DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
. Applicant’s preliminary amendment, filed on 1/12/2024, has been fully considered and entered. Claims 19, 21-38 and 40-82 are canceled, and claims 1-18, 20 and 39 are currently pending.
Priority
This application is a 371 National Stage of International Patent Application PCT/EP2022/068786, filed on 7/6/2022, which claims priority to European Patent Application No. EP21186510.0, filed on 7/19/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) is submitted on 1/12/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, 3GPP, etc., which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-18, 20 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2-18 recites “A wireless communications method”, Examiner suggests changing the limitation to [[A]] The wireless communication method”, or similar wording.
Claims 1, 14-18, 20 and 29 recites the phrase “if”, Examiner suggests changing the limitation to “when”, or similar wording.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “to be”. Examples of such claim language raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim. The claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. Notably, limitations recited after the phrases will be considered optional to the functionality of the claimed system. It is suggested to positively and concretely define the functionality of the claimed invention.
Claims 15 and 16 recites the phrase “it”. Examiner understands what the phrase “it” is referring to, however, suggests changing the phrase to “[[it]] the terminal device”, or similar wording.
Claim 5 says “between the terminal device and relay device”. Examiner suggests changing the limitation to “between the terminal device and the relay device”.
Claim 12 says “according to any claim 1”. Examiner suggests changing the limitation to “according to [[any]] claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 10 contain the trademark/trade name WI-FI. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe WI-FI and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-12, 14, 18, 20 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 20190289520 A1 and Xu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a wireless telecommunications method comprising:
determining if a terminal device configured to transmit uplink signals to or receive downlink signals from a serving node via a relay device (Figure 1(a) and Paragraph 0036; remote UE communicate [thus transmit uplink signal or receive downlink signal] with eNB via source relay UE) has one or more predetermined characteristics indicating the terminal device should be handed over from a source serving node to a first target serving node (Paragraphs 0053 and 0054; when first link information (RSRP of PC5 link between the remote UE and the source relay UE) is greater than a first threshold, and second link information (RSRP of UU link between the source relay UE and the eNB) is less than a second threshold, determine whether the source relay UE assist the remote UE to perform relay reselection or handover) if the relay device is handed over from the source serving node to the first target serving node (Figure 1(a) and Paragraph 0036; source relay UE is increasingly far away from the eNB1 and increasingly close to the eNB2, it is indicated that the quality of the Uu link becomes poor and a signal quality of a neighbor cell is increased significantly. During the process, in order to ensure continuity of respective services, the source relay UE is to perform a handover process);
if the terminal device has the one or more predetermined characteristics (Paragraphs 0053 and 0054; when first link information (RSRP of PC5 link between the remote UE and the source relay UE) is greater than a first threshold, and second link information (RSRP of UU link between the source relay UE and the eNB) is less than a second threshold, and the source relay is close to neighbor cell, the electronic device 200 is in second mode, and assist the remote UE perform relay selection. Paragraph 0062; when the source relay completes the handover process, the remote UE may reselect the initial source relay UE due to a small relative speed and a close distance between the relay UE and the remote UE. Figure 7 and Paragraph 0103; if the target cells of the source relay UE and the remote UE are the same, the remote UE measures a quality of a link between the remote UE and the source relay UE again to obtain updated first link information, and determine if the quality value is greater than a predetermined threshold. If the quality value of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is always greater than a predetermined threshold, it is indicated that the quality of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is good), controlling the terminal device to be handed over from the source serving node to the first target serving node if the relay device is handed over from the source serving node to the first target serving node (Figure 7 and Paragraph 0103; if the target cells of the source relay UE and the remote UE are the same, the remote UE measures a quality of a link between the remote UE and the source relay UE again to obtain updated first link information, and if the quality value is greater than a predetermined threshold, the remote UE selects the original source relay node, and both their contexts are stored in a same base station. Examiner asserts that the remote UE is handed over to the same target eNB as the source relay node); and
if the terminal device does not have the one or more predetermined characteristics (Figure 7 and Paragraph 0103; if the target cells of the source relay UE and the remote UE are the same, the remote UE measures a quality of a link between the remote UE and the source relay UE again to obtain updated first link information, and determine if the quality value is greater than a predetermined threshold. If the quality value of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is not always greater than a predetermined threshold, it is indicated that the quality of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is good, it is indicated that the quality of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is poor), controlling the terminal device to be handed over from the source serving node to a second, different, target serving node if the relay device is handed over from the source serving node to the first target serving node (Paragraph 0103; if the quality value of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is not always greater than the predetermined threshold, it is indicated that the quality of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is poor, the remote UE disconnects from the source relay UE and communicates with the base station via the target relay UE. Figure 7 and Paragraph 0104; [after the source relay handed over to the target eNB], if the target cell IDs of the resource relay ID and the remote UE are different, it is indicated that contexts of the source relay UE and the remote UE are stored in different base stations. In this case, it is unnecessary to wait for the expiration of the timer Tbmb, the remote UE directly disconnects from the source relay UE and communicates with the base station via the target relay UE. Figure 4 and Paragraph 0061; the target relay device may be UE3 and UE4 in a different eNB3).
