DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33, 39-43, 52, 54, 57-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Austrheim et al. (NO 344852).
Regarding claim 33, Austrheim et al. teaches a picking station for use in a grid-based storage system, the picking station comprising:
a robotic arm, 41; and
a mount, 31, for mounting the robotic arm to one or more framework members of the storage system, the robotic arm being configured to be received within a single grid cell of the storage system, se figure 6a;
a computing device, the computing device including one or more processing units, one or more volatile data storage units, one or more non-volatile data storage units, a network interface, and a controller apparatus, the controller apparatus being configured, in use, to send signals to the picking station to control operation of the robotic arm,
Austrheim teaches in the specification:
For monitoring and controlling the automated storage and retrieval system 1 (e.g. monitoring and controlling the location of respective storage containers 106 within the storage grid 104; the content of each storage container 106; and the movement of the container handling vehicles 200,300 so that a desired storage container 106 can be delivered to the desired location at the desired time without the container handling vehicles 200,300 colliding with each other), the automated storage and retrieval system 1 comprises a control system (not shown) which typically is computerized and which typically comprises a database for keeping track of the storage containers 106.
In fig. 1A, a control system of the automated storage and retrieval system 1 is shown as a box 20 provided in communication with the vehicles 200, 300.
It should be noted that the vehicle 30 with its wheel arrangement 32, its container lifting device 50 and its picking system 40 is controlled by a control system. This control system will typically be the same control system being used for monitoring and controlling the automated storage and retrieval system 1, as mentioned in the introduction above. It should be noted that picking arms with holding mechanisms are commercially available - and are considered prior art. Hence, the control of such picking arms with holding mechanism will not be described in detail herein.
The holding mechanism 49 is configured to releasably holding the product item 5, and can use one of many known holding principles, such as by using a suction force provided by an air pump, a magnetic force provided by an electromagnet, a clamping force by using a claw operated by electric servo motors etc. It may even comprise a combination of two or more of these holding principles. In addition, the picking system 40 may comprise object recognition equipment 48 (shown in fig. 4b) for recognizing the product item 5 in order to control the positioning of the picking arm and the holding mechanism 49 in relation to the product item 5 in order to hold it. The object recognition equipment 48 may also be used during release of the product item 5, for example in cases where the product items 5 are released into a shipping package (not shown) provided inside the target container 6. This shipping package may be a cardboard box, a rigid or semi-rigid bag, an envelope etc. The shipping package may be individually marked, in order for the picking system 40 to release the product item 5 into one specific shipping package of a plurality of shipping packages provided in the target container 6.;
where the object recognition device and associated control reads on the claimed computing device, and the network interface and controller, 20, is taught to control the system and send signals to the picking station.
wherein the picking station is configured to access:
i) eight grid cells surrounding the picking station reserved for use by the picking station, see figure 5; and
ii) the eight grid cells are divided into a first zone and a second zone such that each of the zones include one or more grid cells for receiving a delivery container, P1a and P1b shown in figure 8 and one or more grid cells for receiving a respective storage container, P0.
Regarding claim 39, Austrheim et al. teaches the eight grid cells surrounding the picking station are divided into a first zone and a second zone such that each of the zones comprise:
one grid cell for receiving a delivery container, P1a and P1b, and three grid cells for receiving a respective storage container, P0, see figure 5 and figure 8.
Regarding claim 40, Austrheim et al. teaches the mount is directly connected to one or more vertical members of the storage system, see figures 6-8, which shows the mount, 31, resting on the top rail of the vertical storage grid and directly on top of the vertical supports of the storage grid.
Regarding claim 41, Austrheim et al. teaches the mount is directly connected to one or more horizontal members of the storage system, see figures 6-8, which shows the mount, 31, resting on the top rail of the vertical storage grid and directly on top of the horizontal members of the storage grid.
Regarding claim 42, Austrheim et al. teaches the mount comprises:
a plinth, 31, the plinth being configured to be connected to one or more framework members of the storage system and to be received within a grid cell of the storage system, see figures 6-7, where the square base of the vehicle reads on the claimed plinth.
Regarding claim 43, Austrheim et al. teaches the plinth extends across substantially all of the grid cell within which the picking station is received, see figures 6-7.
Regarding claim 52, Austrheim et al. teaches the robotic arm comprises: one or more end effectors, 49.
