DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 31-60 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/11/2024 and 6/30/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 31-33, 35-40, 43-47, 49-54, 57-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 20230018795 A1) by Yuan et al. (hereafter referred as Yuan).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 31, Yuan teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see at least ¶ [0275], [0277]; “The apparatus 1202 may be a UE (e.g., UE 120)”), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (see at least ¶ [0275], [0277]; “The components may be one or more hardware components specifically configured to carry out the stated processes/algorithm, implemented by a processor configured to perform the stated processes/algorithm, stored within a computer-readable medium for implementation by a processor, or some combination thereof.”) and configured to:
transmit, to a base station, an uplink (UL) report (see at least ¶ [0190]) associated with a pathloss (PL) reference signal (RS) or one or more beam-specific power control (PC) parameters (see at least ¶ [0191], [0192]; the report includes a virtual power headroom and ¶ [0193]; the PH is calculated based on a PL RS and PC parameters) associated with one or more candidate synchronization signal block (SSB) resource indicators (SSBRIs) or one or more channel state information (CSI) RS resource indicators (CRIs) associated with a candidate pool (see at least ¶ [0194]; (par.[194]: " In some aspects, the current transmission power setting for the transmission via the uplink resource associated with the beam may be based at least in part on a set of power control parameters including pathloss, PO, alpha, a reference target power, and/or the like. In some aspects, the uplink resource configuration may include information relating to a pathloss reference signal, information relating to a power control loop, pO, alpha, or information relating to the beam, and/or the like.”; par.[209]: " the report may include at least one beam identification associated with the one or more beam metric values ... In some aspects, the beam identification may include a spatial reference signal identification (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource ID, a synchronization signal physical broadcast channel identification (SSB ID), and/or the like)"; note that an uplink resource is associated to a beam and a beam is associated to a CSI-RS/SSB ID which correspond to the claimed SSBRI/CRI)), the UL report comprising one or more of:
a virtual power headroom (PHR) report associated with each of the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs, or a layer 1 (L1) channel state information (CSI) report comprising one or more UL metrics (see at least ¶ [0198], [0199], and [0209]; “In some aspects, the report may include at least one beam identification associated with the one or more beam metric values (e.g., a beam identification of each beam associated with the one or more beam metric values. In some aspects, the beam identification may include an uplink beam identification (e.g., an SRS resource indicator (SRI) for a PUSCH resource, a PUCCH spatial relation identification, an SRS spatial relation reference signal (SRS RS), and/or the like). In some aspects, the beam identification may include a spatial reference signal identification (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource ID, a synchronization signal physical broadcast channel identification (SSB ID), and/or the like). In some aspects, the beam identification may include an uplink resource identifier (e.g., a PUCCH resource identification, an SRS resource identification, an SRS resource set identification, and/or the like).”); and
communicate with the base station based on the UL report (see at least Fig. 4 (440) and ¶ [210]-[0212]; transmit a report).
Regarding claim 32, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the virtual PHR report based on the candidate pool is configured via radio resource control (RRC) (see at least ¶ [0265];”… the first set of uplink resources, the second set of uplink resources, and the third set of uplink resources include one or more of an SRS, a PUCCH, a PUSCH, or an RRC configuration”).
Regarding claim 33, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the virtual PHR report and the candidate pool is derived based on one or more RS sets (see at least ¶ [0209]; “In some aspects, the beam identification may include an uplink resource identifier (e.g., a PUCCH resource identification, an SRS resource identification, an SRS resource set identification, and/or the like)”).
Regarding claim 35, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the virtual PHR report that is based on the one or more beam-specific PC parameters associated with the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs, and wherein the one or more beam-specific power control (PC) parameters comprises one or more of: the PL RS, a target received power, a closed-loop index, or a pathloss compensation factor (see at least ¶ [0191]-[0193]; “ In some aspects, a P0 value may represent a target received power, an alpha value may represent a compensation factor in a power control formula, and the pathloss reference signal may indicate an amount of pathloss (e.g., an amount of signal power lost during transmission to the base station)”).
Regarding claim 36, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the virtual PHR report, and the virtual PHR report comprises one or more beam specific maximum permissible exposure (MPE) or power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) associated with the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs (see at least ¶ [0191], [0208]; “[0208] As shown by reference number 440, the UE may transmit a report. In some aspects, the report may be based at least in part on the one or more beam metric values, the identification of the MPE event, and/or the like. In some aspects, the UE may transmit the report in a MAC-CE message, an uplink beam report, and/or the like”).