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein the one or more predetermined characteristics comprise that the terminal device is located below a threshold distance from the relay device (Paragraphs 0038 and 0062; the remote UE reselects an initial source relay UE with a great probability due to a small relative speed and a short distance between the remote UE and the source relay UE).
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein the one or more predetermined characteristics comprise that the terminal device is travelling below a threshold speed with respect to the relay device (Figure 4 and Paragraph 0036; the source relay UE and the remote UE move almost with a same speed in a same direction, and a relative speed between them is small. Paragraphs 0038 and 0062; the remote UE reselects an initial source relay UE with a great probability due to a small relative speed and a short distance between the remote UE and the source relay UE).
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein the one or more predetermined characteristics comprise that a direction of travel of the terminal device and a direction of travel of the relay device are separated by less than a threshold angle (Figures 1(a) and 4, and Paragraphs 0036 and 0061; the source relay UE and the remote UE move in two parallel highways).
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein the one or more predetermined characteristics (Figure 4 and Paragraph 0036; the source relay UE and the remote UE move almost with a same speed in a same direction, and a relative speed between them is small. Paragraphs 0038 and 0062; the remote UE reselects an initial source relay UE with a great probability due to a small relative speed and a short distance between the remote UE and the source relay UE) comprise that a secondary wireless signal associated with the relay device is detectable by the terminal device (Figure 15 and Paragraph 0207; Figure 15 shows an example configuration of an automobile navigation device 1520. Paragraphs 0211 and 0212; the wireless communication interface 1533 supports any cellular communication scheme, and perform wireless communication; such as a short distance wireless communication scheme, a near field communication scheme and a wireless LAN scheme. Figure 14 and Paragraphs 0197 and 0201; the smartphone [can be relay UE and/or remote UE] comprises wireless communication interface that may support a short distance wireless communication scheme, a near field communication scheme and a wireless local area network (LAN) scheme. As evidenced by Figures 4 and 5, the remote UE may communicate with plurality of relay UEs/devices).
Regarding claim 9, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein the secondary wireless signal is a Wi-Fi signal (Paragraphs 0201 and 0212; the remote UE as in Figure 14 and the automobile navigation device as in Figure 15 both have wireless communication interfaces that may support a short distance wireless communication scheme, a near field communication scheme and a wireless local area network (LAN) scheme).
Regarding claim 10, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 9, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein the relay device is vehicle-mounted relay device (Figure 15 and Paragraph 0207; an automobile navigation device) and the Wi-Fi signal is a Wi-Fi signal transmitted from the vehicle (Figure 15 and Paragraphs 0211 and 0212; wireless communication interface supports wireless communication scheme (such as wireless LAN, near field communication, short distance wireless communication), and performs wireless communication).
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein the one or more predetermined characteristics comprise that a predetermined context of the terminal device is determined from application data of the terminal device (Paragraph 0209; GPS module measures a position of automobile navigation device [and/or UE]).
Regarding claim 12, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein the relay device is one of a relay terminal device, an Integrated Access and Backhaul, IAB, node and a Non-Terrestrial Network, NTN, node (Figure 4 and Paragraph 0036; source relay UE).
