DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
The priority document(s), which have been placed on record in the file, are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/03/2024, 01/28/2025 and 08/12/2025 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation, "A computer-readable storage medium storing therein a computer program" in Lines [1-2] of claim 18 encompasses signals per se. In Para. [0148] of the specification, the instant application recites, “a computer-readable storage medium storing therein a computer program,” which clearly includes propagating electromagnetic waves. The further recitation of “computer program” in claim 18 only serves to limit the content carried by the electromagnetic waves. As understood in light of the specification, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 18 encompasses signals which are not within one of the four statutory categories of invention. See MPEP 2106.03 I. It is suggested that claim 18 be amended to recite a “non-transitory” computer readable medium to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHAE et al. (US 20190098589 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chae.
Regarding claims 1, 16 and 18, Chae teaches a synchronization method for a first terminal (Para. [0001]-Chae discloses method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving a synchronization signal in the case where a satellite signal is available for synchronization. Para. [0008]-Chae discloses method for receiving a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system includes receiving a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH), determining which one between a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) and an eNB is to be used as a synchronization source, according to priority information included in the PSBCH, and receiving an SLSS related to the determined synchronization source. Fig. 11, Para. [0281]-Chae discloses transmission point 10 according to the present disclosure may include a receiver 11, a transmitter 12, a processor 13, a memory 14, and a plurality of antennas 15 ... UE 20 according to the present disclosure may include a receiver 21, a transmitter 22, a processor 23, a memory 24, and a plurality of antennas 25. Para. [0290]-Chae discloses firmware or software configuration, ... implemented in the form of a module, a procedure, a function, etc. Software code may be stored in a memory unit and executed by a processor. The memory unit is located at the interior or exterior of the processor and may transmit and receive data to and from the processor via various known means), comprising:
receiving, by the first terminal, first synchronization signaling transmitted by at least one second terminal in the case that the first terminal is in a first synchronization state (Para. [0086]-Chae discloses node may transmit a representative synchronization signal and the other UEs may acquire synchronization using the representative synchronization signal ... some nodes (which may be an eNB, a UE, and a synchronization reference node (SRN, also referred to as a synchronization source)) may transmit a D2D synchronization signal (D2DSS) and the remaining UEs may transmit and receive signals in synchronization with the D2DSS. Para. [0214]-Chae discloses signaling information indicating the type/frequency requirement/frequency synchronization priority of the UE on an additional physical channel (e.g., a PSBCH or any other channel) by the UE); and
performing, by the first terminal, a synchronization operation in accordance with the first synchronization signaling (Para. [0086]-Chae discloses individual D2D UE acquires synchronization {corresponding to performing synchronization operation in order to switch to a new synchronization state} by transmitting and receiving a synchronization signal directly, ... In a distributed node system such as a D2D communication system, therefore, a specific node may transmit a representative synchronization signal and the other UEs may acquire synchronization using the representative synchronization signal ... some nodes (which may be an eNB, a UE, and a synchronization reference node (SRN, also referred to as a synchronization source)) may transmit a D2D synchronization signal (D2DSS) and the remaining UEs may transmit and receive signals in synchronization with the D2DSS. (See also Para. [0097, 0101, 0103, 0206 and 0216). Tables 6-7, Para. [0264-0266]-Chae discloses UE Operation in the Case of Three Synchronization Resources ... UE Synchronization State: ... Resource 1 ... Resource 2 ... Resource 3), and
the first terminal switching to a second synchronization state (Table 6, Para. [0265]- Chae discloses UE is OoC, synchronized to InCUE with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS_netPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 2} ... UE is OoC, synchronized to OoC UE with SS_net with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS oonPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 1}. Para. [0086]-Chae discloses individual D2D UE acquires synchronization {corresponding to performing synchronization operation in order to switch to a new synchronization state} by transmitting and receiving a synchronization signal directly, ... In a distributed node system such as a D2D communication system, therefore, a specific node may transmit a representative synchronization signal and the other UEs may acquire synchronization using the representative synchronization signal ... some nodes (which may be an eNB, a UE, and a synchronization reference node (SRN, also referred to as a synchronization source)) may transmit a D2D synchronization signal (D2DSS) and the remaining UEs may transmit and receive signals in synchronization with the D2DSS. (See also Para. [0097, 0101, 0103, 0206 and 0216). Tables 6-7, Para. [0264-0266]-Chae discloses UE Operation in the Case of Three Synchronization Resources ... UE Synchronization State: ... Resource 1 ... Resource 2 ... Resource 3).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 1 and the terminal according to claim 16 respectively,
