Response to Argument
Foreign Priority
The certified copy of English translation of foreign priority was submitted. Consequently, the rejection below is based on the effective filing date of 07/16/2021.
Rejection under 103
Applicant’s arguments: On page 8 of Remarks, Applicant argues that LG does not teach the limitation of claim 1 as recited “A method
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. It is important to note the rejection of Claim 1 and the rest of claims must take into account the combination of Fujitsu, Cai, and Shen as presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujitsu, "Considerations on
partial sensing and DRX in NRX Sidelink," 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #105-e,R1-2105066, May 2021,
18 pages, (hereafter “Fujitsu”) in view of Cai et al. (US 2023/0371005 A1)(hereafter “Cai”)
in further view of Shen (CN 111556590 A).
Regarding claim 1, A method comprising: a first user equipment (UE) obtaining information related to a resource pool;
Fujitsu, page 11, Section 3.2 [0002]; For a SL communication scenario, if SL DRX is operated on a Rx UE
and the SL DRX configuration can be obtained by the corresponding Tx UE, it may also have some
impacts on the resource selection procedure of the corresponding Tx UE, regardless of whether Tx UE
is performing full sensing or partial sensing.
The first UE determining an inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to a second UE;
Fujitsu, page 11, Section 3.2 [0002]; Thus, when a Tx UE performs resource selection, it should take
the Rx UE's SL DRX configuration into account and make sure that the selected resource(s) are within
the SL DRX active time of the RX UE. Meanwhile, if SL DRX is configured for Rx UE(s), the selection
window of the Tx UE needs to be kept within the active time, or at least needs to be partially
overlapped with the active time.
The first UE triggering resource selection for an initial resource and at least one retransmission resource, in the resource pool;
Fujitsu, Fig. 10, page 12, [0003]; In Figure 10 for showing option A, the selection windows of initial transmission and retransmission in the Tx UE are same and should be fully or partially aligned with the DRX On-Duration of the Rx UE depending on the packet arrival time.
The first UE determining a resource selection window for the resource selection;
Fujitsu, Fig. 10, page 12, [0003]; In Figure 10 for showing option A, the selection windows of initial transmission and retransmission (a resource selection window for the resource selection) in the Tx UE are same.
The first UE measuring channel busy ratio (CBR) for the resource pool;
Fujitsu, Proposal 1, page 4 : When performing periodic-based partial sensing, UE (first UE) should
determine the minimum value of "Y'' based on the priority and/or CBR value, from a range of values
(pre)configured in a resource pool.
Fujitsu does not teach the first UE determining a number of resources to be included within a time interval related to an active time, included in the inter-UE DRX configuration is running, and selecting the initial transmission and the at least one retransmission in the resource selection window, based on the number of the resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is running.
Cai teaches The first UE determining a number of resources to be included within a time interval related to an active time, included in the inter-UE DRX configuration is running.
Cai [0249] To ensure that the first terminal can select, from the one or more sidelink resources, the sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time (SL DRX) of the second terminal, and ensure reliability of sending data by the first terminal to the second terminal, in this embodiment of this application, a quantity of sidelink resources, located in a first time period, in the one or more sidelink resources is greater than or equal to a first threshold. A start moment of the first time period is a start moment corresponding to a candidate resource set, or a start moment of the first time period is a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time or is later than a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time. An end moment of the first time period is end time of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time.
and the first UE selecting the initial resources and the at least one retransmission resource in the resource selection window, based on the number of the resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is running.
Cai [0346] (2) The selected initial transmission resource is in the currently determined SL DRX-active time, and if the retransmission resource needs to be selected, the selected retransmission resource is in the currently determined sidelink discontinuous reception-active time or possible sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, where the possible sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is determined based on a resource before the resource.
Cai [0317]; Therefore, it can be ensured that a specific quantity of resources are available in the discontinuous reception-active time for the MAC entity to select a sidelink resource for initially transmitting the data and that a specific quantity of resources are available in the resource selection window for the MAC entity to select a sidelink resource for retransmitting the data.
Cai [0249] To ensure that the first terminal can select, from the one or more sidelink resources, the sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal, and ensure reliability of sending data by the first terminal to the second terminal, in this embodiment of this application, a quantity of sidelink resources, located in a first time period, in the one or more sidelink resources is greater than or equal to a first threshold. A start moment of the first time period is a start moment corresponding to a candidate resource set, or a start moment of the first time period is a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time or is later than a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time. An end moment of the first time period is end time of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time.
In view of Cai , Fujitsu is modified such that a number of resources to be included within the active time
included in the inter-UE DRX configuration is running based on the CBR; and selecting the initial resource and the at least one retransmission in the resource selection window, based on the number of the resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is running.
