DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed April 10, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5-10, 14-16, and 21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed January 16, 2026.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed March 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
5. Applicant argues that Qiu et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 110544290 A), hereinafter referred to as Qiu, fails to teach “converting the to-be-rendered element data to the pixel data by setting a texture pixel and/or directly setting a frame buffer, where each storage unit of the frame buffer corresponds to one pixel of the pixel data, and the whole frame buffer corresponds to one image of the pixel data.” The Applicant asserts that Qiu only teaches converting vertex coordinate arrays and not pixel data.
Examiner replies that Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 is moot as Qiu is no longer used. Instead, the rejection uses Chen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0294303 A1) and VanReenen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0350036 A1), hereinafter referred to as VanReenen to teach the above cited limitation. After further consideration, Chen is found to teach setting a texture pixel through texture mapping as taught in Chen Paragraph 58. Chen further teaches storing intermediate results of the processed or converted image in a storage in Paragraph 62. The storage teaches a frame buffer.
Furthermore, VanReenen is pulled in to explicitly teach the frame buffer through paragraphs 180 and 210 which explain storing intermediate data and the image in a frame buffer.
Thus, “converting the to-be-rendered element data to the pixel data by setting a texture pixel and/or directly setting a frame buffer, where each storage unit of the frame buffer corresponds to one pixel of the pixel data, and the whole frame buffer corresponds to one image of the pixel data” is taught by Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen.
6. Applicant argues that the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, which modifies the cited references to teach the to-be-rendered element data converted to pixel data by setting a texture pixel and/or directly setting a frame buffer, uses impermissible hindsight.
Examiner replies that in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Yang is modified by Chen using the reasoning of smoothly displaying the user’s desired operation and rendered image in a local device that come from Chen’s disclosure in Chen Paragraph 4. Thus, the combination and obviousness takes into account knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and relies on teachings drawn from the prior art and not from the applicant’s own disclosure.
Furthermore, In response to applicant's argument that the cited prior art does not recognize the problem of current implementations of WebGL that include maintaining complicated states, such as vertex coordinates and texture coordinates, are solved by converting the to-be-rendered element data to pixel data by setting a texture pixel and/or directly setting a frame buffer, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
7. Applicant argues that the inventors have identified a problem that current implementations of WebGL are susceptible to errors in rendering results due to difficulty in maintaining complicated states which is solved through a method in which to-be-rendered element data is converted to the pixel data by setting a texture pixel and/or directly setting a frame buffer as claimed in claim 1. The Applicant argues that a person holding ordinary skill in the art would not have implemented these features without recognizing the problem identified.
Examiner replies that in response to applicant's argument that the cited prior art does not recognize the problem of current implementations of WebGL that include maintaining complicated states, such as vertex coordinates and texture coordinates, are solved by converting the to-be-rendered element data to pixel data by setting a texture pixel and/or directly setting a frame buffer, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Claim Interpretation
10. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an acquisition module, format conversion module, data processing module, rendering module, and setting module in claims 10 and 14-16.
The structure for these modules can be found on Page 15 of the Applicant’s Specification which points out a process and memory that executes the functions for these modules.
11. This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "the step of converting the linear transformation instruction" in claim 5 and "the step of mapping the layer rendering data" in claim 7.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
12. Claims 1 and 10 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 23 in claims 1 and 10, "and/or" should only be "and" or "or". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 111161390 A), hereinafter referred to as Yang, in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0294303 A1) and VanReenen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0350036 A1), hereinafter referred to as VanReenen.
16. Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a method for graphics rendering based on a Web Graphics Library (WebGL), comprising: acquiring initial rendering information (Paragraph 66-67 teaches obtaining a BIM model file which can be considered the initial rendering information);
converting the initial rendering information according to a preset layer encapsulation format to obtain layer rendering data (Paragraph 68-69 teaches converting the BIM model file into model data. The model data can be considered the layer rendering data. It teaches using a format identifier that converts the BIM model file into model data. The format identifier can be considered the preset layer encapsulation format);
mapping the layer rendering data into a WebGL data format to obtain WebGL rendering data (Paragraphs 73-81 teach mapping the model data into a WebGL data format for WebGL rendering. In S301 and S302 it acquires the attribute information from the model data of the BIM model file and then creates matrix data or grid/mesh data of each component in the model data in S303 and S304. The grid/mesh data can be considered the WebGL data format which WebGL renders to create rendering data);
and invoking a WebGL interface and performing rendering output according to the WebGL rendering data (Paragraph 60 teaches that WebGL is invoked in a browser, which can be considered the WebGL interface, to render a model. Thus, in Paragraph 80 when the WebGL renders the rendering data or grid data, it does so in the browser or WebGL interface and performs the rendering output by displaying it in the browser),
wherein the initial rendering information comprises to-be-rendered element data (Paragraph 66-67 teaches obtaining a BIM model file which can be considered the initial rendering information or the to-be-rendered element data; Paragraph 70 teaches there is component attribute information in the BIM model file which can be considered the to-be-rendered element data)
However, Yang is not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the initial rendering information comprises a linear transformation instruction to be performed on the to-be-rendered element, wherein the preset layer encapsulation format comprises a preset data source format and a preset matrix format, the layer rendering data comprising pixel data of the to-be-rendered element and transformation matrix data of the to-be-rendered element, wherein the step of converting the initial rendering information according to the preset layer encapsulation format to obtain the layer rendering data comprises: converting the to-be-rendered element data according to the preset data source format to obtain the pixel data; and converting the linear transformation instruction according to the preset matrix format to obtain the transformation matrix data, wherein the step of converting the to-be-rendered element data according to the preset data source format to obtain the pixel data comprises converting the to-be-rendered element data to the pixel data by setting a texture pixel and/or directly setting a frame buffer.
Chen teaches the method for graphics rendering wherein the initial rendering information comprises a linear transformation instruction to be performed on the to-be-rendered element (Paragraph 94 teaches obtaining operation instructions like rotation, which is a linear transformation, as part of the initial rendering information), wherein the preset layer encapsulation format comprises a(Paragraph 59 teaches “the processing module 220 may obtain the RGB value or the greyscale value of each pixel of the image data that is window width and/or window position adjusted”. The window width or position being adjusted teaches a preset data source format; Paragraph 72 teaches that there are conversion matrices corresponding to multiple operations. These conversion matrices can be considered the preset matrix formats), the layer rendering data comprising pixel data of the to-be-rendered element and transformation matrix data of the to-be-rendered element, wherein the step of converting the initial rendering information according to the preset layer encapsulation format to obtain the layer rendering data comprises: converting the to-be-rendered element data according to the preset data source format to obtain the pixel data (Paragraph 59 teaches “the processing module 220 may obtain the RGB value or the greyscale value of each pixel of the image data that is window width and/or window position adjusted”. The image data teaches the to-be-rendered element data and the RGB value teaches pixel data. The window width or position being adjusted teaches a preset data source format and obtaining the RGB value from the window width/position adjusted image data teaches converting the to-be-rendered element data according to the preset data source format to obtain pixel data); and converting the linear transformation instruction according to the preset matrix format to obtain the transformation matrix data (Paragraph 72 teaches the processing module also can convert linear transformation instructions like rotation into a matrix. Converting it into a matrix can be considered converting the linear transformation instruction into a preset matrix format which then is performed on the image; Paragraph 96 teaches the image data is processed according to the image processing parameters from the matrix. Thus, the processed image data is the transformation matrix data),
wherein the step of converting the to-be-rendered element data according to the preset data source format to obtain the pixel data comprises converting the to-be-rendered element data to the pixel data by setting a texture pixel (Paragraph 58 teaches the processing module can perform texture mapping when processing the image data. This teaches setting a texture pixel under broadest reasonable interpretation) and/or directly setting a frame buffer, where each storage unit of the frame buffer corresponds to one pixel of the pixel data(Paragraph 62 teaches there is a storage module 240 used with the processing module 220 to store any processing results. Paragraph 59 teaches converting to-be-rendered element data to pixel data through the RGB value of the pixel being obtained after window width/position adjusting. These results are stored in the storage module which is taught to “store information in a format of text, digital, sound, image, video, etc”. The image storage teaches storing the entire image or one image of pixel data in a frame buffer).