Chae further teaches the receiving the first synchronization signaling transmitted by the at least one second terminal comprises: receiving the first synchronization signaling carried on a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (Para. [0086]-Chae discloses node may transmit a representative synchronization signal and the other UEs may acquire synchronization using the representative synchronization signal ... some nodes (which may be an eNB, a UE, and a synchronization reference node (SRN, also referred to as a synchronization source)) may transmit a D2D synchronization signal (D2DSS) and the remaining UEs may transmit and receive signals in synchronization with the D2DSS. Tables 6-7, Para. [0264-0266]-Chae discloses UE Operation in the Case of Three Synchronization Resources. Para. [0092-0093]-Chae discloses resource pool can be classified into various types … The D2D data channel (or, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) corresponds to a resource pool used by a transmission UE to transmit user data … the D2D data channel or the discovery signal can be classified into a different resource pool according to a transmission timing determination scheme (e.g., whether a D2D signal is transmitted at the time of receiving a synchronization reference signal or the timing to which a prescribed timing advance is added) of a D2D signal).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 2 and the terminal according to claim 19 respectively,
Chae further teaches receiving first indication information carried on a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) (Tables 6-7, Para. [0264-0266]-Chae discloses UE Operation in the Case of Three Synchronization Resources. Para. [0092]-Chae discloses resource pool can be classified into various types. First of all, the resource pool can be classified according to contents of a D2D signal transmitted via each resource pool. For example, the contents of the D2D signal can be classified into various signals and a separate resource pool can be configured according to each of the contents. The contents of the D2D signal may include a scheduling assignment (SA) … The SA signal can also be referred to as a D2D control channel or a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)),
the first indication information is used to indicate whether the first synchronization signaling is carried on the PSSCH (Para. [0129]-Chae discloses the network may indicate per-carrier synchronization priorities to a UE by a physical-layer signal or a higher-layer signal. Para. [0092]-Chae discloses resource pool {Synchronization signal resource pool} can be classified according to contents of a D2D signal transmitted via each resource pool ... The contents of the D2D signal may include a scheduling assignment (SA) … The SA signal can also be referred to as a D2D control channel or a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). Para. [0214]-Chae discloses signaling information indicating the type/frequency requirement/frequency synchronization priority of the UE on an additional physical channel (e.g., a PSBCH or any other channel) by the UE ... a receiving UE detects a plurality of types of SLSSs/D2D signals, the receiving UE is frequency-synchronized with a D2D signal of a UE having a higher priority for corresponding information).
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 2 and the terminal according to claim 19 respectively,
Chae further teaches the performing, by the first terminal, the synchronization operation in accordance with the first synchronization signaling and the first terminal switching to the second synchronization state comprises: when received power of the at least one PSSCH carrying the first synchronization signaling is greater than or equal to a first threshold value, performing, by the first terminal, the synchronization operation, and the first terminal switching to the second synchronization state (Para. [0220]-Chae discloses UE having a good GPS measurement quality transmits an SLSS with higher power, and a UE having a poor GPS measurement quality transmits an SLSS with lower power. If a GPS measurement quality is equal to or lower than a predetermined threshold, an SLSS may not be transmitted in an extreme case ... controlling SLSS transmission power according to a synchronization error. For example, a UE having or expected to have a large synchronization error transmits an SLSS with low power, and a UE having or expected to have a small synchronization error transmits an SLSS with high power. For example, a UE receiving a GPS signal directly transmits an SLSS with high power, expecting a small synchronization error, whereas a UE that fails to receive a GPS signal directly or is synchronized with an SS of an eNB transmits an SLSS with low transmission power, expecting a large synchronization error. More specifically, SLSS transmission power may be determined by Min(P0,Pmax-alpha*(measurement error)) being a modification to the above method. All or a part of P0, Pmax, and alpha may be preset or signaled by a physical-layer signal or a higher-layer signal by the network).
Regarding claim 5, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 1,
Chae further teaches in the case that the first terminal is in an out-of-synchronization state, receiving second synchronization signaling that is carried on a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH) (Para. [0153]-Chae discloses priority between the SLSS and an existing SLSS may be preset or indicated by signaling of the eNB. The priorities of the SLSSs may be signaled on a PSBCH so that the priorities may be transmitted even to out-of-coverage UEs. Para. [0247]-Chae discloses in the case of out-coverage, the LTE Release 12/13 SLSS/PSBCH transmission requirements may be reused. Further, if a UE has a GNSS timing with sufficient reliability, the UE may always transmit an SLSS/PSBCH) and
transmitted by at least one third terminal (Para. [0247]-Chae discloses in the case of out-coverage, the LTE Release 12/13 SLSS/PSBCH transmission requirements may be reused. Further, if a UE has a GNSS timing with sufficient reliability, the UE may always transmit an SLSS/PSBCH), and
the first terminal switching to the first synchronization state or maintaining in the out-of-synchronization state (Table 6, Para. [0265]- Chae discloses UE is OoC, synchronized to InCUE with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS_netPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 2} ... UE is OoC, synchronized to OoC UE with SS_net with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS oonPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 1}).
