DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 18/578,653 filed on January 11th, 2024.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 03/22/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claim 6 is newly canceled.
Claims 1 – 5, 8 – 12, 14 – 21, and 23 are pending.
Claims 1 – 5, 8 – 12, 14 – 21, and 23 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/08/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8 – 12 of the Remarks, filed 03/22/2026, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 9, and 18, and dependent claims 2 – 5, 8, 10 – 12, 14 – 17, 19 – 21, and 23, with the exception of newly canceled claim 6, under applied prior art references of record in the office action dated 12/23/2025, particularly as regards the amended limitations, have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fang et al. [US 20240179670 A1]. Therefore, the rejection has been revised as set forth below according to the amended claims. See office action below.
It should be noted that the scope of the previous claim 1 has been changed with the current amendment. The amendments make the limitations more specific than was previously claimed. Therefore, this amendment changes the scope of the limitation as recited in amended claim 1, and it necessitates a new ground(s) of rejection.
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, with regard to independent claims. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 8 – 12, 14 – 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. [US 20240179670 A1] hereinafter Fang, and further in view of Manolakos et al. [US 20240172172 A1] hereinafter Manolakos.
Regarding claim 1, Fang teaches a method for reporting a timing error, performed by a location management function (LMF) network element (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 491; in view of LMF), and the method comprising:
determining a granularity factor corresponding to timing error group (TEG) information of a transmission end (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 491; wherein in Step 2, the LMF determines Tx\Rx TEG configuration parameters of the UE and TRP by looking up a predefined corresponding table of positioning accuracy requirements and TEG partitioning granularities, such as Table 4-1, based on information reported by the UE that the UE supports TEG division and a positioning accuracy requirement is 0.2 m, thereby obtaining TEG division granularity TRP Tx TEG Granularity=0.055 ns and UE Rx TEG Granularity=0.11 ns. Therefore, the LMF determines the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG of the UE);
transmitting second indication information to the transmission end, wherein the second indication information indicates the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG information (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 482, ¶ 493; wherein in step 1, the UE reports its own capabilities and positioning accuracy requirement or positioning scenario information through the LPP protocol, and in Step 6, the LMF informs the UE of the TEG division granularity UE Rx TEG Granularity = 0.11 ns (i.e., based on the LPP protocol). Therefore, after the LMF determines the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG of the UE, it sends the indication based on the LPP protocol (i.e., the second indication information) to the UE); and
receiving first indication information transmitted by the transmission end, wherein the first indication information indicates the TEG information of the transmission end (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 485; wherein in Step 8, the UE reports RSTD or TOA measurement values and TEG related information. Therefore the first indication information is sent by the UE and it indicates the TEG related information), and the transmission end is a terminal device or a transmission and reception point (TRP) (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 482 – 490; wherein the UE or the TRP is the transmission end).
Although, a person having ordinary skills in the art understands that the granularity factor of a timing error group (TEG) is directly related to the subcarrier spacing (SCS) because the SCS defines the fundamental time scale of the NR timing grid, which in turn limits the smallest resolvable time interval for timing measurements, Fang does not explicitly disclose that the LMF determines a granularity factor corresponding to timing error group (TEG) information of a transmission end according to a value range of the granularity factor corresponding to each subcarrier spacing (SCS).