Fujitsu and Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, selecting initial and transmission resources in sidelink transmissions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in the manner described above to select the resources during the active to avoid a data transmission failure and wasting power consumption caused when the first terminal sends the data (Cai [0008]).
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does
not teach the first timer.
Shen teaches the first timer.
Shen, page 8, [0006]; Specifically, the side link sends the UE continuously activating timer, namely
the first timer, when the sending terminal satisfies the second setting condition of the continuous SL
communication activation state, starting the timer, the terminal in the Active state of
the SL DRX mechanism in the time period.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the first timer is related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the first
timer to measure the time related to the active time to measure the length of the active time during the
transmission.
Regarding claim 2, Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the limitation of claim 1 as describe above. Cai teaches The method of claim 1, wherein a resource which is not a resource to be included within the time interval related to an active time is running, among the initial resource and the at least one retransmission resource is selected from a future active time interval.
Cai, Fig. 20 [0379] As shown in FIG. 20, for example, the initial transmission sidelink resource indicated
by the initial transmission grant selected by the terminal is not in the SL DRX-active time of DES 1, but
the retransmission sidelink resource indicated by the retransmission grant selected by the terminal is
in the SL DRX-active time of DES 1. Although the terminal does not transmit the data by using the
initial transmission grant, the terminal may transmit the data by using the retransmission grant.
[0390]; If neither a sidelink resource for initial transmission (an initial transmission SL grant) nor a
sidelink resource for retransmission (for example, a sidelink resource indicated by a retransmission SL
grant) is in the SL DRX-active time of the second terminal, resource selection/reselection is triggered.
Cai [0158] Specifically, to ensure quality of the sidelink resource for the sidelink service data sent by
the terminal 100, and avoid a resource collision caused by random selection of the sidelink resource
by a plurality of terminals from the resource pool when the terminal 100 autonomously selects the
sidelink resource, that is, avoid communication quality reduction caused by occupation of the
resource selected by the terminal 100 by a plurality of other terminals, the terminal 100 may predict
usage of the sidelink resource in a future time period 1 through listening, and use the usage of the
sidelink resource in the time period 1 as a listening result.
Cai [0287] As shown in FIG. 10, in the slot n, the drx-onDurationTimer-SL (DRX on duration timer-SL) of
the second terminal is running, and the drx-InactivityTimer-SL (DRX inactivity timer-SL) is also running.
A time period 1 is running time determined when the drx-InactivityTimer-SL is in the slot n.
Cai [0288] As shown in FIG. 11, in the slot n, the drx-onDurationTimer-SL is running (future active
time), and the drx-InactivityTimer-SL is also running.
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does
not teach the first timer. Shen teaches the first timer.
Shen, page 8, [0006]; Specifically, the side link sends the UE continuously activating timer, namely
the first timer, when the sending terminal satisfies the second setting condition of the continuous SL
communication activation state, starting the timer, the terminal in the Active state of
the SL DRX mechanism in the time period.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the first timer is related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the first
time to measure the time related to the active time to measure the length of the active time during the
transmission.
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 2, wherein the future active time interval includes a time interval timer related to an active time is to operate, based on an inter-UE transmission performed based on the initial resource or the at least one retransmission resource.
Fujitsu, page 12, Proposal 14, Fig. 9, When a Tx UE performs resource selection and SL DRX
configuration of the Rx UE is known, the Tx UE may only need to limit the very initial transmission
(based on initial transmission) within the current SL DRX active time of the Rx UE (related to an active
time). The subsequent (re)transmissions' occasions can be determined as additional active time
(future active time) of the Rx UE and then the reception of these (re)transmissions (or at least one re-
transmission) can be achieved, based on the "reservation chain''.
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to future active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it
does not teach the second timer.
Shen teaches the second timer.
Shen, page 8, [0008]; the side link receives the UE continuously activating timer, namely the second timer, when the receiving terminal receives the PSCCH (Physical sidelink share channel, physical side link shared channel) indicates the new transmission and or retransmission, starting the timing, in the time period, the terminal is in the Active state; and when receiving the new PSCCH indicating the new transmission and/or retransmission in the time, restarting the timer.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the second timer is related to the future active time.
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the second
timer to measure the time related to the active time in the future active time to measure the length of
the active time during the transmission.
Regarding claim 4, Fujitsu in view of Cai in further vie view of Shen teaches all limitation of claim 2. The method of claim 2, wherein the future active time interval is a time interval related to an active time is to operate, based on an inter-UE transmission performed based on the initial resource or the at least one retransmission resource, excluding the time interval related to an active time is running.
