DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2020-507891 A (hereinafter referred to as “JP ‘891,” references made herein are with respect to the English translation, submitted herewith).
Regarding claim 1, JP ‘891 teaches a pouch cell battery, wherein the case includes a heat dissipation layer 122 between a first metal layer 121 and a second metal layer 123, which are stacked as shown in Figure 1. The first and second metal layers may be aluminum (par. 22), and the heat dissipation layer is a mesh structure (par. 49) of one metal or an alloy of two or more metals (par. 27).
Regarding claim 2, while the product-by-process limitation regarding the formation of the stacked layers is not necessarily considered to impart a further structural distinction over the prior art, the layers of JP ‘891 are considered to be necessarily pressed together during assembly.
Regarding claim 3, the portions at which the layers are fastened to each other are considered to thus constitute the claimed fastening portion(s).
Regarding claim 5, JP ‘891 teaches that the heat dissipation layer is preferably made of a material with excellent thermal conductivity, and that considering that aluminum is generally used for the metal layer of laminate sheets, it is preferable that the heat dissipation layer is made of a metal material having a higher thermal conductivity than aluminum (par. 51), specific examples including Be, Cu, Ag, and Au, all of which have melting points higher than aluminum.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020-507891 A (hereinafter referred to as “JP ‘891,” references made herein are with respect to the English translation, submitted herewith) as applied to claim 3 above.
JP ‘891 teaches a battery module frame according to claim 3, as shown above.
Regarding claim 4, welding and bolting are conventionally means of fastening and thus their use is considered prima facie obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: JP ‘891 is considered to represent the closest related prior art to the claimed invention, as shown above. Regarding claim 6, JP ‘891 clearly teaches that the heat dissipation layer must have excellent thermal conductivity, and preferably having a thermal conductivity higher than the aluminum metal layers. As stainless steel exhibits a thermal conductivity that is significantly lower than that of aluminum, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to utilize stainless steel as the material selected for a heat dissipation layer. Regarding claim 7, JP ‘891 fails to teach or suggest that the battery module frame is formed with a ventilation portion exposing the second layer, as claimed.
Conclusion
/Colin W. Slifka/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732