Regarding claim 37, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the L1 CSI report, and the L1 CSI report comprises K resource indices associated with the one or more UL metrics, K being a positive integer, each of the K resource indices being associated with a SSB or a CSI RS associated with the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs (see at least ¶ [0191], [0196]; where the RSRP corresponds to the metric and at least ¶ [0209]; CSI-RS ID, SSB ID).
Regarding claim 38, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 37.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein each of the K resource indices is one to one mapped to the one or more UL metrics, and wherein the one or more UL metrics comprises:
a maximum permissible exposure (MPE), a UL reference signal received power (RSRP), or the virtual PHR, the virtual PHR being based on a beam specific maximum permissible exposure (MPE), a beam specific power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR), or one or more beam specific PC parameters (see at least ¶ [0191], [0208]; “[0208] As shown by reference number 440, the UE may transmit a report. In some aspects, the report may be based at least in part on the one or more beam metric values, the identification of the MPE event, and/or the like. In some aspects, the UE may transmit the report in a MAC-CE message, an uplink beam report, and/or the like”), and wherein the UL report further comprises a maximum value for K supported by the UE (see at least ¶ [0191], [0196]; where the RSRP corresponds to the metric and at least ¶ [0209]; CSI-RS ID, SSB ID).
Regarding claim 39, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the LI CSI report, the LI CSI report comprising one of:
an aperiodic CSI report, a semi-persistent CSI report, or a periodical CSI report, and wherein the CSI report is carried in physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see at least ¶ [0199]; “… the second set of uplink resources, and/or the third set of uplink resources may include an SRS, a PUCCH, a PUSCH, the uplink resource associated with a CSI-RS, an RRC configuration, and/or the like”).
Regarding claim 40, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein one or more measured SSB or CSI-RS associated with the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs is used as the PL RS (see at least ¶ [0191], [0192]; the report includes a virtual power headroom and ¶ [0193]; the PH is calculated based on a PL RS and PC parameters).
Regarding claim 43, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs are associated with the one or more PC parameters, and wherein the one or more PC parameters comprises one or more of: the PL RS, a target received power, a closed-loop index, or a pathloss compensation factor (see at least ¶ [0191]-[0193]; “ In some aspects, a P0 value may represent a target received power, an alpha value may represent a compensation factor in a power control formula, and the pathloss reference signal may indicate an amount of pathloss (e.g., an amount of signal power lost during transmission to the base station)”).
Regarding claim 44, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
In addition, Yuan teaches further comprising at least one antenna and at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor and the at least one antenna, and wherein the at least one transceiver and the at least one antenna are configured to communicate with the base station based on the UL report (see at least Fig. 4 (440); “Transmit a report”).
Regarding claim 45, Yuan teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at base station (see at least Fig. 4 (gNB) and ¶ [0190]; base station), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (see at least Fig. 4 (gNB) and ¶ [0190]; base station) and configured to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), an uplink (UL) report associated with a pathloss (PL) reference signal (RS) or one or more beam-specific power control (PC) parameters (see at least ¶ [0191], [0192]; the report includes a virtual power headroom and ¶ [0193]; the PH is calculated based on a PL RS and PC parameters)associated with one or more candidate synchronization signal block (SSB) resource indicators (SSBRIs) or one or more channel state information (CSI) RS resource indicators (CRIs) associated with a candidate pool (see at least ¶ [0194]; (par.[194]: " In some aspects, the current transmission power setting for the transmission via the uplink resource associated with the beam may be based at least in part on a set of power control parameters including pathloss, PO, alpha, a reference target power, and/or the like. In some aspects, the uplink resource configuration may include information relating to a pathloss reference signal, information relating to a power control loop, pO, alpha, or information relating to the beam, and/or the like.”; par.[209]: " the report may include at least one beam identification associated with the one or more beam metric values ... In some aspects, the beam identification may include a spatial reference signal identification (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource ID, a synchronization signal physical broadcast channel identification (SSB ID), and/or the like)"; note that an uplink resource is associated to a beam and a beam is associated to a CSI-RS/SSB ID which correspond to the claimed SSBRI/CRI)), the UL report comprising one or more of:
a virtual power headroom (PHR) report associated with each of the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs, or a layer 1 (L1) channel state information (CSI) report comprising one or more UL metrics (see at least ¶ [0198], [0199], and [0209]; “In some aspects, the report may include at least one beam identification associated with the one or more beam metric values (e.g., a beam identification of each beam associated with the one or more beam metric values. In some aspects, the beam identification may include an uplink beam identification (e.g., an SRS resource indicator (SRI) for a PUSCH resource, a PUCCH spatial relation identification, an SRS spatial relation reference signal (SRS RS), and/or the like). In some aspects, the beam identification may include a spatial reference signal identification (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource ID, a synchronization signal physical broadcast channel identification (SSB ID), and/or the like). In some aspects, the beam identification may include an uplink resource identifier (e.g., a PUCCH resource identification, an SRS resource identification, an SRS resource set identification, and/or the like)”); and
communicate with the UE based on the UL report (see at least Fig. 4 (440) and ¶ [210]-[0212]; transmit a report).