Referring to the invention of Manolakos, Manolakos teaches a value range of the granularity factor corresponding to each subcarrier spacing (SCS) and its relation to the position reference signal (PRS) resources which the UE receives from the LMF and uses in the measurement division into groups based on the determined TEG division granularity factor received from the LMF (Manolakos: Figs. 4A – 4D, ¶ 94 – 97, ¶ 141 – 142; wherein the example of FIGS. 4A to 4D, a numerology of 15 kHz (i.e., subcarrier spacing granularity factor of 15 kHz (μ=0)) is used…for the resource grid…The resource grid is further divided into multiple resource elements (REs). Some of the REs carry downlink reference (pilot) signals (DL-RS). The DL-RS may include positioning reference signals (PRS)… FIG. 4A illustrates example locations of REs carrying PRS (labeled “R”) … and wherein a method of wireless positioning performed by a first network node includes receiving assistance data for a plurality of positioning reference signal (PRS) resources transmitted by a second network node, the assistance data including one or more transmit timing error group (Tx TEG) identifiers, each Tx TEG identifier of the one or more Tx TEG identifiers associated with one subset of one or more subsets of the plurality of PRS resources; and performing one or more positioning measurements of at least one subset of the one or more subsets of the plurality of PRS resources based on the one or more Tx TEG identifiers). Hence, Manolakos teaches that the granularity factor of SCS is associated with the positioning reference signals (PRS) which is associated with TEG identifiers. Therefore, since the NR timing grid within which the PRS is carried is based on the granularity factor of the SCS, and the TEG identifiers are associated with the PRS, a person having ordinary skill in the art will find it within reason that when the TEG granularity factor is being determined, it will be based on or in accordance with the granularity factor that corresponds to the SCS.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the granularity factor SCS associated with TEG teachings of Manolakos into the TEG determination teachings of Fang in order to ensure that timing error measurements and corrections are precise, consistent, and efficient across all 5G NR numerologies, and to improve location accuracy.
Regarding claim 2, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information further indicates any one of: resource information of a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS), or reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement information (Fang: Fig. 1, ¶ 281-282, Fig, 5, ¶ 485; wherein in Step 8, the UE reports RSTD or TOA measurement values and TEG related information. Therefore the first indication information is sent by the UE and it indicates the RSTD measurement information).
Regarding claim 3, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information is signal measurement information (Fang: Fig. 1, ¶ 281-282, Fig, 5, ¶ 485; wherein the RSTD measurement information is a signal measurement information).
Regarding claim 4, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting third indication information to the terminal device, wherein the third indication information indicates resource information of a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and TEG information of the LMF network element (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 493; wherein in Step 6, the LMF informs the UE of the TEG division granularity UE Rx TEG Granularity = 0.11 ns and Tx TEG related information of DL PRSs provided by each TRP. Therefore, it is understood that the second indication information is the TEG related information and the DL PRS information in addition to the TEG related information of the LMF is the third indication information that the LMF sends to the UE).
Regarding claim 5, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the second indication information is request location information (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 482, ¶ 493; wherein in step 1, the UE reports its own capabilities and positioning accuracy requirement or positioning scenario information through the LPP protocol, and in Step 6, the LMF informs the UE of the TEG division granularity UE Rx TEG Granularity = 0.11 ns (i.e., based on the LPP protocol). Therefore, after the LMF determines the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG of the UE, it sends the indication based on the LPP protocol (i.e., the second indication information) to the UE).
Regarding claim 8, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the TEG information is at least one of a TEG value or a TEG identification (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 482, ¶ 493; wherein in Step 6, the LMF informs the UE of the TEG division granularity UE Rx TEG Granularity = 0.11 ns. Therefore, the TEG information is a TEG value).
Regarding claim 9, Fang teaches a method for reporting a timing error, performed by a terminal device (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 482; in view of UE), and the method comprising:
receiving second indication information from a location management function (LMF) network element (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 491; in view of LMF), wherein the second indication information indicates a granularity factor corresponding to timing error group (TEG) information of the terminal device (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 482, ¶ 493; wherein in step 1, the UE reports its own capabilities and positioning accuracy requirement or positioning scenario information through the LPP protocol, and in Step 6, the LMF informs the UE of the TEG division granularity UE Rx TEG Granularity = 0.11 ns (i.e., based on the LPP protocol). Therefore, after the LMF determines the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG of the UE, it sends the indication based on the LPP protocol (i.e., the second indication information) to the UE), wherein the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG information of the terminal device is determined by the LMF network element (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 491; wherein in Step 2, the LMF determines Tx\Rx TEG configuration parameters of the UE and TRP by looking up a predefined corresponding table of positioning accuracy requirements and TEG partitioning granularities, such as Table 4-1, based on information reported by the UE that the UE supports TEG division and a positioning accuracy requirement is 0.2 m, thereby obtaining TEG division granularity TRP Tx TEG Granularity=0.055 ns and UE Rx TEG Granularity=0.11 ns. Therefore, the LMF determines the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG of the UE); and
transmitting first indication information to the LMF network element, wherein the first indication information indicates the TEG information of the terminal device (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 485; wherein in Step 8, the UE reports RSTD or TOA measurement values and TEG related information. Therefore the first indication information is sent by the UE and it indicates the TEG related information).