Regarding claim 14, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein determining if the terminal device has the one or more predetermined characteristics (Paragraph 0052; electronic device 200 [the source relay UE] determines scenario information. Paragraphs 0053 and 0054; in scenario identification, RSRP between the remote UE and the source relay UE is greater than threshold, the RSRP between the source relay UE and the serving base station is less than a second threshold) is based on the transmission of a measurement report by the terminal device (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0059; a remote UE reports a first link information indicating a quality of a link between the remote UE and the source relay UE to the source relay UE),
Regarding claim 18, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein, if the terminal device has the one or more predetermined characteristics (Paragraph 0062; when the source relay completes the handover process, the remote UE may reselect the initial source relay UE due to a small relative speed and a close distance between the relay UE and the remote UE. Figure 7 and Paragraph 0103; if the target cells of the source relay UE and the remote UE are the same, the remote UE measures a quality of a link between the remote UE and the source relay UE again to obtain updated first link information, and determine if the quality value is greater than a predetermined threshold. If the quality value of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is always greater than a predetermined threshold, it is indicated that the quality of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is good), the source serving node notifies the first target serving node to reserve radio resources for serving the terminal device (Figure 7 and Paragraph 0103; if the target cells of the source relay UE and the remote UE are the same, the remote UE measures a quality of a link between the remote UE and the source relay UE again to obtain updated first link information, and if the quality value is greater than a predetermined threshold, the remote UE selects the original source relay node, and both their contexts are stored in a same base station. Figure 5; at the bottom of Figure 5, context of a remote UE is transmitted from source eNB to target eNB).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, Xu teaches a terminal device for use in a wireless telecommunications network (Figure 14 and Paragraph 0197), the terminal device comprising:
transceiver circuitry (Figure 14 and Paragraph 0197; a wireless communication interface 1412, one or more antenna 1416) configured to transmit uplink signals to or receive downlink signals (Figure 1(a) and Paragraph 0036; remote UE transmit/receive signal from eNB1 via source relay UE); and
control circuitry configured to perform functions (Figure 14 and Paragraphs 0198; processor 1402 control functions of an application layer and other layers of the smart phone. Paragraph 0206; the processor 1401 or the auxiliary controller 1419 may acquire the scenario identification information, determine the scenario information and acquire the scenario information and perform the relay reselection by executing instructions stored in the memory 1402 or the storage apparatus 1403).
Regarding claim 39, claim 39 recites similar features as claim 1 for corresponding method performed by a relay device rather than a terminal device. Therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, Xu teaches a relay device for use in a wireless telecommunications network (Figure 1(a) and Paragraph 0036; the remote UE communicates with the eNB1 via the source relay UE), the relay device (Figures 2 and 5) comprising:
transceiver circuitry configured to relay signals (Figure 14 and Paragraphs 0200; wireless communication interface 1412. Paragraph 0203; each of the antennas 1416 includes a single or multiple antenna elements, and is used for the wireless communication interface 1412 to transmit and receive a wireless signal); and
control circuitry configured to perform functions (Figure 14 and Paragraph 0198; processor 1401 may be for example a CPU or a system on chip (SoC), and control functions of an application layer and other layers of the smart phone 1400).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Chaponniere et al. (US 20210084559 A1 and Chaponniere hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more predetermined characteristics comprise that the terminal device is located below a threshold distance from the first target serving node. In an analogous art, Chaponniere teaches wherein the one or more predetermined characteristics comprise that the terminal device is located below a threshold distance from the first target serving node (Figure 12B and Paragraph 0113; UE perform handover due to events that may include distance- or proximity-related information to the service or target relay’s location. Paragraph 0116; UE evaluates the distance- or proximity-related conditions by including a distance or proximity derived from location reports from the serving and/or target relays and/or target gNB-DUs and measurements of its own location). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Chaponniere because it would perform efficient handover procedure without increase the amount of handover signaling (Chaponniere, Paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 7, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more predetermined characteristics comprise that the terminal device is located within a predetermined geographic area within a cell of the first target serving node. In an analogous art, Chaponniere teaches wherein the one or more predetermined characteristics comprise that the terminal device is located within a predetermined geographic area within a cell of the first target serving node (Figure 12B and Paragraph 0113; UE perform handover due to events that may include distance- or proximity-related information to the service or target relay’s location. Paragraph 0116; UE evaluates the distance- or proximity-related conditions by including a distance or proximity derived from location reports from the serving and/or target relays and/or target gNB-DUs and measurements of its own location). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Chaponniere because it would perform efficient handover procedure without increase the amount of handover signaling (Chaponniere, Paragraph 0006).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Zhao (US 20120058763 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, as described above.
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the speed of the terminal device with respect to the relay device is measured based on a Doppler shift of a wireless signal transmitted between the terminal device and relay device. In an analogous art, Zhao teaches wherein the speed of the terminal device with respect to the relay device is measured based on a Doppler shift of a wireless signal transmitted between the terminal device and relay device (Paragraphs 0077 and 0078; a method for measuring the relative speed between the UE and each access point by using a Doppler frequency shift, wherein the Doppler frequency shift of the access point is direct proportional to the relative speed between the UE and the access point). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Zhao because it would prevent problem when a MRS starts to move from a static state, a relative movement may occur to a group of UEs accessing the MRS, and the UEs may not be handed over in time (Zhao, Paragraph 0008).
Claims 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Freda et al. (US 20180092017 A1 and Freda hereinafter).
Regarding claim 13, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Xu teaches the one or more predetermined characteristics (Figure 7 and Paragraph 0103; the remote UE measures a quality of a link between the remote UE and the source relay UE again to obtain updated first link information, and determine if the quality value is greater than a predetermined threshold. If the quality value of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is always greater than a predetermined threshold, it is indicated that the quality of the link between the remote UE and the source relay UE is good. Paragraph 0047; the UE may measure and report the first link information periodically or triggered by event).
