DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12, 14 & 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (WO 2020/189112 A1, and hereinafter using, as a translation, corresponding US 2022/0158301 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3 & 16-18, Sato teaches a nonaqueous secondary battery that obtains electromotive force by lithium doping and dedoping, comprising: a positive electrode ([0173]); a negative electrode ([0173]); and a separator, disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode ([0174]), and comprising: a porous substrate; and an adhesive porous layer that is provided on one or both sides of the porous substrate, and that contains a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) type resin A (i.e corresponding to the claimed PVDF type resin Y) including a structural unit derived from TFE and having a weight average molecular weight of preferably 700,000 to 2,300,000 and a melting point from 150°C to less than 180°C; a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) type resin B (i.e corresponding to the claimed PVDF type resin X) including a structural unit derived from HFP and having a weight average molecular weight of preferably 300,000 to 1,800,000 and a melting point form 125°C to less than 150°C; and a filler, such as metal hydroxide particles or metal sulfate particles, having an average primary particle size of 0.01 microns to 1 microns; wherein a volume ratio of the filler in the adhesive porous layer excluding pores is from 30% by volume to 90% by volume; and wherein a mass ratio of the PVDF resin X and the PVDF resin Y in the adhesive layer is from 20:80 to 80:20 ([0041]-[0061], [0073]-[0097] & [0103]-[0117]; Table 1; Example 11); wherein when differential scanning calorimetry is performed with all of the PVDF type resin contained in the adhesive layer as a sample, at least one endothermic peak is observed in a region of 125°C or more and less than 140°C and at least one endothermic peak is observed in a region of 140°C or more and less than 190°C; and a temperature difference between adjacent endothermic peaks is 10°C or more and 60°C or less ([0082]; Table 1; Example 11).
Regarding claim 12, Sato teaches the adhesive porous layer comprising structural units derived from a monomer represented by formula (1) ([0088]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 14, Sato teaches the weight average molecular weight of all of the PVDF type resin contained in the adhesive layer being from 300,000 to less than 3,000,000 (Table 1: Example 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-11, 13 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2020/189112 A1, and hereinafter using, as a translation, corresponding US 2022/0158301 A1) in view of Nishikawa (US 2014/0315068 A1).
Regarding claims 4-7, 9-11, 13 & 15, Sato teaches a separator comprising a porous substrate and an adhesive porous layer that is provided on one or both sides of the porous substrate, wherein the adhesive layer contains a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) type resin A (i.e corresponding to the claimed PVDF type resin Y) including a structural unit derived from TFE and having a weight average molecular weight of preferably 700,000 to 2,300,000 and a melting point from 150°C to less than 180°C; a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) type resin B (i.e corresponding to the claimed PVDF type resin X) including a structural unit derived from HFP and having a weight average molecular weight of preferably 300,000 to 1,800,000 and a melting point form 125°C to less than 150°C; and a filler, such as metal hydroxide particles or metal sulfate particles, having an average primary particle size of 0.01 microns to 1 microns; wherein a volume ratio of the filler in the adhesive porous layer excluding pores is from 30% by volume to 90% by volume; and wherein a mass ratio of the PVDF resin X and the PVDF resin Y in the adhesive layer is from 20:80 to 80:20 ([0041]-[0061], [0073]-[0097] & [0103]-[0117]; Table 1; Example 11). While Sato discloses that a content ratio HFP units is preferably greater than a content ratio of other monomer units (i.e other than VDF), wherein the content of the other units is preferably 5 mol% or less which suggests that the content ratio of HFP units is greater than 5 mol% (to the extent that the content of other monomer units is 5 mol% or less) ([0088]-[0089]) but does not teach (1) a maximum content of HFP units in the PVDF type resin X (claims 6 & 15) and is silent as to (2) wherein when differential scanning calorimetry is performed with all of the PVDF type resin contained in the adhesive layer as a sample, at least one exothermic peak is observed in a region of 80°C or more and less than 125°C and at least one exothermic peak is observed in a region of 125°C or more and less than 190°C (claim 4); (3) a temperature difference between adjacent exothermic peaks is 10°C or more and 60°C or less (claim 5); and (4) an acid value of all of the PVDF type resin contained in the adhesive porous layer being less than 3.0 mg KOH/g (claim 13). Nishikawa teaches a separator comprising a porous substrate and an adhesive sporous layer on at least one side of the porous substrate, wherein the adhesive layer comprises a filler; a PVDF type resin A (i.e corresponding to PVDF type resin Y) comprising less than 1.5 mol% of structural units derived from HFP and having a weight average molecular weight of preferably 200,000 to 500,000; and a PVDF type resin B (i.e corresponding to PVDF type resin X) comprising 2 mol% to 15 mol% of structural units derived from HFP and a having a weight average molecular weight of 300,000 to 2,500,000 ([0030] & [0086]-[0113]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the PVDF type resin X including 2 mol% to 15 mol% of structural units derived from HFP in view of ensuring swelling property with respect to an electrolyte as taught by Nishikawa ([0101]). Moreover, since modified Sato teaches substantially the same composition and structure for the PVDF type resin contained in the adhesive porous layer, the claimed property of an acid value of less than 3.0 mg KOH/g and the presence of at least two exothermic peaks with the claimed temperature difference between adjacent peaks of 10C or more and 90C or less would be expected to be inherently present in modified Sato’s separator. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claim 8, Sato teaches a difference between a melting point of the PVDF type resin X and a melting point of the PVDF type resin Y being from 25°C to less than 55°C (Table 1: Example 11).