Although, a person having ordinary skills in the art understands that the granularity factor of a timing error group (TEG) is directly related to the subcarrier spacing (SCS) because the SCS defines the fundamental time scale of the NR timing grid, which in turn limits the smallest resolvable time interval for timing measurements, Fang does not explicitly disclose that the LMF determines a granularity factor corresponding to timing error group (TEG) information of a transmission end according to a value range of the granularity factor corresponding to each subcarrier spacing (SCS).
Referring to the invention of Manolakos, Manolakos teaches a value range of the granularity factor corresponding to each subcarrier spacing (SCS) and its relation to the position reference signal (PRS) resources which the UE receives from the LMF and uses in the measurement division into groups based on the determined TEG division granularity factor received from the LMF (Manolakos: Figs. 4A – 4D, ¶ 94 – 97, ¶ 141 – 142; wherein the example of FIGS. 4A to 4D, a numerology of 15 kHz (i.e., subcarrier spacing granularity factor of 15 kHz (μ=0)) is used…for the resource grid…The resource grid is further divided into multiple resource elements (REs). Some of the REs carry downlink reference (pilot) signals (DL-RS). The DL-RS may include positioning reference signals (PRS)… FIG. 4A illustrates example locations of REs carrying PRS (labeled “R”) … and wherein a method of wireless positioning performed by a first network node includes receiving assistance data for a plurality of positioning reference signal (PRS) resources transmitted by a second network node, the assistance data including one or more transmit timing error group (Tx TEG) identifiers, each Tx TEG identifier of the one or more Tx TEG identifiers associated with one subset of one or more subsets of the plurality of PRS resources; and performing one or more positioning measurements of at least one subset of the one or more subsets of the plurality of PRS resources based on the one or more Tx TEG identifiers). Hence, Manolakos teaches that the granularity factor of SCS is associated with the positioning reference signals (PRS) which is associated with TEG identifiers. Therefore, since the NR timing grid within which the PRS is carried is based on the granularity factor of the SCS, and the TEG identifiers are associated with the PRS, a person having ordinary skill in the art will find it within reason that when the TEG granularity factor is being determined, it will be based on or in accordance with the granularity factor that corresponds to the SCS.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the granularity factor SCS associated with TEG teachings of Manolakos into the TEG determination teachings of Fang in order to ensure that timing error measurements and corrections are precise, consistent, and efficient across all 5G NR numerologies, and to improve location accuracy.
Regarding claim 10, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the first indication information further indicates reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement information (Fang: Fig. 1, ¶ 281-282, Fig, 5, ¶ 485; wherein in Step 8, the UE reports RSTD or TOA measurement values and TEG related information. Therefore the first indication information is sent by the UE and it indicates the RSTD measurement information).
Regarding claim 11, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the first indication information is signal measurement information (Fang: Fig. 1, ¶ 281-282, Fig, 5, ¶ 485; wherein the RSTD measurement information is a signal measurement information).
Regarding claim 12, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 9, further comprising:
receiving third indication information transmitted by the LMF network element, wherein the third indication information indicates TEG information of the LMF network element (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 493; wherein in Step 6, the LMF informs the UE of the TEG division granularity UE Rx TEG Granularity = 0.11 ns and Tx TEG related information of DL PRSs provided by each TRP. Therefore, it is understood that the second indication information is the TEG related information and the DL PRS information in addition to the TEG related information of the LMF is the third indication information that the LMF sends to the UE).
