DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0028469 A1 (hereinafter “Bishop”), in view of US 2011/0265757 (hereinafter “GKN”).
Regarding claim 1, Bishop teaches an aluminum alloy powder mixture that allows high volume parts with improved mechanical properties (see BACKGROUND). Bishop teaches a powder mixture including aluminum powder, Al-Cu master alloy, Al-Si master alloy, elemental magnesium powder and elemental tin powder (see claim 1 or SUMMARY). Bishop teaches that the composition also includes a ceramic component powder (See [0043]).
Bishop does not teach a AlN powder. Bishop does not specify the ceramic component.
GKN teaches an aluminum powder mixture for improved mechanical properties (see BACKGROND). GKN teaches that the powder includes aluminum powder, Al-Cu master alloy, elemental magnesium powder and elemental tin powder (see claim 1 thru 7 or SUMMARY). GKN teaches that a ceramic component may be added to the powder to improve mechanical properties (See [0042]). GKN teaches that AlN is suitable for this purpose (See [0042]).
It would have been an obvious matter to the skilled artisan at time of filing to have altered the method of Bishop as by adding in AlN to the composition, because GKN teaches that such an addition is suitable to improve the mechanical properties of aluminum powder mixtures ([0042]).
Regarding claims 7-8, Bishop teaches Al-50Cu (claim 3). The limitations of atomized and crushed are considered product-by-process limitations. In this case the structures described by the prior art are the same as those claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Bishop teaches Al-12Si (claim 3).
Regarding claim 10, Bishop teaches lubricant ([0025] and claim 8).
Regarding claim 11, the lubricant is also considered to be a flow aid, as the lubricant will help the powder flow while pressing occurs.
Regarding claim 13, Bishop teaches that there is a homogenous distribution of silicon in the part ([0027]). Bishop teaches that the dispersoids are distributed homogenously through the part ([0037]). GKN further teaches to create a uniform distribution ([0042]). The properties not disclosed would have flowed naturally from creating the powder mixture as the prior art suggests.
Regarding claims 14-15, Bishop in view of GKN do not teach a size of the AlN material in the powder mixture. However in general the recitation of a size is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art having the same composition. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In this case, GKN clearly envisions that the AlN is added as a reinforcement material ([0042]), and the alloys are all directed to improvement of mechanical properties of aluminum powder metallurgy parts.
Regarding claim 16, GKN teaches a AlN material. GKN does not specify the phase or composition of phases, however the skilled artisan reading GKN would have immediately envisioned the stable phase of the material absent description otherwise. The properties not disclosed are inherent.
Regarding claims 17-18, Bishop does not teach a flow rate or a theoretical density. In general Bishop when modified by GKN teaches the same powder mixture, with the same components, and used for the same purpose of powder metallurgy, to achieve the same goals of improved mechanical properties. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Regarding claim 19-20, Bishop teaches green compacts, which are then sintered (BACKGROUND or claim 11).
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0028469 A1 (hereinafter “Bishop”), in view of US 2011/0265757 (hereinafter “GKN”), and further in view of US 4177069 A (hereinafter “Kobayashi”).
Bishop in view of GKN are applied to the claim as stated above.
Bishop in view of GKN do not teach wherein a proportion of the aluminum alloy includes fines.
Kobayashi teaches a process for making aluminum powder compacts (title, SUMMARY). Kobayashi teaches mixing aluminum or Al-Si powder with one or more master alloys, including Mg powders (claim 1, SUMMARY, EXAMPLES 1 thru 14). Kobayashi teaches that prior art powders with high amount of fines have caused economical constraint (col 1-2). Kobayashi teaches that a powder including a normal distribution of fines and coarse will work when additives such as Si and Cu are included (col 2 and col 7). Kobayashi teaches that the powder may include fines (Example 1).
It would have been an obvious matter to the skilled artisan to have used the powder of Kobayashi as the aluminum powder because Kobayashi teaches that the powder obtains sufficient mechanical strength (see col. 4 and Examples).
Regarding claims 3-4 Kobayashi teaches similar proportions of fines (Examples 1 thru 14).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0028469 A1 (hereinafter “Bishop”), in view of US 2011/0265757 (hereinafter “GKN”), and further in view of US 7943084 B1 (hereinafter “Johnson”).
Bishop in view of GKN are applied to the claim as stated above.
Bishop in view of GKN do not teach to add fumed silica.
Johnson teaches means to improve flowability of powders (title, SUMMARY). Johnson teaches to add fumed silica to the powder to improve flowability (see col 12-13).
It would have been an obvious matter to the skilled artisan at time of filing to have altered the method of Bishop as by adding in AlN to the composition, because GKN teaches that such an addition is suitable to improve the mechanical properties of aluminum powder mixtures ([0042]), and to have added fumed silica as taught by Johnson in order to improve flowability (col 12-13).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 7-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. US 12629750 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant’s patent claim 1 does not recite that tin or aluminum nitride is added. However these features are expressed in claims 3 and 14-16 respectively. The combination of the known features in the claims would have been a prima facie obvious matter to the skilled artisan. Applicant’s patent claims additionally describe instantly claimed features (particle sizes and phases in claims 14-16, flow rate in claim 1, etc.).
Allowable Subject Matter
NO claims are allowable. Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach the combinations of features of claims 5 and 6, respectively, wherein the composition includes the recited amounts of the respective alloying elements, and the respective particle (mesh) sizes of the individual powders required.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10640851 B2 teaches to create high theoretical density powder compacts by mixtures of aluminum powders.
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1759