Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 27-31, 34, 35, and 38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abi Aoun (WO 2021/105434 A1 – of Record).
Regarding claim 1. Abi Aoun teaches an aerosol-generating agent in an amount of 50% to 100% (Page 7, Lines 17-24) of the aerosol-generating material, which overlaps the claimed range of 1-80% which is a prima facie case of obviousness, one or more binders where the total amount of binder is 1% to 60% (Page 8, Lines 1-4) of the aerosol-generating material, which overlaps the claimed range of 5-50% which is a prima facie case of obviousness, and include a cellulosic binder (Page 9, Lines 3-6). Abi Aoun also teaches flavor in an amount of 0.1% to 80% (Page 10, Lines 21-27) of the aerosol-generating material, which overlaps the claimed range of 0.1 to 60% which is a prima facie case of obviousness, and an emulsifier in an amount of 5% to 15% of the aerosol- generating material (Page 10, Lines 29-31), which overlaps the claimed range of 1-25% which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 2, Abi Aoun teaches that the one or more binders include a cellulosic binder and a non-cellulosic binder (Page 9, Line 4-6).
Regarding claim 3, Abi Aoun teaches that the binders include carboxymethyl cellulose (Page 9, Line 8-12).
Regarding claim 4, Abi Aoun teaches that the non-cellulosic binder comprises alginate (Page 9, Lines 21-22).
Regarding claim 5, Abi Aoun teaches that the binders include carboxymethyl cellulose (Page 9, Line 8-12) and alginate (Page 9, Lines 18-21).
Regarding claim 6, Abi Aoun teaches that the binders can be a combination of both cellulosic and non-cellulosic binders (Page 9, Lines 4-6). As Abi Aoun teaches using both cellulosic and non-cellulosic binders, there will be a weight ratio between the two binders, which overlaps with the claimed ratios of 1:4 to 4:1 which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 7, Abi Aoun teaches that the flavor comprises menthol (Page 10, Lines 26-27).
Regarding claim 24, Abi Aoun teaches that aerosol-generating material comprises no tobacco (Page 12, Lines 26-27).
Regarding claim 25, Abi Aoun teaches the aerosol-generating material in the form of a sheet (Page 19, Lines 25-26).
Regarding claim 26, Abi Aoun teaches that the aerosol-generating material is the form of a film on a support (Page 20, Lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 37, Abi Aoun teaches a filler (Page 17, Lines 14-18).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abi Aoun (WO 2021/105434 A1) as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Kawasaki et al. (US 2024/0023600 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Abi Aoun teaches that the aerosol-generating material contains fillers (Page 17, Lines 14-18), but does not teach the density of the fillers.
In an analogous art, Kawasaki teaches an aerosol-generating material that contains filler at a density of 0.2-0.6 mg/m3 (0.2-0.6 g/cm3) (Para. [0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Abi Aoun with Kawasaki to have the fillers have a density of 0.2-0.6 mg/m3. This modification will allow heat to be properly transmitted to the fillers and prevent unnecessary filtration (Kawasaki; Para. [0092]).
Conclusion
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749