, where the second slot is separate from the first slot by a timing offset, and a duration of the timing offset is dependent on a type of the UL transmission and a numerology of the UL transmission. …. K1 being an offset value indicated in the DCI, and Koffset being an additional offset value. Paragraph [0008]: In an implementation of the first aspect, the DL channel is a PDCCH, the UL channel is a PUCCH. Paragraph [0080]: In accordance with an implementation to define numerology and slot format of Koffset, the slot offset Koffset is based on the numerology of the scheduled UL resource(s) (e.g., PUSCH or PUCCH). Paragraph [0081]: In the present implementation, a UE may receive a scheduling DCI in a DL slot n, and the corresponding UL slot n′ is derived by using a mapping function of n′=└n·2μ UL −μ DL ┘, where └⋅┘ denotes the floor operation, μUL denotes subcarrier spacing (SCS) on a UL channel, e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH, and μDL refers to SCS on a DL channel, e.g., PDCCH or PDSCH. Paragraph [0082]: After the proper slot mapping, the slot offsets K, K1, K2, and Koffset are all based on the UL numerology such that adding or subtracting can be done with the same SCS definition.)
The combination of Cheng and Ko does not explicitly teach determining a PUCCH transmission slot of the UCI transmission on the target serving cell as the (n+1)th slot on the target serving cell overlapping with the PUCCH transmission slot on the reference cell.
However, Bae teaches determining a PUCCH transmission slot of the UCI transmission on the target serving cell as the (n+1)th slot on the target serving cell overlapping with the PUCCH transmission slot on the reference cell (Paragraph [0010]: According to an aspect of the present disclosure, provided herein is a method of transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) (HARQ-ACK) information by a user equipment in a wireless communication system. The method may include: performing physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception in a plurality of cells including a primary cell and including a secondary cell configured for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) cell switching; determining a HARQ-ACK feedback timing value K for the PDSCH reception among a set of HARQ-ACK feedback timing values configured for the primary cell between the primary cell and the secondary cell; determining a slot n+K on the primary cell based on a last slot n overlapping with the PDSCH reception among slots of the primary cell and on the HARQ-ACK feedback timing value K; and transmitting the HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH reception in a slot m on the secondary cell, based on using the secondary cell for transmission of the HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH reception between the primary cell and the secondary cell based on the PUCCH cell switching. The slot m may be a slot including start of the slot n+K among slots of the secondary cell overlapping with the slot n+K.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining a PUCCH transmission slot of the UCI transmission on the target serving cell as the (n+1)th slot on the target serving cell overlapping with the PUCCH transmission slot on the reference cell, as taught by Bae in the combined system of Cheng and Ko, in order to regulate PUCCH cell to perform PUCCH transmission efficiently (Bae: Paragraphs [0006] - [0010]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Cheng, Ko, and Bae teaches the client device according to claim 25 (see rejection for claim 25);
Cheng further teaches wherein the relative slot offset value n is indicated using a physical downlink shared channel to hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (PDSCH-to-HARQ-ACK)_feedback timing indicator field in a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a PDSCH or activating a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH configuration (Paragraph [0127]: f the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 or a DCI format 1_1 scheduling a PDSCH reception ending in slot n or if the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 indicating an SPS PDSCH release through a PDCCH reception ending in slot n, the UE provides corresponding HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission within slot n′+k+Koffset, where k is a number of slots and is indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field in the DCI format. Paragraph [0128]: For an SPS PDSCH reception ending in slot n, the UE transmits the PUCCH in slot n′ K +k+offset where k is provided by the PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field in DCI format 1_0 or, if present, in DCI format 1_1 activating the SPS PDSCH reception. Paragraph [0165]: With reference to slots for PUCCH transmissions, when a UE receives in a PDSCH an activation command for a secondary cell ending in slot n, the UE applies the corresponding actions no later than the minimum requirement and no earlier than slot n+k′. Paragraph [0169]: The k′ value is k′=K1+3·Nslot subframe,μ+1+Koffset where K1 is a number of slots for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH reception and is indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field in the DCI format scheduling the PDSCH reception, and Nslot subframe,μ a number of slots per subframe for the SCS configuration μ of the PUCCH transmission. Also see paragraphs [0134] – [0137]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Cheng, Ko, and Bae teaches the client device according to claim 26, wherein the utilizing of the received PUCCH configuration information in selecting the PUCCH transmission slot further comprises (see rejection for claim 26);