Regarding claim 6, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 1,
Chae further teaches in the case that the first terminal is in the second synchronization state, determining that a first part of a synchronization level of the first terminal is a first value (Para. [0238]- Chae discloses applying different priority levels to synchronization sources, and thus selecting different synchronization sources (the GNSS and the eNB) in FIG. 11. Since UE B has received the PSBCH related to PLMN B, UE B may determine that priority levels indicated by the PSBCH are not valid and thus may not apply the priority levels. Then, UE B may receive the PSBCH related to PLMN A to which UE B belongs and apply priority levels indicated by the PSBCH in selecting a synchronization source, thereby acquiring the same synchronization source as UE A. (See also Para. [0123]). Tables 1-8, Para. [0147]-Chae discloses a PSBCH field may be set differently according to a priority option. In Option 2, UE G-1 and UE N-1 have the same priority. In this case, if coverage indicator=1 for UE G-1, UE N-1 and UE G-1 may be SFNed. If different types of SSs are SFNed, each UE does not need to perform separate measurements for synchronization measurements, thereby simplifying UE implementation. [Table 5] below lists SLSS ID and PSBCH settings in each option of [Table 4]. Para. [0175]-Chae discloses the network may signal to the P-UE a window value w indicating that the SLSS is transmitted within +/−w from the SLSS transmission offset in order to reduce the search complexity of the P-UE).
Regarding claim 7, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 6,
Chae further teaches in the case that a synchronization source of the first terminal is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signal (Para. [0012]- Chae discloses the UE receives an SLSS for which the GNSS is a synchronization source. Fig. 11, Para. [0238]- Chae discloses applying different priority levels to synchronization sources, and thus selecting different synchronization sources (the GNSS and the eNB)),
determining that a second part of the synchronization level of the first terminal is a second value; and/or in the case that a value of a second part of a synchronization level carried in the first synchronization signaling transmitted by the synchronization source of the first terminal is n, determining that the second part of the synchronization level of the first terminal is n+1, where n≥0 and n is an integer (Para. [0238]- Chae discloses applying different priority levels to synchronization sources, and thus selecting different synchronization sources (the GNSS and the eNB) in FIG. 11. Since UE B has received the PSBCH related to PLMN B, UE B may determine that priority levels indicated by the PSBCH are not valid and thus may not apply the priority levels. Then, UE B may receive the PSBCH related to PLMN A to which UE B belongs and apply priority levels indicated by the PSBCH in selecting a synchronization source, thereby acquiring the same synchronization source as UE A. (See also Para. [0123]). Tables 1-8, Para. [0147]-Chae discloses a PSBCH field may be set differently according to a priority option. In Option 2, UE G-1 and UE N-1 have the same priority. In this case, if coverage indicator=1 for UE G-1, UE N-1 and UE G-1 may be SFNed. If different types of SSs are SFNed, each UE does not need to perform separate measurements for synchronization measurements, thereby simplifying UE implementation. [Table 5] below lists SLSS ID and PSBCH settings in each option of [Table 4]. Para. [0175]-Chae discloses the network may signal to the P-UE a window value w indicating that the SLSS is transmitted within +/−w from the SLSS transmission offset in order to reduce the search complexity of the P-UE).
Regarding claim 8, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 1,
Chae further teaches in the case that the first terminal is in the second synchronization state, receiving the first synchronization signaling carried on at least one PSSCH (Para. [0086]-Chae discloses node may transmit a representative synchronization signal and the other UEs may acquire synchronization using the representative synchronization signal ... some nodes (which may be an eNB, a UE, and a synchronization reference node (SRN, also referred to as a synchronization source)) may transmit a D2D synchronization signal (D2DSS) and the remaining UEs may transmit and receive signals in synchronization with the D2DSS. Tables 6-7, Para. [0264-0266]-Chae discloses UE Operation in the Case of Three Synchronization Resources. Para. [0092-0093]-Chae discloses resource pool can be classified into various types … The D2D data channel (or, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) corresponds to a resource pool used by a transmission UE to transmit user data … the D2D data channel or the discovery signal can be classified into a different resource pool according to a transmission timing determination scheme (e.g., whether a D2D signal is transmitted at the time of receiving a synchronization reference signal or the timing to which a prescribed timing advance is added) of a D2D signal);
performing, by the first terminal, the synchronization operation in accordance with the first synchronization signaling carried on the PSSCH (Tables 6-7, Para. [0264-0266]-Chae discloses UE Operation in the Case of Three Synchronization Resources. Para. [0092-0093]-Chae discloses resource pool can be classified into various types … The D2D data channel (or, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) corresponds to a resource pool used by a transmission UE to transmit user data … the D2D data channel or the discovery signal can be classified into a different resource pool according to a transmission timing determination scheme (e.g., whether a D2D signal is transmitted at the time of receiving a synchronization reference signal or the timing to which a prescribed timing advance is added) of a D2D signal. Para. [0086]-Chae discloses node may transmit a representative synchronization signal and the other UEs may acquire synchronization using the representative synchronization signal),
received power of the at least one PSSCH is greater than or equal to a second threshold value (Para. [0220]-Chae discloses UE having a good GPS measurement quality transmits an SLSS with higher power, and a UE having a poor GPS measurement quality transmits an SLSS with lower power. If a GPS measurement quality is equal to or lower than a predetermined threshold, an SLSS may not be transmitted in an extreme case ... controlling SLSS transmission power according to a synchronization error. For example, a UE having or expected to have a large synchronization error transmits an SLSS with low power, and a UE having or expected to have a small synchronization error transmits an SLSS with high power. For example, a UE receiving a GPS signal directly transmits an SLSS with high power, expecting a small synchronization error, whereas a UE that fails to receive a GPS signal directly or is synchronized with an SS of an eNB transmits an SLSS with low transmission power, expecting a large synchronization error. More specifically, SLSS transmission power may be determined by Min(P0,Pmax-alpha*(measurement error)) being a modification to the above method. All or a part of P0, Pmax, and alpha may be preset or signaled by a physical-layer signal or a higher-layer signal by the network).
