DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1-18 and 36 and canceled claims 19-35 and 37-40 in the preliminary amendment filed on 01/11/2024.
The claims 1-18 and 36 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "predicted channel state information" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "predicted channel state information" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "predicted channel state information" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 18, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al (US Patent No. 12,348,287 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Wu teaches a method for channel state feedback (Abstract),
wherein the method is performed by a terminal device (user equipment), and comprises:
sending predicted channel state information (CSI) to a network device at a first feedback moment (col. 2, lines 39-65; col. 7, lines 16-43; col. 18, lines 3-19 disclose reporting differential CSI feedback to BS 110 according to the first configuration, the first configuration includes at least an indication of when the UE is to report differential CSI feedback).
With respect to claim 2, Wu teaches further comprising one of: determining the first feedback moment according to a service time of a serving satellite; or determining the first feedback moment according to first indication information (col. 2, lines 39-65; col. 7, lines 16-43 disclose reporting differential CSI feedback according to the first configuration, the first configuration includes at least an indication of when the UE is to report differential CSI feedback).
With respect to claim 6, Wu teaches wherein the first indication information is configuration information (col. 2, lines 39-65; col. 7, lines 16-43 disclose the first configuration includes at least an indication of when the UE is to report differential CSI feedback), and determining the first feedback moment according to the first indication information comprises:
determining the first feedback moment according to a number of reporting, a reporting cycle, and at least one of a reporting moment (when the UE is to report) or delay information of the CSI indicated by the configuration information (col. 2, lines 39-65; col. 7, lines 16-43 disclose reporting differential CSI feedback according to the first configuration, the first configuration includes at least an indication of when the UE is to report differential CSI feedback).
With respect to claim 7, Wu teaches wherein the first indication information is a trigger instruction (col. 7, lines 18-29 disclose the configuration may trigger UE 120 to periodically transmit a differential CSI feedback report (e.g., over one or more time periods), and determining the first feedback moment according to the first indication information comprises:
receiving configuration information (col. 5, lines 45-52 disclose UE receiving a configuration for reporting differential CSI feedback), wherein the configuration information indicates a number of reporting, a reporting cycle, and at least one of a reporting moment or delay information of the CSI (col. 5, lines 45-52; col. 7, lines 16-43 disclose reporting differential CSI feedback according to the first configuration, the first configuration includes at least an indication of when the UE is to report differential CSI feedback); and determining the first feedback moment according to a receiving moment of the trigger instruction and the number of reporting, the reporting cycle, and the at least one of the reporting moment or the delay information indicated by the configuration information (col. 7, lines 18-29 disclose the configuration may trigger UE 120 to transmit an aperiodic differential CSI feedback report. In one aspect, the configuration may trigger the UE to periodically transmit a differential CSI feedback report (e.g., over one or more time periods). In one aspect, the configuration may trigger UE 120 to periodically transmit non-differential CSI feedback and differential CSI feedback (e.g., over one or more time periods). In one aspect, the configuration may trigger UE 120 to transmit a single differential CSI feedback period. Once the UE 120 receives the configuration, UE 120 may report differential CSI feedback to the BS 110 according to the configuration).
With respect to claim 8, Wu teaches further comprising one of: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises the first indication information (col. 22, lines 14-24 disclose the UE receiving (e.g., via RRC signaling, downlink control information (DCI) signaling, etc.) a configuration for reporting differential CSI feedback);
receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), wherein the MAC CE comprises the first indication information; or receiving downlink control information (DCI), wherein the DCI comprises the first indication information (col. 22, lines 14-24 disclose the UE receiving (e.g., via RRC signaling, downlink control information (DCI) signaling, etc.) a configuration for reporting differential CSI feedback).
With respect to claim 9, Wu teaches further comprising: determining the predicted CSI based on a channel measurement result in a first time period before the first feedback moment (col. 25, lines 3-7 disclose UE determining the channel quality based on various measurements, such as signal to noise ratio (SNR), reference signal received power (RSRP), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), etc.).
