DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figs 2-7 “prot1” appears to be a grammatical error. Similarly, figs 14-16 “prot4” and “prot5” appear to be grammatical errors. Fig 10 there are two C5 capacitors, the capacitor next to C3 is believed to be C4. Claim 8 recites “a first end of the fifth resistor is connected to a second end of the sixth resistor, a second end of the fifth resistor is connected to an output end of the comparator, the second end of the sixth resistor is connected to a first end of the fifth capacitor, a second end of the fifth capacitor is grounded, and the second end of the sixth resistor is connected to the second control unit” there is a mismatch between the claimed language and the drawings, specifically, the connections of the fifth resistor and the connections of the sixth resistor. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: ¶79 recites “a first end of the fifth resistor is connected to a second end of the sixth resistor, a second end of the fifth resistor is connected to an output end of the comparator, the second end of the sixth resistor is connected to a first end of the fifth capacitor, a second end of the fifth capacitor is grounded, and the second end of the sixth resistor is connected to the second control unit” there is a mismatch between the language in the specification and the drawings, specifically, the connections of the fifth resistor and the connections of the sixth resistor. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. CN 105896646.
With regards to claims 1 and 14 Liu discloses, a forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit [fig 1], comprising a battery [battery 1],
a forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit [fig 1] and
a first control unit [control unit 4], wherein:
the battery is configured to store power and supply power to a load [¶2 charging and discharging];
the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit is configured to charge and discharge the battery [¶2];
the first control unit is configured to control the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit to boost or buck to supply power to the load [¶2], and
to control the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit to boost or buck an external input voltage to charge the battery [¶6 boost/buck charging/discharging];
the battery is connected to the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit [fig 1], and
the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit is connected to the first control unit [fig 1].
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 2 and 15 Liu discloses, the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit comprises a first switching tube [fig 1 switch K3],
a second switching tube [K4],
a third switching tube [K1],
a fourth switching tube [K2],
a first inductor [L1],
a first capacitor [C2] and
a second capacitor [C1], wherein:
the first switching tube is connected in series with the second switching tube [fig 1 K3 and K4 in series],
the third switching tube is connected in series with the fourth switching tube [K1 and K2 in series],
a anode of the battery is connected to a first end of the first switching tube [battery 1 anode connected to K3],
the first end of the first switching tube is connected to a first end of the first capacitor [K3 connected to C2],
a second end of the first capacitor is connected to a first end of the second capacitor [C2 connected to C1],
a second end of the second capacitor is connected to a first end of the third switching tube [C1 connected to K1],
the second end of the first capacitor and the first end of the second capacitor are grounded [C2 and C1 connected to ground],
a first end of the first inductor is connected between the first switching tube and the second switching tube [L1 connected between K3 and K4],
a second end of the first inductor is connected between the third switching tube and the fourth switching tube [L1 connected between K1 and K2],
a second end of the second switching tube and a second end of the fourth switching tube are connected to an cathode of the battery [K4 and K2 connected to the cathode of the battery 1], respectively;
the first control unit is configured to drive the first switching tube, the second switching tube, the third switching tube and the fourth switching tube, so as to boost or buck the battery to supply power to the load, and to boost or buck the external input voltage to charge the battery [control lines with arrows disclose the control of each switch].
Claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 5 and 18 Liu discloses, the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit according to claim 1, further comprising at least one filter capacitor, each of which is connected in parallel with the battery [fig 1 filter capacitors C1 and C2].
Claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. CN 105896646 in view of Horvath US 20220102028.
With regards to claims 3 and 16 Liu fails to disclose, the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit according to claim 2, further comprising a current limiting unit configured to perform a current limiting protection for the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit.
However, Horvath discloses, a current limiting unit configured to perform a current limiting protection for the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit [fig 1a current limiting circuit 132 and ¶15 discloses elements such as resistors].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the circuits of Liu with Horvath to include a current limiting unit/circuit in order to protect the overall system.
Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 3 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. CN 105896646 in view of Kuwana et al. JP 2020141482.
With regards to claims 4 and 17 Liu fails to disclose, the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit according to claim 2, further comprising at least one noise reduction unit, which is connected in parallel with the first switching tube, the second switching tube, the third switching tube or the fourth switching tube.