Regarding claim 9, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 1 or 8claim 1,
Chae further teaches the first synchronization signaling comprises at least one of: a first part of a synchronization level; a second part of the synchronization level; a Sidelink radio frame number; a sidelink subframe number; a Universal Time Coordinated (UTC); a first timing offset, the first timing offset being a timing offset of a terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling relative to a reference time; an Identity (ID) of the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling; a first timing adjustment value, the first timing adjustment value being an adjustment value when synchronization is performed between the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling and a synchronization source of the terminal; or a second timing offset and an ID of a terminal corresponding to the second timing offset, the second timing offset being a timing offset of the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling relative to another terminal (Para. [0250]-Chae discloses the eNB configures additional synchronization resources, ..., all timing offsets are configured with respect to SFN 0. If the eNB has a GNSS reception capability, a subframe number (SFN) is aligned with a D2D frame number (DFN), and thus the eNB may configure an additional synchronization resource with respect to SFN 0. If the eNB does not have the GNSS reception capability, an SLSS timing misalignment occurs between cells. Since synchronization resources for the SLSS-based GNSS is for a GNSS cell, a reference timing should be relative to DFN 0).
Regarding claim 10, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 9,
Chae further teaches the performing, by the first terminal, the synchronization operation comprises: determining, in accordance with the received first synchronization signaling, a third timing offset of the first terminal relative to the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling (Para. [0250]-Chae discloses all timing offsets are configured with respect to SFN 0. Para. [0181]-Chae discloses the existence of the V-UE is indicated to the P-UE by transmitting an SLSS based on the cellular timing, and then a timing offset for transmission of the V-UE is transmitted on a PSBCH or another sidelink channel so that the P-UE may determine a position at which the V-UE transmits a packet);
determining the second timing adjustment value of the first terminal when the first synchronization signaling is being received (Fig. 11, Para. [0236]-Chae discloses UE A and UE B, which are synchronized to the GNSS and the eNB, respectively, have as much a synchronization difference as the timing difference between the GNSS and the eNB. Para. [0126]-Chae discloses the eNB timing is used for a carrier in which the eNB is deployed, and the GNSS timing is used for a carrier in which the eNB is not deployed (in a carrier aggregation situation), thereby causing a timing difference between the two carriers ... in order to reduce a transmission power mismatch in a subframe caused by the timing difference, the transmission power should be reduced);
determining, in accordance with the second timing offset, the first timing adjustment value, the second timing adjustment value and the third timing offset, an real timing offset of the first terminal relative to the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling (Para. [0260]-Chae discloses the network may signal a timing offset between the SFN and the DFN by a physical layer signal or a higher layer signal. The SFN may be based on the transmission time of the eNB, and may be determined by an average SFN boundary of a UE within a cell. Para. [0181]-Chae discloses the existence of the V-UE is indicated to the P-UE by transmitting an SLSS based on the cellular timing, and then a timing offset for transmission of the V-UE is transmitted on a PSBCH or another sidelink channel so that the P-UE may determine a position at which the V-UE transmits a packet. Para. [0250]-Chae discloses all timing offsets are configured with respect to SFN 0. If the eNB has a GNSS reception capability, a subframe number (SFN) is aligned with a D2D frame number (DFN), and thus the eNB may configure an additional synchronization resource with respect to SFN 0. Fig. 11, Para. [0236]-Chae discloses UE A and UE B, which are synchronized to the GNSS and the eNB, respectively, have as much a synchronization difference as the timing difference between the GNSS and the eNB. Para. [0244]-Chae discloses it may be determined whether to transmit an SLSS according to a GNSS reception quality. This is to determine whether to transmit the SLSS on the basis of not a GLSS lost time but a timing error ... The timing error used to determine whether to transmit the SLSS may be preset or signaled by a physical layer signal or a higher layer signal by the network);
performing, by the first terminal, the synchronization operation in accordance with the real timing offset (Fig. 11, Para. [0236]-Chae discloses UE A and UE B, which are synchronized to the GNSS and the eNB, respectively, have as much a synchronization difference as the timing difference between the GNSS and the eNB. Para. [0260]-Chae discloses the network may signal a timing offset between the SFN and the DFN by a physical layer signal or a higher layer signal. The SFN may be based on the transmission time of the eNB, and may be determined by an average SFN boundary of a UE within a cell. Para. [0181]-Chae discloses the existence of the V-UE is indicated to the P-UE by transmitting an SLSS based on the cellular timing, and then a timing offset for transmission of the V-UE is transmitted on a PSBCH or another sidelink channel so that the P-UE may determine a position at which the V-UE transmits a packet. Para. [0250]-Chae discloses all timing offsets are configured with respect to SFN 0. If the eNB has a GNSS reception capability, a subframe number (SFN) is aligned with a D2D frame number (DFN), and thus the eNB may configure an additional synchronization resource with respect to SFN 0).
