DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 filed on 12 JAN 2024 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
The pending application 18/578,730, filed on 12 JAN 2024, is a national stage application filed under 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCT/JP2022/027923, filed on 15 JUL 2022, and claims priority from provisional application 63/223,366, filed on 19 JUL 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 JAN 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, line 3 recites “can be suppressed.” The use of “can be” renders what follows optional and the scope of the claim unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sugimoto et al. (US 2010/0302113 A1, cited in IDS dated 12 JAN 2024).
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Sugimoto et al. discloses:
An antenna device (Sugimoto et al. antenna device 1, Figs. 1-3B, 4-6) disposed at a mobile body (Sugimoto et al. vehicle, ¶ [0005]) that includes a structural portion (Sugimoto et al. the frame of the vehicle ¶ [0005]), the antenna device comprising:
an antenna element (Sugimoto et al. antenna element 3, Figs. 1-3B, 4-6) disposed apart from the structural portion (Sugimoto et al. “the in-vehicle antenna device is arranged on a windshield of the vehicle” - ¶ [0005]; where the windshield is separate from the frame of the vehicle, therefore considered to be disposed apart from the structural portion), the antenna element supporting radio waves in a predetermined frequency band (Sugimoto et al. “Each of the first and second element lengths is a half of the wavelength of the usage frequency of the electromagnetic wave.” - ¶ [0022]); and
a reflective element configured to reflect the radio waves (Sugimoto et al. the combination of conductive surfaces 4-6, Figs. 1-3B, 4-6), the reflective element being located between the structural portion and the antenna element in a radiation direction of the radio waves (Sugimoto et al. the conductive surfaces 4-6 are disposed between the frame of the vehicle and the antenna element 3 in a direction toward the front of the vehicle, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Sugimoto et al. discloses:
The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein
the reflective element is disposed at a location at which scattering of the radio waves by the structural portion can be suppressed (Sugimoto et al. the combination of conductive surfaces 4-6 direct the radio waves in a particular direction thereby suppressing the radio waves in another direction, Figs. 1-3B, 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. (US 2010/0302113 A1, cited in IDS dated 12 JAN 2024).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Sugimoto et al. discloses:
The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein
the reflective element includes a first reflective portion (Sugimoto et al. conductive surface 4, Figs. 1-3B, 4-6) and a second reflective portion (Sugimoto et al. conductive surface 5, Figs. 1-3B, 4-6),
a first direction is a direction in which the antenna element is separated from the structural portion (Sugimoto et al. the direction normal to the roof 11, Fig. 1), and
the antenna element is located between the first reflective portion and the second reflective portion (Sugimoto et al. antenna element 3 is disposed between conductive surfaces 4-6, Figs. 1-3B, 4-6)
Although Sugimoto et al. does not explicitly disclose that the antenna element located between the first reflective portion and the second reflective portion in a direction perpendicular to the first direction, Sugimoto et al. does disclose the antenna element 3 disposed between conductive surfaces 4-6, where the conductive surfaces function as reflection plates such that the electromagnetic wave is restricted to a particular direction of the vehicle (Sugimoto et al. ¶ [0023]-[0026]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s filing to modify the invention of Sugimoto et al. such that a conductive surface is provided on side surface 2d such that the antenna element is located between first and second reflective portions in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, in order to limit the electromagnetic waves to improve the gain of the antenna device in a desired direction.
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Sugimoto et al. discloses:
The antenna device according to claim 2, wherein at least one of a first distance in the second direction between the first reflective portion and the antenna element or a second distance in the second direction between the second reflective portion and the antenna element is one third or less of a wavelength of the radio wave (Sugimoto et al. “It is preferable that the height d is almost equal to a product of one-fourth of a wavelength of the used frequency of the electromagnetic wave and a shortening ratio of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave passing through the dielectric element 2.” - ¶ [0018]; “The shortening ratio is a range between 0.7 and 0.8…” - ¶ [0022]; Therefore, the distance between the reflective element and the antenna element ranges from 0.175 λ to 0.2 λ, Figs. 1-3B, 7).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Sugimoto et al. discloses:
The antenna device according to claim 3, wherein at least one of the first distance or the second distance is one tenth or more and one fifth or less of the wavelength of the radio waves (Sugimoto et al. “It is preferable that the height d is almost equal to a product of one-fourth of a wavelength of the used frequency of the electromagnetic wave and a shortening ratio of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave passing through the dielectric element 2.” - ¶ [0018]; “The shortening ratio is a range between 0.7 and 0.8…” - ¶ [0022]; Therefore, the distance between the reflective element and the antenna element ranges from 0.175 λ to 0.2 λ, Figs. 1-3B, 7)
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Sugimoto et al. discloses:
The antenna device according to claim 2, wherein the reflective element includes a third reflective portion located between the structural portion and the antenna element in the first direction (Sugimoto et al. conductive surface 6 is located between the roof 11, the pillar 12 and the antenna element 3, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Sugimoto et al. discloses:
The antenna device according to claim 5, wherein a third distance in the first direction between the third reflective portion and the antenna element is one tenth or more of the wavelength of the radio waves (Sugimoto et al. “It is preferable that the height d is almost equal to a product of one-fourth of a wavelength of the used frequency of the electromagnetic wave and a shortening ratio of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave passing through the dielectric element 2.” - ¶ [0018]; “The shortening ratio is a range between 0.7 and 0.8…” - ¶ [0022]; Therefore, the distance between the reflective element and the antenna element ranges from 0.175 λ to 0.2 λ, Figs. 1-3B, 7).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Sugimoto et al. discloses:
The antenna device according to claim 5, wherein when the reflective element is viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, the first reflective portion, the second reflective portion, and the third reflective portion have a connected shape (Sugimoto et al. conductive surfaces 4-6 form a connected shape, Figs. 1-3B, 4-6).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. (US 2010/0302113 A1, cited in IDS dated 12 JAN 2024) in view of Kumpfbeck et al. (US 5,111,214 A).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Sugimoto et al. discloses:
The antenna device according to claim 5,
Kumpfbeck et al. discloses:
the radio waves are linearly polarized waves (Kumpfbeck et al. linearly polarized antenna 10, Fig. 1A; Col. 2, lines 12-15), and
the first reflective portion (Kumpfbeck et al. sidewall 18 of reflector 14, Fig. 1), the second reflective portion (Kumpfbeck et al. sidewall 18 of reflector 14, Fig. 1), and the third reflective portion (Kumpfbeck et al. backwall 16 of reflector 14, Fig. 1) include a plurality of linear portions (Kumpfbeck et al. “The backwall 16 may be formed of a solid sheet of conductive, reflecting material or as a grid, the latter construction being illustrated in FIG. 1. Also, the sidewalls 18 may be formed of a solid sheet of conducting, reflecting material or as a set of slats or vanes, as shown in FIG. 1.” – Col. 2, lines 5-10) configured to reflect the linearly polarized waves.