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein information indicating the one or more predetermined characteristics is transmitted to the terminal device via broadcast or dedicated signalling. In an analogous art, Freda teaches wherein information indicating the one or more predetermined characteristics is transmitted to the terminal device via broadcast or dedicated signalling (Paragraph 0117; configuration may include criterion that may be used by the remote WTRU to determine when a measurement report may be triggered from transmission to the eNB. The WTRU may trigger a report to the eNB when one or more of the configured criterion are met and when one or more of the criterion described herein as part of WTRU autonomous reselection are met. Example criterion for triggering a measurement report to the eNB may include information that the signal quality for the mobile relay to which the remote WTRU is connected may be below a threshold for a given time period). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Freda because it would reduce unnecessary signaling in the network to satisfy high quality of service requirements (e.g., low latency, high reliability, etc.) (Freda, Paragraphs 0005 and 0117).
Regarding claim 15, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 14, as described above.
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the terminal device transmits the measurement report either (i) if it has the one or more predetermined characteristics or (ii) if it does not have the one or more predetermined characteristics. In an analogous art, Freda teaches wherein the terminal device transmits the measurement report either (i) if it has the one or more predetermined characteristics or (ii) if it does not have the one or more predetermined characteristics (Paragraph 0117; configuration may include criterion that may be used by the remote WTRU to determine when a measurement report may be triggered from transmission to the eNB. The WTRU may trigger a report to the eNB when one or more of the configured criterion are met and when one or more of the criterion described herein as part of WTRU autonomous reselection are met. Example criterion for triggering a measurement report to the eNB may include information that the signal quality for the mobile relay to which the remote WTRU is connected may be below a threshold for a given time period). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Freda because it would reduce unnecessary signaling in the network to satisfy high quality of service requirements (e.g., low latency, high reliability, etc.) (Freda, Paragraphs 0005 and 0117).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Xu and Freda teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, as described above. Further, Freda teaches wherein the terminal device determines if it has the one or more predetermined characteristics based on pre-stored information indicating the one or more predetermined characteristics and/or received network configuration information indicating the one or more predetermined characteristics (Paragraph 0113; The eNB or the mobile relay WTRU may send a configuration to the remote WTRU. The configuration may include indication to the remote WTRU to enable measurements, indication to the remote WTRU to send measurements, criterion that may be used by the remote WTRU to determine when a measurement report may be triggered from transmission to the eNB. Paragraph 0117; configuration may include criterion that may be used by the remote WTRU to determine when a measurement report may be triggered from transmission to the eNB. The WTRU may trigger a report to the eNB when one or more of the configured criterion are met and when one or more of the criterion described herein as part of WTRU autonomous reselection are met. Example criterion for triggering a measurement report to the eNB may include information that the signal quality for the mobile relay to which the remote WTRU is connected may be below a threshold for a given time period). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Freda because it would reduce unnecessary signaling in the network to satisfy high quality of service requirements (e.g., low latency, high reliability, etc.) (Freda, Paragraphs 0005 and 0117).
Regarding claim 17, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Xu teaches wherein, if the terminal device does not have the one or more predetermined characteristics, the terminal device disconnect from the source relay node if the relay device is handed over from the source serving node to the first target serving node (Figure 7 and Paragraph 0103; after the source relay node is handed over from the source eNB to target eNB, the remote UE performs PC5 measurement to select whether to disconnect from the source relay UE or the target relay UE).
Xu does not explicitly teach a radio resource control, RRC, release message is transmitted to the terminal device. In an analogous art, Freda teaches a radio resource control, RRC, release message is transmitted to the terminal device (Paragraph 0249; the remote WTRU may perform certain actions include waiting for an explicit signal from eNB to release the RRC connection or tearing down the bearers) (Freda, Paragraphs 0005 and 0117).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai et al. (US 20180227821 A1) – discloses in response to a measurement control from a first base station, the leader acquires signal quality measurement reports of all the mobile devices in the mobile device group corresponding to the first base station and a second base station, the first base station determines whether to perform a handover according to the signal quality measurement reports received from the leader; and when the first base station determines to perform the handover, the first base station determines to perform a joint handover procedure or a half handover procedure according to the signal quality measurement reports.
Tenny et al. (US 20180279188 A1) – discloses group handover comprising receiving a mobility command from a target base station, processing the mobility command in a packet data for a remote user equipment (UE), and encapsulating the packet data as a field in a radio resource control (RRC) message to the relay.
Conclusion
/Jing Gao/
Examiner, Art Unit 2647