Regarding claim 14, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising:
transmitting fourth indication information to the LMF network element, wherein the fourth indication information indicates a granularity factor corresponding to the TEG information of the LMF network element (Fang: Fig. 5, ¶ 482 – 493; wherein in step 1, the UE reports information such as supporting for DL TDOA positioning, supporting for TEG division, and a positioning accuracy requirement of 0.2 m, through the LPP protocol, and in step 8, the UE reports RSTD of TOA measurement values and TEG related information).
Regarding claim 15, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 14, further comprising at least one of:
determining the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG information of the LMF network element according to a current positioning accuracy (Fang: Fig. 5, ¶ 482 – 493; wherein in step 2, the LMF determines TRP TEG configuration parameter and UE TEG configuration parameter by looking up tables or mathematical definition formulas according to UE capabilities (including whether TEG division is supported, and positioning accuracy requirement); where the configuration parameters can include TEG division granularity, etc., and in step 6, the LMF notifies the UE of UE TEG configuration parameters, such as UE TEG division granularity, and Tx TEG related information of DL PRSs provided by each TRP, such as Tx TEG ID, Tx TEG Gap. Furthermore, in step 7, the UE receives DL PRS signals of 4 TRPs, and divides different measurement values into groups in a division manner 1 of based on absolute TE values, according to TEG division granularity UE Rx TEG Granularity=0.11 ns provided by LMF. Therefore, the UE determined the granularity used in the measurement values based on the TE values and TEG information provided by the LMF); or
determining the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG information of the LMF network element according to a value range of the granularity factor corresponding to each subcarrier spacing (SCS).
Regarding claim 16, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the fourth indication information is request location information (Fang: Fig. 5, ¶ 482; wherein in step 1, the UE reports information such as supporting for DL TDOA positioning, supporting for TEG division, and a positioning accuracy requirement of 0.2 m, through the LPP protocol (i.e., wherein the LPP protocol is based on a request location information message)).
Regarding claim 17, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the TEG information is at least one of a TEG value or a TEG identification (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 482, ¶ 493; wherein in Step 6, the LMF informs the UE of the TEG division granularity UE Rx TEG Granularity = 0.11 ns. Therefore, the TEG information is a TEG value).
Regarding claim 18, Fang teaches a method for reporting a timing error, performed by a transmission and reception point (TRP) (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 486; in view of TRP), and the method comprising:
receiving second indication information from a location management function (LMF) network element (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 486; in view of LMF), wherein the second indication information indicates a granularity factor corresponding to timing error group (TEG) information of the TRP (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 486, ¶ 492; wherein in step 3, the LMF informs 4 TRPs through the NRPPa protocol, of the TEG configuration parameter, i.e., the TEG division granularity TRP Tx TEG Granularity=0.055 ns. Therefore, after the LMF determines the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG of the UE, it sends the indication based on the NRPPa protocol (i.e., second indication information) to the TRPs), wherein the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG information of the TRP is determined by the LMF network element (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 491; wherein in Step 2, the LMF determines Tx\Rx TEG configuration parameters of the UE and TRP by looking up a predefined corresponding table of positioning accuracy requirements and TEG partitioning granularities, such as Table 4-1, based on information reported by the UE that the UE supports TEG division and a positioning accuracy requirement is 0.2 m, thereby obtaining TEG division granularity TRP Tx TEG Granularity=0.055 ns and UE Rx TEG Granularity=0.11 ns. Therefore, the LMF determines the granularity factor corresponding to the TEG of the TRP); and
transmitting first indication information to the LMF network element, wherein the first indication information indicates the TEG information of the TRP (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 490; wherein in Step 5, the 4 TRPs provide the LMF with Tx TEG information of 4 DL PRSs, such as TEG identifiers: Tx TEG ID, TEG TE range: Tx TEG Gap, a difference of TEG TE ranges: Tx TEG m n Gap Diff. Therefore the first indication information is sent by the TRPs and it indicates the TEG related information).