Regarding claim 12, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 9,
Chae further teaches the performing, by the first terminal, the synchronization operation comprises: determining, in accordance with the received first synchronization signaling, a third timing offset of the first terminal relative to the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling (Para. [0260]-Chae discloses the network may signal a timing offset between the SFN and the DFN by a physical layer signal or a higher layer signal. The SFN may be based on the transmission time of the eNB, and may be determined by an average SFN boundary of a UE within a cell. Para. [0181]-Chae discloses the existence of the V-UE is indicated to the P-UE by transmitting an SLSS based on the cellular timing, and then a timing offset for transmission of the V-UE is transmitted on a PSBCH or another sidelink channel so that the P-UE may determine a position at which the V-UE transmits a packet. Para. [0250]-Chae discloses all timing offsets are configured with respect to SFN 0. If the eNB has a GNSS reception capability, a subframe number (SFN) is aligned with a D2D frame number (DFN), and thus the eNB may configure an additional synchronization resource with respect to SFN 0);
obtaining the first timing offset and the first timing adjustment value in the first synchronization signaling (Fig. 11, Para. [0236]-Chae discloses UE A and UE B, which are synchronized to the GNSS and the eNB, respectively, have as much a synchronization difference as the timing difference between the GNSS and the eNB. Para. [0126]-Chae discloses the eNB timing is used for a carrier in which the eNB is deployed, and the GNSS timing is used for a carrier in which the eNB is not deployed (in a carrier aggregation situation), thereby causing a timing difference between the two carriers ... in order to reduce a transmission power mismatch in a subframe caused by the timing difference, the transmission power should be reduced. Para. [0260]-Chae discloses the network may signal a timing offset between the SFN and the DFN by a physical layer signal or a higher layer signal. The SFN may be based on the transmission time of the eNB, and may be determined by an average SFN boundary of a UE within a cell. Para. [0181]-Chae discloses the existence of the V-UE is indicated to the P-UE by transmitting an SLSS based on the cellular timing, and then a timing offset for transmission of the V-UE is transmitted on a PSBCH or another sidelink channel so that the P-UE may determine a position at which the V-UE transmits a packet. Para. [0250]-Chae discloses all timing offsets are configured with respect to SFN 0. If the eNB has a GNSS reception capability, a subframe number (SFN) is aligned with a D2D frame number (DFN), and thus the eNB may configure an additional synchronization resource with respect to SFN 0);
determining an offset of the first terminal relative to the reference time in accordance with the third timing offset, the first timing offset and the first timing adjustment value (Fig. 11, Para. [0236]-Chae discloses UE A and UE B, which are synchronized to the GNSS and the eNB, respectively, have as much a synchronization difference as the timing difference between the GNSS and the eNB. Para. [0126]-Chae discloses the eNB timing is used for a carrier in which the eNB is deployed, and the GNSS timing is used for a carrier in which the eNB is not deployed (in a carrier aggregation situation), thereby causing a timing difference between the two carriers ... in order to reduce a transmission power mismatch in a subframe caused by the timing difference, the transmission power should be reduced. Para. [0260]-Chae discloses the network may signal a timing offset between the SFN and the DFN by a physical layer signal or a higher layer signal. The SFN may be based on the transmission time of the eNB, and may be determined by an average SFN boundary of a UE within a cell. Para. [0181]-Chae discloses the existence of the V-UE is indicated to the P-UE by transmitting an SLSS based on the cellular timing, and then a timing offset for transmission of the V-UE is transmitted on a PSBCH or another sidelink channel so that the P-UE may determine a position at which the V-UE transmits a packet. Para. [0250]-Chae discloses all timing offsets are configured with respect to SFN 0. If the eNB has a GNSS reception capability, a subframe number (SFN) is aligned with a D2D frame number (DFN), and thus the eNB may configure an additional synchronization resource with respect to SFN 0);
performing, by the first terminal, the synchronization operation in accordance with the offset of the first terminal relative to the reference time (Fig. 11, Para. [0236]-Chae discloses UE A and UE B, which are synchronized to the GNSS and the eNB, respectively, have as much a synchronization difference as the timing difference between the GNSS and the eNB. Para. [0260]-Chae discloses the network may signal a timing offset between the SFN and the DFN by a physical layer signal or a higher layer signal. The SFN may be based on the transmission time of the eNB, and may be determined by an average SFN boundary of a UE within a cell. Para. [0181]-Chae discloses the existence of the V-UE is indicated to the P-UE by transmitting an SLSS based on the cellular timing, and then a timing offset for transmission of the V-UE is transmitted on a PSBCH or another sidelink channel so that the P-UE may determine a position at which the V-UE transmits a packet. Para. [0250]-Chae discloses all timing offsets are configured with respect to SFN 0. If the eNB has a GNSS reception capability, a subframe number (SFN) is aligned with a D2D frame number (DFN), and thus the eNB may configure an additional synchronization resource with respect to SFN 0).