However, Kuwana discloses, at least one noise reduction unit, which is connected in parallel with the first switching tube, the second switching tube, the third switching tube or the fourth switching tube [fig 3 noise suppressing circuit].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery circuits of Liu with Kuwana to include a noise reduction circuit in order to improve stability, efficiency, and reliability.
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 4 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. CN 105896646 in view of Jung et al. EP 3123590.
With regards to claims 6 and 19 Liu fails to disclose, the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit according to claim 1, further comprising a second control unit, which is connected to the first control unit and is configured to trigger the first control unit to control the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit to boost or buck to supply power to the load, and to control the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit to boost or buck the external input voltage to charge the battery.
However, Jung discloses, a second control unit, which is connected to the first control unit and is configured to trigger the first control unit to control the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit to boost or buck to supply power to the load, and to control the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging unit to boost or buck the external input voltage to charge the battery [figs 6-10 control units 6332 and 6333].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery circuits of Liu with Jung to include multiple control units in order to provide better energy efficiency.
Claim 19 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. CN 105896646 in view of Jung et al. EP 3123590 further in view of Jiang et al. CN 207426721.
With regards to claims 7 and 20 the combination discloses, the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit according to claim 6, further comprising the second control unit [figs 6-10 control units 6332 and 6333].
The combination fails to disclose, an input protection unit, configured to perform an overcurrent protection for the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit.
However, Jiang discloses, an input protection unit, configured to perform an overcurrent protection for the forward-backward boost-buck charging and discharging circuit [fig 7 protection circuit 724].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery circuits of Liu in view of Jung with Jiang to include overcurrent protection circuit in order to prevent damage to the unit.
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claim 8 the prior art alone or in combination fails to disclose, “wherein the input protection unit comprises a first resistor, a second resistor, a third resistor, a fourth resistor, a fifth resistor, a sixth resistor, a third capacitor, a fourth capacitor, a fifth capacitor and a comparator, wherein: a first end of the first resistor is grounded, a second end of the first resistor is connected to a first end of the second resistor, and the second end of the first resistor is coupled to an cathode circuit of the battery; a first end of the third capacitor is connected to a second end of the second resistor, and a second end of the third capacitor is grounded; a first end of the third resistor is grounded, a second end of the third resistor is connected to a first end of the fourth resistor and a first end of the fourth capacitor, respectively, and a second end of the fourth resistor and a second end of the fourth capacitor are grounded; a first input end of the comparator is connected to the second end of the second resistor, a second input end of the comparator is connected between the third resistor and the fourth resistor, and an output end of the comparator is connected to a first end of the sixth resistor; a first end of the fifth resistor is connected to a second end of the sixth resistor, a second end of the fifth resistor is connected to an output end of the comparator, the second end of the sixth resistor is connected to a first end of the fifth capacitor, a second end of the fifth capacitor is grounded, and the second end of the sixth resistor is connected to the second control unit.” Claim 9 being dependent on claim 8 is allowable for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 10 the prior art alone or in combination fails to disclose, “wherein the input protection unit comprises a switching unit, which comprises a ninth resistor, a tenth resistor, an eleventh resistor, a twelfth resistor, a triode, a voltage stabilizing diode, a field effect transistor and a common mode choke, wherein: a first end of the eleventh resistor is connected to the second control unit, a second end of the eleventh resistor is connected to a base of the triode, an emitter of the triode is grounded, a first end of the ninth resistor is connected to a second end of the eleventh resistor, a second end of the ninth resistor is grounded, a first end of the tenth resistor is connected to a collector of the triode, a second end of the tenth resistor is connected to a first end of the voltage stabilizing diode, a first end of the twelfth resistor and a source of the field effect transistor, respectively, a second end of the voltage stabilizing diode and a second end of the twelfth resistor are connected to a gate of the field effect transistor, respectively, a drain of the field effect transistor is connected to the common mode choke, the gate of the field effect transistor is connected to a anode of the battery, and the common mode choke is connected to an cathode of the battery.” Claims 11-13 being dependent on claim 10 are allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/NATHAN J INSTONE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859