DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20190174466, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses,
a method comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), from a base station, first configuration information related to a serving cell and second configuration information related to a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (a UE receiving higher-layer CSI measurement and CSI-RS resource configuration from a RAN node, such as a gNB. Zhang explains that the CSI-MeasConfig information element configures CSI-RS resources “belonging to a serving cell” ([0254]), CSI reports for that serving cell, and CSI reports triggered by DCI received on the serving cell. Zhang further discloses that the UE is configured with CSI report settings, CSI resource settings, CSI trigger states, and one or more NZP-CSI-RS resource-set configurations. Accordingly, Zhang teaches configuration information related to a serving cell and configuration information related to a CSI-RS resource being received by the UE from the network. Zhang, paras. [0096]-[0097], [0254]-[0255].), wherein the first configuration information includes information on energy per resource element (EPRE) of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) and the second configuration information includes information on a first power offset of EPRE of the CSI-RS resource relative to the EPRE of the SSS, wherein the EPRE of the CSI- RS resource is derived from the EPRE of the SSS and the first power offset (a powerControlOffsetSS parameter defining the assumed ratio of “NZP CSI-RS EPRE to SS/PBCH block EPRE”[0105]. Thus, Zhang teaches a first power offset relating the CSI-RS EPRE to the synchronization-block reference EPRE and, based on that relationship, deriving the CSI-RS EPRE from the synchronization-block reference EPRE and the first power offset, [0097], [0105], [0257]-[0258].)
receiving, by the UE, from the base station, control information for power adjustment of downlink transmission (CSI reporting is dynamically initiated by a CSI request field in OCI received by the UE. The DCI indicates a CSI triggering state, and the triggering state is associated through higher-layer configuration with particular CSI-RS resource sets and CSI-RS resources, [0134]-[0135].)
wherein the control information includes information for identifying the CSI-RS resource (the nzp-CSI-RS-Resourceld, which determines the “CSI-RS resource configuration identity” [0098]). Zhang also discloses that a OCI CSI-request codepoint directly indicates a CSI triggering state and that each triggering state is associated with CSI-RS resources through the higher-layer configuration. Zhang, paras. [0098], [0134]-[0135]) and a second power offset of the EPRE of the downlink transmission relative to the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource, and the downlink-transmission EPRE is derived from the CSI-RS EPRE and the second power offset (a powerControlOffset parameter representing the ratio of “PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE” [0104]. The PDSCH is the claimed downlink transmission. Therefore, Zhang teaches deriving the PDSCH EPRE from the CSI-RS EPRE and the second power offset. [0104], [0257]-[0258]) and
wherein CSI reporting related to the CSI-RS resource indicated by the control information is performed based on the control information for power adjustment of the downlink transmission (powerControlOffset, representing the POSCH-to-CSI-RS EPRE relationship, is used when the UE derives “CSI feedback” [0104]. Zhang further teaches that the CSI report and its associated CSI-RS resource are selected or triggered through the CSI-request field in DCI. Thus, Zhang teaches performing CSI reporting for an indicated CSI-RS resource using the PDSCH-to-CSI-RS power relationship. Zhang, paras. [0104], [0134]-[0135].)
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses,
wherein power adjustment of the downlink transmission is applied to the downlink transmission in a slot configured based on the control information (periodicityAndOffset defines the CSI-RS periodicity and slot offset for periodic/semi-persistent CSI-RS. All the CSI-RS resources within one set are configured with the same periodicity, while the slot offset can be same or different for different CSI-RS resource…. powerControlOffset: which is the assumed ratio of PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE when UE derives CSI feedback and takes values in the range of [−8, 15] dB with 1 dB step size [0099]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 9, ETSI 138.214 teaches,
A user equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal (transceiver is an inherent feature for UE); and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver (processor in an inherent feature for UE), wherein the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a base station, first configuration information related to a serving cell and second configuration information related to a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (a UE receiving higher-layer CSI measurement and CSI-RS resource configuration from a RAN node, such as a gNB. Zhang explains that the CSI-MeasConfig information element configures CSI-RS resources “belonging to a serving cell” ([0254]), CSI reports for that serving cell, and CSI reports triggered by DCI received on the serving cell. Zhang further discloses that the UE is configured with CSI report settings, CSI resource settings, CSI trigger states, and one or more NZP-CSI-RS resource-set configurations. Accordingly, Zhang teaches configuration information related to a serving cell and configuration information related to a CSI-RS resource being received by the UE from the network. Zhang, paras. [0096]-[0097], [0254]-[0255].), wherein the first configuration information includes information on energy per resource element (EPRE) of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) and the second configuration information includes information on a first power offset of EPRE of the CSI-RS resource relative to the EPRE of the SSS, wherein the EPRE of the CSI- RS resource is derived from the EPRE of the SSS and the first power offset (a powerControlOffsetSS parameter defining the assumed ratio of “NZP CSI-RS EPRE to SS/PBCH block EPRE”[0105]. Thus, Zhang teaches a first power offset relating the CSI-RS EPRE to the synchronization-block reference EPRE and, based on that relationship, deriving the CSI-RS EPRE from the synchronization-block reference EPRE and the first power offset, [0097], [0105], [0257]-[0258].)