Cheng further teaches determining an effective PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback offset based on the determined PUCCH transmission slot on the target serving cell and PDSCH allocation (Paragraph [0165]: With reference to slots for PUCCH transmissions, when a UE receives in a PDSCH an activation command for a secondary cell ending in slot n, the UE applies the corresponding actions no later than the minimum requirement and no earlier than slot n+k′. Paragraph [0169]: The k′ value is k′=K1+3·Nslot subframe,μ+1+Koffset where K1 is a number of slots for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH reception and is indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator field in the DCI format scheduling the PDSCH reception, and Nslot subframe,μ a number of slots per subframe for the SCS configuration μ of the PUCCH transmission.)
Claims 29, 30, 31, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US2021/0105761A1), in view of Ko et al. (US2022/0272650A1), and further in view of Yamada et al. (US2018/0077749A1).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the client device according to claim 20, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the client device to perform (see rejection for claim 20);
The combination of Cheng and Ko does not explicitly teach receiving from the network node device a time-domain pattern of an applicable PUCCH cell.
However, Yamada teaches receiving from the network node device a time-domain pattern of an applicable PUCCH cell (Paragraph [0130]: FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating one implementation of a method 300 for performing a scheduling request procedure by an eNB 160. The eNB 160 may transmit one or more RRC messages to the UE 102 to configure, for the UE 102, one or more of PUCCH Cell Groups, the PUCCH SCell, and SR. Paragraph [0138]: FIG. 4a through 4d are diagrams illustrating examples for configuration of SR on a PUCCH on a PCell or an SCell. FIG. 4a shows an example of a case that a PCell for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE. SR resources are shown in 401-407. The scheduling request is configured only for the PCell. SR periodicity is 4 ms. FIG. 4b shows an example of a case that a PCell for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE and an SCell (i.e. PUCCH SCell) for a UE 102 is also configured with schedulingRequestConfig IE. The scheduling request is configured for the PCell and the SCell. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 411-417. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 421-424. SR periodicity for PCell is 8 ms and for SCell is 4 ms. The subframes for resources for the PCell and the SCell are not overlapped based on SR subframe offset. FIG. 4c shows an example of a case that an SCell (i.e. PUCCH SCell) for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE. The scheduling request is configured for the PCell and the SCell. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 431-437. SR periodicity for SCell is 4 ms. FIG. 4d shows another example of a case that a PCell for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE and an SCell (i.e. PUCCH SCell) for a UE 102 is also configured with schedulingRequestConfig IE. The scheduling request is configured for the PCell and the SCell. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 441-447. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 451-454. SR periodicity for PCell is 8 ms and for SCell is 4 ms. The subframes for resources for the PCell and the SCell are overlapped. Also see paragraphs [0139] – [0140])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving from the network node device a time-domain pattern of an applicable PUCCH cell, as taught by Yamada in the combined system of Cheng and Ko, so that the network node can configure the UE with scheduling resources on a PUCCH on a PCell or an SCell (Yamada: Paragraphs [0130], [0138] – [0140]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Cheng, Ko, and Yamada teaches the client device according to claim 29 (see rejection for claim 29);
The combination of Cheng and Yamada does not explicitly teach wherein the PUCCH configuration information further comprises a reference SCS to allow determination of timing and granularity of the time-domain pattern.
