DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ETSI TS 138 214 V15.11.0 (5G; NR; Physical layer procedures for data (3GPP TS 38.214 version 15.11.0 Release 15, hereinafter “ETSI 138.214”).
Regarding claim 1, ETSI 138.214 teaches,
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (sec 4.1 defines UE behavior and assumption for downlink power, CSI-RS reception and EPRE derivations), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to a serving cell (The gNB determines the downlink transmit EPRE, Sec. 4.1) and second configuration information related to a CSI-RS resource (the UE may assume downlink EPRE of a port of CSI-RS resource configuration is constant across the configured downlink bandwidth and constant across all configured OFDM symbols, sec. 4.1 and CSI-RS reception procedure, Sec. 5.1.6.1), wherein the first configuration information includes information on energy per resource element (EPRE) of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (The downlink SS/PBCH SSS EPRE can be derived from the SS/PBCH downlink transmit power given by the parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower provided by higher layers, Sec. 4.1) and the second configuration information includes information on a first power offset of EPRE of the CSI-RS resource relative to the EPRE of the SSS (powerControlOffsetSS: which is the assumed ratio of NZP CSI-RS EPRE to SS/PBCH block EPRE. Note: since SSS is part of the SS/PBCH block, this is explicitly a power offset relative to SSS EPRE), wherein the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource is derived from the EPRE of the SSS and the first power offset (The downlink CSI-RS EPRE can be derived from the SS/PBCH block downlink transmit power given by the parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower and CSI-RS power offset given by the parameter powerControlOffsetSS provided by higher layers, Sec. 4.1); and
receiving, from the base station, control information for power adjustment of downlink transmission (The downlink reference-signal transmit power is defined as the linear average over the power contributions (in [W]) of the resource elements that carry the configured CSI-RS within the operating system bandwidth, Sec. 4.1),
wherein the control information includes i) an index of the CSI-RS resource (within a BWP, the UE can be configured with one or more ZP CSI-RS resource set configuration(s)… zp-CSI-RS-ResourceId in ZP-CSI-RS-Resource determines ZP CSI-RS resource configuration identity, Sec. 5.1.4.2. Note: CSI-RS resource are indexed with CSI-RS-ResourceId) and ii) information on a second power offset of EPRE of the downlink transmission relative to the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource (powerControlOffset: which is the assumed ratio of PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE when UE derives CSI feedback and takes values in the range of [-8, 15] dB with 1 dB step size, Sec. 5.2.2.3), and
wherein the EPRE of the downlink transmission is derived from the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource and the second power offset (powerControlOffset: which is the assumed ratio of PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE when UE derives CSI feedback, Sec. 5.2.2.3. Note. This clearly teaches PDSCH EPRE is derived/defined relative to CSI-RS EPRE by an offset (powercontroloffset). Further, Sec 4.1 discloses The downlink CSI-RS EPRE can be derived from the SS/PBCH block downlink transmit power given by the parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower and CSI-RS power offset given by the parameter powerControlOffsetSS provided by higher layers. ).
Regarding claim 3, ETSI 138.214 teaches,
wherein CSI reporting (Table 5.2.1.4-1 shows the supported combinations of CSI Reporting configurations and CSI-RS Resource configurations and how the CSI Reporting is triggered for each CSI-RS Resource configuration) related to the CSI-RS resource indicated by the control information is performed based on the control information for power adjustment of the downlink transmission (The downlink CSI-RS EPRE can be derived from the SS/PBCH block downlink transmit power given by the parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower and CSI-RS power offset given by the parameter powerControlOffsetSS provided by higher layers. The downlink reference-signal transmit power is defined as the linear average over the power contributions (in [W]) of the resource elements that carry the configured CSI-RS within the operating system bandwidth, section 4.1).
Regarding claim 4, ETSI 138.214 teaches,
wherein the control information includes information on a slot index to be applied to power adjustment of the downlink transmission (When the UE is scheduled to receive PDSCH by a DCI, the Time domain resource assignment field value m of the DCI… The indexed row defines the slot offset K0, Sec. 5.1.2.1), and wherein power adjustment of the downlink transmission is applied to the downlink transmission in a slot indicated by the slot index based on the control information (the DCI provide parameters for the corresponding PDSCH transmission, Sec. 5.1 and power assumption are applied to PDSCH, Sec 4.1.).