Yang and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rendering graphics through WebGL. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of graphics rendering taught by Yang with the linear transformation taught by Chen in order to smoothly display the user’s desired operation and rendered image at a local processing device (Chen Paragraph 4).
However, Yang and Chen are not used to teach the whole frame buffer corresponds to one image of the pixel data.
VanReenen teaches directly setting a frame buffer, where each storage unit of the frame buffer corresponds to one pixel of the pixel data, and the whole frame buffer corresponds to one image of the pixel data (Paragraph 180 teaches there are various buffers used to store intermediate graphics data which includes a “frame buffer 80”. Paragraph 207-208 teaches the frame buffer can store warped image content. Paragraph 210 teaches the warping populates colors in the image which teaches pixel data being modified. Since this data is stored in the frame buffer, this teaches the whole frame buffer corresponds to one image of the pixel data).
Yang, Chen, and VanReenen are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering graphics through WebGL. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of graphics rendering taught by Yang in view of Chen with the frame buffer taught by VanReenen in order to store intermediate data as graphics data is generated and eventually retrieve the data for rendering (VanReenen Paragraph 45 and 180).
17. Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen teaches the limitations of claim 1. Yang is not relied upon for the below claim language: the method for graphics rendering based on the WebGL wherein the step of converting the linear transformation instruction according to the preset matrix format to obtain the transformation matrix data comprises: obtaining, according to the linear transformation instruction and a corresponding preset matrix format, a linear transformation matrix corresponding to the linear transformation instruction and then multiplying an initial matrix by a corresponding linear transformation matrix in turn according to an order of the linear transformation instruction to obtain the transformation matrix data.
Chen teaches the method for graphics rendering based on the WebGL wherein the step of converting the linear transformation instruction according to the preset matrix format to obtain the transformation matrix data comprises: obtaining, according to the linear transformation instruction and a corresponding preset matrix format, a linear transformation matrix corresponding to the linear transformation instruction (Paragraph 72 teaches converting linear transformation instructions like rotation into a matrix. Converting it into a matrix can be considered converting the linear transformation instruction into a preset matrix format. The resulting matrix can be considered the linear transformation matrix),
and then multiplying an initial matrix by a corresponding linear transformation matrix in turn according to an order of the linear transformation instruction to obtain the transformation matrix data (Paragraph 72 teaches the operations are performed on the image. The initial matrix can be considered the original image coordinates which are multiplied by the composite conversion matrix during processing to obtain the transformation matrix data; Paragraph 96 teaches the image data is processed according to the image processing parameters from the matrix. Thus, the processed image data is the transformation matrix data).
Yang, Chen, and VanReenen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rendering graphics through WebGL. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of graphics rendering taught by Yang and VanReenen with the conversion of the linear transformation instruction taught by Chen in order to smoothly display the user’s desired operation and rendered image at a local processing device (Chen Paragraph 4).
18. Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen teaches the limitations of claim 5. Yang is not relied upon for the below claim language: the method for graphics rendering wherein the preset matrix format is preset according to the linear transformation instruction, wherein a same type of linear transformation instructions correspond to a same preset matrix format.
Chen teaches the method for graphics rendering wherein the preset matrix format is preset according to the linear transformation instruction, wherein a same type of linear transformation instructions correspond to a same preset matrix format (Paragraph 72 teaches that there are conversion matrices corresponding to multiple operations. Thus, each linear transformation instruction or operation would correspond to a same preset matrix format).
Yang, Chen, and VanReenen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rendering graphics through WebGL. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of graphics rendering taught by Yang and VanReenen with the preset matrix formats taught by Chen in order to smoothly display the user’s desired operation and rendered image at a local processing device (Chen Paragraph 4).
19. Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches an apparatus for graphics rendering based on a Web Graphics Library (WebGL), comprising: an acquisition module, configured to acquire initial rendering information (Paragraph 66-67 teaches obtaining a BIM model file which can be considered the initial rendering information; Paragraph 94 teaches an acquiring unit which can be considered the acquisition module);
a format conversion module, configured to convert the initial rendering information according to a preset layer encapsulation format to obtain layer rendering data (Paragraph 68-69 teaches converting the BIM model file into model data. The model data can be considered the layer rendering data. It teaches using a format identifier that converts the BIM model file into model data. The format identifier can be considered the preset layer encapsulation format; Paragraph 95 teaches a conversion unit which can be considered the format conversion module);
a data processing module, configured to map the layer rendering data into a WebGL data format to obtain WebGL rendering data (Paragraphs 73-81 teach mapping the model data into a WebGL data format for WebGL rendering. In S301 and S302 it acquires the attribute information from the model data of the BIM model file and then creates matrix data or grid/mesh data of each component in the model data in S303 and S304. The grid/mesh data can be considered the WebGL data format which WebGL renders to create rendering data; Paragraph 101-108 teaches a rendering module which consist of determining units and a division unit which create the matrix data and grid data for rendering in WebGL);
and a rendering module, configured to invoke a WebGL interface and perform rendering output according to the WebGL rendering data (Paragraph 60 teaches that WebGL is invoked in a browser, which can be considered the WebGL interface, to render a model. Thus, in Paragraph 80 when the WebGL renders the rendering data or grid data, it does so in the browser or WebGL interface and performs the rendering output by displaying it in the browser; Paragraph 107 teaches a rendering unit which renders the grid data according to WebGL).
wherein the acquisition module is configured to acquire the following information: to-be-rendered element data (Paragraph 66-67 teaches obtaining a BIM model file which can be considered the initial rendering information or the to-be-rendered element data; Paragraph 70 teaches there is component attribute information in the BIM model file which can be considered the to-be-rendered element data)
However, Yang is not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the acquisition module is configured to acquire the following information: a linear transformation instruction to be performed on the to-be-rendered element, wherein the preset layer encapsulation format comprises a preset data source format and a preset matrix format, the layer rendering data comprising pixel data of the to-be-rendered element and transformation matrix data of the to-be-rendered element, wherein the format conversion module is configured to obtain the layer rendering data in the following manner: converting the to-be-rendered element data according to the preset data source format to obtain the pixel data; and converting the linear transformation instruction according to the preset matrix format to obtain the transformation matrix data, wherein the step of converting the to-be-rendered element data according to the preset data source format to obtain the pixel data comprises converting the to-be-rendered element data to the pixel data by setting a texture pixel and/or directly setting a frame buffer.
Chen teaches wherein the acquisition module is configured to acquire the following information: a linear transformation instruction to be performed on the to-be-rendered element (Paragraph 94 teaches obtaining operation instructions like rotation, which is a linear transformation, as part of the initial rendering information), wherein the preset layer encapsulation format comprises a preset data source format and a preset matrix format (Paragraph 59 teaches “the processing module 220 may obtain the RGB value or the greyscale value of each pixel of the image data that is window width and/or window position adjusted”. The window width or position being adjusted teaches a preset data source format; Paragraph 72 teaches that there are conversion matrices corresponding to multiple operations. These conversion matrices can be considered the preset matrix formats; Paragraph 72 teaches that there are conversion matrices corresponding to multiple operations. These conversion matrices can be considered the preset matrix formats), the layer rendering data comprising pixel data of the to-be-rendered element and transformation matrix data of the to-be-rendered element, wherein the format conversion module is configured to obtain the layer rendering data in the following manner: converting the to-be-rendered element data according to the preset data source format to obtain the pixel data (Paragraph 59 teaches “the processing module 220 may obtain the RGB value or the greyscale value of each pixel of the image data that is window width and/or window position adjusted”. The image data teaches the to-be-rendered element data and the RGB value teaches pixel data. The window width or position being adjusted teaches a preset data source format and obtaining the RGB value from the window width/position adjusted image data teaches converting the to-be-rendered element data according to the preset data source format to obtain pixel data); and converting the linear transformation instruction according to the preset matrix format to obtain the transformation matrix data (Paragraph 72 teaches converting linear transformation instructions like rotation into a matrix. Converting it into a matrix can be considered converting the linear transformation instruction into a preset matrix format which then is performed on the image; Paragraph 96 teaches the image data is processed according to the image processing parameters from the matrix. Thus, the processed image data is the transformation matrix data),
wherein the converting the to-be-rendered element data according to the preset data source format to obtain the pixel data comprises converting the to-be-rendered element data to the pixel data by setting a texture pixel (Paragraph 58 teaches the processing module can perform texture mapping when processing the image data. This teaches setting a texture pixel under broadest reasonable interpretation) and/or directly setting a frame buffer, where each storage unit of the frame buffer corresponds to one pixel of the pixel data, (Paragraph 62 teaches there is a storage module 240 used with the processing module 220 to store any processing results. Paragraph 59 teaches converting to-be-rendered element data to pixel data through the RGB value of the pixel being obtained after window width/position adjusting. These results are stored in the storage module which is taught to “store information in a format of text, digital, sound, image, video, etc”. The image storage teaches storing the entire image or one image of pixel data in a frame buffer).