However, Ko teaches wherein the PUCCH configuration information further comprises a reference SCS to allow determination of timing and granularity of the time-domain pattern (Paragraph [0263]: According to various embodiments, a reference time duration (reference time duration) may be an SCS used for a specific cell (e.g., PCell/PSCell/SCell) and/or a specific signal/channel. For example, the reference SCS (and/or offset SCS) may be the SCS of the SS/PBCH of the SpCell and/or the SCS indicated from the network and/or the SCS of any signal/channel used in the corresponding SCell. Paragraph [0264]: According to various embodiments, a time offset may be indicated based on a reference time duration. For example, when the reference SCS is used as the reference time duration, the reference SCS may be one of predetermined values (e.g., 15 kHz/30 kHz/60 kHz/120 kHz/240 kHz), and a time offset (a slot offset, a SFN offset, an OFDM symbol offset and combination, etc.) for configuring the time boundary of each cell based on the reference SCS may be indicated. According to various embodiments, considering that numerology varies according to the SCS, the length of time corresponding to the time offset may vary according to the value of the reference SCS. According to various embodiments, the granularity of information related to the time offset may vary according to the reference SCS. Paragraph [0268]: According to various embodiments, a granularity of information on the time offset may be determined according to a reference SCS for the time offset.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PUCCH configuration information further comprises a reference SCS to allow determination of timing and granularity of the time-domain pattern, a taught by Ko in the combined system of Cheng and Yamada, so that multi-cell carrier aggregation communication systems can achieve timing alignment for transmitting uplink signals based on reference subcarrier spacing (Ko: Paragraphs [0050], [0051], [0063], [0064], [0263] – [0268]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Cheng, Ko, and Yamada teaches the client device according to claim 30 (see rejection for claim 30);
The combination of Cheng and Yamada does not explicitly teach wherein the reference SCS comprises an SCS of a reference cell, the reference cell being indicated by the network node device, or the reference cell being a primary cell (Pcell) or a primary secondary cell (PScell) of the PUCCH cell group, or the reference cell being an UL serving cell with the lowest or highest serving cell index, or the reference cell being an UL serving cell applicable for PUCCH transmission with the highest SCS.
However, Ko teaches wherein the reference SCS comprises an SCS of a reference cell, the reference cell being indicated by the network node device, or the reference cell being a primary cell (Pcell) or a primary secondary cell (PScell) of the PUCCH cell group (Paragraph [0263]: According to various embodiments, a reference time duration (reference time duration) may be an SCS used for a specific cell (e.g., PCell/PSCell/SCell) and/or a specific signal/channel. For example, the reference SCS (and/or offset SCS) may be the SCS of the SS/PBCH of the SpCell and/or the SCS indicated from the network and/or the SCS of any signal/channel used in the corresponding SCell. Paragraph [0264]: According to various embodiments, a time offset may be indicated based on a reference time duration. For example, when the reference SCS is used as the reference time duration, the reference SCS may be one of predetermined values (e.g., 15 kHz/30 kHz/60 kHz/120 kHz/240 kHz), and a time offset (a slot offset, a SFN offset, an OFDM symbol offset and combination, etc.) for configuring the time boundary of each cell based on the reference SCS may be indicated. According to various embodiments, considering that numerology varies according to the SCS, the length of time corresponding to the time offset may vary according to the value of the reference SCS. According to various embodiments, the granularity of information related to the time offset may vary according to the reference SCS. Paragraph [0268]: According to various embodiments, a granularity of information on the time offset may be determined according to a reference SCS for the time offset.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the reference SCS comprises an SCS of a reference cell, the reference cell being indicated by the network node device, or the reference cell being a primary cell (Pcell) or a primary secondary cell (PScell) of the PUCCH cell group, a taught by Ko in the combined system of Cheng and Yamada, so that multi-cell carrier aggregation communication systems can achieve timing alignment for transmitting uplink signals based on reference subcarrier spacing (Ko: Paragraphs [0050], [0051], [0063], [0064], [0263] – [0268]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Cheng and Ko teaches the client device according to claim 33, wherein the utilizing of the received PUCCH configuration information in selecting the PUCCH transmission slot further comprises; the determined PUCCH transmission slot on the reference cell (see rejection for claim 33);