Fujitsu, page 12, Proposal 14, Fig. 9, When a Tx UE performs resource selection and SL DRX
configuration of the Rx UE is known, the Tx UE may only need to limit the very initial transmission
within the current SL DRX active time of the Rx UE. The subsequent (re)transmissions' occasions can
be determined as additional active time (future active time) of the Rx UE and then the reception of
these (re )transmissions (or at least one re-transmission) can be achieved,
based on the "reservation chain''. ( Fujitsu, Fig. 9 shows the future active time excluded from the first
timer related to an active time is running)
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does
not teach the second timer.
Shen teaches the second timer.
Shen, page 8, [0008]; the side link receives the UE continuously activating timer, namely the second timer, when the receiving terminal receives the PSCCH (Physical sidelink share channel, physical side link shared channel) indicates the new transmission and or retransmission, starting the timing, in the time period, the terminal is in the Active state; and when receiving the new PSCCH indicating the new transmission and/or retransmission in the time, restarting the timer.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the second timer is related to the future active time.
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the second
timer to measure the time related to the active time in the future active time to measure the length of
the active time during the transmission.
Regarding claim 5, Fujitsu in view of Cai in further vie view of Shen teaches all limitation of claim 1.
Fujitsu in view of Cai further teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the resource selection is related to
a transmission of a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU).
Cai [0160]; If the MAC entity selects to create selected SL grants for transmission of a plurality of
MAC PDUs, the MAC entity selects a sidelink resource A from the group of sidelink resources
provided by the PHY layer.
In view of Cai , Fujitsu is modified such that the resource selection is related to
a transmission of a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU).
Fujitsu and Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, selecting initial and transmission resources in sidelink transmissions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in the manner described above to select the resources during the active to avoid a data transmission failure and wasting power consumption caused when the first terminal sends the data (Cai [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Fujitsu in view of Cai in further vie view of Shen teaches all limitation of claim 5. The
method of claim 5, wherein determining the number of resources to be included within the time interval
related to an active time is running includes: adjusting the number of resources to be included within
the time interval related to an active time is running,
Cai [0249] To ensure that the first terminal can select, from the one or more sidelink resources, the
sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal,
and ensure reliability of sending data by the first terminal to the second terminal, in this embodiment
of this application, a quantity of sidelink resources, located in a first time period, in the one or more
sidelink resources is greater than or equal to a first threshold.
based on packet delay budget (PDB) related to the MAC PDU being less than or equal to a threshold
value.
Cai [0335] For example, if the remaining packet delay budget is less than the first value, or the
remaining packet delay budget is less than the remaining retransmission time, the MAC entity
provides the minimum value in the remaining PDB and the retransmission end time for the physical
layer.
Cai [0234] When in an SL DRX activated state, a terminal device of a receiver listens to or receives a PSCCH, a PSSCH, SCI, or a MAC PDU in an SL DRX active period.
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does
not teach the first timer.
Shen teaches the first timer.
Shen, page 8, [0006]; Specifically, the side link sends the UE continuously activating timer, namely
the first timer, when the sending terminal satisfies the second setting condition of the continuous SL
communication activation state, starting the timer, the terminal in the Active state of
the SL DRX mechanism in the time period.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the first timer is related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the first
timer to measure the time related to the active time to measure the length of the active time during the
transmission.
Regarding claim 7, Fujitsu in view of Cai in further vie view of Shen teaches all limitation of claim 5.The
method of claim 5, wherein determining the number of resources to be included
within the time related to an active time is running includes:
adjusting the number of resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is
running, based on a priority related to the MAC PDU.
Cai [0249] To ensure that the first terminal can select, from the one or more sidelink resources, the sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal, and ensure reliability of sending data by the first terminal to the second terminal, in this embodiment of this application, a quantity of sidelink resources, located in a first time period, in the one or more sidelink resources is greater than or equal to a first threshold.
Cai [0239] In an example, when there are a plurality of sidelink resources located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal, the first terminal may determine the first sidelink resource based on priorities of the plurality of sidelink resources. For example, a sidelink resource with a highest priority in the plurality of sidelink resources located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is determined as the first sidelink resource. Certainly, the first terminal may alternatively randomly select one sidelink resource from the plurality of sidelink resources located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, and determine the sidelink resource as the first sidelink resource. This is not limited in this embodiment of this application.
Cai [0162] The sidelink process is assoCaited with a HARQ buffer. If the sidelink HARQ entity requires a new transmission, the sidelink process stores a MAC PDU in the assoCaited HARQ buffer, stores an SL grant, and generates a transmission.