receive, from the base station, control information for power adjustment of downlink transmission (CSI reporting is dynamically initiated by a CSI request field in OCI received by the UE. The DCI indicates a CSI triggering state, and the triggering state is associated through higher-layer configuration with particular CSI-RS resource sets and CSI-RS resources, [0134]-[0135].)
wherein the control information includes information for identifying the CSI-RS resource (the nzp-CSI-RS-Resourceld, which determines the “CSI-RS resource configuration identity” [0098]). Zhang also discloses that a OCI CSI-request codepoint directly indicates a CSI triggering state and that each triggering state is associated with CSI-RS resources through the higher-layer configuration. Zhang, paras. [0098], [0134]-[0135]) and a second power offset of the EPRE of the downlink transmission relative to the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource, and the downlink-transmission EPRE is derived from the CSI-RS EPRE and the second power offset (a powerControlOffset parameter representing the ratio of “PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE” [0104]. The PDSCH is the claimed downlink transmission. Therefore, Zhang teaches deriving the PDSCH EPRE from the CSI-RS EPRE and the second power offset. [0104], [0257]-[0258]) and
wherein CSI reporting related to the CSI-RS resource indicated by the control information is performed based on the control information for power adjustment of the downlink transmission (powerControlOffset, representing the POSCH-to-CSI-RS EPRE relationship, is used when the UE derives “CSI feedback” [0104]. Zhang further teaches that the CSI report and its associated CSI-RS resource are selected or triggered through the CSI-request field in DCI. Thus, Zhang teaches performing CSI reporting for an indicated CSI-RS resource using the PDSCH-to-CSI-RS power relationship. Zhang, paras. [0104], [0134]-[0135].)
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches,
A base station comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal (transceiver is an inherent feature for BS); and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver (processor in an inherent feature for BS), wherein the at least one processor configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), first configuration information related to a serving cell and second configuration information related to a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (a UE receiving higher-layer CSI measurement and CSI-RS resource configuration from a RAN node, such as a gNB. Zhang explains that the CSI-MeasConfig information element configures CSI-RS resources “belonging to a serving cell” ([0254]), CSI reports for that serving cell, and CSI reports triggered by DCI received on the serving cell. Zhang further discloses that the UE is configured with CSI report settings, CSI resource settings, CSI trigger states, and one or more NZP-CSI-RS resource-set configurations. Accordingly, Zhang teaches configuration information related to a serving cell and configuration information related to a CSI-RS resource being received by the UE from the network. Zhang, paras. [0096]-[0097], [0254]-[0255].), wherein the first configuration information includes information on energy per resource element (EPRE) of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) and the second configuration information includes information on a first power offset of EPRE of the CSI-RS resource relative to the EPRE of the SSS, wherein the EPRE of the CSI- RS resource is derived from the EPRE of the SSS and the first power offset (a powerControlOffsetSS parameter defining the assumed ratio of “NZP CSI-RS EPRE to SS/PBCH block EPRE”[0105]. Thus, Zhang teaches a first power offset relating the CSI-RS EPRE to the synchronization-block reference EPRE and, based on that relationship, deriving the CSI-RS EPRE from the synchronization-block reference EPRE and the first power offset, [0097], [0105], [0257]-[0258].)
transmit, to the UE, control information for power adjustment of downlink transmission (CSI reporting is dynamically initiated by a CSI request field in OCI received by the UE. The DCI indicates a CSI triggering state, and the triggering state is associated through higher-layer configuration with particular CSI-RS resource sets and CSI-RS resources, [0134]-[0135].)