Regarding claim 54, Austrheim et al. teaches the robotic arm is configured, in use, to select an item from a container received in a first grid cell and to transfer the item to a container received in a second grid cell, see figures 6a and 6b.
Regarding claim 57, Austrheim et al. teaches a storage system comprising: a first set of tracks extending in a first direction; a second set of tracks extending in a second direction transverse to the first direction, to form a grid containing a plurality of grid cells, a framework structure on which the first set of tracks and the second set of tracks are received such that a stack of containers may be stored below each of the plurality of grid cells; and one or more picking stations, see figure 1.
Regarding 58, Austrheim et al. teaches: a plurality of load-handling devices for lifting and moving containers stacked in stacks within the storage system, each of the load-handling devices being configured to move on the tracks above the stacks of containers, see figure 1.
Regarding claim 59, Austrheim et al. teaches the picking station is configured, in use, to pick one or more items from the storage containers received in the first zone and to transfer them into the delivery container of the first zone, see figures 6a and 6b.
Regarding claim 60, Austrheim et al. teaches a plurality of load- handling devices are configured to remove one or more storage containers from the second zone, see abstract.
Regarding claim 61, Austrheim et al. teaches a load-handling device is configured to remove the delivery container from the second zone, see abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33-37, 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hognaland (US 2020/0031575) in view of Austrheim et al. (NO 344852).
Regarding claim 33, Hognaland teaches a picking station for use in a grid-based storage system, the picking station comprising:
a robotic arm, 42; and
a mount for mounting the robotic arm to one or more framework members of the storage system, the robotic arm being configured to be received within a single grid cell of the storage system, se figures 5 and 6;
wherein the picking station is configured to access:
i) eight grid cells surrounding the picking station reserved for use by the picking station, see figure 5; and
ii) the eight grid cells are divided into a first zone, A1, and a second zone, B1, such that each of the zones include one or more grid cells for receiving a delivery container, 38, which enter the zone B1 on conveyor, and one or more grid cells for receiving a respective storage container, 30, which are located in the grid storage area zone A1, where the zones A1 and B1 shown in figure 5 outline the area reachable by the robotic arm surrounding the picking station.
Hognaland teaches a storage control and communication device, see paragraph 008, but does not specifically teach the computing device, network interface, and controller apparatus, claimed. Austrheim et al. teaches a computing device, the computing device including one or more processing units, one or more volatile data storage units, one or more non-volatile data storage units, a network interface, and a controller apparatus, the controller apparatus being configured, in use, to send signals to the picking station to control operation of the robotic arm,
Austrheim teaches in the specification:
For monitoring and controlling the automated storage and retrieval system 1 (e.g. monitoring and controlling the location of respective storage containers 106 within the storage grid 104; the content of each storage container 106; and the movement of the container handling vehicles 200,300 so that a desired storage container 106 can be delivered to the desired location at the desired time without the container handling vehicles 200,300 colliding with each other), the automated storage and retrieval system 1 comprises a control system (not shown) which typically is computerized and which typically comprises a database for keeping track of the storage containers 106.
In fig. 1A, a control system of the automated storage and retrieval system 1 is shown as a box 20 provided in communication with the vehicles 200, 300.
It should be noted that the vehicle 30 with its wheel arrangement 32, its container lifting device 50 and its picking system 40 is controlled by a control system. This control system will typically be the same control system being used for monitoring and controlling the automated storage and retrieval system 1, as mentioned in the introduction above. It should be noted that picking arms with holding mechanisms are commercially available - and are considered prior art. Hence, the control of such picking arms with holding mechanism will not be described in detail herein.
The holding mechanism 49 is configured to releasably holding the product item 5, and can use one of many known holding principles, such as by using a suction force provided by an air pump, a magnetic force provided by an electromagnet, a clamping force by using a claw operated by electric servo motors etc. It may even comprise a combination of two or more of these holding principles. In addition, the picking system 40 may comprise object recognition equipment 48 (shown in fig. 4b) for recognizing the product item 5 in order to control the positioning of the picking arm and the holding mechanism 49 in relation to the product item 5 in order to hold it. The object recognition equipment 48 may also be used during release of the product item 5, for example in cases where the product items 5 are released into a shipping package (not shown) provided inside the target container 6. This shipping package may be a cardboard box, a rigid or semi-rigid bag, an envelope etc. The shipping package may be individually marked, in order for the picking system 40 to release the product item 5 into one specific shipping package of a plurality of shipping packages provided in the target container 6.;
where the object recognition device and associated control reads on the claimed computing device, and the network interface and controller, 20, is taught to control the system and send signals to the picking station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the computing device and controller apparatus of Austrheim et al. with the picking station of Hognaland in order to achieve the predictable result of controlling the picking station and robotic arm to operate seamlessly with the grid network and to control the robotic arm to pick up and move objects according to specifics instructions and orders,
Regarding claim 34, Hognaland teaches the mount comprises: a support member which extends below a surface of a grid of the storage system, see figure 6.