Yang and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rendering graphics through WebGL. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of graphics rendering taught by Yang with the linear transformation taught by Chen in order to smoothly display the user’s desired operation and rendered image at a local processing device (Chen Paragraph 4).
However, Yang and Chen are not used to teach the whole frame buffer corresponds to one image of the pixel data.
VanReenen teaches directly setting a frame buffer, where each storage unit of the frame buffer corresponds to one pixel of the pixel data, and the whole frame buffer corresponds to one image of the pixel data (Paragraph 180 teaches there are various buffers used to store intermediate graphics data which includes a “frame buffer 80”. Paragraph 207-208 teaches the frame buffer can store warped image content. Paragraph 210 teaches the warping populates colors in the image which teaches pixel data being modified. Since this data is stored in the frame buffer, this teaches the whole frame buffer corresponds to one image of the pixel data).
Yang, Chen, and VanReenen are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering graphics through WebGL. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of graphics rendering taught by Yang in view of Chen with the frame buffer taught by VanReenen in order to store intermediate data as graphics data is generated and eventually retrieve the data for rendering (VanReenen Paragraph 45 and 180).
20. Regarding claim 14, Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen teaches the limitations of claim 10. Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 5. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 5 applies herein.
21. Claim(s) 7, 15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 111161390 A), hereinafter referred to as Yang, in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0294303 A1), and VanReenen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0350036 A1), hereinafter referred to as VanReenen, as applied to claim 1, 5, and 10 above, and further in view of Qiu et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 110544290 A), hereinafter referred to as Qiu and Du (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 110956673 A).
22. Regarding claim 7, Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Yang is not relied upon for the below claim language: the method for graphics rendering wherein the step of mapping the layer rendering data into the WebGL data format to obtain the WebGL rendering data comprises: mapping the pixel data into WebGL texture; and mapping the transformation matrix data into an attribute in a WebGL shader.
Qiu teaches the method for graphics rendering wherein the step of mapping the layer rendering data into the WebGL data format to obtain the WebGL rendering data comprises: mapping the pixel data into WebGL texture (Paragraph 55 teaches a fragment shader gets the color value for each pixel. The color value can be considered a WebGL texture);
Yang, Chen, VanReenen, and Qiu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rendering graphics through WebGL. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of graphics rendering taught by Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen with mapping the layer rendering data into WebGL data format taught by Qiu in order to shorten loading times when rendering massive amounts of data and improve performance (Qiu Paragraph 9).
However, Yang, Chen, VanReenen, and Qiu are not relied upon for the below claim language: mapping the transformation matrix data into an attribute in a WebGL shader.
Du teaches mapping the transformation matrix data into an attribute in a WebGL shader (Paragraph 57 teach the methods use the WebGL drawing interface and preset shaders; Paragraphs 83-85 teach the transformation matrix data is calculated in a preset shader which consists of the vertex and fragment shaders. The fragment shaders extracts the color or texture for each pixel which means the transformation matrix data has been mapped into an attribute like a color or texture).
Yang, Chen, VanReenen, Qiu, and Du are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering graphics through WebGL. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of graphics rendering taught by Yang in view of Chen, VanReenen, and Qiu with the WebGL shader taught by Du in order to effectively draw each frame of the graphic and improve response speed to user operations (Du Paragraph 23).
23. Regarding claim 15, Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen teaches the limitations of claim 10. Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 7. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 7 applies herein.
