DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 14-23 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite “Apparatus of” when it should be “The apparatus of”. Appropriate correction is required. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 13, the claim recites “wherein the bypass module is actuable to move the first and second modules” when it should be “first and second drive and/or servicing modules”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13, recites “the first module” when it should be “the first drive and/or servicing module”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13, recites “the second module” when it should be “the second drive and/or servicing module”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13, 16, 18 and 21-25 recite “the structure” when it should be “the elongate structure”. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claims 16 and 18, “first and second modules” when it should be “first and second drive and/or servicing modules”. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 17, the claim recites “the drive and/or servicing module”. It is unclear to which of the first and second drive and/or servicing modules of claim 13 the limitation refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 19, the claim recites “the respective drive and/or servicing module”. It is unclear to which of the first and second drive and/or servicing modules of claim 13 the limitation refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 21, the claim recites “the or each said drive module”. It is unclear to which of the first and second drive and/or servicing modules of claim 13 the limitation refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 22, the claim recites “the or each said servicing module”. It is unclear to which of the first and second drive and/or servicing modules of claim 13 the limitation refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 23, the claim recites “the second and third modules” when it should be “the second and third drive and/or servicing modules”. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 24, the claim recites “A method of operation of apparatus” when it should be “A method of operation of the apparatus”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 recites “the first module” when it should be “the first drive and/or servicing module”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 recite “the first and third modules” when it should be “the first and third drive and/or servicing modules”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 recites “the second module” when it should be “the second drive and/or servicing module”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 recites “the third module” when it should be “the third drive and/or servicing module”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 recites “(S2)”, “(S3)”, “(S4)” and so on up to “(S11)”. It is unclear what it is meant with this and they should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 25, the claim recites “the first module” when it should be “the first drive and/or servicing module”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 recite “the first and second modules” when it should be “the first and third drive and/or servicing modules”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 recite “the second module” when it should be “the second drive and/or servicing module”. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims are also rejected for depending on a rejected independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Munro et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0208283).
As to Claim 13, Munro discloses an apparatus for servicing an elongate structure (14), comprising a bypass module (46) connected in series along the structure between a first drive module (42) and a second drive and/or servicing module (18), each of which may be selectively closed around the structure or opened to enable removal from the structure (Figures 24 to 28), wherein the bypass module (46) is actuable (Figures 24 to 28 show that bypass module 46 is actuatable to open and close which allows movement of the first and second modules) to move the first (46) and second modules (18) relative to each other in a perpendicular direction (The first, bypass and second modules open and close and the direction each open and close is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the elongate structure) to the elongate structure (14) towards or away from the elongate structure (Figures 24 to 28), so that the second module is moved in the perpendicular direction away from the structure while the first module is closed around the structure (Figure 26) and the first module is drivable (via 24) along the elongate structure (14) so as to drive the second module past an obstruction (Column 7, Lines 16-23: “ The tool can operate on two different pipe diameters at any one time so that it can walk past or clamp onto obstructions such as projections on the pipe”) on the elongate structure (Figures 24 to 28).
As to Claim 14, Munro discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Munro also discloses wherein the bypass module (46) comprises first and/or second mounts (Figure 7) for removable connection respectively to the first and second drive and/or servicing modules.
As to Claim 15, Munro discloses the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Munro also discloses wherein the first and/or second mounts (Figure 7) are movable so as to allow the first and/or second drive and/or servicing modules to open and close (Figures 24 to 28).
As to Claim 16, Munro discloses the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Munro also discloses wherein the first and/or second mounts (Figure 7) are movable linearly to move the first and second modules relative to each other in the direction towards and away from the structure (Figures 24 to 28).
As to Claim 17, Munro discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Munro also discloses wherein at least one of the first and second drive (18) and/or servicing modules has a slotted plate (76) at an end thereof, and the bypass module (46) is removably connected to said slotted plate by one or more block or pin (70) slidably mounted within a corresponding slot (88) in the slotted plate so as to allow the drive and/or servicing module to open and close.
As to Claim 18, Munro discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Munro also discloses wherein the bypass module comprises one or more telescopic rails (32, 34) for moving the first and second modules (42, 18) relative to each other in the direction towards and away from the structure (Figures 24 to 28).
