DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 5, Line 19: "bus bar" is two words. It is "busbar" in all other instances in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: "bus bar" is two words in the last line. It is "busbar" in all other instances in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eberhard et al., (US 2018/0109328A1), hereinafter Eberhard.
Regarding claim 1, Eberhard discloses a battery pack, comprising:
a pack case having external terminals formed on a first side and contains a plurality of battery modules inside; (Fig. 3A [0040] shows a plurality of battery compartments (A-J). Fig. 5A [0031] [0070] shows a battery junction box 550A on top of the battery module mounting area).
a protective frame that extends across the pack case and defines a module area; (Fig. 3A [0040] battery housing with a middle bar 310A that is positioned between battery module compartments A . . . E and battery module compartments F . . . J on different longitudinal sides of the electric vehicle)
at least one busbar that electrically connects the plurality of battery modules and the external terminals of the pack case; and ([0047] one or more busbars may be deployed along the tunnel space 315A to provide electrical and/or communications connections between battery modules inserted into any of the battery module compartments A . . . J and a battery junction box (BJB).)
wherein the protective frame includes at least one slot extending along a length direction of the protective frame, ([0042] two separate firewalls may be used for each laterally adjacent battery module compartment so that respective battery modules can comfortably fit therein, with a gap in-between the two firewalls. The two firewalls may form part of two separate “middle” bars, and the gap between the two separate middle bars may be used as a tunnel space.)
wherein the module area is compartmentalized by the protective frame and comprises a first battery part formed on a first side of the protective frame and a second battery part formed on a second side of the protective frame, and (Fig 3A shows middle bar 310A dividing battery module compartments A-E on one side and F-J on a second side. [0043] The battery module compartments A . . . E are arranged longitudinally (i.e., lengthwise with respect to electric vehicle 300A) on a right-side of the electric vehicle 300A, while battery module compartments F . . . J are arranged longitudinally on a left-side of the electric vehicle 300A.)
wherein the at least one busbar is inserted and secured within the at least one slot of the protective frame, and the protective frame surrounds sides of the bus bar. ([0042] - tunnel space can be used to run LC/HC busbars; [0047] one or more busbars may be deployed along the tunnel space 315A to provide electrical and/or communications connections between battery modules inserted into any of the battery module compartments A . . . J and a battery junction box (BJB))
Eberhard does not teach:
the battery management unit located on a second side of the pack case opposite the first side.
Eberhard shows a battery junction box (BJB) 550A electrically connected to the battery modules, which distributes electric power from the battery modules to the vehicle systems located on top of the battery module mounting area [0031], [0070], Fig. 5A). Eberhard further teaches a battery module controller (BMC) that is connected to the battery modules and may be coupled to the BJB, but does not specify the location of the BMC. Since the BMC is wired to the battery modules, the BMC can be placed in the optimum location needed to meet desired design requirements of the battery pack application. The placement of the BMC unit on the side opposite the BJB would not have modified the operation of the battery. Thus, the placement of the BMC unit on the side opposite the BJB would be within the skill of the ordinary artisan, as the Office has held the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 4, Eberhard teaches the battery pack of Claim 1,
wherein the at least one busbar comprises a first busbar connecting the first battery part and the external terminals, and ([0031] battery modules in the battery housing are connected in series via busbars to a battery junction box (BJB), and the BJB distributes electric power provided from the busbars)
a second busbar connecting the second battery part and the external terminals.
Eberhard teaches that one or more busbars may be deployed along the tunnel space to provide electrical and/or communications connections between battery modules [0047]. Eberhard does not explicitly teach a second HC busbar connecting battery modules on the other longitudinal side to the BJB. However, a second HC busbar for the other longitudinal side would connect the battery modules to the BJB and would not have modified the operation of the battery pack. Therefore, having a second HC busbar to connect the battery modules on the other longitudinal side to the BJB would be within the skill of the ordinary artisan, as the Office has held the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04)
Regarding claim 5, Eberhard teaches the battery pack of Claim 4:
wherein the first busbar comprises a first input busbar that electrically connects the battery management unit and a battery module of the plurality of battery modules in the first battery part, and a first output busbar that electrically connects the battery management unit and the external terminals, and
Eberhard teaches a battery junction box (BJB) 550A electrically connected to the battery modules 510A-535A (and also the right-side battery modules, which are not shown explicitly in FIG. 5A) via HC busbars 555A (first input busbar). Further, a battery module controller (BMC, not shown) coupled to the BJB 550A is communicatively coupled to each battery module via LC busbars 560A (first output busbar) [0070]. Each battery module may include HC connectors that connect to an HC busbar that is connected to other battery modules that are daisy-chained in series. In an example, Eberhard further teaches HC connectors may be paired together as a paired HC connector component, with an HC input connector and an HC output connector arranged on different sides of the paired HC connector component (e.g., such that the respective HC connectors are configured to connect to battery modules on different sides of the battery housing 305A) [0047]
Eberhard does not teach:
wherein the second busbar comprises a second input busbar that electrically connects the battery management unit and a battery module of the plurality of battery modules in the second battery part, and a second output busbar that electrically connects the battery management unit and the external terminals.