Cai [0163] That the sidelink HARQ entity obtains a to-be-sent MAC PDU from a multiplexing and assembly entity specifically includes: Then, the multiplexing and assembly entity selects a logical channel that belongs to the destination. The multiplexing and assembly entity allocates a resource to the selected logical channel. The rule for selecting the destination is that a priority of at least one of the logical channel (logical channel, LCH) and a medium access control (medium access control, MAC) control element (control element, CE) of the destination is highest in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet a condition. There may be one or more LCHs for each destination, and each LCH has a corresponding priority (priority). The MAC CE also has a corresponding priority.
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does
not teach the first timer.
Shen teaches the first timer.
Shen, page 8, [0006]; Specifically, the side link sends the UE continuously activating timer, namely
the first timer, when the sending terminal satisfies the second setting condition of the continuous SL
communication activation state, starting the timer, the terminal in the Active state of
the SL DRX mechanism in the time period.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the first timer is related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the first
timer to measure the time related to the active time to measure the length of the active time during the
transmission.
Regarding claim 8, Fujitsu in view of Cai in further vie view of Shen teaches all limitation of claim 5.
Fujitsu teaches The method of claim 5, wherein minimum transmission distance related to the MAC
PDU.
Fujitsu, page 4, [0001]; Furthermore, when PSFCH (related to MAC PDU) is configured for the resource
pool, a P-UE should also ensure the HARQ RTT related minimum time gap between any two selected
resources of a TB. This timing restriction may have some impacts on the candidate slots determined in
the partial sensing procedure. As illustrated in Figure 1, the P-UE selects 9 consecutive slots as its
candidate slots. Since a HARQ RTT minimum time gap needs to be guaranteed for HARQACK feedback,
some slots (the slots colored as yellow) arc not usable. In this case, the actual number of candidate
slots is reduced to nearly half in comparison with the original determined number. This results in the
number of candidate resources to be limited to a half, accordingly, after the step-1 in the resource
selection procedure. As a result, the reliability performance may be degraded due to the limited
number of candidate resources. A simple solution to address this issue is to determine a set of
candidate slots for each transmission opportunity, with a minimum time gap preserved between any
two sets of candidate slots (minimum transmission distance).
Fujitsu does not teach determining the number of resources to be included
within the time interval related to an active time is running includes:
adjusting the number of resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is
running.
Cai teaches determining the number of resources to be included within the time interval related to an
active time is running includes: adjusting the number of resources to be included within the time
interval related to an active time is running,
Cai [0249] To ensure that the first terminal can select, from the one or more sidelink resources, the sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal, and ensure reliability of sending data by the first terminal to the second terminal, in this embodiment of this application, a quantity of sidelink resources, located in a first time period, in the one or more sidelink resources is greater than or equal to a first threshold.
Cai [0239] In an example, when there are a plurality of sidelink resources located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal, the first terminal may determine the first sidelink resource based on priorities of the plurality of sidelink resources. For example, a sidelink resource with a highest priority in the plurality of sidelink resources located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is determined as the first sidelink resource. Certainly, the first terminal may alternatively randomly select one sidelink resource from the plurality of sidelink resources located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, and determine the sidelink resource as the first sidelink resource. This is not limited in this embodiment of this application.
, related to the MAC PDU.
Cai [0162] The sidelink process is assoCaited with a HARQ buffer. If the sidelink HARQ entity requires a new transmission, the sidelink process stores a MAC PDU in the assoCaited HARQ buffer, stores an SL grant, and generates a transmission.
Cai [0163] That the sidelink HARQ entity obtains a to-be-sent MAC PDU from a multiplexing and assembly entity specifically includes: Then, the multiplexing and assembly entity selects a logical channel that belongs to the destination. The multiplexing and assembly entity allocates a resource to the selected logical channel. The rule for selecting the destination is that a priority of at least one of the logical channel (logical channel, LCH) and a medium access control (medium access control, MAC) control element (control element, CE) of the destination is highest in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet a condition. There may be one or more LCHs for each destination, and each LCH has a corresponding priority (priority). The MAC CE also has a corresponding priority.
In view of Cai, Fujitsu is modified such that determining the number of resources to be included
within the time interval related to an active time is running includes the minimum distance related to
MAC PDU.
Fujitsu and Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, determining the selection window of resources.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in the manner described above to select the resources during the active to avoid a data transmission failure and wasting power consumption caused when the first terminal sends the data (Cai [0008]).
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does
not teach the first timer.
Shen teaches the first timer.
Shen, page 8, [0006]; Specifically, the side link sends the UE continuously activating timer, namely
the first timer, when the sending terminal satisfies the second setting condition of the continuous SL
communication activation state, starting the timer, the terminal in the Active state of
the SL DRX mechanism in the time period.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the first timer is related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the first
timer to measure the time related to the active time to measure the length of the active time during the
transmission.
