Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/26/2025, 05/26/2025, 12/27/2024, 12/18/2024 and 01/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym “UE” should be defined as “user endpoint” in the first instance of the claims.
Claims 12 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym “UCI on a PUCCH” should be defined as “uplink control information (UCI) on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)” in the first instance of the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3709688 (“Hong”) in view of US Patent No. 10,992,331 (“Jassal”).
Regarding claim 1, Hong et al. discloses a UE capability update method, comprising:
determining at least one performance indicator associated with UE capability based on processing of communication data (paragraphs [0164]-[0342]): in step 110, determining that the transmission capability of a terminal has changed; in step 120, generating capability update report information, the capability update report information comprising the changed transmission capability of the terminal; in step 1410, performing transmission configuration for the terminal according to the changed transmission capability of the terminal, so as to obtain the transmission configuration information; and in step 1420, sending the transmission configuration information to the terminal, so that the terminal performs data transmission according to the transmission configuration information);
determining updated UE capability information in response to determining that the UE capability is updated according to the at least one performance indicator; and reporting the updated UE capability information to a network (in step 130, sending the capability update report information to an NR base station, so that the NR base station sends the changed transmission capability of the terminal to an LTE base station, wherein the changed transmission capability of the terminal may be reported to the NR base station by means of RRC signaling; in step 510, receiving capability update indication information sent by the NR base station, the capability update indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal is allowed to report the changed transmission capability; The AI-capable UE responds to the network with a UE capability response message indicating its AI capability for communication purposes).
Hong does not specify updating a machine learning model wherein “determining at least one performance indicator associated with UE capability based on processing of communication data according to the updated machine learning model”. However, in the same field of endeavor, Jassal discloses a UE has an AI module which the network is aware of. The network element receives information regarding the features and capabilities of the AI module. The network sends a UE capability inquiry message as part of the attach procedure and the UE responds to the network with a UE capability response message indicating the AI capabilities for communication purposes (col. 9, lines 31-33). Thereby the UE would then send the updated AI capability to the network as recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in include updating a machine learning model with respect to UE capability processing as disclosed in Jassal for improved flexibility in configuring a UE to perform tasks for wireless communications, such as channel estimation.
Regarding claim 15, Hong discloses a UE capability update device (fig. 15; [0137]), comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores computer programs that are capable of running on the processor, and when the computer programs are executed by the processor, the processor performs:
determining at least one performance indicator associated with UE capability based on processing of communication data (paragraphs [0164]-[0342]): in step 110, determining that the transmission capability of a terminal has changed; in step 120, generating capability update report information, the capability update report information comprising the changed transmission capability of the terminal; in step 1410, performing transmission configuration for the terminal according to the changed transmission capability of the terminal, so as to obtain the transmission configuration information; and in step 1420, sending the transmission configuration information to the terminal, so that the terminal performs data transmission according to the transmission configuration information);
determining updated UE capability information in response to determining that the UE capability is updated according to the at least one performance indicator; and reporting the updated UE capability information to a network (in step 130, sending the capability update report information to an NR base station, so that the NR base station sends the changed transmission capability of the terminal to an LTE base station, wherein the changed transmission capability of the terminal may be reported to the NR base station by means of RRC signaling; in step 510, receiving capability update indication information sent by the NR base station, the capability update indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal is allowed to report the changed transmission capability; The AI-capable UE responds to the network with a UE capability response message indicating its AI capability for communication purposes).
Hong does not specify updating a machine learning model wherein “determining at least one performance indicator associated with UE capability based on processing of communication data according to the updated machine learning model”. However, in the same field of endeavor, Jassal discloses a UE has an AI module which the network is aware of. The network element receives information regarding the features and capabilities of the AI module. The network sends a UE capability inquiry message as part of the attach procedure and the UE responds to the network with a UE capability response message indicating the AI capabilities for communication purposes (col. 9, lines 31-33). Thereby the UE would then send the updated AI capability to the network as recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in include updating a machine learning model with respect to UE capability processing as disclosed in Jassal for improved flexibility in configuring a UE to perform tasks for wireless communications, such as channel estimation.
Regarding claim 2, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said determining that the UE capability is updated according to the at least one performance indicator, comprises at least one of following operations: in response to the at least one performance indicator being greater than a corresponding preset threshold, determining that the UE capability is updated (Hong, [0050] In step 110, that a transmission capability of the terminal has changed is determined. When the terminal moves to a cell center or switches to a small cell, the uplink transmission power of the terminal will decrease, thereby reducing originally serious intermodulation interference and causing a change in the transmission capability of the terminal).