Although, a person having ordinary skills in the art understands that the granularity factor of a timing error group (TEG) is directly related to the subcarrier spacing (SCS) because the SCS defines the fundamental time scale of the NR timing grid, which in turn limits the smallest resolvable time interval for timing measurements, Fang does not explicitly disclose that the LMF determines a granularity factor corresponding to timing error group (TEG) information of a transmission end according to a value range of the granularity factor corresponding to each subcarrier spacing (SCS).
Referring to the invention of Manolakos, Manolakos teaches a value range of the granularity factor corresponding to each subcarrier spacing (SCS) and its relation to the position reference signal (PRS) resources which the UE receives from the LMF and uses in the measurement division into groups based on the determined TEG division granularity factor received from the LMF (Manolakos: Figs. 4A – 4D, ¶ 94 – 97, ¶ 141 – 142; wherein the example of FIGS. 4A to 4D, a numerology of 15 kHz (i.e., subcarrier spacing granularity factor of 15 kHz (μ=0)) is used…for the resource grid…The resource grid is further divided into multiple resource elements (REs). Some of the REs carry downlink reference (pilot) signals (DL-RS). The DL-RS may include positioning reference signals (PRS)… FIG. 4A illustrates example locations of REs carrying PRS (labeled “R”) … and wherein a method of wireless positioning performed by a first network node includes receiving assistance data for a plurality of positioning reference signal (PRS) resources transmitted by a second network node, the assistance data including one or more transmit timing error group (Tx TEG) identifiers, each Tx TEG identifier of the one or more Tx TEG identifiers associated with one subset of one or more subsets of the plurality of PRS resources; and performing one or more positioning measurements of at least one subset of the one or more subsets of the plurality of PRS resources based on the one or more Tx TEG identifiers). Hence, Manolakos teaches that the granularity factor of SCS is associated with the positioning reference signals (PRS) which is associated with TEG identifiers. Therefore, since the NR timing grid within which the PRS is carried is based on the granularity factor of the SCS, and the TEG identifiers are associated with the PRS, a person having ordinary skill in the art will find it within reason that when the TEG granularity factor is being determined, it will be based on or in accordance with the granularity factor that corresponds to the SCS.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the granularity factor SCS associated with TEG teachings of Manolakos into the TEG determination teachings of Fang in order to ensure that timing error measurements and corrections are precise, consistent, and efficient across all 5G NR numerologies, and to improve location accuracy.
Regarding claim 19, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the first indication information further indicates resource information of a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 490; wherein in Step 5, the 4 TRPs provide the LMF with Tx TEG information of 4 DL PRSs, such as TEG identifiers: Tx TEG ID, TEG TE range: Tx TEG Gap, a difference of TEG TE ranges: Tx TEG m n Gap Diff. Therefore, the first indication information is sent by the TRPs and it indicates the DL PRS information).
Regarding claim 20, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the first indication information is signal measurement information (Fang: Fig. 1, ¶ 281-282, Fig, 5, ¶ 490; wherein the DL PRS measurement information is a positioning reference signal measurement information).
Regarding claim 21, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the second indication information is request location information (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 486, ¶ 492; wherein in step 3, the LMF informs 4 TRPs through the NRPPa protocol. Wherein the NRPPa protocol is a New Radio Positioning Protocol A and requires location information).
Regarding claim 23, Fang in view of Manolakos teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the TEG information is at least one of a TEG value or a TEG identification (Fang: Fig, 5, ¶ 482, ¶ 493; wherein in Step 6, the LMF informs the UE of the TEG division granularity UE Rx TEG Granularity = 0.11 ns. Therefore, the TEG information is a TEG value).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hasegawa et al. [US 20230388959 A1]: Positioning in Wireless Systems.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HD/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414