Regarding claim 35-37, Hognaland teaches the support member is connected to one or more framework members of the storage system, including the vertical and horizontal members, see figure 6 and paragraphs 0067.
Regarding claim 50, Austrheim et al. teaches a remote computing device, 20, the remote computing device being separate from the computing device of the picking station and comprising: one or more processing units, one or more volatile data storage units, one or more non-volatile data storage unite and a network interface.
Claim(s) 44-48, and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hognaland in view of Austrheim et al. and further in view of Kalouche (US 2023/0356387).
Regarding 44, neither Hognaland nor Austrheim teach the picking station further comprises: one or more cameras. Kalouche teaches a picking arm, 206, with a camera, 262, for generating images of the products stored in the containers, see paragraph 0086. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the camera of Kalouche with the picking station and arm of Hognaland in order to control the picking arm to pick the correct items from containers.
Regarding claim 45, Kalouche teaches one or more cameras, 262, mounted above the picking station, see figure 9B.
Regarding claim 46, Kalouche teaches one or more cameras mounted on the robotic arm, see figure 9B.
Regarding claim 47, neither Hognaland nor Austrheim et al. teach the mount comprises: one or more optical sensors. Kalouche teaches a picking arm, 206, with optical sensor, 262, for generating images of the products stored in the containers, see paragraph 0086. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sensor of Kalouche with the picking station and arm of Hognaland in order to control the picking arm to pick the correct items from containers.
Regarding claim 48, neither Austrheim nor Hognaland teach one or more barcode scanners are mounted on the robotic arm. Kalouche teaches a picking arm, 206, with barcode scanner, 264, for scanning barcodes of the products stored in the containers, see paragraph 0120. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the scanner of Kalouche with the picking station and arm of Hognaland in order to control the picking arm to pick the correct items from containers.
Regarding claim 53, neither Austrheim nor Hognaland teach the robotic arm is configured to exchange a first end effector for a second effector. Kalouche teaches a robotic arm with an end effector with a quick-change mechanism, see paragraph 0102 and figure 13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the robotic arm of Hognaland with the quick-change mechanism taught by Kalouche in order to achieve the predictable result of replacing the end effector when needed.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hognaland in view of Austrheim and further in view of Gjerdevik et al. (US 2023/0131214).
Regarding claim 38, neither Hognaland nor Austrheim teach the support member is connected to a floor of the storage system. Gjerdevik et al. teaches a picking station with a picking robot mounted on a support, where the support is connected to the floor, see figure 8. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to mount the support of the picking robot of Hognaland to the floor of the storage system, as taught by Gjerdevik et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of securely supporting the picking arm on the stable floor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 56 is allowed.
Claims 62-64 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 62-64, the prior art does not teach the storage system, as claimed, where a load-handling device is used deposit one more storage containers into grid locations in the second zone, or deposit delivery containers into the second zone. In the Austrheim reference, the delivery container is located on the vehicle and is not separately deposited into the second zone, and in the Hognaland reference the delivery containers are moved into and out of the system via a conveyor.
Response to Arguments
Applicants amended claim 33 to include the limitations of claims 49 and 51, and argue that the Austrheim et al. reference does not teach the computing device and controller. As outlined in the detailed rejection above and shown in the cited paragraphs of Austrheim, the prior art does teach the claimed computing device, where the object recognition device and associated control reads on the claimed computing device, and the network interface and controller, 20, is taught to control the system and send signals to the picking station.
Claim 33 remains rejected under Austrheim et al.
Furthermore, in light of the amendment claim 33-37 and 50 are rejected under Hognaland in view of Austrheim et al., where Austrheim is relied upon to teach the computing device and controller limitations.
The rejection in view of Stadie has been removed.
Claims 33-48, 50, 52-54, 57-61 remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
10 August 2026