Regarding claim 9, ETSI 138.214 teaches,
A user equipment (UE) operating in a wireless communication system (sec 4.1 defines UE behavior and assumption for downlink power, CSI-RS reception and EPRE derivations), the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal (transceiver is an inherent feature for UE); and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver (processor in an inherent feature for UE), wherein the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a base station, first configuration information related to a serving cell (The gNB determines the downlink transmit EPRE, Sec. 4.1) and second configuration information related to a CSI-RS resource (the UE may assume downlink EPRE of a port of CSI-RS resource configuration is constant across the configured downlink bandwidth and constant across all configured OFDM symbols, sec. 4.1 and CSI-RS reception procedure, Sec. 5.1.6.1), wherein the first configuration information includes information on energy per resource element (EPRE) of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (The downlink SS/PBCH SSS EPRE can be derived from the SS/PBCH downlink transmit power given by the parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower provided by higher layers, Sec. 4.1) and the second configuration information includes information on a first power offset of EPRE of the CSI-RS resource relative to the EPRE of the SSS (powerControlOffsetSS: which is the assumed ratio of NZP CSI-RS EPRE to SS/PBCH block EPRE. Note: since SSS is part of the SS/PBCH block, this is explicitly a power offset relative to SSS EPRE), wherein the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource is derived from the EPRE of the SSS and the first power offset (The downlink CSI-RS EPRE can be derived from the SS/PBCH block downlink transmit power given by the parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower and CSI-RS power offset given by the parameter powerControlOffsetSS provided by higher layers, Sec. 4.1); and
receive, from the base station, control information for power adjustment of downlink transmission (The downlink reference-signal transmit power is defined as the linear average over the power contributions (in [W]) of the resource elements that carry the configured CSI-RS within the operating system bandwidth, Sec. 4.1),
wherein the control information includes i) an index of the CSI-RS resource (within a BWP, the UE can be configured with one or more ZP CSI-RS resource set configuration(s)… zp-CSI-RS-ResourceId in ZP-CSI-RS-Resource determines ZP CSI-RS resource configuration identity, Sec. 5.1.4.2. Note: CSI-RS resource are indexed with CSI-RS-ResourceId) and ii) information on a second power offset of EPRE of the downlink transmission relative to the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource (powerControlOffset: which is the assumed ratio of PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE when UE derives CSI feedback and takes values in the range of [-8, 15] dB with 1 dB step size, Sec. 5.2.2.3), and
wherein the EPRE of the downlink transmission is derived from the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource and the second power offset (powerControlOffset: which is the assumed ratio of PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE when UE derives CSI feedback, Sec. 5.2.2.3. Note. This clearly teaches PDSCH EPRE is derived/defined relative to CSI-RS EPRE by an offset (powercontroloffset). Further, Sec 4.1 discloses The downlink CSI-RS EPRE can be derived from the SS/PBCH block downlink transmit power given by the parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower and CSI-RS power offset given by the parameter powerControlOffsetSS provided by higher layers. ).
Regarding claim 13, ETSI 138.214 teaches,
A base station operating in a wireless communication system (sec 4.1 defines UE behavior and assumption for downlink power, CSI-RS reception and EPRE derivations), the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal (transceiver is an inherent feature for BS); and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver (processor in an inherent feature for BS), wherein the at least one processor configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), first configuration information related to a serving cell (The gNB determines the downlink transmit EPRE, Sec. 4.1) and second configuration information related to a CSI-RS resource (the UE may assume downlink EPRE of a port of CSI-RS resource configuration is constant across the configured downlink bandwidth and constant across all configured OFDM symbols, sec. 4.1 and CSI-RS reception procedure, Sec. 5.1.6.1), wherein the first configuration information includes information on energy per resource element (EPRE) of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (The downlink SS/PBCH SSS EPRE can be derived from the SS/PBCH downlink transmit power given by the parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower provided by higher layers, Sec. 4.1) and the second configuration information includes information on a first power offset of EPRE of the CSI-RS resource relative to the EPRE of the SSS (powerControlOffsetSS: which is the assumed ratio of NZP CSI-RS EPRE to SS/PBCH block EPRE. Note: since SSS is part of the SS/PBCH block, this is explicitly a power offset relative to SSS EPRE), wherein the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource is derived from the EPRE of the SSS and the first power offset (The downlink CSI-RS EPRE can be derived from the SS/PBCH block downlink transmit power given by the parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower and CSI-RS power offset given by the parameter powerControlOffsetSS provided by higher layers, Sec. 4.1); and
transmit, to the UE, control information for power adjustment of downlink transmission (The downlink reference-signal transmit power is defined as the linear average over the power contributions (in [W]) of the resource elements that carry the configured CSI-RS within the operating system bandwidth, Sec. 4.1),
wherein the control information includes i) an index of the CSI-RS resource (within a BWP, the UE can be configured with one or more ZP CSI-RS resource set configuration(s)… zp-CSI-RS-ResourceId in ZP-CSI-RS-Resource determines ZP CSI-RS resource configuration identity, Sec. 5.1.4.2. Note: CSI-RS resource are indexed with CSI-RS-ResourceId) and ii) information on a second power offset of EPRE of the downlink transmission relative to the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource (powerControlOffset: which is the assumed ratio of PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE when UE derives CSI feedback and takes values in the range of [-8, 15] dB with 1 dB step size, Sec. 5.2.2.3), and
wherein the EPRE of the downlink transmission is derived from the EPRE of the CSI-RS resource and the second power offset (powerControlOffset: which is the assumed ratio of PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE when UE derives CSI feedback, Sec. 5.2.2.3. Note. This clearly teaches PDSCH EPRE is derived/defined relative to CSI-RS EPRE by an offset (powercontroloffset). Further, Sec 4.1 discloses The downlink CSI-RS EPRE can be derived from the SS/PBCH block downlink transmit power given by the parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower and CSI-RS power offset given by the parameter powerControlOffsetSS provided by higher layers. ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ETSI 138.214 and further in view of TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI et al. (US 20220053466 , hereinafter “Taher”).
