Status of Application
Claims 1-6 are pending and presented for examination on the merit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/203042 to Aso et al. (English equivalent US 2022/0190342 used for citation; both cited and provided by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Aso et al. teaches a slurry composition for all-solid-state battery production, comprising: an organic solvent as liquid medium (B) ([0055-57]); a binder resin as polymer (A); and an alkali metal-containing inorganic powder, e.g. a lithium-containing solid electrolyte such as Li2S-P2S5 ([0066]; [0077-91]),
the binder resin containing a segment (A) derived from a (meth)acrylate having a C3-C20 branched alkyl group, e.g. repeating unit (a1) derived from isopropyl (meth)acrylate ([0034]), and at least one segment (B) selected from the group consisting of a segment derived from a (meth)acrylate having a C5-C20 cyclic hydrocarbon group, e.g. repeating unit (a3) derived from 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol monoacrylate ([0038]), and a segment derived from a compound having an aromatic group such as styrene as one of other repeating units in the polymer (A) ([0040-44]),
the binder resin containing the segment (A) and the segment (B) in a total amount of 70% by weight or more, as Aso et al. discloses that the content ratio of the repeating unit (a1) is 40 parts by mass to 99.9 parts by mass when the total amount of the repeating units contained in the polymer (A) is 100 parts by mass ([0035]), the content ratio of the repeating unit (a3) is 0.1 parts by mass to 20 parts by mass when the total amount of the repeating units contained in the polymer (A) is 100 parts by mass ([0039]), and other repeating units including (a2) and styrene make up the rest ([0036]; [0037]; [0040-44]).
Although Aso et al. does not expressly teach an example of the binder resin containing the claimed amount of the segment (A) and segment (B) in the binder, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at the claimed invention, because Aso et al. renders obvious the claimed binder resin and slurry and teaches an overlapping range of the amount of the segments. A prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05[R-5].
Regarding claim 2, Aso et al. teaches that the content ratio of the repeating unit (a1) (segment A) is 40 parts by mass to 99.9 parts by mass when the total amount of the repeating units contained in the polymer (A) is 100 parts by mass ([0035]).
Regarding claim 3, Aso et al. teaches that the content ratio of the repeating unit (a3) is 0.1 parts by mass to 20 parts by mass when the total amount of the repeating units contained in the polymer (A) is 100 parts by mass ([0039]). The content ratio of other repeating units such as styrene make up the remainder after (a1), (a2), and (a3) ([0040-44]). The prior art renders obvious the claimed range of the amount of the segment B.
Regarding claim 4, Aso et al. does not expressly teach that the slurry composition has a pH of 11 or higher.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at the claimed invention, because Aso et al. teaches that pH adjustment may be performed and preferably adjusted to a range from 5 to 11, in order to improve manufacturing stability during polymerization of the binder polymer A ([0053]; [0054]) and so the skilled artisan would have kept the pH or adjusted it in the slurry composition so that the stability of the binder polymer is maintained.
Regarding claim 5, Aso et al. teaches that the inorganic powder contains lithium, e.g. a lithium-containing solid electrolyte such as Li2S-P2S5 ([0080-91]).
Regarding claim 6, Aso et al. teaches a method for preparing an inorganic powder sheet using the slurry composition for all-solid-state battery production according to claim 1 ([0066]; [0077-91]); and heating the inorganic powder sheet at 300 or lower °C ([0115]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05[R-5].
Conclusion
/Heng M. Chan/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725