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Kumpfbeck et al. into the invention of Sugimoto et al. to yield the invention of claim 8 above. Both Sugimoto et al. and Kumpfbeck et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose antenna devices for that restrict or suppress radiation in a particular direction. Sugimoto et al. discloses the antenna device according to claim 5. However, Sugimoto et al. fails to explicitly disclose the first reflective portion, the second reflective portion, and the third reflective portion include a plurality of linear portions configured to reflect the linearly polarized waves. This feature is disclosed by Kumpfbeck et al. where “The backwall 16 may be formed of a solid sheet of conductive, reflecting material or as a grid, the latter construction being illustrated in FIG. 1. Also, the sidewalls 18 may be formed of a solid sheet of conducting, reflecting material or as a set of slats or vanes, as shown in FIG. 1.” (Kumpfbeck et al. Col. 2, lines 5-10). The combination of Sugimoto et al. and Kumpfbeck et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to “reflect or block a maximum portion of the E-plane backlobe and sidelobe radiation.” (Kumpfbeck et al. Col. 2, lines 21-23).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. (US 2010/0302113 A1, cited in IDS dated 12 JAN 2024) in view of Ogasawara (US 2021/0072374 A1).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Sugimoto et al. discloses:
The antenna device according to claim 1 further comprising:
a compensator (Sugimoto et al. front end circuit 56, Fig. 7) including
the reflective element is located between the compensator and the antenna element in the radiation direction of the radio waves (Sugimoto et al. conductive surface 54 is located between the front end circuit 56 and the antenna element 53 in the radiation direction, Fig. 7).
Ogasawara discloses:
a compensator including
a first amplifier (Ogasawara PA 12, Figs. 3A-8B) configured to amplify the radio waves that are transmitted,
a second amplifier (Ogasawara LNA 13, Figs. 3A-8B)configured to amplify the radio waves that are received, and
a switch (Ogasawara switch 14, Figs. 3A-8B) configured to switch between a path having the first amplifier and a path having the second amplifier.
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Ogasawara into the invention of Sugimoto et al. to yield the invention of claim 9 above. Both Sugimoto et al. and Ogasawara are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose antenna devices for vehicles. Sugimoto et al. discloses the antenna device according to claim 1. However, Sugimoto et al. fails to explicitly disclose a compensator including a first amplifier, a second amplifier and a switch. This feature is disclosed by Ogasawara where the distance measuring device comprising a PA 12, LNA 13, and switch 14 (Ogasawara Figs. 3A-8B). The combination of Sugimoto et al. and Ogasawara would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain accurate distance measurements (Ogasawara ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended),
The antenna device according to claim 1,
the mobile body is a vehicle (Sugimoto et al. vehicle, ¶ [0005])
(Sugimoto et al. antenna element 53 is disposed at an end portion of the device, Fig. 7)
Ogasawara discloses:
the mobile body is a vehicle (Ogasawara ¶ [0019]) including a device (Ogasawara distance measuring device 1, Figs. 3A-8B) to check surroundings (Ogasawara checks surrounding for smart entry key, ¶ [0020]), and
the antenna element is disposed at an end portion of the device to check surroundings (Ogasawara antenna 16 is disposed at an end portion of the distance measuring device 1, Figs. 3A-8B).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Ogasawara into the invention of Sugimoto et al. to yield the invention of claim 10 above. Both Sugimoto et al. and Ogasawara are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose antenna devices for vehicles. Sugimoto et al. as modified above discloses the antenna device according to claim 9. However, Sugimoto et al. fails to explicitly disclose the device to check surroundings, and the antenna element is disposed at an end of the device to check surroundings. This feature is disclosed by Ogasawara where antenna 16 is disposed at an end portion of the distance measuring device 1 (Ogasawara Figs. 3A-8B). The combination of Sugimoto et al. and Ogasawara would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain accurate distance measurements while checking surrounding for a smart entry key (Ogasawara, ¶ [0020]).
Conclusion
NAOMI M. WOLFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/N.M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3648
10 DEC 2025
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648