Cheng further teaches determining the target serving cell for a PUCCH transmission of the UCI transmission based on PUCCH transmission slot on the reference cell (Paragraph [0007]: According to a first aspect of the present disclosure, a user equipment (UE) is provided. The at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to receive DCI on a DL channel of an NTN, the DL channel reception ending in a first slot, and transmit a UL transmission on a UL channel of the NTN in a second slot, where the second slot is separate from the first slot by a timing offset, and a duration of the timing offset is dependent on a type of the UL transmission and a numerology of the UL transmission. …. K1 being an offset value indicated in the DCI, and Koffset being an additional offset value. Paragraph [0008]: In an implementation of the first aspect, the DL channel is a PDCCH, the UL channel is a PUCCH. Paragraph [0080]: In accordance with an implementation to define numerology and slot format of Koffset, the slot offset Koffset is based on the numerology of the scheduled UL resource(s) (e.g., PUSCH or PUCCH). Paragraph [0081]: In the present implementation, a UE may receive a scheduling DCI in a DL slot n, and the corresponding UL slot n′ is derived by using a mapping function of n′=└n·2μ UL −μ DL ┘, where └⋅┘ denotes the floor operation, μUL denotes subcarrier spacing (SCS) on a UL channel, e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH, and μDL refers to SCS on a DL channel, e.g., PDCCH or PDSCH. Paragraph [0082]: After the proper slot mapping, the slot offsets K, K1, K2, and Koffset are all based on the UL numerology such that adding or subtracting can be done with the same SCS definition. Paragraph [0214]: In flowchart 200, action 202 may include receiving DCI on a DL channel of an NTN, the DL channel reception ending in a first slot. Action 204 may include transmitting a UL transmission on a UL channel of the NTN in a second slot, where the second slot is separate from the first slot by a timing offset, and a duration of the timing offset is dependent on a type of the UL transmission and a numerology of the UL transmission.)
The combination of Cheng and Ko does not explicitly teach based on the time-domain pattern.
However, Yamada teaches based on the time-domain pattern (Paragraph [0130]: FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating one implementation of a method 300 for performing a scheduling request procedure by an eNB 160. The eNB 160 may transmit one or more RRC messages to the UE 102 to configure, for the UE 102, one or more of PUCCH Cell Groups, the PUCCH SCell, and SR. Paragraph [0138]: FIG. 4a through 4d are diagrams illustrating examples for configuration of SR on a PUCCH on a PCell or an SCell. FIG. 4a shows an example of a case that a PCell for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE. SR resources are shown in 401-407. The scheduling request is configured only for the PCell. SR periodicity is 4 ms. FIG. 4b shows an example of a case that a PCell for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE and an SCell (i.e. PUCCH SCell) for a UE 102 is also configured with schedulingRequestConfig IE. The scheduling request is configured for the PCell and the SCell. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 411-417. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 421-424. SR periodicity for PCell is 8 ms and for SCell is 4 ms. The subframes for resources for the PCell and the SCell are not overlapped based on SR subframe offset. FIG. 4c shows an example of a case that an SCell (i.e. PUCCH SCell) for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE. The scheduling request is configured for the PCell and the SCell. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 431-437. SR periodicity for SCell is 4 ms. FIG. 4d shows another example of a case that a PCell for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE and an SCell (i.e. PUCCH SCell) for a UE 102 is also configured with schedulingRequestConfig IE. The scheduling request is configured for the PCell and the SCell. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 441-447. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 451-454. SR periodicity for PCell is 8 ms and for SCell is 4 ms. The subframes for resources for the PCell and the SCell are overlapped. Also see paragraphs [0139] – [0140])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide based on the time-domain pattern, as taught by Yamada in the combined system of Cheng and Ko, so that the network node can configure the UE with scheduling resources on a PUCCH on a target cell (Yamada: Paragraphs [0130], [0138] – [0140]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US2021/0105761A1), in view of Ko et al. (US2022/0272650A1), Bae et al. (EP4322665A1) and further in view of Yamada et al. (US2018/0077749A1).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Cheng, Ko, and Bae teaches the client device according to claim 27 (see rejection for claim 27);
Cheng does not explicitly teach an index of the cell used for the PUCCH transmission.
