DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pabari et al. (“Orbital altitude dust at Mars, its implication and a prototype for its detection”).
Regarding claim 1, Pabari et al. disclose an ionized material sample collection device comprising: one or a plurality of container's main bodies that each has a surrounding wall and a bottom wall and has a sample entrance in an upper portion of the surrounding wall (see Fig. 7a; see page 69, section 3, first paragraph going to page 70, detector is a box like structure); a sample impact target that is formed in the bottom portion of each of the container's main bodies (see Fig. 7a, target on bottom of container labeled); and one or more ionized material collection zones that are formed on at least one of the inner surfaces and the bottom surface of the surrounding wall of each of the container's main bodies (Id., electron collector and positive ion collector are labeled and shown on inner surfaces of surrounding wall of container).
Regarding claim 2, Pabari et al. disclose that a plurality of the ionized material collection zones are formed on at least one of the inner surfaces and the bottom surface of the surrounding wall (see Fig. 7a, electron collector and positive ion collector each formed on inner surfaces of surrounding wall), and each of the plurality of ionized material collection zones is an ionized material collection zone which has an affinity for a different element (electron collector has affinity for different elements than positive ion collector).
Regarding claim 3, Pabari et al. disclose that the ionized material collection zone is an ionized material collection zone in which ionized materials generated from particles that have impacted with the sample impact target at a hypervelocity are deposited (see page 72, section 4, “hyper velocity dust particle makes an impact… impact plasma is generated”; see also page 70, first full sentence, “high voltage….to collect electrons and ions generated from the hyper velocity dust impact”).
Regarding claim 9, Pabari et al. disclose that the sample impact target is constituted of an uneven surface (see Fig. 3 and page 70 first full paragraph, impacts create craters in target surface thus resulting in the target having an uneven surface).
Regarding claim 10, Pabari et al. disclose an ionized material collecting method comprising: mounting the ionized material sample collection device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) in a spacecraft (page 69, top of first column, MODEX prototype is proposed which would be used on a Mars oribiter); causing hypervelocity solid microparticles flying from outer space to rush into the container's main bodies (page 72, section 4);causing a mixture of gas substances and ionized substances originating from the solid microparticles generated due to collision of the solid microparticles that have rushed in with the sample impact target to impact with the ionized material collection zones (see Id. and Fig. 7a impact plasma is generated and electrons and ions are collected on electrode collectors); and depositing the mixture of gas substances and ionized substances originating from the solid microparticles on the ionized material collection zones (Id.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pabari et al. (“Orbital altitude dust at Mars, its implication and a prototype for its detection”).
Regarding claim 6, Pabari et al. do not explicitly disclose what the ionized material collection zone is made of but do teach the zones being negatively and positively charged electrode plates (page 72, section 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the ionized material collection zones of Pabari et al., which are electrodes plates, out of any of various known materials commonly used for electrode plates, including copper or gold. It would have been obvious to have used copper for the plates, because copper is a material known and commonly used for electrodes that provides the advantages of being inexpensive and an excellent conductor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4, Pabari et al. fail to disclose or suggest the ionized material collection zone being an annular ionized material collection zone which has a predetermined width from the bottom wall side to the sample entrance side of the surrounding wall and being formed on the inner surfaces of the surrounding wall or an ionized material collection zone which is formed on the bottom surface, and a plurality of the ionized material collection zones being formed from the bottom surface side toward the sample entrance side.
With regard to claim 5, Pabari et al. fail to disclose or suggest the device comprising a plurality of container's main bodies, wherein each of the ionized material collection zones formed in each container is an ionized material collection zone which has an affinity for a different element.
With regard to claim 7, Pabari et al. fail to disclose or suggest the ionized material collection zone being an annular ionized material collection zone which has a predetermined width from the bottom wall side to the sample entrance side of the surrounding wall and is formed on the inner surfaces of the surrounding wall or an ionized material collection zone which is formed on the bottom surface, and a plurality of the ionized material collection zones being formed from the bottom surface side toward the sample entrance side, and the ionized material collection zone being split into a plurality of split layers in a circumferential direction of the surrounding wall, and each of the plurality of split layers having an affinity for a different element.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fletcher et al. (US 3,916,187) and Jyoti et al. (“Mass Spectrometer Calibration of High Velocity Impact Ionization Based Cosmic Dust Analyzer”) both disclose devices for collecting ions from impact of high velocity particles in a container.
/PAUL M. WEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855