Eberhard teaches that one or more busbars may be deployed along the tunnel space to provide electrical and/or communications connections between battery modules [0047]. Eberhard does not explicitly teach a second input or second output busbar for the battery modules on the other longitudinal side of the battery pack. However, having a second input busbar connected to the other longitudinal side connected to the BJB and second output busbar connected to BMC (coupled to the BJB) would provide electrical and communications connections and would not have modified the operation of the battery pack. Thus, having a second input busbar connected to the other longitudinal side connected to the BJB and second output busbar connected to BMC (coupled to the BJB) would provide electrical and communications connections would be within the skill of the ordinary artisan, as the Office has held the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 6, Eberhard teaches the battery pack of Claim 1, further comprising:
a pair of measurement wires connected to the battery management unit and extending along the protective frame, ([0049] the LC module-to-tunnel interface in the battery module compartment may simply be wired to the BMC via one or more wires (or LC busbars) that are run along the tunnel space 315A.)
wherein the protective frame comprises at least one insertion hole for allowing insertion of the measurement wires. ([0066] the tunnel space 315A may be formed when the above-noted gap is closed or sealed via a top-cover (e.g., formed from sheet metal), as well as being sealed at respective longitudinal ends of the tunnel space 315A.)
Claims 2 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eberhard as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Hidemi et al., (JP2019129042A), hereinafter Hidemi.
Regarding Claim 2, Eberhard does not teach the battery pack of Claim 1,
wherein the at least one slot comprises a first slot and a second slot formed in parallel and spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance from an upper part of the protective frame.
Hidemi teaches a battery unit with a plurality of battery cells in a battery case that has a base frame member that extends in the front-rear direction [0021], with an electrical cable for electrically connecting the connector and the battery modules [0012]. Hidemi further teaches a base frame with U-shaped cross-section with portioning sidewalls that divide the hollow section 25 into three spaces [0035]. The base frame provides structural support to the battery case, and the hollow structures (slots) within the base frame avoid radio interference to the electrical cables reducing the need for shielding [0008]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the base frame design of Hidemi into the protective frame in Eberhard to provide additional structural support to the battery pack and avoid radio interference to the electrical cables (busbars, wiring).
Regarding claim 7, the teachings of Eberhard as modified by Hidemi in claim 6 are incorporated herein. Eberhard does not teach the battery pack of Claim 6, wherein at least one insertion hole comprises:
a first insertion hole and
a second insertion hole formed in parallel and spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance in a lower part of the protective frame into which the measurement wires are respectively inserted.
Hidemi teaches a base frame that has a U-shaped cross-section with a bottom wall 26 and a pair of side walls 27 erected from both the left and right ends of the bottom wall 26. Hidemi also shows partition walls are erected from the bottom wall 26 of the base frame 21, dividing the hollow section 25 into three spaces 25A, 25B, and 25C [0035-0036], Fig.5. The base frame provides structural support to the battery case, and the hollow structures (insertion holes) within the base frame avoid radio interference to the electrical cables reducing the need for shielding [0008]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the hollow structures of Hidemi into the protective frame in Eberhard to provide additional structural support to the battery pack and avoid radio interference to the electrical cables (busbars, wiring).
Regarding claim 8, the teachings of Eberhard as modified by Hidemi in claim 7 are incorporated herein. Eberhard does not teach the battery pack of Claim 7, further comprising:
an auxiliary frame extending along the protective frame at the lower part of the protective frame and coupled to the protective frame.
Hidemi teaches a base frame 21 (auxiliary frame) that extends in the front-rear direction, and the cover 22 (protective frame) is coupled with the base frame, [0021], Fig. 5. The frame member functions as a structural member that increases the rigidity of the vehicle and protects the battery and battery modules from impacts caused by vehicle collisions, [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the base frame structure of Hidemi into the protective frame of Eberhard to help increase protection of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 9, the teachings of Eberhard as modified by Hidemi in claim 8 are incorporated herein. Eberhard does not teach the battery pack of Claim 8, wherein the auxiliary frame comprises
an upper protrusion that protrudes in a length direction,
wherein the protective frame includes a lower insertion part made along the length direction to allow for the insertion of the upper protrusion of the auxiliary frame, and
wherein the auxiliary frame can be coupled to the protective frame by inserting the upper protrusion into the lower insertion part of the protective frame.
