DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the applicant's amendment submitted on 11/28/2025. In virtue of this amendment:
Claim 2 is canceled;
Claims 1, 3-4, 10, 12, 16-18 and 20 are currently amended; and thus,
Claims 1 and 3-20 are pending;
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites term “the flexible polymer resin” which renders the claim indefinite, as there is lack of antecedent basis for said term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2023/0247121A1 hereinafter “Yun” in view of machine translation of KR2021/008911 hereinafter “Shin”
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses antenna apparatus comprising:
a substrate (¶47L3: a first layer);
an opaque metal electrode (¶54L5-6: antenna pattern may include a mesh pattern) disposed in a first area (as shown in Fig.13 for example; the top portion) on an upper portion of the substrate (¶13L8: antenna pattern [1310]; as shown in Fig.13 for example)
a metal mesh (¶61L4-6: dummy pattern may include a metal mesh pattern) disposed in a second area (as shown in Fig.13 for example; the mid and bottom portion) on the upper portion of the substrate (¶95L8-9: dummy pattern [1340]); and
a size of the second area is greater than a size of the first area (as shown in Fig.13 for example, the area covered by [1340] is larger than area covered by [1310]),
covers the entire device thus covering all components under it)
Yun does not explicitly disclose:
a protective layer disposed on the metal mesh, wherein the protective layer and the substrate are more transparent than the metal mesh, and wherein
the protective layer is further disposed on a part of the opaque metal electrode and a boundary area in which the opaque metal electrode and the metal mesh are contacted.
Shin discloses an antenna apparatus comprising:
a substrate (¶39L1-2: a first dielectric layer);
a protective layer disposed on the metal mesh (¶39L1-3: an upper surface of the antenna electrode layer, a second dielectric layer may be disposed), wherein the protective layer (¶45L1-5: first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer include the same material) and the substrate (¶41L1-15: a transparent film may be provided as the first dielectric layer) are more transparent than the metal mesh (¶43L1-6: antenna electrode layer include silver, gold, copper, aluminum)
the protective layer is further disposed on a part of the opaque metal electrode and a boundary area in which the opaque metal electrode and the metal mesh are contacted. (as shown in Fig.2, since second dielectric layer overlaps the first dielectric layer, the second layer is disposed on all parts on the first layer.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the antenna disclosed by Yun to incorporate the second dielectric layer as disclosed by Shin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the driving frequency of the antenna by adjusting the dielectric constant of the layer, thus realize signal transmission and reception in a desired frequency band without adjusting the size of the antenna. (Shin ¶47L1-4)
Regrading claim 3, Yun in view Shin hereinafter “Yun/Shin” discloses in Yun the antenna apparatus of claim 1, wherein
a width of the opaque metal electrode is the same as a width of the metal mesh (as shown in Fig.13 for example, [1340] and [1310] has same width), and wherein
one end of the opaque metal electrode is connected to a signal feed line having a width narrower width than the width of the opaque metal electrode (as shown in Fig.13 for example, [1310] has a power feed line similar to ¶91L1-2: power feed line [1220])
Regrading claim 4, Yun/Shin discloses the antenna apparatus of claim 1, wherein
a first metal mesh having a first width is formed in the second area of the upper portion of the substrate (as shown in Fig.13 of Yum, there are a plurality of dummy mesh [1340]),
a second metal mesh having a second width is formed on a third area of an the upper portion of the substrate (as shown in Fig.13 of Yum, there are a plurality of dummy mesh [1340), and wherein
the protective layer is formed disposed on a portion of the first area, the second area, and an upper portion of the third area. (as shown in Fig.2, since second dielectric layer overlaps the first dielectric layer, the second layer is disposed on all parts on the first layer.)