Regarding claim 9, Fujitsu in view of Cai in further vie view of Shen teaches all limitation of claim 1. The
method of claim 1, wherein the time related to an active time is an inter-UE DRX on-duration time.
Cai [0209] SL DRX-active time includes running time of the drx-onDurationTimer-SL (DRX on
duration timer-SL).
While Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does not teach the first
timer. Shen teaches the first timer.
Shen, page 8, [0006]; Specifically, the side link sends the UE continuously activating timer, namely
the first timer, when the sending terminal satisfies the second setting condition of the continuous SL
communication activation state, starting the timer, the terminal in the Active state of
the SL DRX mechanism in the time period.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the first timer is related to an active time is an inter-UE on-duration
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of the inter-UE DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the first
timer to measure the time related to the active time to measure the length of the active time during the
transmission.
Regarding claim 10, The method of claim 9, wherein the ratio of a length of the resource selection
window to a length of an interval by which the inter-UE DRX on-duration time runs.( Fujitsu, Fig. 11
shows the ration of the length of selection window to a length of on duration by an example B-1
where selection window is fully aligned with On duration and example B-2 where selection window is
partially aligned with On duration).
Fujitsu does not teach determining the number of resources to be
included within the time interval related to an active time is running includes: adjusting the number of
resources to be included within the related to an active time is running.
Cai teaches determining the number of resources to be
included within the time interval related to an active time is running includes: adjusting the number of
resources to be included within the related to an active time is running.
Cai [0249] To ensure that the first terminal can select, from the one or more sidelink resources, the sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal, and ensure reliability of sending data by the first terminal to the second terminal, in this embodiment of this application, a quantity of sidelink resources, located in a first time period, in the one or more sidelink resources is greater than or equal to a first threshold.
In view of Cai, Fujitsu is modified such that determining the number of resources to be included
within the time interval related to an active time is running.
Fujitsu and Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, determining the selection window of resources.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in the manner described above to select the resources during the active to avoid a data transmission failure and wasting power consumption caused when the first terminal sends the data (Cai [0008]).
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does
not teach the first timer.
Shen teaches the first timer.
Shen, page 8, [0006]; Specifically, the side link sends the UE continuously activating timer, namely
the first timer, when the sending terminal satisfies the second setting condition of the continuous SL
communication activation state, starting the timer, the terminal in the Active state of
the SL DRX mechanism in the time period.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the first timer is related to an active time is an inter-UE DRX on-duration
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of CAIin the manner described above to include the first
timer to measure the time related to the active time to measure the length of the active time during the
transmission.
Regarding claim 11, Fujitsu in view of Cai in further vie view of Shen teaches all limitation of claim 9. The method of claim 9, wherein at least one resource is selected from the interval by which the inter-UE DRX on-duration timer runs by the number of resources to be included within the time interval during which the inter-UE DRX on-duration timer is running,
Cai [0346]; (2) The selected initial transmission resource is in the currently determined SL DRX-active time, and if the retransmission resource needs to be selected, the selected retransmission resource is in the currently determined sidelink discontinuous reception-active time or possible sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, where the possible sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is determined based on a resource before the resource.
[0356] In this application, a DRX state/active time/timer running state or the like of the destination may be understood as a DRX state/active time/timer running state maintained by the first terminal for the destination. Further, the DRX parameter/state/active time/timer running state or the like of the destination may be a DRX parameter/state/active time/timer running state of a source and the destination pair.
and wherein a resource which is not the at least one resource selected from the time interval during which the SL DRX on-duration timer is running, among the initial transmission resource and the at least one retransmission resource is selected from a future active time interval.
Cai [0379] As shown in FIG. 20, for example, the initial transmission sidelink resource indicated by the
initial transmission grant selected by the terminal is not in the SL DRX-active time of DES 1, but
the retransmission sidelink resource indicated by the retransmission grant selected by the terminal is
in the SL DRX-active time of DES 1. Although the terminal does not transmit the data by using the
initial transmission grant, the terminal may transmit the data by using the retransmission grant.
[0390]; If neither a sidelink resource for initial transmission (an initial transmission SL grant) nor a
sidelink resource for retransmission (for example, a sidelink resource indicated by a retransmission SL
grant) is in the SL DRX-active time of the second terminal, resource selection/reselection is triggered.
Cai [0158] Specifically, to ensure quality of the sidelink resource for the sidelink service data sent by
the terminal 100, and avoid a resource collision caused by random selection of the sidelink resource
by a plurality of terminals from the resource pool when the terminal 100 autonomously selects the
sidelink resource, that is, avoid communication quality reduction caused by occupation of the
resource selected by the terminal 100 by a plurality of other terminals, the terminal 100 may predict
usage of the sidelink resource in a future time period 1 through listening, and use the usage of the
sidelink resource in the time period 1 as a listening result.