wherein the control information includes information for identifying the CSI-RS resource (the nzp-CSI-RS-Resourceld, which determines the “CSI-RS resource configuration identity” [0098]). Zhang also discloses that a OCI CSI-request codepoint directly indicates a CSI triggering state and that each triggering state is associated with CSI-RS resources through the higher-layer configuration. Zhang, paras. [0098], [0134]-[0135]) and a second power offset of the EPRE of the downlink transmission relative to the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource, and the downlink-transmission EPRE is derived from the CSI-RS EPRE and the second power offset (a powerControlOffset parameter representing the ratio of “PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE” [0104]. The PDSCH is the claimed downlink transmission. Therefore, Zhang teaches deriving the PDSCH EPRE from the CSI-RS EPRE and the second power offset. [0104], [0257]-[0258]) and
wherein CSI reporting related to the CSI-RS resource indicated by the control information is performed based on the control information for power adjustment of the downlink transmission (powerControlOffset, representing the POSCH-to-CSI-RS EPRE relationship, is used when the UE derives “CSI feedback” [0104]. Zhang further teaches that the CSI report and its associated CSI-RS resource are selected or triggered through the CSI-request field in DCI. Thus, Zhang teaches performing CSI reporting for an indicated CSI-RS resource using the PDSCH-to-CSI-RS power relationship. Zhang, paras. [0104], [0134]-[0135].)
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and further in view of TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI et al. (US 20220053466 , hereinafter “Taher”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however Zhang does not explicitly disclose, transmitting, to the base station, a request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission, wherein the control information is transmitted in response to the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Taher discloses, transmitting, to the base station, a request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission ( the UE 502 may request the base station 504 to lower the aggregation level of the PDCCH and/or to recommend a maximum active aggregation level for the PDCCH to the base station 504. The request and/or the recommendation from the UE 502 may be based on a set of predefined and/or preconfigured options, [0075]-[0077]), wherein the control information is transmitted in response to the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission (At 610, the UE may monitor for the PDCCH with the indicated power boost from the base station in at least one search space based on the power boost indication from the base station, such as described in connection with FIG. 5. For example, at 512, the UE 502 may monitor for the PDCCH, where the UE 502 may restrict its PDCCH blind detection(s) to PDCCH candidates (e.g., received at 510) with lower aggregation levels, [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang by specifically providing transmitting, to the base station, a request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission, wherein the control information is transmitted in response to the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission, as taught by Taher for the purpose improving the efficiency of power boosting of PDCCH by a base station and the blind PDCCH detection/decoding performed by a UE (abstract).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang and Taher discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition Taher discloses, wherein the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission includes information on a resource or a multiplexing mode for which power adjustment is requested (At 506, the base station 504 may dynamically indicate or broadcast, to the UE 502 or a group of UEs including the UE 502, whether the base station 504 will apply power boosting to one or more PDCCHs and/or one or more control resources that are to be transmitted to the UE 502 (e.g., such as at 510) or the group of UEs, [0069]-[0072])
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhang and Taher discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition Taher discloses, wherein only when the UE determines that transmission of the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission is possible based on the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource, the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission is transmitted to the base station (as shown at 508, the UE 502 may request the base station 504 to lower the aggregation level of the PDCCH and/or to recommend a maximum active aggregation level for the PDCCH to the base station 504. The request and/or the recommendation from the UE 502 may be based on a set of predefined and/or preconfigured options. For example, to reduce power consumption when the UE 502 is at a low power (or at a power below a threshold), the UE 502 may request the base station 504 to lower the aggregation levels of the PDCCH to two (2), or request/recommend that the aggregation levels of the PDCCH not to exceed an amount (e.g., request that the maximum aggregation level be set to 4), [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhang and Taher discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition Taher discloses, receiving, from the base station, information for notifying that the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission has been received (when the UE 502 receives an indication/configuration indicating the first level of PDCCH power boosting from the base station 504, the UE 502 may monitor for PDCCH(s) with carrier aggregation levels up to four, whereas when the UE 502 receives an indication/configuration indicating the second level of PDCCH power boosting from the base station 504, the UE 502 may monitor for PDCCH(s) with carrier aggregation levels up to eight, [0074]-[0076]).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20190174466: Various embodiments of the present application generally relate to the field of wireless communications, and in particular, to channel state information reference signal configurations, sounding reference signal configurations, and control signaling for uplink multiple input multiple output.
WO 2025198375: The method involves receiving an SS/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block including a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a SSS and a PBCH. A system information block (SIB) including information about SSS transmission power is received. An energy per resource element (EPRE) of the SSS is determined based on the information about the SSS transmission power.
EP 21774797: Embodiments of the present invention provide a power adjustment method and a node device, to resolve the problems in the related art that received PSDs between the DU and the MT are unbalanced and the DU and the MT interfere with each other when a DU and MT in an IAB node device simultaneously receive a signal.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641