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai (US 20220190441 A1) in view of Hoshiba (US 20140030578 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6-7, 9-12 & 14-18, Sakurai teaches a nonaqueous secondary battery that obtains electromotive force by lithium doping and dedoping, comprising: a positive electrode ([0186]-[0187]); a negative electrode ([0188]); and a separator, disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode ([0192]), and comprising: a porous substrate; and an adhesive porous layer that is provided on one or both sides of the porous substrate, and that contains a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) type resin including 3 wt% to 20 wt% of a structural unit derived from HFP (i.e corresponding to 1.3 mol% to 9.6 mol% of structural units derived from HFP) and having a weight average molecular weight of preferably 100,000 to 1,500,000; structural units derived from a monomer represented by formula (1); and a metal sulfate particles as filler having an average primary particle size of 0.01 microns to 0.3 microns, wherein a volume ratio of the filler in the adhesive porous layer excluding pores is from 40% by volume to 90% by volume ([0049]-[0057], [0068]-[0081], [0083]-[0092], [0116] & [0123]-[0124]). Sakurai is silent as to when a differential scanning calorimetry is performed with all of the PCF type resin contained in the adhesive porous layer as a sample, two or more endothermic peaks and/or two or more exothermic peaks are observed (claim 1) and the PVDF type resin containing the claimed PVDF type resin X and the claimed PVDF type resin Y (claim 6). Hoshiba teaches a nonaqueous secondary battery comprising a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and a separator, disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode ([0036]-[0037]), and comprising: a porous substrate; and an adhesive porous layer that is provided on one or both sides of the porous substrate, and that contains a first polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) type resin (i.e equated to the presently claimed a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) type resin Y) including 3 wt% of a structural unit derived from HFP (which corresponds to 1.3 mol% HFP) and having a weight average molecular weight of 1,500,000 to 2,500,000; a second polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) type resin (i.e equated to the polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) type resin X) including 10 wt% to 15 wt% of a structural unit derived from HFP (with an exemplary embodiment using 11 wt% HFP which corresponds to just above 5 mol% HFP) and having a weight average molecular weight of 400,000 to 600,000; wherein a mass ratio of the PVDF resin X and the PVDF resin Y in the adhesive porous layer is from 20:80 to 80:20 ([0037]-[0045], [0048] & [0099]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the PVDF type resin X and the PVDF type resin Y in view of maintaining a suitable ratio of solid for a viscose of a coating solution of the adhesive porous layer thereby improving a smoothness of the layer and improving buckling resistance as taught by Hoshiba ([0042] & [0045]-[0046]). While Sakurai as modified by Hoshiba does not explicitly teach or suggest two or more endothermic peak and/or two or more exothermic peak being observed, it is noted that Hoshiba teaches a first PVDF resin and second PVDF resin having substantially the same structure (same weight average molecular weight) and composition (i.e same content of HFP and VDF) as that of the presently claimed PVDF type resin Y and PVDF type resin X, respectively. Accordingly, since Hoshiba teaches the claimed PVDF composition and structure, two or more endothermic peak and/or two or more exothermic peaks would be expected to be observed when differential scanning calorimetry is performed with all of the PVDF type resin contained in the adhesive porous layer as a sample. Furthermore, the claimed melting points of the PVDF type resin Y and the PVDF type resin X would be expected to be inherently present in the first and second PVDF resins disclosed in Hoshiba in view of the same structure and composition of the first and second PVDF type resins. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claims 2-3, Sakurai as modified by Hoshiba teaches the separator of claim 1 but is silent as to at least one endothermic peak observed in a region of 125°C or more and less than 140°C and at least one endothermic peak observed in a region of 140°C or more and less than 190°C (claim 2); and a temperature difference between adjacent endothermic peaks is 10°C or more and 60°C or less (claim 3). However, Hoshiba’s two PVDF type resins would be expected to each have the claimed endothermic peaks with the claimed temperature difference between adjacent endothermic peaks since Hoshiba teaches two types of PVDF resins with the claimed compositions and weight average molecular weights. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claims 4-5, Sakurai as modified by Hoshiba teaches the separator of claim 1 but is silent as to at least one exothermic peak observed in a region of 80°C or more and less than 125°C and at least one exothermic peak observed in a region of 125°C or more and less than 190°C (claim 4); and a temperature difference between adjacent exothermic peaks is 10°C or more and 90°C or less (claim 5). However, Hoshiba’s two PVDF type resins would be expected to each have the claimed exothermic peaks with the claimed temperature difference between adjacent exothermic peaks since Hoshiba teaches two types of PVDF resins with the claimed compositions and weight average molecular weights. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claim 8, Sakurai as modified by Hoshiba teaches the separator of claim 6 but is silent as to a difference between a melting point of the PVDF type resin X and a melting point of the PVDF type resin Y being from 25°C to less than 55°C. However, as noted above, Hoshiba teaches the a first PVDF type resin and a second PVDF type resin having substantially the same composition and structure as that of the presently claimed PVDF type resin Y and PVDF type resin X. As such, a difference between a melting point of the PVDF type resin X and a melting point of the PVDF type resin Y being 25°C to less than 55°C.
Regarding claim 13, Sakurai as modified by Hoshiba teaches the separator of claim 1 but is silent as to an acid value of all of the PVDF type resin contained in the adhesive porous layer being less than 3.0 mg KOH/g. However, since modified Sakurai teaches the same composition for all of the PVDF type resins contained in the adhesive porous layer, one would expect the acid value of all of the PVDF type resins to be less than 3.0 mg KOH/g.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727