DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein the wash basin is provided with a funnel having a tongue and a spring beneath the tongue, configured to open automatically upon flow of water and to close automatically upon insertion of hands or dishes during washing” recited in claim 9 and “wherein a flexible pipe opening located above a wash basin drain functions, even in the absence of a funnel, with a tongue and a spring, and wherein a diameter of the flexible pipe opening is equal to a diameter of the faucet” recited in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "9" and "10" have both been used to designate the “pipe for drainage of bad water to sewer” and reference characters “4” and “7” have both been used to designate “the descending directable and foldable pipe”.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 9 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 1, “Claim” should read --claim--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The originally filed Specification fails to describe, define, or support “wherein the wash basin is provided with a funnel having a tongue and a spring beneath the tongue, configured to open automatically upon flow of water and to close automatically upon insertion of hands or dishes during washing” as recited in claim 9, lines 1-3 and “wherein a flexible pipe opening located above a wash basin drain functions, even in the absence of a funnel, with a tongue and a spring, and wherein a diameter of the flexible pipe opening is equal to a diameter of the faucet” as recited in claim 10, lines 1-4.
Any remaining dependent claim(s) fail to comply with the written description requirement insofar as they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the bottom of the wash basin” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the bottom of the wash basin” is interpreted to read --a bottom of the wash basin--.
Claim 4 recites “the user” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the user” is interpreted to read --a user--.
Any remaining dependent claim(s) are indefinite insofar as they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ford (US 5274861).
Regarding claim 1, Ford discloses a wash basin comprising:
an excess water slot (slot of 48, 50, 16, 41’ extending to 68) connected to a flexible pipe (52, 70, 76; col. 5, ll. 43-65) protruding upward (see Fig. 3; col. 5, ll. 43-65),
wherein the flexible pipe is configured to allow a user's hands inserted between a faucet (a faucet of 12) and a water separation duct (18, 20) to receive faucet water before the faucet water falls into the basin (70 is capable of receiving water from a faucet before the water falls into the basin; see Fig. 1 and 3),
wherein the received faucet water is to be recycled (via 20 directed to 24 and 26; see Fig. 1 and 3), and
wherein the excess water slot is provided in a bottommost opening (opening near 50) of the wash basin (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Ford discloses the excess water slot is fixed to the flexible pipe (via 76 and 80), and
wherein the flexible pipe is connected to an upper funnel (upper section of 70) configured for collecting water leaking from the faucet and the faucet water falling from the faucet for recycling (the upper section of 70 is capable of collecting leaking and falling water from a faucet).
Regarding claim 3, Ford discloses the excess water slot comprises two separate outlets (outlet of the upper section of 70 near 50, outlet of 50) at the bottom (44, 46) of the wash basin.
Regarding claim 4, Ford discloses the excess water slot further comprises an L-figured pipe (74) fixed to a bottom (below line 4-4) of the excess water slot (see Fig. 3), and
wherein the L-figured pipe is configured to direct the faucet water falling in the basin (via 20) to a destination (24, 26) selected by the user for recycling (see Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 5, Ford discloses the excess water slot is configured to allow entry of pipes (20, 40’) configured to separate water at a bottom (below line 4-4) of the excess water slot (see Fig. 3), and
wherein the excess water slot is configured to connect to an upper tool (upper section of 70) configured to collect falling water which leaked from the faucet (the upper section of 70 is capable of collecting falling water from a faucet).
Regarding claim 6, Ford discloses the excess water slot further comprises two bottom outlets (outlet near 74, outlet near 41’), and
wherein a first one (outlet near 41’) of the two bottom outlets is configured for turbid water (see Fig. 1 and 3) and a second one (outlet near 74) of the two bottom outlets is configured for recyclable pure water (see Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Ford discloses the excess water slot is fixed to the flexible pipe directed upward (via 76 and 80),
wherein the flexible pipe is connected to an upper funnel (funnel of 70) supported with tools (28, 30) for purification and for adjustment of an aperture (aperture of 70).
Regarding claim 8, Ford discloses an excess water receptacle for a wash basin, the excess water receptacle comprising:
a main body (48, 50, 16, 41’ extending to 68) configured to be inserted into a bottommost opening (opening near 50) of the wash basin (see Fig. 3),
wherein the main body comprises a first outlet (outlet near 41’) for outputting waste water and a second outlet (outlet near 74) for outputting water to be recycled (see Fig. 1 and 3);
a flexible pipe (52, 70, 76; col. 5, ll. 43-65) connected to the main body (see Fig. 3),
wherein the flexible pipe is configured to protrude upward from the main body (see Fig. 3; col. 5, ll. 43-65) toward an opening of a faucet (a faucet of 12) attached to the wash basin (70, 76 is capable of protruding upward from the main body toward an opening of a faucet of 12; see Fig. 1 and 3),
wherein the flexible pipe is configured to allow a user's hands, inserted under the opening of the faucet and above the bottommost opening of the wash basin, to receive water that exited the opening of the faucet before the water travels through the bottommost opening (52, 70, 76 is capable of receiving water that exited an opening of a faucet of 12 before the water travels through the opening near 50; see Fig. 3), and
wherein the flexible pipe is configured to receive water that exited the opening of the faucet (52, 70, 76 is capable of receiving water from an opening of a faucet of 12), and to direct the received water to the second outlet for outputting water to be recycled (via 20, see Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 11, Ford discloses the wash basin comprises a hand wash basin (col. 2, ll. 6-23, col. 2, l. 66 - col. 3, l. 11).
Regarding claim 12, Ford discloses the wash basin comprises a kitchen dishwashing sink (col. 2, ll. 6-23, col. 2, l. 66 - col. 3, l. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ford (US 5274861) in view of Fryan (WO 2018108243).
Regarding claim 9, Ford discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1.
However, Ford does not disclose the wash basin is provided with a funnel having a tongue and a spring beneath the tongue, configured to open automatically upon flow of water and to close automatically upon insertion of hands or dishes during washing as claimed.
Fryan discloses a kitchen or hand-wash basin having a valve for selectively directing used water to a sewer or to a reservoir for reuse wherein the wash basin (Fig. 1, element 1) is provided with a funnel (Fig. 5, elements 1-4) having a tongue (Fig. 5, element 2) and a spring (Fig. 5, element 3) beneath the tongue (see Fig. 5), configured to open automatically upon flow of water and to close automatically upon insertion of hands or dishes during washing (claim 7; Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the wash basin of Ford, to include a tongue and spring as claimed, as taught by Fryan, in order to automatically sort the descending water to recycle (claim 7).
Regarding claim 10, Ford discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1.
However, Ford does not disclose a flexible pipe opening located above a wash basin drain functions, even in the absence of a funnel, with a tongue and a spring, and wherein a diameter of the flexible pipe opening is equal to a diameter of the faucet as claimed.
Fryan discloses a kitchen or hand-wash basin having a valve for selectively directing used water to a sewer or to a reservoir for reuse wherein a flexible pipe opening (Fig. 2, opening of element 3) located above a wash basin drain (drain of shown in Fig. 2-3) functions, even in the absence of a funnel, with a tongue (Fig. 2, element 3) and a spring (Fig. 5, element 3), and wherein a diameter of the flexible pipe opening (Fig. 2, opening of element 3) is equal to a diameter of the faucet (faucet shown in Fig. 2-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the wash basin of Ford, to include a tongue and spring as claimed, as taught by Fryan, in order to automatically sort the descending water to recycle (claim 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM R. KLOTZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754