Yun/Shin does not explicitly disclose:
a second width narrower width than the first width
Yun however, discloses various embodiment wherein the dummy mesh is different in size, for example as shown in Fig. 11, dummy mesh 1143 is narrower than 1144, thus it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the size of the dummy mesh as disclosed by Yun.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regrading claim 5, Yun/Shin discloses in Yun the antenna apparatus of claim 4, wherein
a width of the opaque metal electrode is the same as a width of the metal mesh, and wherein one end of the opaque metal electrode is connected to a signal feed line having a width narrower width than the width of the opaque metal electrode (as shown in Fig.13)
Regrading claim 6, Yun/Shin discloses in Shin the antenna apparatus of claim 1, wherein the protective layer comprises:
an adhesive layer (¶41L13-15: an adhesive film such as an optically clear adhesive (OCA) or an optically clear resin (OCR) may be included in the first dielectric layer); and
a flexible polymer film disposed on the adhesive layer (¶40L1-6: the first dielectric layer may function as a film substrate, it can be applied to a flexible display device by using a material having flexibility that can be folded).
Regrading claim 7, Yun/Shin discloses in Shin the antenna apparatus of claim 6, wherein
the flexible polymer film includes at least one of ester film, polyester resin, polyolefin resin, acrylic resin, styrene resin, cellulose resin, triacetyl cellulose, imide resin, or polycarbonate resin. (¶41L1-15: a transparent film may be provied as the first dielectric layer; the film may include cellulose resin such as a triacetyl cellulose)
Regrading claim 8, Yun/Shin discloses in Shin the antenna apparatus of claim 6, wherein
the adhesive layer includes at least one of Optically Clear Adhesive (OCA) or Optically Clear Resin (OCR). (¶41L13-15: an adhesive film such as an optically clear adhesive (OCA) or an optically clear resin (OCR) may be included in the first dielectric layer)
Regrading claim 9, Yun/Shin discloses in Shin the antenna apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the protective layer includes flexible polymer resin. (¶40L1-6: the first dielectric layer may function as a film substrate, it can be applied to a flexible display device by using a material having flexibility that can be folded)
Regrading claim 10, Yun/Shin discloses in Shin the antenna apparatus of claim 8, wherein
the flexible polymer resin includes at least one of polyester resin, polyolefin resin, acrylic resin, styrene resin, cellulose resin, triacetyl cellulose, imide resin, polycarbonate resin, curing initiator, or viscosity modifier. (¶40L1-6: the first dielectric layer may include material such as an epoxy resin, an acrylic resin or an imidebased resin)
Regrading claim 11, Yun/Shin discloses in Shin the antenna apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the protective layer includes an optically clear adhesive (OCA) (¶41L13-15: an adhesive film such as an optically clear adhesive (OCA) or an optically clear resin (OCR) may be included in the first dielectric layer)and a polyethlene terephthalate (PET) film disposed on the optically clear adhesive (¶41L1-2: the transparent film include polyethylene terephthalate), wherein the thickness of the optically clear adhesive ranges from 15 to 50 µm, and wherein the thickness of the polyester film ranges from 12 to 25 µm. (¶80L1-8: the thickness of the second dielectric layer maybe 20 to 800 µm)
Regrading claim 12, Yun/Shin discloses in Yun the antenna apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the substrate includes at least one of PET film, Cyclo Olefin Polymer, or colorless polyimide. (¶49L1-2: polyimide)
Regrading claim 13, Yun/Shin discloses in Yun the antenna apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the metal mesh includes copper. (¶54L1-18: metal material copper))
Regrading claim 14, Yun/Shin discloses in Shin the antenna apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the substrate comprises a transparent flexible substrate. (¶40L1-6: it can be applied to a flexible display device by using a material having flexibility that can be folded)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to utilize the flexible PCB, which would have a flexible substrate as disclosed by Shin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the PCB to be used in flexible and foldable devices.