However, Ko teaches an index of the cell used for the PUCCH transmission (Paragraph [0215]: On the other hand, the control information may be configured to be transmitted and received only through a specific cell. For example, UCI may be transmitted only through a special cell (e.g., PCell). When an SCell (hereinafter, PUCCH-SCell) in which PUCCH transmission is allowed is configured, UCI may also be transmitted through the PUCCH-SCell. Paragraph [0216]: For CCS, CIF (carrier indicator field) is used. The CIF may be disabled/enabled by UE-specific (or UE group-specific) semi-statically by a higher layer (e.g., radio resource control, RRC) signaling. The CIF field is an x-bit field (e.g., x=3) in the PDCCH (i.e., DCI), and may be used to indicate a (serving) cell index of a scheduled cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide an index of the cell used for the PUCCH transmission, as taught by Ko in the system of Cheng, so that the UE can determine the identity of the cell for transmitting the PUCCH (Ko: Paragraphs [0215], [0216]).
The combination of Cheng, Ko, and Bae does not explicitly teach wherein the PUCCH configuration information further comprises each time-domain indication of the time-domain pattern.
However, Yamada teaches wherein the PUCCH configuration information further comprises each time-domain indication of the time-domain pattern (Paragraph [0130]: FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating one implementation of a method 300 for performing a scheduling request procedure by an eNB 160. The eNB 160 may transmit one or more RRC messages to the UE 102 to configure, for the UE 102, one or more of PUCCH Cell Groups, the PUCCH SCell, and SR. Paragraph [0138]: FIG. 4a through 4d are diagrams illustrating examples for configuration of SR on a PUCCH on a PCell or an SCell. FIG. 4a shows an example of a case that a PCell for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE. SR resources are shown in 401-407. The scheduling request is configured only for the PCell. SR periodicity is 4 ms. FIG. 4b shows an example of a case that a PCell for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE and an SCell (i.e. PUCCH SCell) for a UE 102 is also configured with schedulingRequestConfig IE. The scheduling request is configured for the PCell and the SCell. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 411-417. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 421-424. SR periodicity for PCell is 8 ms and for SCell is 4 ms. The subframes for resources for the PCell and the SCell are not overlapped based on SR subframe offset. FIG. 4c shows an example of a case that an SCell (i.e. PUCCH SCell) for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE. The scheduling request is configured for the PCell and the SCell. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 431-437. SR periodicity for SCell is 4 ms. FIG. 4d shows another example of a case that a PCell for a UE 102 is configured with the schedulingRequestConfig IE and an SCell (i.e. PUCCH SCell) for a UE 102 is also configured with schedulingRequestConfig IE. The scheduling request is configured for the PCell and the SCell. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 441-447. SR resources for the SCell are shown in 451-454. SR periodicity for PCell is 8 ms and for SCell is 4 ms. The subframes for resources for the PCell and the SCell are overlapped. Also see paragraphs [0139] – [0140])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PUCCH configuration information further comprises each time-domain indication of the time-domain pattern, as taught by Yamada in the combined system of Cheng, Ko, and Bae, so that the network node can configure the UE with scheduling resources on a PUCCH on a PCell or an SCell (Yamada: Paragraphs [0130], [0138] – [0140]).
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461