Regarding claim 13, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 1,
Chae further teaches in the case that the first terminal is in the second synchronization state and a first condition has been met, performing, by the first terminal, the synchronization operation (Para. [0086]-Chae discloses individual D2D UE acquires synchronization {corresponding to performing synchronization operation in order to switch to a new synchronization state} by transmitting and receiving a synchronization signal directly, ... In a distributed node system such as a D2D communication system, therefore, a specific node may transmit a representative synchronization signal and the other UEs may acquire synchronization using the representative synchronization signal ... some nodes (which may be an eNB, a UE, and a synchronization reference node (SRN, also referred to as a synchronization source)) may transmit a D2D synchronization signal (D2DSS) and the remaining UEs may transmit and receive signals in synchronization with the D2DSS. (See also Para. [0097, 0101, 0103, 0206 and 0216). Tables 6-7, Para. [0264-0266]-Chae discloses UE Operation in the Case of Three Synchronization Resources ... UE Synchronization State: ... Resource 1 ... Resource 2 ... Resource 3), and
the first terminal switching to the first synchronization state (Table 6, Para. [0265]- Chae discloses UE is OoC, synchronized to InCUE with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS_netPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 2} ... UE is OoC, synchronized to OoC UE with SS_net with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS oonPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 1}. Para. [0086]-Chae discloses individual D2D UE acquires synchronization {corresponding to performing synchronization operation in order to switch to a new synchronization state} by transmitting and receiving a synchronization signal directly, ... In a distributed node system such as a D2D communication system, therefore, a specific node may transmit a representative synchronization signal and the other UEs may acquire synchronization using the representative synchronization signal ... some nodes (which may be an eNB, a UE, and a synchronization reference node (SRN, also referred to as a synchronization source)) may transmit a D2D synchronization signal (D2DSS) and the remaining UEs may transmit and receive signals in synchronization with the D2DSS. (See also Para. [0097, 0101, 0103, 0206 and 0216). Tables 6-7, Para. [0264-0266]-Chae discloses UE Operation in the Case of Three Synchronization Resources ... UE Synchronization State: ... Resource 1 ... Resource 2 ... Resource 3),
the first condition comprises: that a GNSS signal fails to be received within a first time period (Para. [0130-0133]- Chae discloses if the UE fails to receive the signaling, the UE may follow the out-of-coverage prioritization, which may be preset … if the eNB of another specific carrier fails to receive a GNSS signal, a D2D subframe may not be used at a UTC timing based on the GNSS. Generally, if the eNB fails to use the D2D subframe configured at the GNSS-based UTC timing, the eNB may signal an offset between the timing used by the eNB and the UTC timing to a UE by a physical-layer signal or a higher-layer signal);
that the first synchronization signaling carried on a PSSCH fails to be received within a second time period (Para. [0130]- Chae discloses if the UE fails to receive the signaling, the UE may follow the out-of-coverage prioritization, which may be preset. Tables 6-7, Para. [0264-0266]-Chae discloses UE Operation in the Case of Three Synchronization Resources. Para. [0092-0093]-Chae discloses resource pool can be classified into various types … The D2D data channel (or, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) corresponds to a resource pool used by a transmission UE to transmit user data … the D2D data channel or the discovery signal can be classified into a different resource pool according to a transmission timing determination scheme (e.g., whether a D2D signal is transmitted at the time of receiving a synchronization reference signal or the timing to which a prescribed timing advance is added) of a D2D signal);
that the second synchronization signaling carried on at least one PSBCH is received within a third time period (Para. [0247]-Chae discloses in the case of out-coverage, the LTE Release 12/13 SLSS/PSBCH transmission requirements may be reused. Further, if a UE has a GNSS timing with sufficient reliability, the UE may always transmit an SLSS/PSBCH), and