Regarding claim 5, ETSI 138.214 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however ETSI 138.214 does not explicitly disclose, transmitting, to the base station, a request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission, wherein the control information is transmitted in response to the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Taher discloses, transmitting, to the base station, a request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission ( the UE 502 may request the base station 504 to lower the aggregation level of the PDCCH and/or to recommend a maximum active aggregation level for the PDCCH to the base station 504. The request and/or the recommendation from the UE 502 may be based on a set of predefined and/or preconfigured options, [0075]-[0077]), wherein the control information is transmitted in response to the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission (At 610, the UE may monitor for the PDCCH with the indicated power boost from the base station in at least one search space based on the power boost indication from the base station, such as described in connection with FIG. 5. For example, at 512, the UE 502 may monitor for the PDCCH, where the UE 502 may restrict its PDCCH blind detection(s) to PDCCH candidates (e.g., received at 510) with lower aggregation levels, [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ETSI 138.214 by specifically providing transmitting, to the base station, a request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission, wherein the control information is transmitted in response to the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission, as taught by Taher for the purpose improving the efficiency of power boosting of PDCCH by a base station and the blind PDCCH detection/decoding performed by a UE (abstract).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of ETSI 138.214 and Taher discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition Taher discloses, wherein the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission includes information on a resource or a multiplexing mode for which power adjustment is requested (At 506, the base station 504 may dynamically indicate or broadcast, to the UE 502 or a group of UEs including the UE 502, whether the base station 504 will apply power boosting to one or more PDCCHs and/or one or more control resources that are to be transmitted to the UE 502 (e.g., such as at 510) or the group of UEs, [0069]-[0072])
Regarding claim 7, the combination of ETSI 138.214 and Taher discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition Taher discloses, wherein only when the UE determines that transmission of the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission is possible based on a power level of the downlink transmission, the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission is transmitted to the base station (as shown at 508, the UE 502 may request the base station 504 to lower the aggregation level of the PDCCH and/or to recommend a maximum active aggregation level for the PDCCH to the base station 504. The request and/or the recommendation from the UE 502 may be based on a set of predefined and/or preconfigured options. For example, to reduce power consumption when the UE 502 is at a low power (or at a power below a threshold), the UE 502 may request the base station 504 to lower the aggregation levels of the PDCCH to two (2), or request/recommend that the aggregation levels of the PDCCH not to exceed an amount (e.g., request that the maximum aggregation level be set to 4), [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of ETSI 138.214 and Taher discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition Taher discloses, receiving, from the base station, information for notifying that the request for power adjustment of the downlink transmission has been received (when the UE 502 receives an indication/configuration indicating the first level of PDCCH power boosting from the base station 504, the UE 502 may monitor for PDCCH(s) with carrier aggregation levels up to four, whereas when the UE 502 receives an indication/configuration indicating the second level of PDCCH power boosting from the base station 504, the UE 502 may monitor for PDCCH(s) with carrier aggregation levels up to eight, [0074]-[0076]).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20190174466: Various embodiments of the present application generally relate to the field of wireless communications, and in particular, to channel state information reference signal configurations, sounding reference signal configurations, and control signaling for uplink multiple input multiple output.
WO 2025198375: The method involves receiving an SS/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block including a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a SSS and a PBCH. A system information block (SIB) including information about SSS transmission power is received. An energy per resource element (EPRE) of the SSS is determined based on the information about the SSS transmission power.
EP 21774797: Embodiments of the present invention provide a power adjustment method and a node device, to resolve the problems in the related art that received PSDs between the DU and the MT are unbalanced and the DU and the MT interfere with each other when a DU and MT in an IAB node device simultaneously receive a signal.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641