DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 05 January 2026 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-17, 21, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marker (US 2020/0392416) in view of Foody (US 2013/0225885) and Yao (US 2015/0175908).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-17, 21, 29, Marker teaches a process for providing renewable hydrogen 97 sourced from renewable methane produced from a hydro pyrolysis conversion process unit, wherein the feed to the conversion process is a biomass feedstock, wherein the light hydrocarbons are separated from liquid fuel range 61 and 63 (higher carbon number products) and using the renewable hydrogen as a feedstocks to produce fuel [00118-119].
Examiner further considers the Marker process to meet the limitations regarding “renewable hydrogen” and fuel having “renewable content”, as the hydrogen is produced from biomass feedstock.
In this regard, Foody teaches a similar process in which when renewable hydrogen is used to treat a hydrocarbon, the fuel product obtained contains renewable content [0115].
Therefore, it would be expected and alternatively obvious that Marker would produce the claimed fuel having renewable content, since it is produced by the same or similar hydrotreatment with renewable hydrogen.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose that the conversion process converts to liquid hydrocarbons and a low carbon number fraction comprising methane.
However, Yao teaches a process for conversion of bio ethanol by oligomerization, followed by separation to recover a light gas fraction (comprising methane) and a gasoline pool fraction [0047-0049].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the Yao conversion process, in order to produce gasoline and light fractions, as a source of bio renewable methane.
Claims 4-5 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marker (US 2020/0392416) in view of Foody (US 2013/0225885) and Yao (US 2015/0175908) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Urade (US 2017/0009143).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 34, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Marker teaches producing deoxygenated liquid products from the biomass pyrolysis products [0118].
Marker does not explicitly disclose that the high carbon number fraction is the feed to the step the renewable hydrogen is fed to.
However, Urade teaches a similar process for pyrolysis of biomass, followed by deoxygenation [0008-0013]. The deoxygenated products are further sent to hydroprocessing to obtain an upgraded hydrocarbon product stream [0014].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the Urade step to the Marker liquid hydrocarbon products, to obtain a further upgraded product. Further, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the renewable hydrogen produced by Marker/Foody, for the benefit of increasing the renewable content of the fuel produced.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marker (US 2020/0392416) in view of Foody (US 2013/0225885) and Yao (US 2015/0175908) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo (US 2011/0229404)
Regarding claim 5, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose the carbon dioxide sequestration step.
However, Guo teaches a similar process for producing hydrogen from refinery gases. Guo teaches carbon dioxide sequestration is incorporated into the hydrogen production steps in order to avoid emissions into the environment [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the Guo carbon dioxide sequestration step, in order to reduce emissions into the environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05 January 2026 have been fully considered and are addressed by the updated rejections as necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771