Hidemi teaches a base frame member that extends in the front-rear direction [0021], and the base frame member has sidewalls that extend upward from the base frame 21 [0035], Fig. 5. The cover 22 includes a lower insertion part that allows for the insertion of the sidewalls to couple with the base frame, Fig. 5. The frame member functions as a structural member that increases the rigidity of the vehicle and protects the battery and battery modules from impacts caused by vehicle collisions, [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the base frame structure of Hidemi into the protective frame of Eberhard to help increase protection of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 10, the teachings of Eberhard as modified by Hidemi in claim 9 are incorporated herein. Eberhard does not teach the battery pack of Claim 9:
wherein the auxiliary frame comprises an auxiliary slot extending along a longitudinal direction of the auxiliary frame
Hidemi teaches a base frame member that extends in the front-rear direction [0021], and the base frame member has sidewalls that extend upward from the base frame 21 with a U -shaped cross-section, where electrical cables can be arranged along the frame member [0035], Fig. 5. The frame also functions as a structural member that increases the rigidity of the vehicle and protects the battery and battery modules from impacts caused by vehicle collisions, [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the base frame structure with a U-shaped cross-section of Hidemi into the protective frame of Eberhard to help arrange electrical cable along the frame member and increase protection of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 11, the teachings of Eberhard as modified by Hidemi are incorporated herein. Eberhard does not teach the battery pack of Claim 10:
wherein the protective frame is coupled to the upper part of the auxiliary frame and covers the auxiliary slots of the auxiliary frame.
Hidemi teaches a cover frame 22 that couples with the base frame 21 and forms the hollow sections in the base frame, Fig. 5. When electrical cables are arranged in the covered hollow sections, radio wave interference inside the battery case can be avoided, [0033]. The frame member also functions as a structural member that increases the rigidity of the vehicle and protects the battery and battery modules from impacts caused by vehicle collisions, [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the hollow space and base frame member structure of Hidemi into the protective frame of Eberhard to avoid radio wave interference in the battery case and help increase protection of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 12, the teachings of Eberhard as modified by Hidemi in claim 10 are incorporated herein. Eberhard does not teach the battery pack of Claim 10:
wherein a pair of auxiliary insertion holes are formed between the protective frame and the auxiliary frame by the upper protrusion of the auxiliary frame.
Hidemi teaches a base frame member that extends in the front-rear direction [0021], a cover frame 22 that forms a hollow section 25 when coupled with the base frame [0033]. The base frame member has sidewalls that extend upward from the base frame 21, Fig. 5, [0035]. Hidemi also shows partition walls are erected from the bottom wall 26 of the base frame 21, dividing the hollow section 25 into three separate spaces 25A, 25B, and 25C that extend in the longitudinal direction of the base frame, Fig. 5, [0035-0036]. When electrical cables are arranged in the separate hollow spaces in the frame member, radio wave interference in the battery case can be avoided; and frame member also functions as a structural member that increases the rigidity of the vehicle and protects the battery and battery modules from impacts caused by vehicle collisions, [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the hollow spaces in the base frame structure of Hidemi into the protective frame of Eberhard to avoid radio wave interference between the electrical cables within the battery pack, and to help increase protection of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 13, the teachings of Eberhard as modified by Hidemi in claim 10 are incorporated herein. Eberhard discloses a battery pack of claim 10:
wherein the plurality of battery modules is arranged in parallel in the module area along the length direction of the protective frame. (Fig. 3A [0040] a middle bar 310A that is positioned between battery module compartments A . . . E and battery module compartments F . . . J on different longitudinal sides of the electric vehicle)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eberhard et al., (US 2018/0109328A1), hereinafter Eberhard, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 214898748U), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding Claim 3, Eberhard does not teach the battery pack of Claim 1,
wherein a through groove is formed in a side of the protective frame to allow the at least one slot to open to an outside of the protective frame.
Zhang discloses a battery pack, a plurality of battery modules installed in the housing, and a battery management device. The battery management device includes a plurality of sampling harnesses for electrically connecting the corresponding battery modules. The housing includes a frame and a beam structure disposed within the frame. The beam structure divides the accommodating space of the frame into a plurality of subspaces for placing the corresponding battery modules. The frame and/or the beam structure has a wiring structure for the corresponding sampling harnesses to run, and the frame and/or the beam structure is provided with a shielding structure for covering the sampling harnesses. [n0006]
Zhang teaches a wiring groove on a side of the beam structure 12 to house wiring harnesses Figure 5, [n0052]. The wiring structure conceals the wiring harness and avoids occupying additional space and makes the wiring clearer, as well as protects the harness from friction, collision, and squeezing. [n0007]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the wiring groove structure in Zhang into the protective frame in Eberhard for the wiring to avoid occupying additional space and protect from friction, collision, and squeezing.
Conclusion
/MARIO R GAMBOA/Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729