Regarding claim 46, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the virtual PHR report based on the candidate pool is configured via radio resource control (RRC) (see at least ¶ [0265];”… the first set of uplink resources, the second set of uplink resources, and the third set of uplink resources include one or more of an SRS, a PUCCH, a PUSCH, or an RRC configuration.”).
Regarding claim 47, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the virtual PHR report and the candidate pool is derived based on one or more RS sets (see at least ¶ [0209]; “In some aspects, the beam identification may include an uplink resource identifier (e.g., a PUCCH resource identification, an SRS resource identification, an SRS resource set identification, and/or the like)”).
Regarding claim 49, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the virtual PHR report that is based on the one or more beam-specific PC parameters associated with the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs, and wherein the one or more beam-specific power control (PC) parameters comprises one or more of: the PL RS, a target received power, a closed-loop index, or a pathloss compensation factor (see at least ¶ [0191]-[0193]; “ In some aspects, a P0 value may represent a target received power, an alpha value may represent a compensation factor in a power control formula, and the pathloss reference signal may indicate an amount of pathloss (e.g., an amount of signal power lost during transmission to the base station)”).
Regarding claim 50, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the virtual PHR report, and the virtual PHR report comprises one or more beam specific maximum permissible exposure (MPE) or power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) associated with the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs (see at least ¶ [0191], [0208]; “[0208] As shown by reference number 440, the UE may transmit a report. In some aspects, the report may be based at least in part on the one or more beam metric values, the identification of the MPE event, and/or the like. In some aspects, the UE may transmit the report in a MAC-CE message, an uplink beam report, and/or the like.”).
Regarding claim 51, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the LI CSI report, and the LI CSI report comprises K resource indices associated with the one or more UL metrics, K being a positive integer, each of the K resource indices being associated with a SSB or a CSI RS associated with the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs (see at least ¶ [0191], [0196]; where the RSRP corresponds to the metric and at least ¶ [0209]; CSI-RS ID, SSB ID).
Regarding claim 52, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 51.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein each of the K resource indices is one to one mapped to the one or more UL metrics, and wherein the one or more UL metrics comprises:
a maximum permissible exposure (MPE), a UL reference signal received power (RSRP), or the virtual PHR, the virtual PHR being based on a beam specific maximum permissible exposure (MPE), a beam specific power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR), or one or more beam specific PC parameters (see at least ¶ [0191], [0208]; “[0208] As shown by reference number 440, the UE may transmit a report. In some aspects, the report may be based at least in part on the one or more beam metric values, the identification of the MPE event, and/or the like. In some aspects, the UE may transmit the report in a MAC-CE message, an uplink beam report, and/or the like.”), and wherein the UL report further comprises a maximum value for K supported by the UE (see at least ¶ [0191], [0196]; where the RSRP corresponds to the metric and at least ¶ [0209]; CSI-RS ID, SSB ID).
Regarding claim 53, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the UL report includes the L1 CSI report, the L1 CSI report comprising one of: an aperiodic CSI report, a semi-persistent CSI report, or a periodical CSI report, and wherein the CSI report is carried in physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see at least ¶ [0199]; “… the second set of uplink resources, and/or the third set of uplink resources may include an SRS, a PUCCH, a PUSCH, the uplink resource associated with a CSI-RS, an RRC configuration, and/or the like.”).
Regarding claim 54, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein one or more measured SSB or CSI-RS associated with the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs is used as the PL RS (see at least ¶ [0191], [0192]; the report includes a virtual power headroom and ¶ [0193]; the PH is calculated based on a PL RS and PC parameters).