received power of the at least one PSBCH is greater than or equal to a third threshold value (Para. [0247]-Chae discloses in the case of out-coverage, the LTE Release 12/13 SLSS/PSBCH transmission requirements may be reused. Further, if a UE has a GNSS timing with sufficient reliability, the UE may always transmit an SLSS/PSBCH. Para. [0220]-Chae discloses UE having a good GPS measurement quality transmits an SLSS with higher power, and a UE having a poor GPS measurement quality transmits an SLSS with lower power. If a GPS measurement quality is equal to or lower than a predetermined threshold, an SLSS may not be transmitted in an extreme case ... controlling SLSS transmission power according to a synchronization error. For example, a UE having or expected to have a large synchronization error transmits an SLSS with low power, and a UE having or expected to have a small synchronization error transmits an SLSS with high power. For example, a UE receiving a GPS signal directly transmits an SLSS with high power, expecting a small synchronization error, whereas a UE that fails to receive a GPS signal directly or is synchronized with an SS of an eNB transmits an SLSS with low transmission power, expecting a large synchronization error. More specifically, SLSS transmission power may be determined by Min(P0,Pmax-alpha*(measurement error)) being a modification to the above method. All or a part of P0, Pmax, and alpha may be preset or signaled by a physical-layer signal or a higher-layer signal by the network).
Regarding claim 14, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 1,
Chae further teaches in the case that the first terminal is in the first synchronization state or the second synchronization state, a GNSS signal fails to be received within a fourth time period (Para. [0130-0133]- Chae discloses if the UE fails to receive the signaling, the UE may follow the out-of-coverage prioritization, which may be preset … if the eNB of another specific carrier fails to receive a GNSS signal, a D2D subframe may not be used at a UTC timing based on the GNSS. Generally, if the eNB fails to use the D2D subframe configured at the GNSS-based UTC timing, the eNB may signal an offset between the timing used by the eNB and the UTC timing to a UE by a physical-layer signal or a higher-layer signal),
the first synchronization signaling carried on a PSSCH fails to be received within a fifth time period (Para. [0130]- Chae discloses if the UE fails to receive the signaling, the UE may follow the out-of-coverage prioritization, which may be preset. Tables 6-7, Para. [0264-0266]-Chae discloses UE Operation in the Case of Three Synchronization Resources. Para. [0092-0093]-Chae discloses resource pool can be classified into various types … The D2D data channel (or, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) corresponds to a resource pool used by a transmission UE to transmit user data … the D2D data channel or the discovery signal can be classified into a different resource pool according to a transmission timing determination scheme (e.g., whether a D2D signal is transmitted at the time of receiving a synchronization reference signal or the timing to which a prescribed timing advance is added) of a D2D signal), and
the second synchronization signaling carried on a PSBCH fails to be received within a sixth time period (Para. [0130-0133]- Chae discloses if the UE fails to receive the signaling, the UE may follow the out-of-coverage prioritization, which may be preset … if the eNB of another specific carrier fails to receive a GNSS signal, a D2D subframe may not be used at a UTC timing based on the GNSS. Generally, if the eNB fails to use the D2D subframe configured at the GNSS-based UTC timing, the eNB may signal an offset between the timing used by the eNB and the UTC timing to a UE by a physical-layer signal or a higher-layer signal. Para. [0247]-Chae discloses in the case of out-coverage, the LTE Release 12/13 SLSS/PSBCH transmission requirements may be reused),
the first terminal switches to an out-of-synchronization state (Table 8, Para. [0271]- Chae discloses Resource 1: PSBCH (except DFN) from Sync Ref, SLSSID from Sync Ref + 168, InC bit + 0. -For UE OoC sync to UE OoC. Table 6, Para. [0265]- Chae discloses UE is OoC, synchronized to InCUE with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS_netPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 2} ... UE is OoC, synchronized to OoC UE with SS_net with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS oonPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 1}. Para. [0143]- Chae discloses the network may prioritize eNB-based synchronization and GNSS-based synchronization. Even though the network assigns a higher priority to the eNB-based synchronization than the GNSS-based synchronization, if the UE is out of coverage, the prioritization of the eNB may be nullified).