With respect to claim 10, Wu teaches a method for channel state feedback, wherein the method is performed by a network device (BS 110), and comprises: receiving predicted channel state information (CSI) sent by a terminal device at a first feedback moment (col. 2, lines 39-65; col. 7, lines 16-43; col. 18, lines 3-19 disclose reporting differential CSI feedback to the BS 110 according to the first configuration, the first configuration includes at least an indication of when the UE is to report differential CSI feedback).
With respect to claim 18, Wu teaches a terminal device (UE 120, Fig. 4), comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to send predicted channel state information (CSI) to a network device at a first feedback moment (col. 2, lines 39-65; col. 7, lines 16-43; col. 18, lines 3-19 disclose reporting differential CSI feedback to BS 110 according to the first configuration, the first configuration includes at least an indication of when the UE is to report differential CSI feedback).
The limitations of claim 36 are rejected in the analysis of claim 10 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US Patent No. 12,348,287 B2) in view of Cheng et al (US Publication No. 2021/0105761 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Wu discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except further comprising one of: determining the service time of the serving satellite according to ephemeris data corresponding to the serving satellite; or determining the service time of the serving satellite according to second indication information.
However, Cheng teaches further comprising one of: determining the service time of the serving satellite according to ephemeris data corresponding to the serving satellite; or determining the service time of the serving satellite according to second indication information (paragraph 0124; 0200 disclose Koffset can be derived by UE (calculated based on UE location, e.g., GNSS, and satellite ephemeris; a UE can predict TA based on its location and/or satellite ephemeris) in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wu in view of Cheng, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cheng to the system of Wu in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission.
With respect to claim 4, Wu discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the first indication information comprises delay information k, and sending the predicted CSI to the network device at the first feedback moment comprises: determining predicted CSI at a moment t+k, wherein t is the first feedback moment, and t and k are positive numbers; and at the moment t, sending the predicted CSI at the moment t+k to the network device.
However, Cheng teaches wherein the first indication information comprises delay information k (paragraph 0072 disclose processing delay in the NTN), and sending the predicted CSI to the network device at the first feedback moment comprises: determining predicted CSI at a moment t+k, wherein t is the first feedback moment, and t and k are positive numbers; and at the moment t, sending the predicted CSI at the moment t+k to the network device (paragraph 0009, 0010; 0143 disclose UL transmission including CSI. The CSI on the PUSCH is transmitted on slot └n.Math.2.sup.μ.sup.PUCCH.sup.−μ.sup.PDCCH┘+K.sub.1+K.sub.offset, the PDCCH reception ending in slot n, μ.sub.PUSCH being a subcarrier spacing of the PUSCH, μ.sub.PDCCH being a subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH, K being an offset value indicated in the DCI, and Koffset being an additional offset value for compensating a required timing advance (TA) and a processing delay for operation in the NTN) in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wu in view of Cheng, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cheng to the system of Wu in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission.
With respect to claim 5, Wu discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the first indication information comprises delay information k, and sending the predicted CSI to the network device at the first feedback moment comprises:
determining predicted CSI from a moment t+k-m to a moment t+k, wherein t is the first feedback moment, m is a time length corresponding to the predicted CSI, and t, k, and m are positive numbers; and at the moment t, sending the predicted CSI from the moment t+k-m to the moment t+k to the network device.
However, Cheng teaches wherein the first indication information comprises delay information k (paragraph 0072 disclose processing delay in the NTN), and sending the predicted CSI to the network device at the first feedback moment comprises: determining predicted CSI from a moment t+k-m to a moment t+k, wherein t is the first feedback moment, m is a time length corresponding to the predicted CSI, and t, k, and m are positive numbers; and at the moment t, sending the predicted CSI from the moment t+k-m to the moment t+k to the network device (paragraph 0009, 0010; 0143 disclose UL transmission including CSI. The CSI on the PUSCH is transmitted on slotn.Math.2.sup.μ.sup.PUCCH.sup.−μ.sup.PDCCH┘+K.sub.1+K.sub.offset, the PDCCH reception ending in slot n, μ.sub.PUSCH being a subcarrier spacing of the PUSCH, μ.sub.PDCCH being a subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH, K being an offset value indicated in the DCI, and Koffset being an additional offset value for compensating a required timing advance (TA) and a processing delay for operation in the NTN) in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wu in view of Cheng, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cheng to the system of Wu in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission.
