DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-19 and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chin (US Pub. 2022/0286818).
Regarding claim 16, Chin discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) broadcast service (par.078-079 “MBS data transmission”);
determining a predetermined event associated with the terminal (par.078-079 “timer”); and
performing a medium access control (MAC) reset based on the MBS broadcast service and the predetermined event (par.0178 “The MAC PDU may correspond to …….retransmission timer”, par.0227 “a MAC PDU…..timer……may be (re)started”).
Regarding claims 17 and 27, Chin discloses in case that the predetermined event includes an expiry of a timer-T300 (par.0178 “The MAC PDU may correspond to …….retransmission timer”, par.0227 “a MAC PDU…..timer……may be (re)started”), the MAC reset is performed, an MAC configuration is released and a radio link control (RLC) for (par.051, 202-206) radio bearers (RBs) established is re-established except for a broadcast MBS radio bearer (MRB) (par. 058”An NR MBS radio bearer may be referred to as an MRB”, par.0201, 0242).
Regarding claims 18 and 28, Chin discloses the predetermined event includes an abortion of a radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment procedure, the MAC reset is performed, an MAC configuration is released and a radio link control (RLC) for radio bearers (RBs) established is re-established except for a broadcast MBS radio bearer (MRB) (par.058, 0242).
Regarding claims 19 and 29, Chin discloses in case that the predetermined event includes that an RRC state of the terminal is switched to an RRC idle state, the MAC reset is performed, radio resources for established RBs except for a broadcast MRB are released (par.0153, 0242).
Regarding claim 26, Chin discloses everything as claim 16 above. More specifically, Chin discloses a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor (par.016 “a UE….at least one processor….to receive…..”, par.048 “UL packet transmissions”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-25 and 30 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Delany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/TU X NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642