Cai [0287] As shown in FIG. 10, in the slot n, the drx-onDurationTimer-SL (DRX on duration timer-SL) of
the second terminal is running, and the drx-InactivityTimer-SL (DRX inactivity timer-SL) is also running.
A time period 1 is running time determined when the drx-InactivityTimer-SL is in the slot n.
Cai [0288] As shown in FIG. 11, in the slot n, the drx-onDurationTimer-SL is running (future active
time), and the drx-InactivityTimer-SL is also running.
In view of Cai, Fujitsu is modified such that wherein a resource which is not the at least one resource selected from the time interval during which the SL DRX on-duration timer is running, among the initial transmission resource and the at least one retransmission resource is selected from a future active time interval.
Fujitsu and Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, determining the selection window of resources.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in the manner described above to select the resources during the active to avoid a data transmission failure and wasting power consumption caused when the first terminal sends the data (Cai [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, The method of claim 11, wherein the future active time interval includes a time interval timer related to an active time is to operate, based on an inter-UE transmission performed based on the initial resource or the at least one retransmission resource.
Fujitsu, page 12, Proposal 14, Fig. 9, When a Tx UE performs resource selection and SL DRX
configuration of the Rx UE is known, the Tx UE may only need to limit the very initial transmission
(based on initial resource) within the current SL DRX active time of the Rx UE (related to an active
time). The subsequent (re)transmissions' occasions can be determined as additional active time
(future active time) of the Rx UE and then the reception of these (re)transmissions (or at least one re-
transmission) can be achieved, based on the "reservation chain''.
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to future active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it
does not teach the second timer.
Shen teaches the second timer.
Shen, page 8, [0008]; the side link receives the UE continuously activating timer, namely the second timer, when the receiving terminal receives the PSCCH (Physical sidelink share channel, physical side link shared channel) indicates the new transmission and or retransmission, starting the timing, in the time period, the terminal is in the Active state; and when receiving the new PSCCH indicating the new transmission and/or retransmission in the time, restarting the timer.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the second timer is related to the future active time.
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the second
timer to measure the time related to the active time in the future active time to measure the length of
the active time during the transmission.
Regarding claim 13, Fujitsu in view of Cai in further vie view of Shen teaches all limitation of claim 11. The method of claim 2, wherein the future active time interval is a time interval related to an active time is to operate, based on an inter-UE transmission performed based on the initial transmission resource or the at least one retransmission resource, excluding the time interval related to an active time is running.
Fujitsu, page 12, Proposal 14, Fig. 9, When a Tx UE performs resource selection and SL DRX
configuration of the Rx UE is known, the Tx UE may only need to limit the very initial transmission
within the current SL DRX active time of the Rx UE. The subsequent (re)transmissions' occasions can
be determined as additional active time (future active time) of the Rx UE and then the reception of
these (re )transmissions (or at least one re-transmission) can be achieved,
based on the "reservation chain''. ( Fujitsu, Fig. 9 shows the future active time excluded from the first
timer related to an active time is running)
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does
not teach the second timer.
Shen teaches the second timer.
Shen, page 8, [0008]; the side link receives the UE continuously activating timer, namely the second timer, when the receiving terminal receives the PSCCH (Physical sidelink share channel, physical side link shared channel) indicates the new transmission and or retransmission, starting the timing, in the time period, the terminal is in the Active state; and when receiving the new PSCCH indicating the new transmission and/or retransmission in the time, restarting the timer.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the second timer is related to the future active time.
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the second
timer to measure the time related to the active time in the future active time to measure the length of
the active time during the transmission.
Regarding claim 14, A first user equipment (UE) (Fujitsu, page 11, Section 3.2, Tx UE) for performing
wireless communication, the first UE comprising:
obtain information related to a resource pool;
Fujitsu, page 11, Section 3.2 [0002]; For a SL communication scenario, if SL DRX is operated on a Rx UE
and the SL DRX configuration can be obtained by the corresponding Tx UE, it may also have some
impacts on the resource selection procedure of the corresponding Tx UE, regardless of whether Tx UE
is performing full sensing or partial sensing.
determine an inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to a second UE;
Fujitsu, page 11, Section 3.2 [0002]; Thus, when a Tx UE performs resource selection, it should take
the Rx UE's SL DRX configuration into account and make sure that the selected resource(s) are within
the SL DRX active time of the RX UE. Meanwhile, if SL DRX is configured for Rx UE(s), the selection
window of the Tx UE needs to be kept within the active time, or at least needs to be partially
overlapped with the active time.