With respect to claim 11 Wu discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except further comprising one of: determining the first feedback moment according to a service time of a serving satellite; or determining the first feedback moment according to an agreement.
However, Cheng teaches further comprising one of: determining the first feedback moment according to a service time of a serving satellite; or determining the first feedback moment according to an agreement (paragraph 0124; 0200 disclose Koffset can be derived by UE (calculated based on UE location, e.g., GNSS, and satellite ephemeris; a UE can predict TA based on its location and/or satellite ephemeris) in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wu in view of Cheng, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cheng to the system of Wu in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission.
With respect to claim 12, Wu teaches further comprising: sending first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates the first feedback moment (col. 2, lines 39-65; col. 7, lines 16-43 disclose reporting differential CSI feedback according to the first configuration, the first configuration includes at least an indication of when the UE is to report differential CSI feedback).
With respect to claim 13, Wu discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the first indication information comprises delay information k, and receiving the predicted CSI sent by the terminal device at the first feedback moment comprises one of:
at the first feedback moment t, receiving predicted CSI at a moment t+k sent by the terminal device; or at the first feedback moment t, receiving predicted CSI from a moment t+k-m to the moment t+k sent by the terminal device; wherein m is a time length corresponding to the predicted CSI, and t, k and m are positive numbers.
However, Cheng teaches wherein the first indication information comprises delay information k (paragraph 0072 disclose processing delay in the NTN), and receiving the predicted CSI sent by the terminal device at the first feedback moment comprises one of: at the first feedback moment t, receiving predicted CSI at a moment t+k sent by the terminal device; or at the first feedback moment t, receiving predicted CSI from a moment t+k-m to the moment t+k sent by the terminal device; wherein m is a time length corresponding to the predicted CSI, and t, k and m are positive numbers (paragraph 0009, 0010; 0143 disclose UL transmission including CSI. The CSI on the PUSCH is transmitted on slotn.Math.2.sup.μ.sup.PUCCH.sup.−μ.sup.PDCCH┘+K.sub.1+K.sub.offset, the PDCCH reception ending in slot n, μ.sub.PUSCH being a subcarrier spacing of the PUSCH, μ.sub.PDCCH being a subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH, K being an offset value indicated in the DCI, and Koffset being an additional offset value for compensating a required timing advance (TA) and a processing delay for operation in the NTN) in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wu in view of Cheng, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cheng to the system of Wu in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission.
With respect to claim 14, Wu teaches wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of: a number of reporting of the CSI; a reporting cycle of the CSI; a reporting moment of the CSI; or delay information (col. 18, lines 5-19 disclose each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time).
With respect to claim 15, Wu teaches further comprising one of: sending a radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises the first indication information (col. 22, lines 14-24 disclose the UE receiving (e.g., via RRC signaling, downlink control information (DCI) signaling, etc.) a configuration for reporting differential CSI feedback); sending a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), wherein the MAC CE comprises the first indication information; or sending downlink control information (DCI), wherein the DCI comprises the first indication information (col. 22, lines 14-24 disclose the UE receiving (e.g., via RRC signaling, downlink control information (DCI) signaling, etc.) a configuration for reporting differential CSI feedback).
With respect to claim 16, Wu discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except further comprising: determining a service time of a serving satellite according to ephemeris data corresponding to the serving satellite.
However, Cheng teaches further comprising: determining a service time of a serving satellite according to ephemeris data corresponding to the serving satellite (paragraph 0124; 0200 disclose Koffset can be derived by UE (calculated based on UE location, e.g., GNSS, and satellite ephemeris; a UE can predict TA based on its location and/or satellite ephemeris) in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wu in view of Cheng, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cheng to the system of Wu in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission.
With respect to claim 17, Wu discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except further comprising: sending second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates the service time of the serving satellite.
However, Cheng teaches further comprising: sending second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates the service time of the serving satellite (paragraph 0124; 0200 disclose Koffset can be derived by UE (calculated based on UE location, e.g., GNSS, and satellite ephemeris; a UE can predict TA based on its location and/or satellite ephemeris) in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wu in view of Cheng, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cheng to the system of Wu in order to provide a timing offset for UL transmission.
.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
12/29/2025