Regarding claim 16, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein the processor determines that the UE capability is updated according to the at least one performance indicator, comprising at least one of following operations: in response to the at least one performance indicator being greater than a corresponding preset threshold, determining that the UE capability is updated (Hong, [0050] In step 110, that a transmission capability of the terminal has changed is determined. When the terminal moves to a cell center or switches to a small cell, the uplink transmission power of the terminal will decrease, thereby reducing originally serious intermodulation interference and causing a change in the transmission capability of the terminal).
Regarding claim 3, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said determining the updated UE capability information in response to determining that the UE capability is updated according to the at least one performance indicator, comprises: determining a UE capability parameter corresponding to the at least one performance indicator according to a corresponding relationship between different UE capability parameters and performance indicators; and determining an updated UE capability parameter (Hong, comparison of different channels [0052-0053] the transmission capability of the terminal includes a transmission capability of the terminal on different channel combinations in different frequency band combinations. One frequency band combination may include more than two frequency bands, and one channel combination may also include more than two channels).
Regarding claim 17, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein the processor determines the updated UE capability information in response to determining that the UE capability is updated according to the at least one performance indicator, comprising: determining a UE capability parameter corresponding to the at least one performance indicator according to a corresponding relationship between different UE capability parameters and performance indicators; and determining an updated UE capability parameter (Hong, comparison of different channels [0052-0053] the transmission capability of the terminal includes a transmission capability of the terminal on different channel combinations in different frequency band combinations. One frequency band combination may include more than two frequency bands, and one channel combination may also include more than two channels).
Regarding claim 4, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said reporting the updated UE capability information to the network, comprises: reporting the updated UE capability information to the network through radio resource control information elements, RRC IEs, in RRC information; wherein the updated UE capability information comprises a mandatory UE capability parameter and an updated UE capability parameter (Hong, [0194] In step 130, the capability update report information is sent to the NR base station, so that the NR base station sends the changed transmission capability of the terminal to the LTE base station, the capability update report information to radio resource control (RRC) signaling; and sending the RRC signaling to the NR base station, so that the NR base station obtains the changed transmission capability of the terminal from the RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 18, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein the processor reports the updated UE capability information to the network, comprising: reporting the updated UE capability information to the network through RRC IE in RRC information; wherein the updated UE capability information comprises a mandatory UE capability parameter and an updated UE capability parameter (Hong, [0194] In step 130, the capability update report information is sent to the NR base station, so that the NR base station sends the changed transmission capability of the terminal to the LTE base station, the capability update report information to radio resource control (RRC) signaling; and sending the RRC signaling to the NR base station, so that the NR base station obtains the changed transmission capability of the terminal from the RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 5, Hong discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said reporting the updated UE capability information to the network, comprises: triggering the reporting of the updated UE capability information to the network when a reporting condition is met (Hong, [0164-0172], [0189] In step 110, that a transmission capability of the terminal has changed is determined. In step 120, capability update report information is generated. The capability update report information includes the changed transmission capability of the terminal. In step 520, according to the capability update indication information, whether the NR base station allows the terminal to report a changed transmission capability is determined).
Regarding claim 19, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein the processor reports the updated UE capability information to the network, comprising:
triggering the reporting of the updated UE capability information to the network when a reporting condition is met (Hong, [0164-0172], [0189] In step 110, that a transmission capability of the terminal has changed is determined. In step 120, capability update report information is generated. The capability update report information includes the changed transmission capability of the terminal. In step 520, according to the capability update indication information, whether the NR base station allows the terminal to report a changed transmission capability is determined).
Regarding claim 6, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein said triggering the reporting of the updated UE capability information to the network when the reporting condition is met, comprises: triggering the reporting of the updated UE capability information to the network in response to determining that a switch indicates allowing of the reporting of the updated UE capability information, wherein the switch is configured by a network side to indicate allowing or disabling of the reporting of the updated UE capability information from the UE (Hong, [0164-0172], the terminal may not directly and dynamically report the changed transmission capability to the LTE base station, but may directly report the changed transmission capability to the NR base station which forwards the changed transmission capability of the terminal to the LTE base station).
Regarding claim 20, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the device according to claim 19, wherein said triggering the reporting of the updated UE capability information to the network when the reporting condition is met, comprises: triggering the reporting of the updated UE capability information to the network in response to determining that a switch indicates allowing of the reporting of the updated UE capability information, wherein the switch is configured by a network side to indicate allowing or disabling of the reporting of the updated UE capability information from the UE (Hong, [0164-0172], the terminal may not directly and dynamically report the changed transmission capability to the LTE base station, but may directly report the changed transmission capability to the NR base station which forwards the changed transmission capability of the terminal to the LTE base station).
Regarding claim 7, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein said initiating the request for reporting the updated UE capability information to the network, includes: initiating the request for reporting the updated UE capability information to the network through information bits in uplink control information, UCI, on a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH (Jassal, embodiment 6, the network can be configured with signaling mechanisms to configure a UE's AI module for performing a given task for wireless communications. The signaling mechanism allows the network to configure the UE's behavior through its AI module. Configuring the AI module entails configuring the task or tasks it carries out and its internal structure. This allows the network to customize each UE's behavior and its hardware and provides a signaling framework to achieve such customization of UE behavior).