Regrading claim 15, Yun/Shin discloses in Shin the antenna apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the protective layer includes a lower dielectric constant and a lower dielectric loss than the substrate. (¶46L1-3: the dielectric constant of the second dielectric layer maybe be adjusted in a range about 1 to 5)
Regrading claim 17, Shin discloses an image display apparatus (¶29L1: electronic device) comprising:
a display (¶32L1: display); and
a wireless transmission device separated from the display and configured to transmit video data to the display through a wireless communication scheme (¶56L1-4: wireless communication module), wherein
at least one antenna apparatus is disposed on one surface of the display, and wherein the at least one antenna apparatus (¶95L1-5: the antenna element may be applied to a display device for performing ultra-high frequency band communication to) comprises:
a substrate (¶47L3: a first layer);
an opaque metal electrode (¶54L5-6: antenna pattern may include a mesh pattern) disposed in a first area (as shown in Fig.13 for example; the top portion) on an upper portion of the substrate (¶13L8: antenna pattern [1310]; as shown in Fig.13 for example)
a metal mesh (¶61L4-6: dummy pattern may include a metal mesh pattern) disposed in a second area (as shown in Fig.13 for example; the mid and bottom portion) on the upper portion of the substrate (¶95L8-9: dummy pattern [1340]); and
a size of the second area is greater than a size of the first area (as shown in Fig.13 for example, the area covered by [1340] is larger than area covered by [1310]),
covers the entire device thus covering all components under it)
Yun does not explicitly disclose:
a protective layer disposed on the metal mesh, wherein the protective layer and the substrate are more transparent than the metal mesh, and wherein
the protective layer is further disposed on a part of the opaque metal electrode and a boundary area in which the opaque metal electrode and the metal mesh are contacted.
Shin discloses an antenna apparatus comprising:
a substrate (¶39L1-2: a first dielectric layer);
a protective layer disposed on the metal mesh (¶39L1-3: an upper surface of the antenna electrode layer, a second dielectric layer may be disposed), wherein the protective layer (¶45L1-5: first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer include the same material) and the substrate (¶41L1-15: a transparent film may be provided as the first dielectric layer) are more transparent than the metal mesh (¶43L1-6: antenna electrode layer include silver, gold, copper, aluminum)
the protective layer is further disposed on a part of the opaque metal electrode and a boundary area in which the opaque metal electrode and the metal mesh are contacted. (as shown in Fig.2, since second dielectric layer overlaps the first dielectric layer, the second layer is disposed on all parts on the first layer.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the antenna disclosed by Yun to incorporate the second dielectric layer as disclosed by Shin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the driving frequency of the antenna by adjusting the dielectric constant of the layer, thus realize signal transmission and reception in a desired frequency band without adjusting the size of the antenna. (Shin ¶47L1-4)
Regarding claims 18-20, the claim recites similar limitation as claims 4, 6 and 11 respectively, therefore rejected in the same manner.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun/Shin in view of US2021/0141426A1 hereinafter “Kim”
Regrading claim 16, Yun/Shin discloses in Shin the antenna apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a flexible printed circuit board (¶40L1-6: it can be applied to a flexible display device by using a material having flexibility that can be folded);
Yun/Shin does not explicitly disclose:
a joining member connecting the flexible printed circuit board and the opaque metal electrode, wherein
a portion of the metal mesh is connected to a different portion of the opaque metal electrode than the joining member.
Kim discloses an antenna structure with a flexible circuit board (¶43L1-2) wherein
a joining member connecting the flexible printed circuit board and the opaque metal electrode (¶89L1-4: the signal pad, the conductive relay structure and power supply wiring may sequentially contact or be laminated in the bonding region to define the bonding structure), wherein
a portion of the metal mesh is connected to a different portion of the opaque metal electrode than the joining member. (¶71L1-4: the power supply ground may be electrically connected with the ground pad of the antenna electrode layer through ground contact.)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application utilize the bonding area disclosed by Kim to connect the antenna and flexible board disclosed by Yun/Shin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because signal efficiency and radiation reliability may be improved. (Kim Abstract)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Raymond R Chai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844