DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/CN2021/109276 07/29/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 01/11/2024, 11/01/2024, 12/16/2024, 05/14/2025, 09/15/2025 and 10/30/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-10, 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II-IV or based on the elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/28/2026. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I drawn to an unnatural amino acid, in the reply filed on 08/28/2026 is acknowledged.
After further review, Examiner rescinds the election of species requirement.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 6-10, 16-20 are withdrawn. claims 1-5, and 11-15 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “when X, Z and A…”. the claim can amended to recite “wherein X, Z and A…”.
Claim 2 recites “…at least oen…”. The claim can be amended to recite “…at least one…”.
Claim 5 recites “…which is…”. The claim should be amended to recite “…selected from the group consisting of…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 8 A,B,C contain statements in the graph that are not legible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandula (WO2014087367A2 – hereinafter “Kandula”).
Kandula teaches a compound of formula I
wherein R2 is
, R3 is
and R4 is
(See claim 1).
Examiner notes that the cited variables lead the compound
which comprises the instant structure of Formula I, wherein X and Z are CO and CH2, and A is a C6-C20 aryl.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the variables taught by Kandula to arrive to the instant compound of Formula I. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the variables taught by Kandula to arrive to the instant compound since the Kandula teaches the instant core structure and the variables are selected from a finite number of derivatives thus arriving to the instant compound. The disclosures render obvious claims 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 2, Kandula teaches a compound of formula I
wherein R2 is
, R3 is
and R4 is
(See claim 1).
Examiner notes that the cited variables lead the compound
wherein at least one substituent is CH2.
Regarding claims 4-5, Kandula teaches a compound of formula I
wherein R2 is
, R3 is
and R4 is
(See claim 1).
Examiner notes that the cited variables lead the compound
which reads on the instant compound (1-5) and compound 6 in claim 5, and wherein X is C0-C6 linear alkylene, and R1 and R2 is H.
Regarding claim 11-13, Kandula teaches a compound of formula I
wherein R2 is
, R3 is
and R4 is
(See claim 1).
Examiner notes that the cited variables lead the compound
which comprises the instant structure of Formula I, wherein X and Z are CO and CH2, and A is a C6-C20 aryl.
Regarding claim 14-15, Kandula teaches a compound of formula I
wherein R2 is
, R3 is
and R4 is
(See claim 1).
Examiner notes that the cited variables lead the compound
which comprises the instant structure of Formula I, wherein X and Z are CO and CH2, and A is a C6-C20 aryl.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, 12-16 of copending Application No. 18/687,680. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims recite an unnatural amino acid of formula I
The instant claims recite an unnatural amino acid, wherein the unnatural amino acid is a compound with a structure as shown in formula (I) or an enantiomer thereof,
(claim 1).
The copending claims anticipate the instant claims.
Regarding claim 2, the copending claims recite wherein the substituent is selected from one or more of hydroxyl, sulfhydryl, halogen, nitro, cyano, C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, acyl, acylamino, carboxyl, ester, amino, sulfonyl, sulfinyl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, C3-C8 heterocyclyl, C6-C20 aryl and C4-C10 heteroaryl (claim 3).
Regarding claim 3, the copending claims recite wherein the unnatural amino acid is
(claim 4).
Regarding claim 4, the copending claims recite wherein the unnatural amino acid are the compounds 1-3 to 1-6 (claim 5).
Regarding claim 5, the copending claims recite the unnatural amino acid are the compounds 1-7 (claim 6)
Regarding claim 11, the copending claims recite wherein X and Z each independently represent C0-C10 linear or branched alkylene; and/or A represents substituted or unsubstituted C6-C10 aryl (claim 12).
Regarding claim 12, the copending claims recite wherein X and Z each independently represent CO-C6 linear alkylene, and one or more -CH2- are optionally substituted by one or more of -0-, -S- and -NH-; and/or A represents substituted or unsubstituted phenyl or naphthyl (claim 13).
Regarding claim 13, the copending claims recite wherein X and Z are not CO alkylene simultaneously (claim 14).
Regarding claim 14, the copending claims recite wherein the unnatural amino acid is a compound with a structure as shown in formula (1-2)
(claim 15).
Regarding claim 15, the copending claims recite wherein X' represents CO-C4 linear alkylene, and one or more -CH2- are optionally substituted by -O- and/or -NH- (claim 16).
Claims 1-3, 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, of copending Application No. 18/687,683. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims recite an unnatural amino acid of formula I
The instant claims recite an unnatural amino acid, wherein the unnatural amino acid is a compound with a structure as shown in formula (I) or an enantiomer thereof,
(claim 1).
Examiner notes that methyl group before the L variable corresponds to the instant Z variable, copending L variable corresponds to the instant A variable, and the copending X and Y variables correspond to the instant X and Y. Examiner further notes that copending claims recite that L can be an acyl which reads on a phenyl group.
The copending claims anticipate the instant claims 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 2, the copending claims recite wherein the substituent is selected from one or more of hydroxyl, sulfhydryl, halogen, nitro, cyano, C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, acyl, acylamino, carboxyl, ester, amino, sulfonyl, sulfinyl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, C3-C8 heterocyclyl, C6-C20 aryl and C4-C10 heteroaryl and that X represents -0-, -S-, -NH- or -CH2-; and/or Y represents -C(O)- (claim 3).
Regarding claims 11-12, the copending claims recite an unnatural amino acid of formula I
wherein Y is an aryl, which includes phenyl, and X is -CH2-, and Y is -C(O)- (claims 1, 3-4) which would read on the instant claims 11-12.
Claims 1-3, 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, of copending Application No. 18/292,767. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims recite an unnatural amino acid of formula I
The instant claims recite an unnatural amino acid, wherein the unnatural amino acid is a compound with a structure as shown in formula (I) or an enantiomer thereof,
(claim 1, 3).
Examiner notes that methyl group before the L variable corresponds to the instant Z variable, copending L variable corresponds to the instant A variable, and the copending X and Y variables correspond to the instant X and Y. Examiner further notes that copending claims recite that L can be an acyl which reads on a phenyl group.
The copending claims anticipate the instant claims 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 2, the copending claims recite wherein the substituent is selected from one or more of hydroxyl, sulfhydryl, halogen, nitro, cyano, C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, acyl, acylamino, carboxyl, ester, amino, sulfonyl, sulfinyl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, C3-C8 heterocyclyl, C6-C20 aryl and C4-C10 heteroaryl and that X represents -0-, -S-, -NH- or -CH2-; and/or Y represents -C(O)- (claim 2).
Regarding claims 11-12, the copending claims recite an unnatural amino acid of formula I
wherein Y is an aryl, which includes phenyl, and X is -CH2-, and Y is -C(O)- (claims 1-4) which would read on the instant claims 11-12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654