DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/20/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-12, and 14 are pending in this Office Action.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-12, and 14 are amended.
Claims 4, 5, 7, 13, and 15 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 8/18/2025 has been entered.
The claim objections to claim 4 are withdrawn because claim 4 has been cancelled.
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections are withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, 9, and 14 have been considered but, are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DVB, “Service Discovery and Programme Metadata for DVB-I” (Of Record) in view of So et al. (US 2019/0281339).
Regarding claim 1, DVB teaches: A media data processing method [methods for signalling of television services (page 8)], comprising:
receiving a query for service list entry point information for a service using wireless communication broadcast [receiving a service list discovery query F1 for a list of Service List Entry Points that match the request criteria (page 12-13 and 17-18). The service, such as a DVB broadcast, may be received by a mobile device, such as a mobile phone, suggesting a wireless broadcast service (page 10, 16, and 126-127)]
transmitting the service list entry point information in response to the query [transmitting a list of Service List Entry Points that match the request criteria (page 12-13 and 36)] and
transmitting a service list based on the service list entry point information [Based on the Service List Servers contained in the list of Service List Entry Points, the client may send a request for a service list and a service list is transmitted in response B2 (page 12-13)].
While DVB teaches the query includes various parameters, DVB does not explicitly disclose: the query includes: a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list.
So teaches: the query includes: a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list [requesting service list information using a query that includes specific parameters, such as delivery channel type (par. 66, 69, 73, 75, 80, 92, Table 8)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of DVB and So before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media data processing method of DVB by incorporating the query to include a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list as disclosed by So. The motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently and selectively receive the service list information (So – par. 66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of DVB and So to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 2, DVB and So teach the media data processing method of claim 1; So further teaches: the deliver method includes the wireless communication broadcast [wireless communication (par. 25 and 62), such as a broadcast channel instead of a broadband channel (par. 92 and Table 8)].
Regarding claim 8, DVB teaches: A media data processing device, comprising: a memory; and a processor connected to the memory, the processor configured [A media data processing server, such as a service list server (page 12-13)] to:
receive a query for service list entry point information for a service using wireless communication broadcast [receiving a service list discovery query F1 for a list of Service List Entry Points that match the request criteria (page 12-13 and 17-18). The service, such as a DVB broadcast, may be received by a mobile device, such as a mobile phone, suggesting a wireless broadcast service (page 10, 16, and 126-127)]
transmit the service list entry point information in response to the query [transmitting a list of Service List Entry Points that match the request criteria (page 12-13 and 36)] and
transmit a service list based on the service list entry point information [Based on the Service List Servers contained in the list of Service List Entry Points, the client may send a request for a service list and a service list is transmitted in response B2 (page 12-13)].
While DVB teaches the query includes various parameters, DVB does not explicitly disclose: the query includes: a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list.
So teaches: the query includes: a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list [requesting service list information using a query that includes specific parameters, such as delivery channel type (par. 66, 69, 73, 75, 80, 92, Table 8)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of DVB and So before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media data processing device of DVB by incorporating the query to include a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list as disclosed by So. The motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently and selectively receive the service list information (So – par. 66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of DVB and So to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, DVB teaches: A media data processing method by a DVB-I (Digital Video Broadcasting - Internet) client [a DVB-I broadcast service is received by a DVB-I client (page 10 and 16)], comprising:
transmitting a query for service list entry point information for a service using wireless communication broadcast [transmitting a service list discovery query F1 for a list of Service List Entry Points that match the request criteria (page 12-13 and 17-18). The service, such as a DVB broadcast, may be received by a mobile device, such as a mobile phone, suggesting a wireless broadcast service (page 10, 16, and 126-127)]
receiving the service list entry point information in response to the query [receiving a list of Service List Entry Points that match the request criteria (page 12-13 and 36)] and
receiving a service list based on the service list entry point information [Based on the Service List Servers contained in the list of Service List Entry Points, the client may send a request for a service list and a service list is received in response B2 (page 12-13)].
While DVB teaches the query includes various parameters, DVB does not explicitly disclose: the query includes: a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list.
So teaches: the query includes: a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list [requesting service list information using a query that includes specific parameters, such as delivery channel type (par. 66, 69, 73, 75, 80, 92, Table 8)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of DVB and So before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media data processing method of DVB by incorporating the query to include a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list as disclosed by So. The motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently and selectively receive the service list information (So – par. 66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of DVB and So to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10, DVB and So teach the media data processing method of claim 9; So further teaches: the deliver method includes the wireless communication broadcast [wireless communication (par. 25 and 62), such as a broadcast channel instead of a broadband channel (par. 92 and Table 8)].
Regarding claim 14, DVB teaches: A DVB-I(Digital Video Broadcasting - Internet) client, comprising: a memory; and a processor connected to the memory, the processor configured [a DVB-I client (page 10 and 16)] to:
transmit a query for service list entry point information for a service using wireless communication broadcast [transmitting a service list discovery query F1 for a list of Service List Entry Points that match the request criteria (page 12-13 and 17-18). The service, such as a DVB broadcast, may be received by a mobile device, such as a mobile phone, suggesting a wireless broadcast service (page 10, 16, and 126-127)]
receive the service list entry point information in response to the query [receiving a list of Service List Entry Points that match the request criteria (page 12-13 and 36)] and
receive a service list based on the service list entry point information [Based on the Service List Servers contained in the list of Service List Entry Points, the client may send a request for a service list and a service list is received in response B2 (page 12-13)].
While DVB teaches the query includes various parameters, DVB does not explicitly disclose: the query includes: a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list.
So teaches: the query includes: a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list [requesting service list information using a query that includes specific parameters, such as delivery channel type (par. 66, 69, 73, 75, 80, 92, Table 8)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of DVB and So before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DVB-I (Digital Video Broadcasting - Internet) client of DVB by incorporating the query to include a delivery element for representing a deliver method to deliver the service in the service list as disclosed by So. The motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently and selectively receive the service list information (So – par. 66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of DVB and So to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claims 3, 6, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DVB, “Service Discovery and Programme Metadata for DVB-I” in view of So et al. (US 2019/0281339) and further in view of Wolochow et al. (US 2003/0100307).
Regarding claim 3, DVB and So teach the media data processing method of claim 2; DVB further teaches: the query further includes: a second flag for representing whether location information for a DVB-I (Digital Video Broadcasting - Internet) client is presented by a user of the DVB-I client [DVB-I services are often targeted to a specific region and the client may query for a region, such as a target country (page 17-18)].
DVB and So do not explicitly disclose: a first flag for representing whether a network for the service is a WAN (Wide Area Network).
Wolochow teaches: a first flag for representing whether a network for the service is a WAN (Wide Area Network) [a query 152 including the location 148 for which services are to be provided, such as a wide area network (WAN) cell location (par. 14, Fig. 1)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of DVB and So before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media data processing method of DVB and So by incorporating the query to include a first flag for representing whether a network for the service is a WAN (Wide Area Network) as disclosed by Wolochow. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide information about services available according to the wide area network location (Wolochow – par. 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of DVB and So with Wolochow to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, DVB, So, and Wolochow teach the media data processing method of claim 3; DVB further teaches: the query is configured in a form of a uniform resource locator (URL), based on information about a communication broadcast network having a specific value and information about a location having a specific value [Query strings are included as part of the URL and each parameter includes a respective value, such as a ProviderName and TargetCountry (page 18)].
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons given in the above rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons given in the above rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER BOYD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2424
/BENJAMIN R BRUCKART/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2424