Regarding claim 21, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the device according to claim 19, wherein the processor initiates the request for reporting the updated UE capability information to the network, comprising: initiating the request for reporting the updated UE capability information to the network through information bits in UCI on a PUCCH (Jassal, embodiment 6, the network can be configured with signaling mechanisms to configure a UE's AI module for performing a given task for wireless communications. The signaling mechanism allows the network to configure the UE's behavior through its AI module. Configuring the AI module entails configuring the task or tasks it carries out and its internal structure. This allows the network to customize each UE's behavior and its hardware and provides a signaling framework to achieve such customization of UE behavior).
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses a UE capability update method, comprising:
receiving updated UE capability information sent from a UE (fig. 1, determine that a transmission capability of the terminal has changed 110) when the UE satisfying a preset condition [0050] In step 110, that a transmission capability of the terminal has changed is determined. When the terminal moves to a cell center or switches to a small cell, the uplink transmission power of the terminal will decrease, thereby reducing originally serious intermodulation interference and causing a change in the transmission capability of the terminal); and
configuring or scheduling the UE according to the updated UE capability information (fig. 14, send the transmission configuration information to the terminal, so that the terminal performs data transmission according to the transmission configuration information 1420).
Hong does not specify wherein the preset condition is to process communication data by using an updated machine learning model, determine at least one performance indicator associated with UE capability, and determine that the UE capability is updated according to the at least one performance indicator. However, in the same field of endeavor, Jassal discloses a UE has an AI module which the network is aware of. The network element receives information regarding the features and capabilities of the AI module. The network sends a UE capability inquiry message as part of the attach procedure and the UE responds to the network with a UE capability response message indicating the AI capabilities for communication purposes (col. 9, lines 31-33). Thereby the UE would then send the updated AI capability to the network as recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in include updating a machine learning model with respect to UE capability processing as disclosed in Jassal for improved flexibility in configuring a UE to perform tasks for wireless communications, such as channel estimation.
Regarding claim 22, Hong in view of Jassal discloses a UE capability update device (Hong, fig. 15; [0137]), comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores computer programs that are capable of running on the processor, and when the computer programs are executed by the processor, the processor performs the method according to claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein said receiving the updated UE capability information sent from the UE when the UE satisfying the preset condition, comprises: receiving the updated UE capability information sent from the UE through RRC IE in RRC information when the UE satisfying the preset condition; wherein the updated UE capability information comprises a mandatory UE capability parameter and an updated UE capability parameter (Hong, [0194] In step 130, the capability update report information is sent to the NR base station, so that the NR base station sends the changed transmission capability of the terminal to the LTE base station, the capability update report information to radio resource control (RRC) signaling; and sending the RRC signaling to the NR base station, so that the NR base station obtains the changed transmission capability of the terminal from the RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 10, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein said receiving the updated UE capability information sent from the UE when the UE satisfying the preset condition, comprises:
receiving the updated UE capability information reported by the UE via triggering to a network when a reporting condition is met (Hong, [0164-0172], [0189] In step 110, that a transmission capability of the terminal has changed is determined. In step 120, capability update report information is generated. The capability update report information includes the changed transmission capability of the terminal. In step 520, according to the capability update indication information, whether the NR base station allows the terminal to report a changed transmission capability is determined).
Regarding claim 11, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising: configuring a switch for the UE to indicate allowing or disabling of the reporting of the updated UE capability information; wherein said receiving the updated UE capability information reported by the UE via triggering to the network when the reporting condition is met, comprises: receiving the updated UE capability information reported by the UE via triggering to the network when the UE determining that the switch indicates allowing of the reporting of the updated UE capability information (Hong, [0164-0172], the terminal may not directly and dynamically report the changed transmission capability to the LTE base station, but may directly report the changed transmission capability to the NR base station which forwards the changed transmission capability of the terminal to the LTE base station).
Regarding claims 12, Hong in view of Jassal discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein said receiving the request for reporting the updated UE capability information from the UE, comprises: receiving the request for reporting the updated UE capability information from the UE through information bits in UCI on a PUCCH (Jassal, embodiment 6, the network can be configured with signaling mechanisms to configure a UE's AI module for performing a given task for wireless communications. The signaling mechanism allows the network to configure the UE's behavior through its AI module. Configuring the AI module entails configuring the task or tasks it carries out and its internal structure. This allows the network to customize each UE's behavior and its hardware and provides a signaling framework to achieve such customization of UE behavior).
Conclusion
/JIRAPON TULOP/Examiner, Art Unit 2693