DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-20, 22-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/08/2026.
Claim Interpretation
The term “maximum dimension” as used in the instant claims is being interpreted to generally refer to the size of a particle, i.e., the diameter or largest dimensional measurement of a particular particle. Support for this interpretation can be found at [0075]-[0080] of the instant published specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 12, 14-16, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20040259979A1, hereinafter ‘Onishi’.
Regarding Claim 1, Onishi discloses an aluminum trihydroxide composition, wherein the aluminum trihydroxide composition comprises:
from 50 weight % to 85 weight % a first plurality of ground aluminum trihydroxide particles having a maximum dimension of from 50 to 500 μm, and from 15 weight % to 50 weight % a second plurality of ground aluminum trihydroxide particles having a maximum dimension of less than 50 μm ([0045]: the invention comprises at least two components of a coarse particulate aluminum hydroxide X having a secondary particle size of 84 μm and a specific surface area of 0.2 m 2/g, a medium particulate aluminum hydroxide Y having a secondary particle size of 16.5 μm and a specific surface area of 0.5 m2/g and a fine particulate aluminum hydroxide Z having a secondary particle size of 5.9 μm and a specific surface area of 1.6 m2/g blended at a compositional ratio shown in Table 1 by a V-shape blender for 10 minutes. Table 1 shows several examples meeting the instant claim, including Example 1, which comprises the coarse particle fraction in an amount of 50 wt% and the medium/fine particle fractions in an amount of 25 wt% each).
Regarding Claim 2, Onishi discloses the first plurality of ground aluminum trihydroxide particles have a maximum dimension of: from 50 to 300 μm; or, from 75 to 250 μm; or, from 100 to 150 μm (plus or minus 50 μm for each) (Table 1: the first plurality of particles have a maximum dimension of 84 μm).
Regarding Claim 3, Onishi discloses the second plurality of ground aluminum trihydroxide particles have a maximum dimension of: less than 40 μm; or, less than 30 μm (plus or minus 5 μm for each) (Table 1: the second plurality of particles have a maximum dimension of 16.5 or 5.9 μm).
Regarding Claim 8, Onishi discloses the first plurality of ground aluminium trihydroxide particles have a Specific Surface Area of: 3 m2/g or less; or, 2.95 m2/g or less; or, from 3 m2/g to 1 m2/g; or, from 2.95 m2/g to 2.8 m2/g (Table 1: the coarse particle fraction has a specific surface area of 0.2 m2/g).
Regarding Claims 9-10, Onishi discloses the aluminium trihydroxide composition comprises the first plurality of ground aluminium trihydroxide particles at: from 60 to 85 weight %; or, from 65 to 80 weight %; or, from 70 to 80 weight %; or, from 55 to 65 weight %, and the second plurality of ground ATH particles at: from 15 to 40 weight %; or, from 20 to 35 weight %; or, from 20 to 30 weight %; or, from 35 to 45 weight % (Table 1: several embodiments meet the instant claims, including Example 3, wherein the coarse particles are present in an amount of 80 wt% and the fine particles are present in an amount of 20 wt%).
Regarding Claim 12, Onishi discloses the ratio of the first plurality of aluminium trihydroxide particles to the second plurality of aluminium trihydroxide particles in the aluminium trihydroxide composition is (in weight %): 12.5 (first):3.5 (second), plus or minus 2.5 for each; or, 8 (first):1.5 (second), plus or minus 0.5 for each; or, 10 (first):5 (second), plus or minus 1 for each; or, 4 (first):2.2 (second), plus or minus 0.5 for each (Table 1: Example 4 provides a ratio of coarse/fine particles of 12:4).
Regarding Claim 14, Onishi discloses the aluminium trihydroxide composition has a density of 2.42 g/cm3 (plus or minus 0.2 g/cm3) (the ordinary density of ATH is 2.4 g/cm3; absent any disclosure to the contrary, given that both the claimed invention and the particles of Onishi are composed of ATH, the particles must necessarily possess the same density. Products having the same composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties – see MPEP 2112.01 (I)).
Regarding Claim 15, Onishi discloses the aluminium trihydroxide composition has a homogeneous particle distribution for both the first plurality of ground ATH particles and the second plurality of ground ATH particles (Examples 1-5: the particle fractions are mixed for 10 minutes, which would yield a homogenous mixture of the particle fractions).
Regarding Claim 16, Onishi discloses the particles in the aluminium trihydroxide composition have a maximum dimension distribution of from 0.1 to 305 μm (Examples 1-5: the particle sizes used in these examples do not exceed the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 21, Onishi discloses the aluminium trihydroxide composition of claim 1, for use as a flame retardant and/or as a thermal management filler ([0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20040259979A1, hereinafter ‘Onishi’.
