DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2021-0090676, filed on 11 July 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 9 - 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cochran et al. (US 2007/0107801).
Regarding Claim 1, Cochran discloses a method for determining the height of a solution in a container capable of amplifying and detecting a target nucleic acid [Abstract], the method comprising: emitting infrared light to the container using an illuminator (backlight) [0051], wherein the container (bottle) is a colored container (amber) [0051]; sensing the infrared light passing through and refracted by the container [0049, 0050] using a detector including an optical sensor (camera) [0050], wherein the detector is disposed in an orientation such that the detector senses the refracted infrared light [0049]; obtaining an image using the refracted infrared light sensed [0050]; and determining the height of the solution in the container by analyzing the image obtained [0049, 0051]. Note the intended use of the solution does not result in a manipulative difference between the claimed invention and prior art and therefore does not further limit the claim. See MPEP 2111.02.II.
Regarding Claim 2, Cochran discloses the use of infrared light that is emitted to the container includes infrared light wavelengths selected from a wavelength range of 730 nm to 980 nm (infrared light inherently lies between 780 nm and 1 mm).
Regarding Claim 3, Cochran discloses the analyzing of the obtained image includes identifying a horizontal edge from the obtained image [0049]; and determining the height of the solution on the basis of the identified horizontal edge [0049, 0050].
Regarding Claim 9, Cochran discloses the detector is a monochrome detector (as it can generate a grey scale image) [0051].
Regarding Claim 10, Cochran discloses the container has higher transmittance for the infrared light than visible light [0051].
Regarding Claim 11, Cochran discloses a system for determining the height of a solution (35) in a container (14) capable of for amplifying and detecting a target nucleic acid, the system comprising: an illuminator (backlight) for emitting infrared light to the container [0051]; a detector (28) for obtaining an image by sensing the infrared light passing through and refracted by the container using the illuminator [0048 – 0051], wherein the detector is disposed in an orientation such that the detector senses the refracted infrared light [0049]; and a controller (34) for determining the height of the solution in the container by analyzing the image obtained by the detector [0050]. Note the intended use of the solution does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and prior art and therefore does not further limit the claim. See MPEP 2111.02.II.
Regarding Claim 12, Cochran discloses the controller identifies a horizontal edge from the obtained image and determines the height of the solution on the basis of the identified horizontal edge [0049, 0050].
Regarding Claim 13, Cochran discloses the detector is a monochrome detector (as it can generate a grey scale image) [0051].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 4 - 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cochran et al. (US 2007/0107801).
Regarding Claims 4 – 8, the claims further limit the solely the solution itself. Cochran fails to expressly disclose these limitations; however, Cochran’s method for determining height of a solution in a container does not rely on the specific content of that solution and is therefore capable of measuring the height of any solution, including one containing the constituents of Claims 4 - 8. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Cochran to determine the height of a solution containing the constituents of Claims 4 – 8 for the benefit of ensuring an appropriate amount of solution is dispensed in the container, as taught by Cochran.
Conclusion
ALEXANDER A. MERCADO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/ALEXANDER A MERCADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855