24. Regarding claim 21, Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen teaches the limitations of claim 5. Claim 21 is similar in scope to claim 7. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 7 applies herein.
25. Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 111161390 A), hereinafter referred to as Yang, in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0294303 A1) and VanReenen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0350036 A1), hereinafter referred to as VanReenen, as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Brown (“5.1 – Introduction to Rendering” https://learnwebgl.brown37.net/rendering/introduction.html ) and Bouazizi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0346906 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bouazizi.
26. Regarding claim 8, Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen teaches the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches the method for graphics rendering wherein the initial rendering information comprises global attribute data (Paragraph 70 teaches the BIM model file, which is the initial rendering information, comprises attribute information. The attribute information can be considered global attribute data),
However, Yang is not relied upon for the below claim language: the method further comprises: setting, before converting the initial rendering information according to the preset layer encapsulation format to obtain the layer rendering data, WebGL context according to the global attribute data.
Brown teaches the method further comprises: setting, before converting the initial rendering information according to the preset layer encapsulation format to obtain the layer rendering data, WebGL context (Section ‘Pre-processing: WebGL Setup’ teaches in step 2 creating a WebGL context before going through the steps to convert initial rendering information in to a WebGL rendering data format. Thus, the context is created before converting the initial rendering information according to the preset layer encapsulation format since that is part of the process to convert the initial rendering information into WebGL rendering data)
Yang, Chen, VanReenen, and Brown are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rendering graphics through WebGL. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for graphics rendering taught by Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen with the setting of the WebGL context taught by Brown in order to prevent the GPU from slowing down in rendering (Brown Section ‘Rendering Speed Considerations’).
However, Yang, Chen, VanReenen, and Brown are not relied upon for the below claim language: setting WebGL context according to the global attribute data.
Bouazizi teaches setting WebGL context according to the global attribute data (Paragraph 62-63 teaches creating a WebGL context by binding it to an initial or global texture).
Yang, Chen, VanReenen, Brown, and Bouazizi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of rendering graphics through WebGL. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for graphics rendering taught by Yang in view of Chen, VanReenen, and Brown with the setting the WebGL context with a global attribute taught by Bouazizi in order to provide a texturing reference and operation to the graphics (Bouazizi Paragraph 62).
27. Regarding claim 16, Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen teaches the limitations of claim 10. Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 8. Therefore, similar rationale as applied to claim 8 is applied herein.
28. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 111161390 A), hereinafter referred to as Yang, in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0294303 A1) and VanReenen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0350036 A1), hereinafter referred to as VanReenen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of He (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 112559647 A).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches a method for graphics rendering based on a Web Graphics Library (WebGL), comprising: obtaining a first rendering element (Paragraph 80-81 teaches rendering the data which results in a rendered element obtained) by adopting the method for graphics rendering based on the WebGL of claim 1 (See rejection for claim 1 above); (Paragraph 55-56 teaches detecting new uploads of BIM model files and processing it through the method taught in claim 1. Detecting the upload can be considered judging and determining if new initial rendering information exists. If it doesn’t detect any, then it doesn’t exist. If it does detect, then it does exist. The new uploads of BIM model files can be considered new initial rendering information existing.) by adopting the method for graphics rendering based on the WebGL of claim 1 (See rejection for claim 1 above).
However, Yang is not relied upon for the below claim language: the method comprising: judging whether to keep the first rendering element; when the first rendering element is not kept, recycling the first rendering element; judging whether new initial rendering information exists.
He teaches the method comprising: judging whether to keep the first rendering element; when the first rendering element is not kept, recycling the first rendering element (Paragraph n0009 and n0013 teaches comparing the new data set with the old data set, or first rendering element, and recycling the old data set depending on the comparison result).
Yang, Chen, VanReenen, and He are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of graphics rendering. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for graphics rendering taught by Yang in view of Chen and VanReenen with the recycling of elements taught by He in order to avoid data display jams from updates to the data and improve stability of the rendering instead (He Paragraph n0004 and n0005).
Conclusion
29. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Lim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 10,303,892 B1) teaches converting data into a data format, like WebGL, suitable for rendering in a web browser.
/CHRISTINE YERA AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612