Regarding Claim 4, Onishi discloses the first plurality of ground ATH particles has a D50 of from 90 to 110 μm; or from 100 to 104 μm; or 102 μm (per [0035] of Onishi, the secondary particle size is interpreted to represent a median particle size, or D50, of the measured particles, as the noted measurement methods, including sieving, optical microscope, Coulter counter or laser scattering diffraction method, and particularly laser scattering diffraction, are measurement techniques that yield particle size distribution data including the D50 of the particles. Therefore, the disclosed particle size range of Onishi for the coarse particle fraction (50 to 150 μm, see [0027]) overlaps with and makes obvious the instant claimed range – as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) – as such, the instant claimed range is obvious over the prior art range).
Regarding Claim 5, Onishi discloses second plurality of ground ATH particles has a D50 of from 90 to 110 μm; or from 100 to 104 μm; or 102 μm (per [0035] of Onishi, the secondary particle size is interpreted to represent a median particle size, or D50, of the measured particles, as the noted measurement methods, including sieving, optical microscope, Coulter counter or laser scattering diffraction method, and particularly laser scattering diffraction, are measurement techniques that yield particle size distribution data including the D50 of the particles. Therefore, the disclosed particle size range of Onishi for the coarse particle fraction (50 to 150 μm, see [0027]) overlaps with and makes obvious the instant claimed range – as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) – as such, the instant claimed range is obvious over the prior art range).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20040259979A1, hereinafter ‘Onishi’, in view of US6887454B1, hereinafter ‘Bilandzic’.
Regarding Claim 6, while Onishi discloses mixtures of fine and coarse ATH particle fractions as discussed above, Onishi does not disclose the aluminium trihydroxide composition has a D10 of from 1 to 3 μm; or 2 μm; and/or, a D50 of from 20 to 24 μm; or 21.86 μm; and/or, a D97 of from 180 to 220 μm; or 198 μm.
Bilandzic discloses gibbsite type aluminium hydroxides obtained by seeding a Bayer liquor with bayerite crystals, showing excellent properties as fire retardant fillers in synthetic resins (Abstract). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized Bilandzic as analogous the claimed invention, as both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, ATH fillers for fire retardance - a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, In re Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212.
Bilandzic discloses ATH particles particularly noted for their utility in resin-based fire-retardant materials. In order to achieve high filling levels at finer particle sizes, usually mixtures of aluminium hydroxides having different particle size distributions are applied. Preferably the mixtures have a grain diameter in the 50% range (D50) of 4 to 20 μm (Col 3, lines 43-53).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to control the size distribution of the coarse, medium, and fine particles as disclosed in Onishi such that the resulting mixture has a D50 in the range of 4-20 μm as taught by Bilandzic. Such a D50 has been shown to be advantageous in applications of ATH materials in synthetic fillers, including providing extraordinarily high filling levels of 150 phr (parts per hundred parts of resin) to 200 phr (Col 3, lines 41-42 of Bilandzic).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the limitations of Claim 7, which requires the first plurality of ground aluminium trihydroxide particles have a total cumulative volume of: 76 mm3/g or less; or, from 76 mm3/g to 50 mm3/g; or, from 76 mm3/g to 65 mm3/g. Onishi does not disclose the total cumulative volume of the ground aluminum trihydroxide particles, and does not provide a suggestion or motivation to control such a property within the disclosed invention.
Further, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the limitations of Claim 11, requiring the first plurality of ground aluminium trihydroxide particles have a maximum dimension of 300 μm and the second plurality of ground aluminium trihydroxide particles have a maximum dimension of 30 μm. Onishi discloses a range of particle sizes having a maximum size of 150 μm; additionally, Onishi teaches away from the use of particles larger than 150 μm, disclosing that if the second particle size exceeds 150 μm, when the particles are filled in a resin, the strength disadvantageously decreases to an extreme extent ([0034]).
Further, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the limitations of Claim 13, requiring the ratio of the first plurality of ground aluminium trihydroxide particles to the second plurality of ground aluminium trihydroxide particles results in: 40 or less % v/v voids (or pores) in the aluminium trihydroxide composition; or, 34 or less % v/v voids (or pores) in the aluminium trihydroxide composition. Onishi does not disclose the ratio of volume of voids between the disclosed particle fractions, and does not provide a suggestion or motivation to control such a property within the disclosed invention.
Conclusion
LOGAN LACLAIR
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/L.E.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736