As to Claim 19, Munro discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Munro also discloses wherein said first and second drive (42, 18) and/or servicing modules are each arranged for actuating the opening and/or closing of the respective drive and/or servicing module (Figures 24 to 28).
As to Claim 20, Munro discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Munro also discloses wherein the first and second drive (42, 18) and/or servicing modules each comprise a cage or frame comprising two or more segments or sections (50) moveably or pivotably connected together.
As to Claim 21, Munro discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Munro also discloses wherein the or each said drive module (42, 18) includes one or more rotating members (Members 50 rotate with respect to 48 as per Figures 17 and 19) arranged to contact the elongate structure (14) and drivable so as to drive the drive module along the structure (Figures 24 to 28).
As to Claim 22, Munro discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Munro also discloses wherein the or each said servicing module (42, 18) includes one or more tools (50) for servicing the structure.
As to Claim 25, Munro discloses a method of operation of the apparatus of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion), wherein the first and second drive (42, 18) and/or servicing modules are connected together in series along the structure via the bypass module (46), the first module is adjacent an obstacle (Column 7, Lines 16-23: “ The tool can operate on two different pipe diameters at any one time so that it can walk past or clamp onto obstructions such as projections on the pipe”) on the elongate structure and the first and second modules each comprise a drive module, the method (The method steps are capable of being performed in view of the structure disclosed by Munro) comprising:
Opening the first module (42; Figure 27);
Actuating the bypass module (46) to move the first module away from the structure (Figure 27);
Driving the first module past the obstacle by driving the second module (18; Figure 28);
Actuating the bypass module (46) to move the first module towards the structure (Figure 28);
Closing the first module (42) around the structure (Figure 28);
Opening the second module (Figure 24);
Actuating the bypass module (46) to move the second module (18) away from the structure (Figure 24);
Driving the second module past the obstacle by driving the first module (Figure 30);
Actuating the bypass module to move the second module towards the structure (Figure 30); and
Closing the second module around the structure (Figure 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munro et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0208283) alone.
As to Claim 23, Munro discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Munro also discloses wherein the first and second drive (42, 18) and/or servicing modules are connected together in series along the structure via a first said bypass module (46). However, Munro is silent about a third drive and/or servicing module is connected in series along the structure to the second drive and/or servicing module via a second bypass module actuable to move the second and third modules relative to each other in a perpendicular direction towards or away from the elongate structure. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a third drive and/or servicing module is connected in series along the structure to the second drive and/or servicing module via a second bypass module actuable to move the second and third modules relative to each other in a perpendicular direction towards or away from the elongate structure since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skilled the art. Providing additional drives and bypass modules would be obvious to handle longer elongate structures.
As to Claim 24, Munro as modified teaches a method of operation of the apparatus of Claim 23 (Refer to Claim 23 discussion), wherein the first module (42) is adjacent an obstacle (Column 7, Lines 16-23: “ The tool can operate on two different pipe diameters at any one time so that it can walk past or clamp onto obstructions such as projections on the pipe”) on the elongate structure (14), the first and third modules each comprise at least a drive module and the second module (18) comprises at least a servicing module, the method (The method steps are capable of being performed in view of the structure disclosed by Munro as modified) comprising:
Opening the first and second drive (42, 18) and/or servicing modules (Figures 24 to 28);
Actuating the second bypass module to move the first and second drive (42, 18) and/or servicing modules away from the structure (Figures 24 to 28);
Driving the first and second drive (42, 18) and/or servicing modules past the obstacle by driving the third module (Figures 24 to 28);
Actuating the first bypass module (46) to move the first drive and/or servicing module (42, 18) towards the structure (Figures 24 to 28);
Closing the first drive and/or servicing module (42, 18) around the structure (Figures 24 to 28);
Opening the third drive and/or servicing module (Figures 24 to 28);
Actuating the bypass module (46) to move the third drive and/or servicing module away from the structure (Figures 24 to 28);
Driving the third drive and/or servicing module past the obstacle (Figures 24 to 28);
Actuating the first bypass module (46) to move the second and third drive and/or servicing module towards the structure (Figures 24 to 28); and
Closing the second and third drive and/or servicing module around the structure (Figures 24 to 28).
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678