trigger resource selection for an initial resource and at least one retransmission resource, in the resource pool;
Fujitsu, Fig. 10, page 12, [0003]; In Figure 10 for showing option A, the selection windows of initial transmission and retransmission in the Tx UE are same and should be fully or partially aligned with the DRX On-Duration of the Rx UE depending on the packet arrival time.
determine a resource selection window for the resource selection;
Fujitsu, Fig. 10, page 12, [0003]; In Figure 10 for showing option A, the selection windows of initial transmission and retransmission (a resource selection window for the resource selection) in the Tx UE are same.
measure channel busy ratio (CBR) for the resource pool;
Fujitsu, Proposal 1, page 4 : When performing periodic-based partial sensing, UE (first UE) should
determine the minimum value of "Y'' based on the priority and/or CBR value, from a range of values
(pre)configured in a resource pool.
Fujitsu does not teach device comprising: one or more processors; one or more transceivers; and one or more memories connected to the one or more processors and storing instructions, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by causefirst UE
determine a number of resources to be included within a time interval related to an active time, included in the inter-UE DRX configuration is running, and select the initial transmission and the at least one retransmission in the resource selection window, based on the number of the resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is running.
Cai teaches the device (Cai, fig. 22, 2210) comprising: one or more processors (Cai, fig. 22, Ref. 2210); one or more transceivers (Cai, Fig. 21, Ref. 2213) ; and one or more memories(Cai, Fig. 22, Ref. 2240) connected to the one or more processors and storing instructions, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by causefirst UE
determine a number of resources to be included within a time interval related to an active time, included in the inter-UE DRX configuration is running.
Cai [0249] To ensure that the first terminal can select, from the one or more sidelink resources, the sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time (SL DRX) of the second terminal, and ensure reliability of sending data by the first terminal to the second terminal, in this embodiment of this application, a quantity of sidelink resources, located in a first time period, in the one or more sidelink resources is greater than or equal to a first threshold. A start moment of the first time period is a start moment corresponding to a candidate resource set, or a start moment of the first time period is a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time or is later than a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time. An end moment of the first time period is end time of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time.
and the select the initial resource and the at least one retransmission resource in the resource selection window, based on the number of the resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is running.
Cai [0346] (2) The selected initial transmission resource is in the currently determined SL DRX-active time, and if the retransmission resource needs to be selected, the selected retransmission resource is in the currently determined sidelink discontinuous reception-active time or possible sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, where the possible sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is determined based on a resource before the resource.
Cai [0317]; Therefore, it can be ensured that a specific quantity of resources are available in the discontinuous reception-active time for the MAC entity to select a sidelink resource for initially transmitting the data and that a specific quantity of resources are available in the resource selection window for the MAC entity to select a sidelink resource for retransmitting the data.
Cai [0249] To ensure that the first terminal can select, from the one or more sidelink resources, the sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal, and ensure reliability of sending data by the first terminal to the second terminal, in this embodiment of this application, a quantity of sidelink resources, located in a first time period, in the one or more sidelink resources is greater than or equal to a first threshold. A start moment of the first time period is a start moment corresponding to a candidate resource set, or a start moment of the first time period is a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time or is later than a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time. An end moment of the first time period is end time of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time.
In view of Cai , Fujitsu is modified such that a number of resources to be included within the active time
included in the inter-UE DRX configuration is running based on the CBR; and selecting the initial resource and the at least one retransmission in the resource selection window, based on the number of the resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is running.
Fujitsu and Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, selecting initial and transmission resources in sidelink transmissions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in the manner described above to select the resources during the active to avoid a data transmission failure and wasting power consumption caused when the first terminal sends the data (Cai [0008]).
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does
not teach the first timer.
Shen teaches the first timer.
Shen, page 8, [0006]; Specifically, the side link sends the UE continuously activating timer, namely
the first timer, when the sending terminal satisfies the second setting condition of the continuous SL
communication activation state, starting the timer, the terminal in the Active state of
the SL DRX mechanism in the time period.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the first timer is related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the first
timer to measure the time related to the active time to measure the length of the active time during the
transmission.