Regarding claim 15, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 1,
Chae further teaches in the case that the first terminal is in an out-of-synchronization state or the first synchronization state, and a GNSS signal has been received (Para. [0012]- Chae discloses UE receives an SLSS for which the GNSS is a synchronization source. Table 8, Para. [0271]- Chae discloses Resource 1: PSBCH (except DFN) from Sync Ref, SLSSID from Sync Ref + 168, InC bit + 0. -For UE OoC sync to UE OoC. Table 6, Para. [0265]- Chae discloses UE is OoC, synchronized to InCUE with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS_netPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 2} ... UE is OoC, synchronized to OoC UE with SS_net with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS oonPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 1}. Para. [0143]- Chae discloses the network may prioritize eNB-based synchronization and GNSS-based synchronization. Even though the network assigns a higher priority to the eNB-based synchronization than the GNSS-based synchronization, if the UE is out of coverage, the prioritization of the eNB may be nullified),
performing, by the first terminal, synchronization with the GNSS signal, and the first terminal switching to the second synchronization state; or in the case that the first terminal is in the second synchronization state, and the GNSS signal has been received, performing, by the first terminal, synchronization with the GNSS signal (Table 8, Para. [0271]- Chae discloses Resource 1: PSBCH (except DFN) from Sync Ref, SLSSID from Sync Ref + 168, InC bit + 0. -For UE OoC sync to UE OoC. Table 6, Para. [0265]- Chae discloses UE is OoC, synchronized to InCUE with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS_netPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 2} ... UE is OoC, synchronized to OoC UE with SS_net with/without GNSS {UE Synchronization State Switching} ... SS from SS oonPSBCH with InC_flag-0 {using Resource 1}. Para. [0143]- Chae discloses the network may prioritize eNB-based synchronization and GNSS-based synchronization. Even though the network assigns a higher priority to the eNB-based synchronization than the GNSS-based synchronization, if the UE is out of coverage, the prioritization of the eNB may be nullified).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHAE et al. (US 20190098589 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chae, in view of Guangcai ZHOU (US 20130101007 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhou.
Regarding claim 11, Chae teaches the synchronization method according to claim 10,
Chae fails to teach calculating the real timing offset of the first terminal relative to the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling through a formula Rtxy =
.
However, Zhou teaches the determining, in accordance with the second timing offset, the first timing adjustment value, the second timing adjustment value and the third timing offset, the real timing offset of the first terminal relative to the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling comprises: calculating the real timing offset of the first terminal relative to the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling through a formula Rtxy =
where x represents the first terminal, y represents the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling, Rtxy represents the real timing offset of the first terminal relative to the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling, Tayx represents the second timing offset, Taxy represents the third timing offset, Tdx represents the second adjustment value, Tdy represents the first timing adjustment value, ∆tyx represents a timing measurement error of the terminal transmitting the first synchronization signaling, and
∆txy represents a timing measurement error of the first terminal (Equations 9-11, Table 1, Para. [0044-0045]-Zhou discloses a solution ({circumflex over (.tau.)}.sub.k, .phi..sub.k) is found using a least mean square method such that (.theta..sub.1.sup.k, . . . , .theta..sub.k.sup.k) and (.phi..sub.k+2.pi.f.sub.1{circumflex over (.tau.)}.sub.k, . . . , .phi..sub.k+2.pi.f.sub.K{circumflex over (.tau.)}.sub.K) have the least mean square error, where .tau..sub.k is the real timing offset
).
Chae and Zhou are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with signaling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Chae to incorporate the teachings of Zhou on real time offset, with a motivation to calculate real time offset, and guarantee receiving a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, (Chae, Para. [0008]).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Wu et al. (US 20200245341 A1)-discloses transmitting a direct link synchronization signal for wireless communications. A user equipment (UE) may determine a synchronization signal priority level. The UE may determine a number of resources in a synchronization signal period on which to transmit a direct link synchronization signal block from the UE based on the synchronization signal priority level. The UE may transmit the direct link synchronization signal block on the number of resources…. …Fig. 1-5
Park et al. (US 20230137050 A1)-discloses apparatus, methods, processing systems, and computer readable mediums for synchronizing a UE's timing for sidelink communications with one or more other UEs. The techniques may be used, for example, in NR V2X systems to maintain sidelink timing synchronization when a UE is outside the coverage area of a synchronization source such as a global navigation satellite system (GNSS)…. …Fig. 1-5
Park_K et al. (US 20220224438 A1)-discloses wireless device receives, from a base station, configuration parameters for a resource allocation mode 1 of a sidelink bearer between the first wireless device and a second wireless device. The first wireless device receives, from the base station, at least one parameter indicating the sidelink bearer to transition from the resource allocation mode 1 to a resource allocation mode 2. The first wireless device transmits, to the second wireless device, transport blocks via the sidelink bearer based on the resource allocation mode 2.… …Fig. 1-5
Park_Kyungmin et al. (US 20220167315 A1)-discloses first wireless device receives, from a second wireless device, at least one parameter indicating assistance information for time domain resource allocation for a sidelink between the first wireless device and the second wireless device. The first wireless device transmits, to a base station, a message comprising the at least one parameter…. …Fig. 1-5
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472