Regarding claim 57, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
In addition, Yuan teaches wherein the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs are associated with the one or more PC parameters, and wherein the one or more PC parameters comprises one or more of: the PL RS, a target received power, a closed-loop index, or a pathloss compensation factor (see at least ¶ [0191]-[0193]; “ In some aspects, a P0 value may represent a target received power, an alpha value may represent a compensation factor in a power control formula, and the pathloss reference signal may indicate an amount of pathloss (e.g., an amount of signal power lost during transmission to the base station).”).
Regarding claim 58, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
In addition, Yuan teaches further comprising at least one antenna and at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor and the at least one antenna, and wherein the at least one transceiver and the at least one antenna are configured to communicate with the base station based on the UL report (see at least Fig. 4 (440); “Transmit a report”).
Regarding claim 59, which is the corresponding method of the system as recited in claim 31, the rejection and analysis made for claim 31 also applies for claim 59.
Regarding claim 60, which is the corresponding method of the system as recited in claim 45, the rejection and analysis made for claim 45 also applies for claim 60.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 34, 42, 48, and 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yuan in view of (US 20200100193 A1) by Cheng et al. (hereafter referred to as Cheng).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 34, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 33.
Yuan does not appear to specifically teach wherein the one or more RS sets comprises: one or more SSB resource sets, one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activated state sets, or one or more activated PL RS sets.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheng teaches wherein the one or more RS sets comprises: one or more SSB resource sets, one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activated state sets (see at least ¶ [0056]-[0058]; TCI state), or one or more activated PL RS sets (see at least Fig. 13 (Pathloss RS)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yuan with Cheng in order to provide methods and apparatuses for triggering PHRs in the next generation wireless communication systems (Cheng ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 42, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
Yuan does not appear to specifically teach wherein the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs are associated with a joint or UL unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI), and wherein the PL RS is associated with the joint or UL TCI.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheng teaches wherein the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs are associated with a joint or UL unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI), and wherein the PL RS is associated with the joint or UL TCI (see at least ¶ [0056]-[0058]; TCI state).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yuan with Cheng in order to provide methods and apparatuses for triggering PHRs in the next generation wireless communication systems (Cheng ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 48, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 47.
Yuan does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the one or more RS sets comprises: one or more SSB resource sets, one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activated state sets, or one or more activated PL RS sets.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheng teaches wherein the one or more RS sets comprises: one or more SSB resource sets, one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activated state sets (see at least ¶ [0056]-[0058]; TCI state), or one or more activated PL RS sets (see at least Fig. 13 (Pathloss RS)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yuan with Cheng in order to provide methods and apparatuses for triggering PHRs in the next generation wireless communication systems (Cheng ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 56, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
Yuan does not appear to specifically teach wherein the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs are associated with a joint or UL unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI), and wherein the PL RS is associated with the joint or UL TCI.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheng teaches wherein the one or more candidate SSBRIs or the one or more candidate CRIs are associated with a joint or UL unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI), and wherein the PL RS is associated with the joint or UL TCI (see at least ¶ [0056]-[0058]; TCI state).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yuan with Cheng in order to provide methods and apparatuses for triggering PHRs in the next generation wireless communication systems (Cheng ¶ [0005]).
11. Claims 41, and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yuan in view of (US 20230224895) A1 by Matsumura et al. (hereafter referred to as Matsumura).
Regarding claim 41, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
Yuan does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the PL RS is a default PL RS, and wherein the default PL RS is an SSB for reading a master information block (MIB).
In the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches wherein the PL RS is a default PL RS, and wherein the default PL RS is an SSB for reading a master information block (MIB) (see at least ¶ [0068]; “ the UE calculates PL.sub.b,f,c(q.sub.d) by using a reference signal (RS) resource from an SS/PBCH block that the UE uses to obtain a master information block (MIB).”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yuan with Matsumura in order to provide a terminal that appropriately controls UL transmission using a path-loss reference signal, a radio communication method, and a base station (Matsumura ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 55, Yuan teaches the apparatus of claim 45.
Yuan does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the PL RS is a default PL RS, and wherein the default PL RS is an SSB for reading a master information block (MIB).
In the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches wherein the PL RS is a default PL RS, and wherein the default PL RS is an SSB for reading a master information block (MIB) (see at least ¶ [0068]; “ the UE calculates PL.sub.b,f,c(q.sub.d) by using a reference signal (RS) resource from an SS/PBCH block that the UE uses to obtain a master information block (MIB).”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yuan with Matsumura in order to provide a terminal that appropriately controls UL transmission using a path-loss reference signal, a radio communication method, and a base station (Matsumura ¶ [0009]).
Conclusion
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATASHA W COSME whose telephone number is (571) 270-7225. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465