Regarding claim 15, A device adapted to control a first user equipment (UE) (Fujitsu, page
11, Section 3.2, Tx UE), the device comprising:
to obtain information related to a resource pool;
Fujitsu, page 11, Section 3.2 [0002]; For a SL communication scenario, if SL DRX is operated on a Rx UE
and the SL DRX configuration can be obtained by the corresponding Tx UE, it may also have some
impacts on the resource selection procedure of the corresponding Tx UE, regardless of whether Tx UE
is performing full sensing or partial sensing.
obtain a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to a second device;
Fujitsu, page 11, Section 3.2 [0002]; For a SL communication scenario, if SL DRX is operated on a Rx UE
(second device) and the SL DRX configuration can be obtained by the corresponding Tx UE (first
device),
trigger resource selection for an initial resource and at least one retransmission resource, in the resource pool;
Fujitsu, Fig. 10, page 12, [0003]; In Figure 10 for showing option A, the selection windows of initial transmission and retransmission in the Tx UE are same and should be fully or partially aligned with the DRX On-Duration of the Rx UE depending on the packet arrival time.
determine a resource selection window for the resource selection;
Fujitsu, Fig. 10, page 12, [0003]; In Figure 10 for showing option A, the selection windows of initial transmission and retransmission (a resource selection window for the resource selection) in the Tx UE are same.
Measure channel busy ratio (CBR) for the resource pool;
Fujitsu, Proposal 1, page 4 : When performing periodic-based partial sensing, UE should determine the
minimum value of "Y'' based on the priority and/or CBR value, from a range of values (pre)configured
in a resource pool.
Fujitsu does not teach A processing device adapted to control a first user equipment (UE), the processing device comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories connected operably connectable to the one or more processors and storing instructions, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by the one or more processors, cause execute the first UE instructions to: determine a number of resources to be included within a time interval related to an active time, included in the inter-UE DRX configuration is running, and select the initial transmission and the at least one retransmission in the resource selection window, based on the number of the resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is running.
Cai teaches a processing device adapted to control a first user equipment (UE) (Cai, fig. 22, 2210), the processing device comprising: one or more processors (Cai, fig. 22, Ref. 2210); and one or more memories(Cai, Fig. 22, Ref. 2240) connected operably connectable to the one or more processors and storing instructions, wherein the instructions, based on being executed by causefirst UE
determine a number of resources to be included within a time interval related to an active time, included in the inter-UE DRX configuration is running.
Cai [0249] To ensure that the first terminal can select, from the one or more sidelink resources, the sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time (SL DRX) of the second terminal, and ensure reliability of sending data by the first terminal to the second terminal, in this embodiment of this application, a quantity of sidelink resources, located in a first time period, in the one or more sidelink resources is greater than or equal to a first threshold. A start moment of the first time period is a start moment corresponding to a candidate resource set, or a start moment of the first time period is a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time or is later than a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time. An end moment of the first time period is end time of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time.
and the select the initial resource and the at least one retransmission resource in the resource selection window, based on the number of the resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is running.
Cai [0346] (2) The selected initial transmission resource is in the currently determined SL DRX-active time, and if the retransmission resource needs to be selected, the selected retransmission resource is in the currently determined sidelink discontinuous reception-active time or possible sidelink discontinuous reception-active time, where the possible sidelink discontinuous reception-active time is determined based on a resource before the resource.
Cai [0317]; Therefore, it can be ensured that a specific quantity of resources are available in the discontinuous reception-active time for the MAC entity to select a sidelink resource for initially transmitting the data and that a specific quantity of resources are available in the resource selection window for the MAC entity to select a sidelink resource for retransmitting the data.
Cai [0249] To ensure that the first terminal can select, from the one or more sidelink resources, the sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal, and ensure reliability of sending data by the first terminal to the second terminal, in this embodiment of this application, a quantity of sidelink resources, located in a first time period, in the one or more sidelink resources is greater than or equal to a first threshold. A start moment of the first time period is a start moment corresponding to a candidate resource set, or a start moment of the first time period is a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time or is later than a start moment of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time. An end moment of the first time period is end time of the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time.
In view of Cai , Fujitsu is modified such that a number of resources to be included within the active time
included in the inter-UE DRX configuration is running based on the CBR; and selecting the initial resource and the at least one retransmission in the resource selection window, based on the number of the resources to be included within the time interval related to an active time is running.
Fujitsu and Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, selecting initial and transmission resources in sidelink transmissions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in the manner described above to select the resources during the active to avoid a data transmission failure and wasting power consumption caused when the first terminal sends the data (Cai [0008]).
While Fujitsu in view of Cai teaches the time related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration, it does
not teach the first timer.
Shen teaches the first timer.
Shen, page 8, [0006]; Specifically, the side link sends the UE continuously activating timer, namely
the first timer, when the sending terminal satisfies the second setting condition of the continuous SL
communication activation state, starting the timer, the terminal in the Active state of
the SL DRX mechanism in the time period.
In view of Shen, Fujitsu in view of Cai is modified such that the first timer is related to an active time is an SL DRX on-duration
Shen and Fujitsu in view of Cai are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication in active state of SL- DRX.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Fujitsu in view of Cai in the manner described above to include the first
timer to measure the time related to the active time to measure the length of the active time during the
transmission.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478